MTX3 remote control protocol - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-07-2019, 10:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question MTX3 remote control protocol

Dear All,

“In order to establish remote control communication, the external controller must send [devstatus runmode] command to the device and await response. When the device responds as [OK devstatus runmode "normal"], the device is ready to receive commands.” (In MTX3, MTX5-D, MRX7-D, XMV Series, EXi8, EXo8 Remote Control Protocol Specifications V3.3.1 on the website tw.yamaha.com/files/download/other_assets/9/1258239/190118_mtx_mrx_xmv_ex_rcps_v331_rev13_en.pdf)

I have tried to control MTX3 by using RS232 protocol. However, I found out that I cannot receive any response from MTX3. I have already sent “devstatus runmode LF” (without quotation and sent in ascii) to the MTX3, but it did not reply “OK devstatus runmode “normal”” (without outside quotation and sent in ascii) like the description in RS232 protocol manual.

Could you please help me to figure out what’s wrong with my communication process? Thank you very much for your help!
s099064146 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-08-2019, 01:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,398
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5372 Post(s)
Liked: 3491
Quote:
Originally Posted by s099064146 View Post
Dear All,

“In order to establish remote control communication, the external controller must send [devstatus runmode] command to the device and await response. When the device responds as [OK devstatus runmode "normal"], the device is ready to receive commands.” (In MTX3, MTX5-D, MRX7-D, XMV Series, EXi8, EXo8 Remote Control Protocol Specifications V3.3.1 on the website tw.yamaha.com/files/download/other_assets/9/1258239/190118_mtx_mrx_xmv_ex_rcps_v331_rev13_en.pdf)

I have tried to control MTX3 by using RS232 protocol. However, I found out that I cannot receive any response from MTX3. I have already sent “devstatus runmode LF” (without quotation and sent in ascii) to the MTX3, but it did not reply “OK devstatus runmode “normal”” (without outside quotation and sent in ascii) like the description in RS232 protocol manual.

Could you please help me to figure out what’s wrong with my communication process? Thank you very much for your help!
There could be tons of things wrong so without you providing a ton of detailed information on how you've configured your setup, show your source code, describe your cable, etc. There's just no way for anyone to help you.

You have a *crossover* RS232 cable? That seems to be what this needs. I think those were also called "Null modem cables". They have a crossovered wire vs the standard straight RS232 cable. How did you configure the serial port?

What is your source device you're using to control? Because sounds like IP control would be far better than RS232.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-08-2019, 01:24 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
There could be tons of things wrong so without you providing a ton of detailed information on how you've configured your setup, show your source code, describe your cable, etc. There's just no way for anyone to help you.

You have a *crossover* RS232 cable? That seems to be what this needs. I think those were also called "Null modem cables". They have a crossovered wire vs the standard straight RS232 cable. How did you configure the serial port?

What is your source device you're using to control? Because sounds like IP control would be far better than RS232.
1.Yes, I used a *crossover* RS232 (pin2,and pin3 are exchanged)
2.Configuration of RS232 serial port
Baud Rate: 38400
Stop bits: 1
Parity: None
Flow Control: None
Data bits:8
3.My source device is a WinXP computer with USB to RS232 serial port line. I used the opensource software in the following Github link:
github.com/szieke/ScriptCommunicator_serial-terminal

(I apologize that I cannot post any picture since the website acquires me to post more than 5 posts.)
s099064146 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 11-08-2019, 02:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,398
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5372 Post(s)
Liked: 3491
Quote:
Originally Posted by s099064146 View Post
1.Yes, I used a *crossover* RS232 (pin2,and pin3 are exchanged)
2.Configuration of RS232 serial port
Baud Rate: 38400
Stop bits: 1
Parity: None
Flow Control: None
Data bits:8
3.My source device is a WinXP computer with USB to RS232 serial port line. I used the opensource software in the following Github link:
github.com/szieke/ScriptCommunicator_serial-terminal

(I apologize that I cannot post any picture since the website acquires me to post more than 5 posts.)
I'd try other speeds like 9600 and 115200 and see if it seems to connect. You sure you have the right com port number? If you're running XP SP3, you may need to run serial port apps as administrator.

You can also try serialsend and direct send serial port commands via command line, again probably requires administrator access.
https://batchloaf.wordpress.com/serialsend/

IP Control really is simpler.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-08-2019, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you. I will try them out.
s099064146 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off