New Lumagen Radiance Pro Series - Page 144 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3916Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4291 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 04:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,470
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4897 Post(s)
Liked: 3712
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Ehhhh.....? Radiance is a great box, but HDMI is far from rock-solid..
So how do you deal with it when HDMI issues strike?
audioguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4292 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 04:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
I am still considering something like a Lumagen Pro to add to my projector (JVC RS4500/Panamorph Paladin).

A calibration client of mine has one and while he loves what it does, his seems to be fairly "glitchy" in the sense that while he can fix what doesn't work, it is, according to him, anything but wife friendly.

I would be interested in other's experience along these lines.

I ask because while I, too, can probably "fix it", I no longer have any interest in buying stuff that is not, for the most part. "set it and forget it".

Thanks
The Pro is a great unit. But it is everything but wife friendly. Recently we had a lot of faulty firmware releases / buggy implementations.

The list of problems in beta is endless, just to name a few:

Hdmi handshake issues , aspect ratios (wrong aspects/ bad auto detection), audio dropouts, faulty 18 Ghz soft & hardware, no image/picture loss and so on.

You can read through all of this yourself on the Lumagen Update/Support website.

Sometimes updates cause unrelated problems and whilst you wanted others to do the testing of a new release, the Pro community is not that big that errors are found immediately. It´s a lot of communicating problems with Lumagen directly.

Would I buy the Pro again at the beginning of beta? Definitely not!

Would I buy it at this this stage? Yes, if you have the passion for it and the will to put some time into it.

Never update the pro before watching a movie with the wife or friends!
hellride is offline  
post #4293 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1091 Post(s)
Liked: 729
I’ve never had any HDMI issues with the Pro and the Sony 885 even running the latest firmware. The opposite was true when I had my previous JVC projector. Was a nightmare. Praying for syncing when I had guests over to watch a movie.... . Seems that some of the HDMI issues must include displays as they have older HDMI components or who knows.... It is great that the Lumagen folks continue to support and make allowances for their customer base. I have seen specific notes on the firmware for changes to accommodate X components issues. Even keeping previous HDMI code around. What other company would do all of this..... If you want a Pro in a new setup with few issues, I would talk to the Lumagen folks to see what components they might recommend based upon their experience as a data point. SJ
Mike_WI and A7mad78 like this.
SJHT is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4294 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 08:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,470
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4897 Post(s)
Liked: 3712
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellride View Post
Would I buy the Pro again at the beginning of beta? Definitely not!

Would I buy it at this this stage? Yes, if you have the passion for it and the will to put some time into it.
So even if I didn't install one at the beginning of a beta release, would it then be wife friendly? It appears some folks seem to have no issues and others, do have issues.
audioguy is offline  
post #4295 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
So even if I didn't install one at the beginning of a beta release, would it then be wife friendly? It appears some folks seem to have no issues and others, do have issues.
Beta is ongoing since three years or so and yet there are many more things on the implementation list...
Eventidal is online now  
post #4296 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,470
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4897 Post(s)
Liked: 3712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eventidal View Post
Beta is ongoing since three years or so and yet there are many more things on the implementation list...
Which seems to imply it will never be particularly user friendly. Even without one of those in my chain, I have HDMI issues. Oh well.
audioguy is offline  
post #4297 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
I’ve never had any HDMI issues with the Pro and the Sony 885 even running the latest firmware. The opposite was true when I had my previous JVC projector. Was a nightmare. Praying for syncing when I had guests over to watch a movie.... .
I am pretty sure this is inherent to the JVC. I had the exact same experience with my RS600. Putting an HDFury Integral at the input to the JVC solved my sync issues.
mikela is online now  
post #4298 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 10:30 AM
Member
 
loggeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Which seems to imply it will never be particularly user friendly. Even without one of those in my chain, I have HDMI issues. Oh well.
I have owned many generations of Lumagen products. I simply cannot do without. Mainly because it can help get the best out of my displays.
If you like video calibration and fine tuning (just like you do for audio), you will eventually love it.
I, too, am not fond of its hdmi boards. I have struggled and (still do) with hdmi sinking issues. And it is hard to accept that it is a cable issue when i have tried countless times the same cables at 18 Gbps bypassing lumagen.
If you plan on hiring a professional and getting the suggested hdmi cables, it could be as easy as using the memory buttons.
Mike_WI, bobof and A7mad78 like this.
loggeo is online now  
post #4299 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 06:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,470
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4897 Post(s)
Liked: 3712
Quote:
Originally Posted by loggeo View Post
I have owned many generations of Lumagen products. I simply cannot do without. Mainly because it can help get the best out of my displays.
If you like video calibration and fine tuning (just like you do for audio), you will eventually love it.
I, too, am not fond of its hdmi boards. I have struggled and (still do) with hdmi sinking issues. And it is hard to accept that it is a cable issue when i have tried countless times the same cables at 18 Gbps bypassing lumagen.
If you plan on hiring a professional and getting the suggested hdmi cables, it could be as easy as using the memory buttons.
For all I know about audio, I know close to zero about video. I pay to have my projector properly calibrated and would do the same if I were to get a Lumagen. But given the time delay to get a calibrator here, I would like to be able to at least take advantage of the tone mapping functionality prior to getting the entire system calibrated!
audioguy is offline  
post #4300 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,187
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2569 Post(s)
Liked: 2064
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikela View Post
I am pretty sure this is inherent to the JVC. I had the exact same experience with my RS600. Putting an HDFury Integral at the input to the JVC solved my sync issues.
No, I have a Sony 5000 and have to use a Vertex between the Radiance and the projector to have 96% reliability. So it’s not a JVC issue. Or a Sony issue.

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 16 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #4301 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 07:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
No, I have a Sony 5000 and have to use a Vertex between the Radiance and the projector to have 96% reliability. So it’s not a JVC issue. Or a Sony issue.
Sounds more endemic than I thought.
mikela is online now  
post #4302 of 5586 Old 04-07-2019, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 571 Post(s)
Liked: 572
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Which seems to imply it will never be particularly user friendly. Even without one of those in my chain, I have HDMI issues. Oh well.


I don’t have any issues and the Lumagen is very transparent in my setup unless I’m messing with settings. I can go months without needing to touch it and it’s still working fine. It does time a little bit of time to setup and get familiar with the menu but then it should be set and forget unless you want to tinker.

Lind Family HT
HT - RS2000 - ST130 - Emotiva RMC-1 - XPA-7 - XPA-5 - GE Triton 2 - GE Supercenter XXL - GE Invisa 650 x 8 - Xbox One X - PS4 Pro - Oppo BDP-203 - Kalediscape Strato - HTPC 1008ti- Dual SVS PB16-Ultra's - Lumagen Radiance Pro
kaotikr1 is offline  
post #4303 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 01:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,470
Mentioned: 95 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4897 Post(s)
Liked: 3712
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikela View Post
I am pretty sure this is inherent to the JVC. I had the exact same experience with my RS600. Putting an HDFury Integral at the input to the JVC solved my sync issues.
I happen to have an Integral laying around not being used. So what setting would I use to address these miserable HDMI issues?
audioguy is offline  
post #4304 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 02:18 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,159
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2547 Post(s)
Liked: 1674
I've found the 18G output to be best described as "touchy", more so than any other piece of 18G kit I have with the same 18G certified cables. The only 18G input device that really seems to not mind it is an Atlona "18G" HDR HDbaseT transmitter I have (HDR-EX-70-2PS), so I'm glad that is the way I'm connecting to my display... The latest firmware in both the Atlona and 18G output microcode seem to be robust for me, feeding into a JVC DLA-X7900. I used to have the first release of HDfury Vertex and that didn't like the Pro output much either. I do have a preference to have genlock on, which might exasperate matters.

Outside of the above it is reliable in my system, which is a family cinema room and my kids and wife operate it seamlessly via a Harmony remote control, with automated masking and projector HDR mode switching courtesy of a Raspberry Pi parsing the RS232 status output from the Pro. There is the odd interoperability glitch still (such as the ongoing problems with audio glitching with some HDR AppleTV4K content) but in that particular case I'm prepared to lay most of the blame at Apple's door as they're not playing ball with their metadata.
A7mad78 likes this.
bobof is online now  
post #4305 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 04:31 AM
Senior Member
 
A7mad78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
I happen to have an Integral laying around not being used. So what setting would I use to address these miserable HDMI issues?


Just start with one familiar with the lumagen setup and 3D LUT calibration and I will be pretty sure that when u look to an HDR image u will hold ur head and say WoooW it’s one of the best purchase I done and I consider it as the trinnov but in video arena
A7mad78 is online now  
post #4306 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 06:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,187
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2569 Post(s)
Liked: 2064
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
I happen to have an Integral laying around not being used. So what setting would I use to address these miserable HDMI issues?
With my Vertex, I just leave it on default settings - I dint think the issue is signal format related - just that the 18 ghz outputs on the Radiance are very sensitive to god knows what, and the Vertex handshake seems more robust.

Having said that, I must hard power on my Radiance at the end of my boot cycle to make this work. Soft start is not as reliable.

Don't get me wrong, its a great box for CMS, dynamic tone mapping, aspect control and many other things and I would always want one on the mix. But its HDMI chip vendor seems to be less than ideal for a lot of playback chains. Any source, and at least three different pre-pros, in any connection combination and with nearly any HDMI cable, reliably sync with the 5000 without the Radiance. With the Radiance, I must spin some plates like I'm on the Ed Sullivan show...
darksets, WMJ, loggeo and 2 others like this.

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 16 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #4307 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 07:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
I happen to have an Integral laying around not being used. So what setting would I use to address these miserable HDMI issues?
Here are my settings:











If you have a SN1 device use the bottom input.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Integral 1.png
Views:	317
Size:	33.9 KB
ID:	2550378   Click image for larger version

Name:	Integral 2.png
Views:	311
Size:	24.5 KB
ID:	2550380   Click image for larger version

Name:	Integral 3.png
Views:	309
Size:	29.5 KB
ID:	2550382   Click image for larger version

Name:	Integral 4.png
Views:	307
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	2550384   Click image for larger version

Name:	Integral 5.png
Views:	311
Size:	25.0 KB
ID:	2550386  

mikela is online now  
post #4308 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
cargen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikela View Post
If you have a SN1 device use the bottom input.
Please define what a "SN1 device" is.

Thanks.

JVC RS3000 in AeroLift 150, Paladin DCR lens, Lumagen Radiance Pro, Two Screens: Stewart ElectiScreen StudioTek 130G 153” 240:1 and Screen Innovations Motorized Series 5 Slate 1.2 120" 16:9, Rack: Anthem AVM-60, Oppo 203, Sony CX-7000ES BD Changer, two Anthem A-5's, Rotel 1075, Atmos 7.2.4: 7 Thiel PowerPoint 1.2's, 2 SVS SB-16 Ultra's, 4 Thiel PowerPlane 1.2's. Projector cabling: FIBBR + RUIPro 10M, Remote: URC MX-990.
cargen is offline  
post #4309 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by cargen View Post
Please define what a "SN1 device" is.

Thanks.
It's the serial number of the device. You either have SN1 or SN2. The number on the back of the device starts out as 01 or 02.
mikela is online now  
post #4310 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 620
mikela is online now  
post #4311 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
The only 18G input device that really seems to not mind it is an Atlona "18G" HDR HDbaseT transmitter I have (HDR-EX-70-2PS)
The only issue I have with the current wave of HDbaseT solutions is that they all use compression. It is claimed to be indiscernible to the user. The HDFury Maestro is the only HDbaseT solution claiming to be lossless. However, it is way more than I want to spend.
mikela is online now  
post #4312 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbrinegar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 258
I have had my lumagen for a couple of weeks now and have been very happy so far.

Ive been using it with my JVC rs2000 and my panasonic ub820/direct tv/apple tv 4k/xbox one X/PS4 pro.

Luckily Im happy to report no sync issues. It takes about 10-15 secs to sync, but it works everytime. It syncs a little quicker with my sony 885es, but not by much.

Im hooked up different than most ( I have all my devices running to my anthem AVR passthru then a single output to my Lumagen then output to my projector, all with cert premium monoprice cables) so I can keep my AVR OSD.

Im just thrilled with the HDR tone mapping.

Im using dynamic tone mapping sdh2020 on "8".

Is it recommended to also set the HDR intensity mapping as well? Just experimenting, I like it set to about 800 nits. Does that sound about right for others with a similar set up to mine (JVC rs2000/135 inch diagonal 16x9 neve screen in a light controlled room)?

Thanks for any advice!

JVC RS2000
Anthem mrx1120//Lumagen Radiance Pro
Klipsch Ref series 7.2.4 setup
Oppo 203 //Xbox one X // Apple 4k TV
Stewart Filmscreen 135" Cima Neve
jbrinegar is offline  
post #4313 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 09:15 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,159
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2547 Post(s)
Liked: 1674
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikela View Post
Anyone using the Tributaries cable that Jim recommended? If so, are you still having HDMI sync issues?
Interesting - unless their web information is out of date they are all long length active copper solutions without HDMI.org "hologram" compliance labels. Tributaries guarantee them to 18G but they're only actually certified to the HDMI.org 10.2G level (I guess because they are active with oversize connectors and an external power connection).
https://www.tributariescable.com/products/UHDT
bobof is online now  
post #4314 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 620
mikela is online now  
post #4315 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 09:27 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,159
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2547 Post(s)
Liked: 1674
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikela View Post
The only issue I have with the current wave of HDbaseT solutions is that they all use compression. It is claimed to be indiscernible to the user. The HDFury Maestro is the only HDbaseT solution claiming to be lossless. However, it is way more than I want to spend.
The compression used by the best units is the same compression that has been included in the HDMI2.1 standard. I've not seen any ill-effect from it, but that's not to say there isn't some conceivable issue. When you think it is only having to achieve a 2:1 compression it really doesn't need to do that much with most video signals...

I'm still not convinced by the claims from HDFury on this as they are very cagey when pressed on the detail of their definition of Lossless (I've asked a couple of times and might buy it if I was a bit more convinced), but until someone hooks up a capture card through it you might give them the benefit of the doubt. Ask them the direct question and see what they say if that is a part of your purchasing decision.
mikela likes this.
bobof is online now  
post #4316 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
I'm still not convinced by the claims from HDFury on this as they are very cagey when pressed on the detail of their definition of Lossless (I've asked a couple of times and might buy it if I was a bit more convinced), but until someone hooks up a capture card through it you might give them the benefit of the doubt. Ask them the direct question and see what they say if that is a part of your purchasing decision.
They are playing the proprietary card...don't expect an answer.
mikela is online now  
post #4317 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
GerryWaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 60
"

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikela View Post
Anyone using the Tributaries cable that Jim recommended? If so, are you still having HDMI sync issues?

Yes, I use the cable and no sync issues--although I may not be a "typical user" as I am not using the Radiance with a projector. I'm using it with my Sony Z9D LED TV.
mikela and bobof like this.

Sony XBR-75Z9D | Lumagen Radiance Pro 4446 | Marantz AV8805 | Marantz MM8077 (2) | Denon AVR4311ci | Denon AVR3311ci | Oppo UDP-205 | Roku Ultra | NVidia Shield | Joseph Audio Pulsar (2) | Joseph Audio RM7si (6) | Martin Logan Motion AFX (4) | JL Audio e112 SW | RSL Speedwoofer 10 SW | Goldenear Aon 3 (2) |
GerryWaz is online now  
post #4318 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 10:22 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,159
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2547 Post(s)
Liked: 1674
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerryWaz View Post
Yes, I use the cable and no sync issues--although I may not be a "typical user" as I am not using the Radiance with a projector. I'm using it with my Sony Z9D LED TV.
Which model / length are you using out of interest? Looking at @mikela 's links I see two families that were recommended.
bobof is online now  
post #4319 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
GerryWaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
Which model / length are you using out of interest? Looking at @mikela 's links I see two families that were recommended.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
mikela and bobof like this.

Sony XBR-75Z9D | Lumagen Radiance Pro 4446 | Marantz AV8805 | Marantz MM8077 (2) | Denon AVR4311ci | Denon AVR3311ci | Oppo UDP-205 | Roku Ultra | NVidia Shield | Joseph Audio Pulsar (2) | Joseph Audio RM7si (6) | Martin Logan Motion AFX (4) | JL Audio e112 SW | RSL Speedwoofer 10 SW | Goldenear Aon 3 (2) |
GerryWaz is online now  
post #4320 of 5586 Old 04-08-2019, 06:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 10,746
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3893 Post(s)
Liked: 6697
I always find it interesting to see the complaints about HDMI and picture issues with the Lumagen. I think I can safely say that I change my setup more often than just about anybody here. In the last year I've had at least five different projectors in and out of my room, about 4-5 different disc spinners and a host of streaming devices. I am CONSTANTLY changing things for reviews and evaluations. The amount of times I've ever had an issue getting an image out of my Radiance I could probably count on one hand and still have fingers to spare. So the idea that people have all these issues always causes me to scratch my head.

Jim has said time and again that the edge rates out of the Lumagen are on the high side, meaning that cable selection and length are very important. Some seem to just ignore this or try and argue it out. I use 6-foot long certified Monoprice HDMI cables for all input sources and I've NEVER had an issue, even hot plugging in and out. I have a 25-foot run to the projector mount, which I use a Monoprice for as well, no issues at all for the last 8 or so years I've used it. I constantly go to clients homes that are using 3-foot cables, off brand cables, splitters for this and that and a multitude of other things that are far from simple installations. I can't count how many times I've swapped some high priced cable with a simple $6 Monoprice and things work just fine from there.

In the projection world there are a couple projectors that have pretty sketchy HDMI input designs. The JVC RSx00 series and the Sony 5000ES come to mind directly. These show up a lot in client's homes and seem to be more sensitive to just about everything. I've had the Sony 885 and 995 in my room and didn't have ANY HDMI issues, so I think it is something that Sony have addressed in future designs. I had the RS600 for nearly 9 months with no issues, I always used HDMI input 1 and reliability was excellent for me. I haven't had to resort to reducing the inputs or outputs to 9 Ghz or using older microcode. I have an NX9 at the house now, haven't had a single HDMI hiccup yet. I'll be testing some BenQ projectors in the upcoming weeks and will see how they fare, although I didn't have any issues with last year's BenQ (HT9050).

So in the end I typically suggest MINIMUM 6-foot length Monoprice CERTIFIED HDMI cables for connecting sources. These are pretty much bullet proof and cost a fraction of the price of most cables. For runs greater than 25 ft, use the Monoprice fiber cables (Models 21566 thru 21569) or the Ruipro Ultra Slims (10, 15 and 30 meter designs). Take the rest out, plug the Radiance to the display with NOTHING connected to it to start. Make sure it synchs with the projector just fine on its own. Then plug each source in one at a time and make sure they work fine. I've done this numerous times for my clients and with the right cables I rarely ever have an issue. For clients that buy their Lumagen directly from me, I setup the Lumagen during the installation or if I'm not going to be the one that is there for the setup/calibration, I setup the Lumagen before I ship it to them, delivering plug and play results with little issue. I always suggest what they use for cabling before hand to eliminate as many prospective issues as possible, and I rarely get calls from clients needing help or having connectivity issues.

My Home Theater UPDATED DEC 2017
Technical Editor/Writer Sound and Vision Magazine
Deep Dive AV - Calibration, Consulting and Education
Kris Deering is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off