Yep, another newbie wiring their under construction house - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Postmoderndesign
  • 1 Post By FlyOnTheWall

post #1 of 8 Old 06-11-2019, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yep, another newbie wiring their under construction house

hey everyone,
I'm a newbie here. I've been searching and reading thru lots of information and I think I might be getting some of this correct. My house is under construction and here is my thoughts of what wiring is needed. The house is around 3000 sq ft and the master bedroom and main living area is on the second floor and will also be were the utility/wiring closet will be (with an partial AC vent). The first floor contains a mother-in-law / possible AirB&B suite and two guest bedrooms.

Fiber will come in underground to a 1st floor storage and mechanical room. I'm assuming this is where the provider will plug in their modem. From there I will need to run the incoming signal to the 2nd floor utility/wiring closet for distribution. I'm not sure what type of cabling I should be using to connect these two points. suggestions? Coax? CAT7? CAT6? FIBER?

The house will have 4 external security cameras (something that does Power over Ethernet (POE). I should use a CAT6 cable with a solid copper core.

The First floor rooms just need high speed Internet and maybe access to Satellite or cable HD television and streaming, so I should run COAX, CAT6 and CAT6e to each room.

The second floor is the space that needs the latest and greatest. So the plan is to run 1.5" or 2" conduit to the television space in the family room and to the television space in the master bedroom (both rooms are adjacent to the utility/wiring closet and less than 25' away). The plan is to run COAX, CAT6 and CAT6e to both of these locations.