whole house audio design help - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-15-2015, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
drriddhish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cary NC
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 53
whole house audio design help

Hi
I have been thinking about setting up WHA myself.
Here is my design

GOALS
- distributed audio for party mode or individual zone listening
- mostly use ios devices to airdrop or use zone b functionality to access internet streaming radios from AV receiver and distribute it to whole house or particular zone
- in main bedroom if possible would like to hook TV output to bedroom zone only

things needed
Speaker wires http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
estimate 700-900 ft wire, cost around $300

in-ceiling speakers http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
Pairs needed 6 Cost around $300

in-wall speaker for family room with dedicated amp http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
pairs needed 1 cost $90

WHA amp and controller
http://www.htd.com/Products/Mid-Leve...nc6-and-GW-SL1
Cost $1500
NO keypads on wall or CAT 5e/6 wiring intended.

Tools for job:
http://www.amazon.com/Gardner-Bender...=cable+fishing
http://www.amazon.com/Electric-Fiber...=cable+fishing
http://www.amazon.com/XCSOURCE%C2%AE...=cable+fishing

I want everyone' suggestion if I am missing anything here. Total estimated cost $2300

Challenge- not sure how to hook up tv output source to bedroom zone ( as wha amp will be far end of the house)
I am very new to diy world but attic is easily accessible on the top of the house, there are also two partial attics which could be accessed to fish the wires.
My media room is already prewired for 5.1 sound and it will play with AV receiver zone A only.

Any tips, tricks and suggestion are welcome
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WHOLE HOUSE AUDIO.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	91.2 KB
ID:	547425  
drriddhish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-16-2015, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
drriddhish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cary NC
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 53
thinking of adding this to send tv audio to zone
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?seq...XanxoChqPw_wcB

What would people suggest for speaker wire conduit, as 8 zone (16 wires ) come from media room and rather than fishing each wire, I plan to install a conduit to walkable attic and then fishing wires will be largely hassle free.

should this be enough?
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Carlon-1-...z0usncZ1z113dd

Last edited by drriddhish; 02-16-2015 at 07:11 AM.
drriddhish is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-16-2015, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
kjfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dennison IL, just across the state line from Terre
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by drriddhish View Post
thinking of adding this to send tv audio to zone
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?seq...XanxoChqPw_wcB

What would people suggest for speaker wire conduit, as 8 zone (16 wires ) come from media room and rather than fishing each wire, I plan to install a conduit to walkable attic and then fishing wires will be largely hassle free.

should this be enough?
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Carlon-1-...z0usncZ1z113dd
You may want to check the video inputs on your TV. Most, if not all, current TVs don't have s-video input. Also if you want HD s-video won't provide it. I think you would be better off going with an HDMI/RJ45 converter and HD balum and run a CAT5 cable to the room. Unless you can find a wireless solution that would transmit HD with HDMI at the zone end.
kjfalls is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 02-16-2015, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
drriddhish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cary NC
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I am just looking for audio transmission from bedroom TV to bedroom audio zone. I am thinking of wireless solution as I am not running cat5/6 cables

Yamaha RX-3050 5.2.4 JBL studio 1 (front, center, sorround) Tannoy Di8 DC (four on ceiling ATMOS)
Google NSZ-GT1 player
EPSON PowerLite Home Cinema 3010
drriddhish is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-16-2015, 09:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,269
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 52
The components you have listed are fine; my biggest concern for your proposed setup is functionality/usability. Since you are relying on mobile devices for 100% of the interaction, make sure you think about a couple of different scenarios in terms of using the system. For example, if the system is off and you want to listen to Pandora in the Kitchen/Zone 1, you would need to open the HTD app on your device, select the receiver zone B as the source, then open a separate app for your receiver (if one is available) and select Pandora as the source. If you want to adjust the volume, go back to the HTD app and adjust. What if another user in another zone wants to stream a different Pandora channel, or a different streaming service?

I am unfamiliar with how Airdrop works or interacts with HTD, but I'm assuming it would be similar in that 2 apps would need to be used for control.

Not saying what you've proposed won't work, but the more complex the system, the less likely it is to be used.

For the TV audio out as a source, run a cat 5e/6 cable between the TV & the WHA controller, and get the appropriate balun.

Matt

My Area: Sony XBR65X850E / Marantz NR1608 / Polk Speakers / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro | Dining Room: Samsung UN55LS03N ("The Frame" 2018) | Bedroom: TCL 49S405 (Roku TV)
Nuvo Player Portfolio Whole-Home Audio System (P4300, P200, P10 keypad, P30 tablet)
Xbox Live: oktober rust | PSN: oktoberrust11 | Steam ID: detroit820 | Origin ID: oktoberrust11
oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-16-2015, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
drriddhish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cary NC
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by oktoberrust11 View Post
The components you have listed are fine; my biggest concern for your proposed setup is functionality/usability. Since you are relying on mobile devices for 100% of the interaction, make sure you think about a couple of different scenarios in terms of using the system. For example, if the system is off and you want to listen to Pandora in the Kitchen/Zone 1, you would need to open the HTD app on your device, select the receiver zone B as the source, then open a separate app for your receiver (if one is available) and select Pandora as the source. If you want to adjust the volume, go back to the HTD app and adjust. What if another user in another zone wants to stream a different Pandora channel, or a different streaming service?

Matt
That will be the limitation as current setup. Now I may be able to add something like this later on as input to multizone system- with each having its own name (kids room 1 etc) as need arise. Kids are too young for now to fuss over the music in their room.
http://www.amazon.com/Hapurs-Streami...k+audio+player

I mistakenly said airdrop (which is for contacts and documents), it should be airplay and can also be accomplished by apple airport https://www.apple.com/airport-express/express dedicated to each zone, cheaply sourced fro ebay.
drriddhish is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-16-2015, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
drriddhish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cary NC
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 53
my biggest issue with cat5/6 installation is I can easily reach the ceilings of each room but it will be hard to work through walls, find fireblocks, thread cat5/6 and make installations. If I hire someone to do it, I expect it to be expensive as this is a large home.
drriddhish is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-10-2015, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
drriddhish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cary NC
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 53
sorry to reopen the thread
I was wondering If I used speaker selector like this with remote (harmony ultimate) instead of htd system with amp, how well it would work.
http://www.amazon.com/OSD-Audio-ATM-...or+with+remote
I am likely to use only one zone at times, rarely 2 zones at times. I read somewhere that Zone 2 out put to OSD ATM-7 is not recommended solution, is that correct?
thanks
drriddhish is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 03-11-2015, 06:31 AM
Senior Member
 
XJBaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by drriddhish View Post
sorry to reopen the thread
I was wondering If I used speaker selector like this with remote (harmony ultimate) instead of htd system with amp, how well it would work.
http://www.amazon.com/OSD-Audio-ATM-...or+with+remote
I am likely to use only one zone at times, rarely 2 zones at times. I read somewhere that Zone 2 out put to OSD ATM-7 is not recommended solution, is that correct?
thanks
I won't comment on the device you linked, as I haven't used it, but I will provide a general comment re: your plan.

With DA you really have 3 viable options:
  1. Sonos/HEOS
  2. Control system with Matrixing amp
  3. Volume controls in each zone

Any option that doesn't fall into those categories is likely going to end up being a waste of money, as many science experiment type systems are. This isn't a hard and fast rule, but I bet it is true 99% of the time.

You are trying to save money, and everyone on this site understands that, but I think there is a false economy that is luring you in. A collection of cheap components, each claiming to do a certain function well, are not guaranteed to work together to create a fuctional system. That is why the devices that do work well (control systems, Sonos, etc.) cost a lot, they are throughly developed solutions, not just components.

My recommendation, if you are trying to save money, is to have a professional wire the house for a home run system with VC's in each zone. I'm not a fan of VC based systems, but at least it will be functional. The cost of the wiring will run more than the basic components, but it will be well worth it in the long run.

Next, purchase impedance matching VC's for each room, a good amp (2-channel or multi-channel, your choice) and a Sonos Connect.

Again, while this isn't an ideal system in my mind it will give you functionality, reliability and relative ease of use. It will also be upgradeable/expandable as needs and budget change.

You could decide that you are using the patio daily, and choose to purchase a Connect:Amp down the road dedicated to the patio.

Best of luck, just don't overthink it. The solutions are out there, if you feel like a pioneer you are probably hacking your way down the wrong path.
XJBaylor is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 03-11-2015, 06:42 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
drriddhish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cary NC
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Thanks @XJBaylor for your suggestions. I understand and I usually opt to spend more money on quality product and even if that means waiting some time and saving up for it.
At the same time, I am not keen on spending my hard earned money without research and exploration- and after all its fun part to me.
I will be going to HTD product as it allows zone volume control, plenty of amp power and I will be doing labor of running the speaker wire first. If it turns out something I can accomplish I will look into Cat5/6 wiring also. I simply think that wireless tech is so fast evolving that in next 5 years power charging and hdmi with sound will become wireless and running wire will become mute.
regards and thanks everyone for your help
drriddhish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off