Russound MCA-88x won't boot - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-23-2019, 05:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Russound MCA-88x won't boot

I have a Russound MCA-88x that I got recently to replace a MCA-C5, but when I power it on, it just turns on all the green keypad lights and does nothing. I don't get an IP address for it either, so I can't try connecting from the App. I have tried the DHCP Reset by holding the Reset button for 3 seconds, but that doesn't do anything. When I have the keypad (MDK-6) connected, it states initializing, then turns back off.

What would my next steps be? I don't think I have a certified installer locally to check it out, and would rather troubleshoot it myself in case it is something easy.
jimmyfloyd182 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-23-2019, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Is the MCA-88X licensed? Did you buy it used or online new?
smoothtlk is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-23-2019, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I received it used.

Here is what I have done so far:

- plugged in power and ethernet, nothing else, then powered on. All Keypad lights show green. Power LED shows nothing. Sits like this indefinitely (left for 15 minutes). Turned off.
- Plugged in MDK-C6 into Zone 1. Powered on. Same result as above. Pressed power on keypad and it shows initializing, then turns off. Turned off System.
- Plugged in MDK-C6 into Zone 2. Same results.
- Plugged in a different MDK-C6 into Zone 1. Removed first MDK-C6 from zone 2. Powered on. Same result.

As a test, plugged all cabled and MDK-C6 keypads back into my MCA-C5. Powered on. All worked as expected.

So right now, it looks like something on the initial power up is just not working.
jimmyfloyd182 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 08-23-2019, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Return it.
smoothtlk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off