Darbee vision darblet - Page 338 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1123Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10111 of 10123 Old 04-15-2019, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by trilkb View Post
Thinking of buying one of these to go in my setup.

I have a jvc rs420 which is 4k e shift. I watch a lot of blurays because 4k movies arent in my budget.

Im thinking i could add one of these to a hdmi cable on input 2 and leave input 1 for 4k stuff. For $100 on ebay are these things worth it?
I think so
cdnscg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10112 of 10123 Old 04-15-2019, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
humbland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by trilkb View Post
Thinking of buying one of these to go in my setup.

I have a jvc rs420 which is 4k e shift. I watch a lot of blurays because 4k movies arent in my budget.

Im thinking i could add one of these to a hdmi cable on input 2 and leave input 1 for 4k stuff. For $100 on ebay are these things worth it?
INMO, it depends on your screen size. If you have a large screen, then it is worth trying. We have one on our 65" Plasma and there is not much of an impact. However, we have one on our HT with a 125" Scope screen and the impact is clear (HT humor)
humbland is online now  
post #10113 of 10123 Old 04-15-2019, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 9,651
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2361 Post(s)
Liked: 1988
I like it very much for my 65" plasma. I'm still using one of the originals; I recently bought a new one as backup since they don't make them anymore.
YMMV.
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10114 of 10123 Old 04-15-2019, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
trilkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbland View Post
INMO, it depends on your screen size. If you have a large screen, then it is worth trying. We have one on our 65" Plasma and there is not much of an impact. However, we have one on our HT with a 125" Scope screen and the impact is clear (HT humor)
Im at a 106 2.35:1 but 16:9 drops to 84 :-(, I dont have an anamorphic lense. Thinking of building a new one since movies keep switching from 2.35:1 to 16:9 in the same freaking scenes. Id like around a 120" 16:9 with my own masking system for the bottom for constant 2.35:1 movies.

Thanks for the info though!

- 6 BA CR6 array center channel, QSC AD-S82 L/R, 4 jbl 8330a surr , 8 jbl 12" subs w/Inuke 6000. JVC rs420, Denon x4000, Sony x800 -
trilkb is online now  
post #10115 of 10123 Old 04-15-2019, 04:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
humbland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by trilkb View Post
Im at a 106 2.35:1 but 16:9 drops to 84 :-(, I dont have an anamorphic lense. Thinking of building a new one since movies keep switching from 2.35:1 to 16:9 in the same freaking scenes. Id like around a 120" 16:9 with my own masking system for the bottom for constant 2.35:1 movies.

Thanks for the info though!
Happy to help. One factor, besides screen size, is overall sharpness. Like LBNL above, I can see an improvement on our 65" plasma. However, the picture is already razor sharp, with that Panny VT 3D like contrast. It's sort of gilding the lilly to add the Darbee (but I did it anyway)

BTW, the single biggest improvement in our set HT up in the last 10 years (along with Atmos), is to install a second "Scope" screen ("thanks Craig"). If you have a projector with lens memory, give it a try. You can watch the image the way the director wished with NO BLACK BARS...
humbland is online now  
post #10116 of 10123 Old 04-16-2019, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
trilkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbland View Post
Happy to help. One factor, besides screen size, is overall sharpness. Like LBNL above, I can see an improvement on our 65" plasma. However, the picture is already razor sharp, with that Panny VT 3D like contrast. It's sort of gilding the lilly to add the Darbee (but I did it anyway)

BTW, the single biggest improvement in our set HT up in the last 10 years (along with Atmos), is to install a second "Scope" screen ("thanks Craig"). If you have a projector with lens memory, give it a try. You can watch the image the way the director wished with NO BLACK BARS...
Thats what I built, a 106" 2.35:1 "scope" screen, the problem is that movies are starting to flip back and forth more often, Aquaman and Mission Impossible Fallout for example are some recent offenders. So on most blurays I have no black bars. My jvc rs420 has lens memory, but with mission impossible fall out there were scenes that characters in 2.35:1 aspect were talking to Tom Cruise in a 16:9 aspect. So it flipped like 19 times in 1 minute.

Apart from an anamorphic lense the only thing I can think to do is build a 120" 16:9 screen and just deal with it if it drops to 2.35:1 during the movie. With movies I know are 2.35:1 I can put up a black mask, hit lens memory to move the image to the top of the screen to get rid of the black bar up top, then manually put up a velvet masking panel to cover the bottom part of the screen/black bar.

Right now my answer is to calculate seating distance for 106" and 83" and just average it out and put my couch there lol.

Off topic from the darbee, but for $99 for the 5000s I am considering it.

- 6 BA CR6 array center channel, QSC AD-S82 L/R, 4 jbl 8330a surr , 8 jbl 12" subs w/Inuke 6000. JVC rs420, Denon x4000, Sony x800 -
trilkb is online now  
post #10117 of 10123 Old 04-16-2019, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 743 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post
dumb question but do these video processors have their own color, contrast and brightness controls? If so, would they work with a VR headset such as the Oculus Rift(which does not allow you to adjust any of those parameters)?
No. That is not the Darbee's purpose.
erkq is offline  
post #10118 of 10123 Old 04-16-2019, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 743 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by trilkb View Post
Thinking of buying one of these to go in my setup.

I have a jvc rs420 which is 4k e shift. I watch a lot of blurays because 4k movies arent in my budget.

Im thinking i could add one of these to a hdmi cable on input 2 and leave input 1 for 4k stuff. For $100 on ebay are these things worth it?
We only have a projector... an RS500, so I can't comment on effectiveness on smaller screens. But since you are considering using it with a projector, I'd say "yes".
erkq is offline  
post #10119 of 10123 Old 05-07-2019, 03:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Just ordered a Darbeevision 5000s and wanted to use it to stream HBO from a 4k Blu Ray player to an LG C8. Since the 5000s won't pass 4K, if I want to watch a 4K Blu Ray player can I do so by simply unplugging the Darbee? Hoping to avoid purchasing an HDMI switcher that's 4K HDR compliant.


Edit: Note that the 4K Blu Ray player I'm looking at (Sony UBP-X700) has just one HDMI video output (the other HDMI out is for audio only).

Last edited by Dolby2020; 05-07-2019 at 03:56 PM.
Dolby2020 is offline  
post #10120 of 10123 Old 05-08-2019, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolby2020 View Post
Just ordered a Darbeevision 5000s and wanted to use it to stream HBO from a 4k Blu Ray player to an LG C8. Since the 5000s won't pass 4K, if I want to watch a 4K Blu Ray player can I do so by simply unplugging the Darbee? Hoping to avoid purchasing an HDMI switcher that's 4K HDR compliant.


Edit: Note that the 4K Blu Ray player I'm looking at (Sony UBP-X700) has just one HDMI video output (the other HDMI out is for audio only).
The stream from the BR player may be unconverted to 4K and therefore not pass the Darbee. You would have to change the settings in the BR to 1080P. That said, you can unplug the Darbee from the chain any time.
cdnscg is offline  
post #10121 of 10123 Old 06-08-2019, 03:29 AM
Member
 
musicalfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Henley-on-Thames, UK
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I've been trying to find answers to my question in the Darbee thread here, but have been unable to so far.

I have a Panasonic UB820, Marantz 7703 pre, and BenQ HT5550 PJ. What is the best way to slot the Darbee into the chain to use it on 1080p material (and upscale to 2160p in the PJ), while having an easy option to switch to 4K/HDR content when required? Is it possible to use a 2 to 1 HDMI switcher, for example?

If so, are there any settings I should be aware of on the Panasonic and on the projector?

Happy to be redirected to answers on the thread if others have had similar questions. I really appreciate the help if anyone can chime in.
musicalfox is offline  
post #10122 of 10123 Old 06-16-2019, 06:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Bruno, California
Posts: 1,777
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 196
All I know is I can put it early in the chain if needed, and still be good. Many people suggest put it at the end of the chain if possible (which makes strategic sense if you have a receiver or HDMI selector and want to use it for all sources), but I sometimes make sure to have it before my elgato capture device so it can also get Darbee action if needed.

Basically, it doesn't "matter" per se, but just make sure it makes enough strategic sense to you. If you want it before the splitter, you'll be good. So long as you are upscaling using the TV and not your source, it should be able to decode it just fine (no knowing whether your material properly benefits from it though).

Living Room: Samsung PN60F8500 PDP / Anthem MRX 720 / Klipsch RC-62 II / Klipsch RF-82 II (x2) / SVS PC13-Ultra / Sony MDR-7506 Professional / Sony PS3 / DirecTV HR44-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 Darblet / Panamax M5400-PM / miniDSP UMIK‑1 USB
Bedroom: Samsung PN59D7000 PDP / Energy Power Bar Elite Soundbar & SW / Astro A50 / Sony PS4 / DirecTV C41W-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 Darblet / Hauppauge HD PVR 2
Classroom: SMART Board X800 / Yamaha RX-V667 / Insignia NS-B2111 (x2) / SVS SB-2000
muffinmcfluffin is offline  
post #10123 of 10123 Old 06-17-2019, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fleaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,962
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicalfox View Post
I've been trying to find answers to my question in the Darbee thread here, but have been unable to so far.

I have a Panasonic UB820, Marantz 7703 pre, and BenQ HT5550 PJ. What is the best way to slot the Darbee into the chain to use it on 1080p material (and upscale to 2160p in the PJ), while having an easy option to switch to 4K/HDR content when required? Is it possible to use a 2 to 1 HDMI switcher, for example?

If so, are there any settings I should be aware of on the Panasonic and on the projector?

Happy to be redirected to answers on the thread if others have had similar questions. I really appreciate the help if anyone can chime in.
Probably the most elegant solution (operational wise) is to run an additional hdmi cable from the Marantz to the 2nd hdmi input in your projector (say, hdmi 2). Run the darbee inline on that cable and just switch to hdmi 2 on your projector remote when watching 1080p w/darbee.

Your Marantz should have an additional hdmi out for this purpose, or you could try a hdmi splitter at the Marantz hdmi out, then run the 2 separate hdmi cables to the PJ. If your Marantz doesn't mirror the hdmi outputs, that might be an option (or if you have to select hdmi outs on the Marantz, a splitter could avoid that extra step).

I use a monoprice hdmi splitter on the out of my Yammy reciever. I put my darbee before the splitter so I only use 1 darbee for the Flatpanel and my PJ. Note that hdmi splitters are powered.
I don't do 4k.
fleaman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off