Need Help - 4K over CAT6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 10-14-2019, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dhendriksen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Need Help - 4K over CAT6

In my new house I'm getting ready to move in to I have an Integra 5.3 AVR, and an Epson 6050 PJ. I have a pair of CAT6, a pair of CAT5e and an RG6 in between them. They're about 90 feet apart.

I need to get a 4K signal (as good of one as I can, I don't know about all the 4:4:4 60, etc...) from the receiver to the PJ. What's the best product for me to do that? Any reason why this wouldn't be a good choice?

https://www.amazon.com/AV-Access-Ext...1100713&sr=8-3

Thanks in advance.
dhendriksen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 10-14-2019, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,335
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3579 Post(s)
Liked: 2580
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhendriksen View Post
In my new house I'm getting ready to move in to I have an Integra 5.3 AVR, and an Epson 6050 PJ. I have a pair of CAT6, a pair of CAT5e and an RG6 in between them. They're about 90 feet apart.

I need to get a 4K signal (as good of one as I can, I don't know about all the 4:4:4 60, etc...) from the receiver to the PJ. What's the best product for me to do that? Any reason why this wouldn't be a good choice?

https://www.amazon.com/AV-Access-Ext...1100713&sr=8-3

Thanks in advance.
HDBT is most effective, and reliable if you use solid core CAT-6 cable (non-CCA and not CAT-6 ethernet patch cable). If HDBT is your choice, then you need to look for HDBT tx/rx units that have the latest Valens chipsets in them, which may be difficult at present. Keep in mind that the downside of HDBT is video compression. Run your cabling inside a conduit if in-wall and you don't have easy access to your cabling. Using conduit is the ONLY way to future proof your cabling because chances are you will be needing to upgrade your cabling probably sooner than later. 90' is pretty long for any type of cabling.

Your other option would be to use a hybrid fiber cable (Ruipro4k) but at 90' it's going to be expensive. Hybrid fiber is probably your best bet as you won't get any compression but ARC/eARC may be an issue.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 10-14-2019, 10:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,711
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 83
https://www.avproedge.com/ac-ex40-444.html

AV Professional for 23 Years
ifor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 Old 10-14-2019, 11:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,335
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3579 Post(s)
Liked: 2580
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifor View Post
That would work but it would be a good idea to find out if they are using the latest chipsets.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 10-15-2019, 07:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,328
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
That would work but it would be a good idea to find out if they are using the latest chipsets.
AVProEdge video distribution equipment is some of the best in the industry. Isn't cheap either. It just works.
smoothtlk is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 10-15-2019, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,098
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhendriksen View Post
In my new house I'm getting ready to move in to I have an Integra 5.3 AVR, and an Epson 6050 PJ. I have a pair of CAT6, a pair of CAT5e and an RG6 in between them. They're about 90 feet apart.

I need to get a 4K signal (as good of one as I can, I don't know about all the 4:4:4 60, etc...) from the receiver to the PJ. What's the best product for me to do that? Any reason why this wouldn't be a good choice?

https://www.amazon.com/AV-Access-Ext...1100713&sr=8-3

Thanks in advance.
Starting with the source of your 4K that can be a disc-necessary for 4:4:4 or streaming such as Netflix If you want to stream you will need a modem and router, an internet provider and a 4K subscription to Netflix, etc. You can probably use the cat6 between your router and you PJ. If you want to use discs you will need a 4K disc player. I did not see anything in your post that would require a matrix. You will need a HDMI cable between your disc player and your PJ. The receiver is mainly for audio but some can also pass through a video signal to you PJ.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch

Last edited by Postmoderndesign; 10-15-2019 at 06:13 PM.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 10-16-2019, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dhendriksen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Need Help - 4K over CAT6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
Starting with the source of your 4K that can be a disc-necessary for 4:4:4 or streaming such as Netflix If you want to stream you will need a modem and router, an internet provider and a 4K subscription to Netflix, etc. You can probably use the cat6 between your router and you PJ. If you want to use discs you will need a 4K disc player. I did not see anything in your post that would require a matrix. You will need a HDMI cable between your disc player and your PJ. The receiver is mainly for audio but some can also pass through a video signal to you PJ.


My post was brief. I have a very large home automation installation via Control4 that includes a large video distribution system via Just Add Power matrix switching, along with 24 audio zones, lighting, security, etc... I’ve used HDBaseT baluns in the past to extend HDMI signal over CAT cable, I just haven’t done it with 4K content.

I realize I need a 4K Blu-ray player. I realize I need other 4K sources. I know what an AVR is. I posted hastily in looking for suggestions on how to extend 4K content reliably over CAT cable as I’ve not got experience with 4K HDMI baluns to date. The Just Add Power system is 4K, but it’s essentially media over IP with encoders/decoders doing the work but the theater is the one room with “local sources” and so I need a balun of some sort to get from the AVR to the PJ.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by dhendriksen; 10-16-2019 at 03:08 PM.
dhendriksen is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 10-17-2019, 06:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,098
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhendriksen View Post
My post was brief. I have a very large home automation installation via Control4 that includes a large video distribution system via Just Add Power matrix switching, along with 24 audio zones, lighting, security, etc... I’ve used HDBaseT baluns in the past to extend HDMI signal over CAT cable, I just haven’t done it with 4K content.

I realize I need a 4K Blu-ray player. I realize I need other 4K sources. I know what an AVR is. I posted hastily in looking for suggestions on how to extend 4K content reliably over CAT cable as I’ve not got experience with 4K HDMI baluns to date. The Just Add Power system is 4K, but it’s essentially media over IP with encoders/decoders doing the work but the theater is the one room with “local sources” and so I need a balun of some sort to get from the AVR to the PJ.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I decided a few years ago that HDbaseT was too complex and would not fulfill my top requirement which was to build a whole house system that would allow me to use my 1080 plasma and my 4K Oled both. At the time and maybe now HDbaseT would default to the lower resolution. My second goal was to use a file server to deliver movies but ripping from disc became more and more time consuming. Finally, though I do use balens I have never understood them.

So, what I am suggesting is that you fully explore if what you want to do is possible or worth the complexity. As I stated I have not followed the HbaseT technology for a couple of years. Otto is more the expert.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 10-17-2019, 06:19 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dhendriksen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
I decided a few years ago that HDbaseT was too complex and would not fulfill my top requirement which was to build a whole house system that would allow me to use my 1080 plasma and my 4K Oled both. At the time and maybe now HDbaseT would default to the lower resolution. My second goal was to use a file server to deliver movies but ripping from disc became more and more time consuming. Finally, though I do use balens I have never understood them.



So, what I am suggesting is that you fully explore if what you want to do is possible or worth the complexity. As I stated I have not followed the HbaseT technology for a couple of years. Otto is more the expert.


Extending HDMI over cat cable is completely possible. MT distributed video system allows me to use 1080P and 4K. It doesn’t default to the lower resolution. The theater isn’t part of the distribution system, however.

Sorry to bug you guys. I got it figured out.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dhendriksen is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 10-17-2019, 06:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,098
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhendriksen View Post
Extending HDMI over cat cable is completely possible. MT distributed video system allows me to use 1080P and 4K. It doesn’t default to the lower resolution. The theater isn’t part of the distribution system, however.

Sorry to bug you guys. I got it figured out.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MT distributed video system is a new one on me. Thanks for the heads up. I will look into it.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 10-17-2019, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,335
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3579 Post(s)
Liked: 2580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
So, what I am suggesting is that you fully explore if what you want to do is possible or worth the complexity. As I stated I have not followed the HbaseT technology for a couple of years. Otto is more the expert.
Thank you for the compliment but I'm hardly and expert on the subject. HDBT really isn't that complex as long as you use solid core CAT-6 cable. The only downside I see is the fact that there is still video compression, but that may change with the new chipsets which should be, or already are available.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 10-17-2019, 10:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dhendriksen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
MT distributed video system is a new one on me. Thanks for the heads up. I will look into it.


Sorry about the typo. As I’m sure you realize, MT = My. Tough critic...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dhendriksen is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 10-18-2019, 02:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,874
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 631 Post(s)
Liked: 345
HDBT can handle HD and 4K with different 'support' depending on which HDBT chip set the manufacturers of any extender kit are utilising.

Reverting to HD or transferring 4K and then down converting to HD are 'add on' features which you can wrap around HDBT (or other) over CAT technologies.

At present the 'problem' with full bandwidth 4K UHD is one of bandwidth and understanding what 'supports' means as all current 'over CAT' solutions have to employ some form of compression - the 'next gen' of HDBT claims no compression.

Joe

Octava Inc. Multi-cast HD over LAN solutions.

RuiPro UK and EU Sales and Support

The Media Factory. Residential and Commercial systems.
Joe Fernand is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 10-18-2019, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,098
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post
HDBT can handle HD and 4K with different 'support' depending on which HDBT chip set the manufacturers of any extender kit are utilising.

Reverting to HD or transferring 4K and then down converting to HD are 'add on' features which you can wrap around HDBT (or other) over CAT technologies.

At present the 'problem' with full bandwidth 4K UHD is one of bandwidth and understanding what 'supports' means as all current 'over CAT' solutions have to employ some form of compression - the 'next gen' of HDBT claims no compression.

Joe
As I wrote I stopped following HDBT a couple years ago. I am not current. I see compression as a noticeable degradation of quality while some are little bothered by it. I think we both are looking forward to new chips which can allow various formats to reach their potential.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 10-18-2019, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dhendriksen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I went forward with the latest and greatest new release of HDBaseT stuff from Snap A/V. I learned some people I know use them and have nothing but good things to say. Since it was a known quantity I figured it would work fine for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dhendriksen is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 10-18-2019, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,335
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3579 Post(s)
Liked: 2580
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhendriksen View Post
I went forward with the latest and greatest new release of HDBaseT stuff from Snap A/V. I learned some people I know use them and have nothing but good things to say. Since it was a known quantity I figured it would work fine for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Let us know how it works out. Curious minds want to know

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 10-18-2019, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,661
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 1205
Let us know.

I've seen this one advertised as well, which clearly states support for 18Gb/s HDMI at 230 feet:
https://www.amazon.com/gofanco-Proph...NsaWNrPXRydWU=

$300 seems a reasonable price right now.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 10-18-2019, 10:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dhendriksen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Let us know how it works out. Curious minds want to know


So far so good!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dhendriksen is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 10-19-2019, 12:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,335
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3579 Post(s)
Liked: 2580
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhendriksen View Post
So far so good!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Excellent. Post back and let us know how it holds up over a couple of weeks.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off