Running Fiber - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-29-2020, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Running Fiber

When I prewire my home I will be running (3) cat 6 and a coax to each tv. Would it smart to run a fiber to future proof? If so how many strand fiber? Thanks.

beau
horsegoer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-29-2020, 09:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,729
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Generally, Simplex Riser Multi-Mode is most common for interiors.
You're choice if you want to run duplex or not.

AV Professional for 23 Years
ifor is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-01-2020, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,100
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3965 Post(s)
Liked: 2851
Quote:
Originally Posted by horsegoer View Post
When I prewire my home I will be running (3) cat 6 and a coax to each tv. Would it smart to run a fiber to future proof? If so how many strand fiber? Thanks.

The ONLY way to future proof is to run your cabling in a conduit so that any upgrades/repairs that need to be made can be done easier and safer. This is especially true for a/v (HDMI). 1.5" - 2.0" conduit should work for multiple cables. Video technology always outpaces connection technology so upgrading your cabling is practically guaranteed in the future.



As far as CAT-6 goes, I would run solid copper core CAT-6 (non-CCA and not pre-terminated CAT-6 ethernet patch cable). Just give yourself a nice service loop in the j-box to work with. With solid core you can extend an ethernet connection by terminating with punch down keystone jacks or extend and HDMI connection by terminating with HDBT.



If you are thinking on running fiber for a/v (HDMI), then the recommendation would be hybrid fiber (which is glass fiber wiring surrounded by solid copper wiring). As with any HDMI cable run, distance can work against you regardless of cable type (copper of hybrid fiber) so you may have to be creative. HDMI cabling can not be daisy chained so plan accordingly, and the most reliable HDMI connection is source to sink, with no wall plates, adapters, extenders, etc in-between.


For running HDMI cable the recommendation is Premium High Speed HDMI cable which is certified (for HDMI 2.0) by HDMI.org and comes with a QR label of authenticity. However, they are passive cables (HDMI.org does not allow for certification of active cables) and can only be certified up to 25'.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 03-01-2020, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks. yes so maybe I'll pre wire "free air" then run conduits with pullstrings for pull cables later if need be.
horsegoer is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-02-2020, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The South
Posts: 5,841
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 713 Post(s)
Liked: 625
That would be my suggestion. Empty conduits that get from wall locations into accessible attic/basement/crawl spaces, and from those spaces to your centralized structured wiring location. Conduits don't have to be continuous from every wall location to the structured wiring location, just span wall or ceiling locations where access later is more difficult. Easier to pull cable piecemeal through a couple of segments of conduit if needed than one long continuous conduit run with multiple 90 deg bends.
Bigus is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-16-2020, 06:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys can one run flexible metal conduit and not EMT?

beau
horsegoer is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-17-2020, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,100
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3965 Post(s)
Liked: 2851
Quote:
Originally Posted by horsegoer View Post
Guys can one run flexible metal conduit and not EMT?

I've always run non-metal flexible conduit with a smooth interior, not ribbed.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off