Grand Concerto in mono mode? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-10-2019, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Grand Concerto in mono mode?

Hello, I would appreciate some insights.

My problem is that I only have a single paired cable running to a new zone (outside). I have no way of adding a pair.

I would like to power one or two speakers.

Can the GC be bridged?
How is this practically done?
(Speakers in parallel or series?)

Will the bridging affect stereo for other zones listening to the same source?

Many thanks,
Bob
Bobone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-13-2019, 11:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,579
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1617 Post(s)
Liked: 1184
So, you ran mono speaker wiring to your outdoor zone?

The amp in the unit is rated at 6 ohms, so you would need to do a wiring setup of series/parallel to ensure that the ohm load of your connected speakers, no matter how many there are, is above 6 ohms. I might try 4 speakers to keep it right at 8 ohms. It's the last image in this link:
https://www.eminence.com/support/wiring-diagrams/

Be aware that this unit offers preamp outputs for all zones so you could add a more powerful and more stable amplifier if you wanted to. So, a 2 ohm stable Crown amp could be added which could deliver more power if you needed it for this zone.

Lots of information on their product page...
https://www.legrand.us/nuvo/audio-vi...s/nv-i8gm.aspx

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-13-2019, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thank you for the useful links!

Yeah, I basically have a loose cable of 20m that I would like to use for an unplanned zone. Preferably w/o an extra amp as I don’t have AC.

My concerns are:
- how to get mono?
- can I damage the amp?
- will it affect other zones?
Bobone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-16-2019, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,579
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1617 Post(s)
Liked: 1184
1. You can actually just use a Y-cable and combine the left/right channels into a single connection. It's not perfect, but it's not going to hurt anything. There are also stereo to mono converters. Typically it is balanced audio out, but you can wire it into a RCA cable if you would like. Those are like $50 or less to do that way if you want.

2. You can damage the amp if you have multiple speakers and they aren't wired properly. Hence, my links on how to wire the speakers properly. The amp will not be harmed by the input you are using.

3. Not sure how you are wiring things overall and how many sources you have. Since you have multiple stereo zones it may require you to do some interesting Y'ing of a source or two for this specific zone, then going into the software and connecting to the unit and creating one or two dedicated mono sources if you have room in the unit. Name them appropriately and only give the outside the availability of those specific mono sources. Also, you can slide the balance all the way to one side so the unit is only playing audio through that output.

In reality, I would use an external amp for your outdoor speakers, and then combine the audio from stereo to mono into that amp to feed the outside only. That way, your outdoor source gets a mono feed and you only have to go from stereo to mono at one location - the variable line level output for that specific zone.

There are instructions for the software, and the software on the Nuvo website which I previously linked to.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-17-2019, 05:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thank you, that was a very valuable post for me!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_Integrated View Post
In reality, I would use an external amp for your outdoor speakers, and then combine the audio from stereo to mono into that amp to feed the outside only. That way, your outdoor source gets a mono feed and you only have to go from stereo to mono at one location - the variable line level output for that specific zone.
This conclusion is making more and more sense to me,
but I still have a few thoughts:

1) The stereo->mono converter looks very interesting. I suppose inside it looks something like:
https://www.circuitspedia.com/wp-con...-converter.jpg
- with above in mind, is it possible to connect speaker(s) without an amp? Am I not putting too much strain on the amplifier with two standard (6-8Ω) speakers?
http://media.datatail.com/docs/specs/84994_en.pdf


2) I understand that you can also bridge an amplifier:
https://www.wikihow.com/Bridge-an-Amplifier
- how do I know if the GC will survive this?

3) On a less serious note, someone suggested this "device" to get mono:
https://www.teknikmagasinet.se/stora...9C1/101351.png

Last edited by Bobone; 09-17-2019 at 01:26 PM.
Bobone is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-19-2019, 03:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,579
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1617 Post(s)
Liked: 1184
Trying to answer in order...
I haven't looked at stereo to mono converters electronics. I just know they exist and are pretty simple devices without a very high cost. You can also just use a Y-cable in reverse and it does work, but the signal tends to be a bit higher. Not a big deal really.

The next part is why I suggest a separate amplifier. Most amps are rated to 4 ohms. This means that two speakers in series presenting as a 4 ohm load, will work just fine with a 4 ohm stable external amp. Likewise, you could buy 4 ohm speakers and wire them in parallel to get a 8 ohm load to the amplifier. As long as you watch your speaker load to the amp, and it's within the amps specifications, you won't have a issue. Oh, and running 4 ohms to a 6 ohm rated amp won't 'kill' the amp. It depends a lot on how much volume you push to the speakers.

I didn't see a way to bridge the GC. This is a built in feature of amplifiers which not all amplifiers support. The GC doesn't seem to clearly support bridging channels.

Taking funny back to serious... That won't work well for mono. Tests prove that we can locate sound direction from a single ear depending on how the audio hits our ear. So, someone deaf in one ear can still localize sound direction. The more you know!

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off