Ok to add a Switch after an AVR Zone 2 to create a faux Zone 3 :)? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 04-29-2019, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stevedawg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ok to add a Switch after an AVR Zone 2 to create a faux Zone 3 :)?

Has any1 done this? Will my idea work ok?

Currently, my Zone 2 is the Game room w/ a 30 ft hdmi run that works great. I want to add a 3rd TV in the Theater room that I'll use during sports. I figure I could add a splitter between the AVR and the GR TV + the new 3rd Theater TV. The new remote or toggling will not be an issue w/ my Harmony set up. Should I get a powered hdmi splitter to be on the safe side?

Any ideas or thoughts on this matter?
stevedawg85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 05-07-2019, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,400
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1560 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
It is common to add a splitter on the output of AV receivers to feed a projector and a TV, or similar dual display setup.

You lose all surround sound when this is in use typically, but it works.

Check Monoprice or Amazon for powered splitters with good reviews.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off