HDMI switch for 2out, 1in - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 08-11-2019, 03:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HDMI switch for 2out, 1in

Looking for something simple that I can’t seem to find. I want to play my Playstation 4 Pro with the option between two different 4k TVs. Was looking for a 1in, 2out switch with an IR remote to switch between the output. The output of the one TV I choose to use should be [email protected]
Seems like all the switches have 1out and multiple inputs.
dseg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 08-11-2019, 06:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Switches are multi-in, one-out. You want a splitter.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=10249
FlyingDiver is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 08-11-2019, 07:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingDiver View Post
Switches are multi-in, one-out. You want a splitter.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=10249
Seems like splitter allow multiple outputs at the same time which reduces the output ability, ei. [email protected] to [email protected] x2
I just need one output but have the option of two different ones with the full ability of [email protected]
dseg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 08-11-2019, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by dseg View Post
Seems like splitter allow multiple outputs at the same time which reduces the output ability, ei. [email protected] to [email protected] x2
I just need one output but have the option of two different ones with the full ability of [email protected]
No it doesn't. That would be the case if your video card was trying to drive multiple displays, but it's not true for an HDMI splitter.

No one makes what you want because there's no need for it.
FlyingDiver is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-12-2019, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Would an HDMI matrix not do what you're looking for? As far as not reducing quality?
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 08-12-2019, 09:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
Would an HDMI matrix not do what you're looking for? As far as not reducing quality?
In this context there's no difference between a matrix and a splitter. They both duplicate the incoming signals to all outputs.
FlyingDiver is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 08-12-2019, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
FlyOnTheWall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 35
matrix would be overkill in your situtation, but would still work fine.
FlyOnTheWall is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 08-15-2019, 03:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,513
Mentioned: 98 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1589 Post(s)
Liked: 1168
If you have a 4K60 signal and want to use HDR, then you need to ensure that whatever splitter you are using is 18Gb/s capable. Most splitters are older and only are 10Gb/s rated. So, make sure it is HDMI 2.0 w/18Gb/s capability.

If both displays support 4K60, then you will be fine. If they don't support the same resolution, then you need to ensure only one display is on at any time.

Be VERY aware, that 18Gb/s HDMI splitters have a significant cost bump over cheaper 1x2 standard HDMI splitters that don't support full 4K60 and don't support HDCP 2.2 and won't pass the resolution you are working with!
https://www.amazon.com/Comprehensive...gateway&sr=8-3

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 08-17-2019, 04:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Liked: 342
No matter if you use a Distribution Amp (Splitter) or Matrix the key feature in the DA or Matrix will be supporting the maximum capability of your Display devices - second you have to know if the two display devices have equal or different capabilities, if the Displays have differing capabilities that may sway your decision between a DA or a Matrix.

As AV_Integrated says where you have differing capability Display devices connected via a DA you may find all is well as long as you ensure one Display is powered off - that is not always the way though as some DA"s will still read the EDID (Capabilities) of the device which is in Standby.

Joe

Octava Inc. Multi-cast HD over LAN solutions.

RuiPro UK and EU Sales and Support

The Media Factory. Residential and Commercial systems.
Joe Fernand is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off