Darbee vision darblet - Page 334 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1123Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9991 of 10127 Old 01-15-2019, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,421
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 644 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prattalot View Post
That's a 110" Silver Theater screen using a new BenQ 2050A projector and YouTube as the source via my AppleTV.

It was usign theater mode at about 70% I think but i'm continuing to play around with how much processing I want to add.
I typically use 70% Hidef for my 142 inch screen and forget about it.. .but indeed, depending on the content, you can go higher than that... I don't even bother with the Game or Full Pop modes... except for a while I was messing with using Full Pop for animated 3d movies...
deano86 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9992 of 10127 Old 01-16-2019, 01:39 PM
Member
 
EricU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a house
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Where to place the Darbee?

My setup is in a fairly dark room running a JVC X30 projector fed through an older Marantz SR7007 with a fairly long (~25-30'?) HDMI cable. We just changed to a PS4 Pro for streaming movies from Netflix, Amazon Prime and HBO GO, which are projected to a 135" 2.35:1 Vutec screen.


Years ago I heard about the Darbee and have recently just came across it again.


I still LOVE the picture of the 135" 1080 screen, I am on the original bulb and have one extra bulb so I wont be upgrading to 4K anytime soon. Our internet speeds are a dismal 18mps max, I'd need to change out the Marantz and our local Redbox doesn't carry 4K disks.


So I figure after reading about the Darbee again, that I should get one of the 5000S Darbees. Now, finally to my question:


Where do I place the Darbee? Close to the Marantz AVR or close to the Projector?


Does the Darbee need to be turned on and off or can I get it set and just leave it? I am trying to automate my HT room with a Harmony remote, Caseta switches etc etc.


Thanks for any help!
EricU is offline  
post #9993 of 10127 Old 01-16-2019, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricU View Post
My setup is in a fairly dark room running a JVC X30 projector fed through an older Marantz SR7007 with a fairly long (~25-30'?) HDMI cable. We just changed to a PS4 Pro for streaming movies from Netflix, Amazon Prime and HBO GO, which are projected to a 135" 2.35:1 Vutec screen.


Years ago I heard about the Darbee and have recently just came across it again.


I still LOVE the picture of the 135" 1080 screen, I am on the original bulb and have one extra bulb so I wont be upgrading to 4K anytime soon. Our internet speeds are a dismal 18mps max, I'd need to change out the Marantz and our local Redbox doesn't carry 4K disks.


So I figure after reading about the Darbee again, that I should get one of the 5000S Darbees. Now, finally to my question:


Where do I place the Darbee? Close to the Marantz AVR or close to the Projector?




Does the Darbee need to be turned on and off or can I get it set and just leave it? I am trying to automate my HT room with a Harmony remote, Caseta switches etc etc.


Thanks for any help!

I place it between my avr and pj. Find the settings you prefer, and leave it on.
cdnscg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9994 of 10127 Old 01-16-2019, 02:03 PM
Member
 
EricU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a house
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
I place it between my avr and pj.
That I understand, but does it make a difference if it is close to the AVR or close to the PJ?


Quote:
Find the settings you prefer, and leave it on.
Perfect! Thank you for the help. I was hoping it would be like that as I didn't want one more item to have to worry about the On/Off procedure. (talk about problems to have...)
EricU is offline  
post #9995 of 10127 Old 01-16-2019, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,016
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2521 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
If you mean which end gets the shorter cable, no, it doesn't matter.
Harmony has settings for the Darbee, so you can turn it on and off; just make sure the pj goes on last. HDMI handshaking can be a pita.
I have mine plugged into the switched outlet of the avr.
Enjoy.
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #9996 of 10127 Old 01-16-2019, 03:00 PM
Member
 
EricU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a house
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
If you mean which end gets the shorter cable, no, it doesn't matter...
Yes, that was my question and thank you for the quick reply!

I have two on order! I am going to try the other one on a buddy's 82" 1080 flat screen.

Another great example of what makes this forum so great! Though this forum does seem to cause me to spend monies....
EricU is offline  
post #9997 of 10127 Old 01-16-2019, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,016
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2521 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
Rabbit hole.

See "Welcome" link in my sig.

Enjoy.
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #9998 of 10127 Old 01-21-2019, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 3,194
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Picked up the 5000 from B&H. Using it with a Sony VPL-HW40ES and a 110" DIY Designer White screen. Placed it at the PJ end of 25' Redmere cable and connected to the PJ w/ the supplied cable. Maybe the Sony is just that good but I have to set it at 100% to see any effect at all. What am I doing wrong?

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #9999 of 10127 Old 01-22-2019, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,016
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2521 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
Probably nothing. It's all a matter of personal preference.
Most people seem to be happy with high def @ 50%, but that doesn't mean you have to be.
Of course, if you wish to experiment, you might want to put it before the Redmere cable. Sometimes distance and placement make a difference. Sometimes not.
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #10000 of 10127 Old 01-22-2019, 08:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Connected my UB820 4k player to the Darbee, but its hit and miss. I change the UB820 output to 1080P. Sound is always present, but the picture sometimes blacks out when the main title is to start and states in red 'signal out of range'. I recall there may be something else to adjust on a player (ie: deep color...) to help with the hand shake. Any thoughts?
cdnscg is offline  
post #10001 of 10127 Old 01-22-2019, 10:08 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,016
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2521 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
The order you turn things on is usually the critical part of handshakes.
Of course, you need to change the output to 1080P BEFORE turning on the Darbee.
Then turn on the video device last.
But there's sometimes some voodoo involved, too.
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #10002 of 10127 Old 01-22-2019, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
The order you turn things on is usually the critical part of handshakes.
Of course, you need to change the output to 1080P BEFORE turning on the Darbee.
Then turn on the video device last.
But there's sometimes some voodoo involved, too.
Michael
Thanks. Will follow your suggestions and see
cdnscg is offline  
post #10003 of 10127 Old 01-22-2019, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
Connected my UB820 4k player to the Darbee, but its hit and miss. I change the UB820 output to 1080P. Sound is always present, but the picture sometimes blacks out when the main title is to start and states in red 'signal out of range'. I recall there may be something else to adjust on a player (ie: deep color...) to help with the hand shake. Any thoughts?


Darbee does have issues with hdmi 2.0 devices , I turn off deep color and it usually is ok after that .

TV-Sony Bravia KD-65"A1, Pioneer SC-LX901 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X, Polk DSW 660*2, Polk RTi A7*2, Pol Csi A6, Polk RtiA5*2, Polk Tsi300*2, Polk TSX 220B *2, Polk OWM 3*2, Zappiti-4kHDROne, Oppo UDP-203, XboxOneX, PS4, Oppo BDP-83, Darbee DVP-500s, ZidooX10, Sony Bravia HX925 55"
thomasphoenix is offline  
post #10004 of 10127 Old 01-23-2019, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blake18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 353
I just got my Darbee 5000S today, should I use it in conjunction with my Epson 5030UB's Super Resolution enabled, or disabled? If enabled, what Darbee settings would be best? Same question with it disabled.

Thanks for any help. 🙂

Lumenlab "Community driven video lab".
blake18 is offline  
post #10005 of 10127 Old 01-23-2019, 12:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,016
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2521 Post(s)
Liked: 2154
Entirely a matter of personal preference. As long as you have it working (), try whatever settings you like.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #10006 of 10127 Old 01-25-2019, 06:36 PM
Member
 
brad1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Just heard about these today and I am very interested. I have a Sony VPL-HW45ES 1080P projector and a 125" Screen. Currently, I run from my Emotiva UMC-200 prepro -> 6 ft HDMI -> Monoprice HDMI splitter -> 30 ft HDMI -> Projector. The Other leg of splitter is to 70" LCD that is used for TV, the projector is for movies. 125" Screen drops in front of 70" LCD.

I am concerned that if I ad another HDMI cable, and component (junction), I might have issues. Anyone have any thoughts on if that will be a problem or not.

Also, should I turn off all Sony image processing when using the Darbee? I have most turned off anyway.

Home Theater: Emotiva UMC-200, Citation 5.1 running Mirage M-3SIs, Harman Kardon signature 2.1 running Mirage M-CSI (center) & 4x BIC V-52 (surrounds), Samson S1000 (545 watts x2) running 2 SVS CS-Ultra subs, PS3, PS4, XBOX 1, 2x Adcom ACE-515, Sony HW45ES projector w/ 125" tab tensioned screen or Vizio E-701B-3 - 70"
2.0 setup: Schiit Freya Tube Preamp, Citation 5.1, Mirage M3SIs, Onkyo DV-CP702 (CD transport), Schiit Modi Multibit DAC.
brad1138 is offline  
post #10007 of 10127 Old 01-26-2019, 07:26 AM
Member
 
gr8sound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 27
My video chain: Video Source (BD, SAT) => Pioneer SC-68 (video mode Auto; all noise processing Off; Output 1080P/60) => Darbee (50% Full Pop) => iScan Mini (convert to 4K/60; Smoothing Low; all other processing Off) => 65C8 calibrated by eye using Tedd’s Disk and SM.

The picture is awesome. I could leave it alone at this point and not touch it again.

I discovered a convenient way to check the 3 Darbee modes. Start with a high processing level, say 90% or even higher, then move through each mode (HD, Game, Full POP) quickly while watching a video scene that provides a lot of contrasting detail. Adjust level down as you cycle over a number of times. This process helped me nail down a level that seems optimal for my particular display.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
gr8sound is offline  
post #10008 of 10127 Old 02-04-2019, 09:42 AM
Member
 
ntstambo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8sound View Post
My video chain: Video Source (BD, SAT) => Pioneer SC-68 (video mode Auto; all noise processing Off; Output 1080P/60) => Darbee (50% Full Pop) => iScan Mini (convert to 4K/60; Smoothing Low; all other processing Off) => 65C8 calibrated by eye using Tedd’s Disk and SM.

The picture is awesome. I could leave it alone at this point and not touch it again.

I discovered a convenient way to check the 3 Darbee modes. Start with a high processing level, say 90% or even higher, then move through each mode (HD, Game, Full POP) quickly while watching a video scene that provides a lot of contrasting detail. Adjust level down as you cycle over a number of times. This process helped me nail down a level that seems optimal for my particular display.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Very interested in hearing about the items you're using. I've got a couple newer Darbees (5000S) but was using the original years ago before it died. I'd love to hear more about the iscan and will google it.
Edit - I read more about the iScan and it doesn't sound like it does much for newer TV's since up-scaling has improved. Tech maybe outdated


Was wondering (anyone can answer) if I'll have any issues plugging a Roku directly into a Darbee? The chain would go: Roku -> Darbee DVP5000S- > LG B7AOLED -> 5.1 audio out via optical to an older receiver setup. Looking at doing the same thing on another 2 TV's in the house (Sharp Elite Pro and Panny VT plasma). My plan is to use HuluTV from the Rokus. If I want 4k content from HuluTV, I was thinking I can log directly into the app through the LG store, bypassing the Darbee. Please let me know your thoughts...thanks.

Last edited by ntstambo2; 02-04-2019 at 09:59 AM.
ntstambo2 is offline  
post #10009 of 10127 Old 02-04-2019, 08:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntstambo2 View Post
Very interested in hearing about the items you're using. I've got a couple newer Darbees (5000S) but was using the original years ago before it died. I'd love to hear more about the iscan and will google it.
Edit - I read more about the iScan and it doesn't sound like it does much for newer TV's since up-scaling has improved. Tech maybe outdated


Was wondering (anyone can answer) if I'll have any issues plugging a Roku directly into a Darbee? The chain would go: Roku -> Darbee DVP5000S- > LG B7AOLED -> 5.1 audio out via optical to an older receiver setup. Looking at doing the same thing on another 2 TV's in the house (Sharp Elite Pro and Panny VT plasma). My plan is to use HuluTV from the Rokus. If I want 4k content from HuluTV, I was thinking I can log directly into the app through the LG store, bypassing the Darbee. Please let me know your thoughts...thanks.
I connected a Roku to Darbee to Panasonic V10 (2009 model) one month ago for a friend and she is very happy with it.
No issues what so ever.
sharok is offline  
post #10010 of 10127 Old 02-05-2019, 04:47 AM
Member
 
ntstambo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
I connected a Roku to Darbee to Panasonic V10 (2009 model) one month ago for a friend and she is very happy with it.
No issues what so ever.

Excellent, thank you! I ordered a few last night for all my TV's. Am on the hunt now for a universal remote that has mapped "Guide" and "On Demand" buttons that'll work with Hulu TV.
ntstambo2 is offline  
post #10011 of 10127 Old 02-05-2019, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
biliam1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Undiscovered Country
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 734 Post(s)
Liked: 395
It's interesting... there have been no updates on their webpage or any of their social media accounts except for Facebook. And that's ironic since they don't even have a link to their FB page on their own website.


https://www.facebook.com/DarbeeVision/


Yet they still claim to be coming out with a 4K, and now 8K, version of their tech.

@imagic


Was there anything at CES about them? Where they even there?
biliam1982 is offline  
post #10012 of 10127 Old 02-05-2019, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by biliam1982 View Post
It's interesting... there have been no updates on their webpage or any of their social media accounts except for Facebook. And that's ironic since they don't even have a link to their FB page on their own website.


https://www.facebook.com/DarbeeVision/


Yet they still claim to be coming out with a 4K, and now 8K, version of their tech.

@imagic


Was there anything at CES about them? Where they even there?
Where are they claiming this? I think the likely hood of seeing a 4K unit is pretttttttty slim
cdnscg is offline  
post #10013 of 10127 Old 02-05-2019, 08:41 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
biliam1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Undiscovered Country
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 734 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
Where are they claiming this? I think the likely hood of seeing a 4K unit is pretttttttty slim

Click on their FB page I linked above. Then scroll through their posts and the comments.
biliam1982 is offline  
post #10014 of 10127 Old 02-05-2019, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by biliam1982 View Post
Click on their FB page I linked above. Then scroll through their posts and the comments.
Regretfully looks like facebook conjecture.
cdnscg is offline  
post #10015 of 10127 Old 02-05-2019, 09:00 AM
Member
 
gr8sound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 27
As someone wrote previously, Darbee Vision died with Dr. Darbee. Very sad that a competent entity could not have picked this up and ran with it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Paul H and cdnscg like this.
gr8sound is offline  
post #10016 of 10127 Old 02-05-2019, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
biliam1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Undiscovered Country
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 734 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
Regretfully looks like facebook conjecture.

Not sure what you mean by conjecture, but Darbeevision actually made posts about it and responded to replies stating such.


Again, may turn out to be vaporware, but they still swear by it that they're still working on something with a "soon" release.
biliam1982 is offline  
post #10017 of 10127 Old 02-05-2019, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 611 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntstambo2 View Post
Very interested in hearing about the items you're using. I've got a couple newer Darbees (5000S) but was using the original years ago before it died. I'd love to hear more about the iscan and will google it.
Edit - I read more about the iScan and it doesn't sound like it does much for newer TV's since up-scaling has improved. Tech maybe outdated


Was wondering (anyone can answer) if I'll have any issues plugging a Roku directly into a Darbee? The chain would go: Roku -> Darbee DVP5000S- > LG B7AOLED -> 5.1 audio out via optical to an older receiver setup. Looking at doing the same thing on another 2 TV's in the house (Sharp Elite Pro and Panny VT plasma). My plan is to use HuluTV from the Rokus. If I want 4k content from HuluTV, I was thinking I can log directly into the app through the LG store, bypassing the Darbee. Please let me know your thoughts...thanks.
Iscan mini does make a difference and has demo mode. Mine it setup like the previous posters and I can't live without the combo now on my cable connection.



Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #10018 of 10127 Old 02-05-2019, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 611 Post(s)
Liked: 197
The issue with 4k version is that it needs to be to handle hdr and that is were the issue is I believe and 10bit bt2020.

The iscan mini can do 4k but not hdr or or 10bit bt2020.

Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Yamaha RXA3070 + Orbs Audio Mod 4/2 7.1.2 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo UDP-203 / Dune Solo 4K / Apple TV 4K / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #10019 of 10127 Old 02-05-2019, 10:56 AM
Member
 
gr8sound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntstambo2 View Post
Edit - I read more about the iScan and it doesn't sound like it does much for newer TV's since up-scaling has improved. Tech maybe outdated

DVDO iScan Mini does more than upscale. It does wonders for 1080i (satellite). I would rather the iScan convert signal to 1080P at the very least prior to signal going to the TV for upscaling.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
gr8sound is offline  
post #10020 of 10127 Old 02-05-2019, 10:56 AM
Member
 
ntstambo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
Iscan mini does make a difference and has demo mode. Mine it setup like the previous posters and I can't live without the combo now on my cable connection.



Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk

Can you tell me more about what you notice? Looks like you're in the UK and wasn't sure if that had something do with it. I really don't know enough about it.
ntstambo2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off