Need advice on taking over control of a "Control4" setup - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 19Likes

post #1 of 48 Old 07-28-2017, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
pjp
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Need advice on taking over control of a "Control4" setup

My brother-in-law had Best Buy/Magnolia install a 5 zone audio plus home theater system in his vacation home using Control4 equipment. The install was done in 2014 for about $8k (for audio only, not including the TV's) and it basically has never worked. It must have worked when they first put it in, but I have been there 4 times over the last 3 years and it has never worked properly and he has never been able to use it when he visits. We were there recently and demanded that Best Buy/Magnolia come out and fix it, and they provided an $1100 quote to get it working (bear in mind this is simply fixing their own setup). I am an expert in Harmony, but don't have Control4 software, so I can't help him currently.

Basically, the Best Buy/Magnolia route is a dead end -- they really don't know what they are doing, it will cost too much to get it working, and we have zero confidence that it will stay working even if they are able to fix it. I would like to take over the Control4 setup and software so that I can get it working for him and be in a position to be able to fix it ourselves if issues arise in the future.

From other AVS threads, I've seen that installers sometimes give customers the Control4 software and setup so they can manage it themselves, and we plan to request this of Best Buy/Magnolia. I don't know enough about Control4 to intelligently articulate what I need from them, so my questions are: