New Lumagen Radiance Pro Series - Page 167 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6561Likes

post #4981 of 8045 Old 08-01-2019, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2128 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
Yes, Auto aspect works great in releases from the last 6 months (a couple of caveats I'll cover later)
Bobof,

I am a newbie to the Lumagen Video Processor but I have been thinking about adding something like a lumagen or MadVR Envy? when available for my JVC RS3000 Home Theater.

It would primarily be used to help with two issues. 1) Improved 4k upscaling of HD Satellite TV. and 2) Auto-tone mapping of DV and HDR10 content before sending to the RS3000.

What level is Lumagen at with auto-tone mapping DV and HDR10 signals? Do they support dynamic frame by frame tone mapping similar to DV or are they still doing static tone mapping like JVC? Does it require correct metadata to work or will it tone map based on analysis of incoming frame data?

Also is the 4k upscaling superior to JVC's built in upscaling and so they handle motion well?

I am sure you guys have discussed it somewhere in this thread but with 167+ pages it is difficult to find the current state of the hardware.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4982 of 8045 Old 08-01-2019, 03:07 PM
aka jfinnie

Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Quoted: 3361 Post(s)
Liked: 2609
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregCh View Post
Bobof,

I am a newbie to the Lumagen Video Processor but I have been thinking about adding something like a lumagen or MadVR Envy? when available for my JVC RS3000 Home Theater.

It would primarily be used to help with two issues. 1) Improved 4k upscaling of HD Satellite TV. and 2) Auto-tone mapping of DV and HDR10 content before sending to the RS3000.