HDMI ARC cabling - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-01-2020, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
47okie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI ARC cabling

I'm not having any luck getting sound from my LG B9 television to my Yamaha AVR with the LG set to HDMI-ARC.

The devices are connected using HMDI cables at each end, but likely because of conduit limitations, the installer utilized Cat5e cable in the middle with Binary 1CAT Extender components (320 series) in the middle.

I'd like to know if the Binary/Cat5e cable and Extenders are the problem because they are not ARC compatible. I've looked on-line at the Extender specs but did not see any reference to ARC capabilities.

Thanks for any insights you might have.
47okie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-01-2020, 02:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,702
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 2698
The most reliable connection is a single cable run, source to sink, with no wall plates, adapters, extenders in-between. The CAT-rated cable used should have been solid core CAT-6 (non-CCA and not CAT-6 pre-terminated ethernet patch cable). Anytime you introduce a "break" in the cable chain you can introduce errors. ARC is susceptible to distance so you need to ensure that your cabling is a simple as possible and that the cable can handle ARC.


The AVR also needs to be setup for ARC and you need to make sure that you are using the ARC-defined HDMI input/output.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-07-2020, 02:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,905
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Unless the Extender states it is ARC capable I would assume it is not - there are ARC enabled Extenders available if you have to stick with an 'over CAT' solution.

Joe

Octava Inc. Multi-cast HD over LAN solutions.

RuiPro UK and EU Sales and Support

The Media Factory. Residential and Commercial systems.
Joe Fernand is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 02-13-2020, 07:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluewaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Macungie,PA
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Most HDMI Baluns are not ARC compatible, they need to explicitly say they are and even then you may have issues.
bluewaves is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off