Long Sub Run from NX6000D - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 12-07-2019, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Long Sub Run from NX6000D

I’m wiring up my theater (7.2.4) and plan to have my Denon X6500 AVR push dual sub outputs to a Behringer NX6000D amp on the rack. I’m new to using an amp like this so need some help determining how to wire it up. The sub amp would feed the signal about 45’ through the wall to a jack where I’ll end up connecting my two subs.

I’m struggling to determine which format to use for sub runs. The sub amp uses Speakon out so I could run that all the way to a wall plate and then potentially continue with a speakon all the way to the sub, but I don’t see many references for people doing this. Everyone seems to use RCA style plugs for passive subs. My subs are DIY (Devastators w/ 21” LaVoce) so I can determine the plug configuration, but I’m more concerned about making sure I’m getting a good signal to them.

Also, would you recommend an unbalanced to balanced converter from the AVR to the Behringer amp or on a short run of 3’ is it unnecessary?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 12-07-2019, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Quoted: 1025 Post(s)
Liked: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by djevans3 View Post
I’m struggling to determine which format to use for sub runs. The sub amp uses Speakon out so I could run that all the way to a wall plate and then potentially continue with a speakon all the way to the sub, but I don’t see many references for people doing this.
A blank wallplate with a 15/16" hole in it and one of these Crazy glued to the back: https://www.amazon.com/Neutrik-NL4MP.../dp/B0091TKZS8

12AWG speaker wire between SpeakOn connectors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djevans3
Everyone seems to use RCA style plugs for passive subs.