Multi-channel amp question - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Bigus
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-10-2019, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
David_Larkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 1,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Multi-channel amp question

I'd like to have an amp for whole home audio with multiple zones that have source inputs and also a 'bus' input that would play to all zones. I know this is common, but I'd like to have one that can do EITHER by detecting if there is a signal without having to flip a manual switch on the amp. Is there one that is capable of playing its dedicated source for that zone unless there is an input signal from the bus input, so then it would switch over from the line in to the bus without flipping a switch?

Regards,
David
David_Larkins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-10-2019, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The South
Posts: 5,816
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Bigus is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-10-2019, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The South
Posts: 5,816
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Would I think require you to create your own "bus" as I don't think the priority input has a bus function, but that is rather trivial so should do just what you want.
Bigus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 12-11-2019, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
David_Larkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 1,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigus View Post
Would I think require you to create your own "bus" as I don't think the priority input has a bus function, but that is rather trivial so should do just what you want.
I think you're right - that could be a great solution, and I was not familiar with that particular amp. Thanks for pointing it out to me!

Regards,
David
David_Larkins is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-11-2019, 09:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The South
Posts: 5,816
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 620
I think the only pitfall is that this is sort of reversed from what you described. You wanted an amp that would switch a zone from it's input to the bus when a signal was detected in the bus. This amp can switch a zone from the bus to its own input when a signal is detected on its own input.

If that difference matters depends on how many unique inputs you might want to have playing in various zones before the auto switching to the bus happens. This amp offers 2 bus inputs and you can select each channel to play from one bus input or the other as the "default". So a max of two independent sources playing simultaneously. At least that's how I understand it's configuration options.
Bigus is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-14-2019, 10:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The South
Posts: 5,816
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Good news, was looking at this amp again for my own needs and realized that in addition to the bus inputs and "priority" inputs it seems to also have a dedicated line input for each channel. Would need to verify in the owners manual but looks like you could have as many unique sources as zones and then override with signal sensing input either individually or if you created a bus all at once.
David_Larkins likes this.
Bigus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off