New Lumagen Radiance Pro Series - Page 174 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3650Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5191 of 5286 Old 08-13-2019, 10:32 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2442 Post(s)
Liked: 1570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookii View Post
Not my experience at all - I’ve had the X9S for some months now and it’s worked largely flawlessly. I came to it rather late after it’s release so the firmware was presumably more mature, but I’ve had no issues with it outputting the correct frame rate, resolution, and colour space. The interface is also good, as is the automated library integration and scraping providing you adopt the necessary file naming conventions.

I’ve had numerous media players of one form or another ever since the TViX boxes some 15 years ago, and the Zidoo has been the best so far for me.
I was initially impressed with it. Perhaps the X9S chip support is better sorted. The HDR as SDR thing was provably an internal problem (every so often it would decide to output HDR content tagged as REC709, usually after being on for a few days). The glitching issues don't affect Infuse on the same network cable, so it at least wasn't as robust to whatever was happening there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Amen to that. THAT missing piece is the ONLY shortcoming of that product.
ATV also doesn't support the integer 24p and 60p refresh rate outputs (only the fractional 23.976 and 59.94 are supported) or 3D, both of which would be nice to have.
bobof is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5192 of 5286 Old 08-14-2019, 04:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,272
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4731 Post(s)
Liked: 3520
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeHolland View Post
Paper Moon, Double Indemnity, Philadelphia Story, It’s a Wonderful Life (Extra Credit), Vertigo, Casablanca, 42nd Street, Gold Diggers (One scene covered),
Singing in the Rain, Mr. Smith goes to Washington, His Girl Friday, From Here to Eternity (wasn't crazy about this), The Postman Always rings twice, Bonnie and Clyde,
The Apartment, On the Waterfront, The Graduate, Guess who is coming to dinner, In the heat of the night.

and some of the first; A trip to the Moon, ,The Great Train Robbery, Muybridge Experiment (Horses with all 4 feet off the ground), Lumiere Brothers (First or early silent films),
The Dickenson Experiment (First time sound with film)
What a great list of movies. I have seen many but most certainly not all. And even with a quick glance, none probably use CGI. While there are some good movies released in these recent years, the number with just great stories and acting (few, if any, special effects) pales in comparison to the above.

The class your wife is taking sounds fabulous!
GeorgeHolland likes this.
audioguy is offline  
post #5193 of 5286 Old 08-14-2019, 10:37 AM
Member
 
galaxyluv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Radiance Pro 4242-18GHz
I am using a Radiance Pro 4242-18GHz.

When I check on the Info Screen, Page 2, The Output Device Capabilities Reads as "18G:N". Does anyone have any idea why it is not showing 18G:Y, because I have the 18GHz Input and Output cards installed.
galaxyluv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5194 of 5286 Old 08-14-2019, 02:14 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,839
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Is the output set to limit to 9 GHz? This is option is configured in the “Style”.

Mark


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
giomania is offline  
post #5195 of 5286 Old 08-14-2019, 09:45 PM
jrp
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,501
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 1083
Quote:
Originally Posted by galaxyluv View Post
Radiance Pro 4242-18GHz
I am using a Radiance Pro 4242-18GHz.

When I check on the Info Screen, Page 2, The Output Device Capabilities Reads as "18G:N". Does anyone have any idea why it is not showing 18G:Y, because I have the 18GHz Input and Output cards installed.
The information on Info Pg 2 is what the downstream device is reporting in its EDID and not what your Pro is capable of.

You can see what you have installed looking at the lower left of Info Pg 4. The colored section says "18G:" the letters after this and before the slash represent one input card each, the letter(s) after the slash represent one output card each. There are two inputs per input card and two outputs per output card. The letter says "Y" if the card is a 18 GHz card, a "N" says it is not a 18 GHz card (and so a 9 GHz card), and a "-" means no card is installed.

As an example for a 4242 with two 18 GHz inputs (1&2), two 9 GHz inputs(3&4), and a 18 GHz output card, will show as "18G: YN/Y,m" where the "m" show as a 0 if the old 18 GHz output microcode is loaded and a 1 if the new 18 GHz output microcode is loaded.

Jim Peterson
Lumagen
jrp is offline  
post #5196 of 5286 Old 08-15-2019, 05:42 AM
Member
 
FenceMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrp View Post
If you follow our recommended "output HDR in a SDR container" calibration is done with SDR patterns. Tone Mapping is off in this case.

The colorspace conversions are independent of the SDR or HDR and Tone Mapping mode. If the input color space is different than the output and the "Auto Convert" is enabled it will always change the data from the input color format to be correct for the output color format.

NOTE: If you want to use a different output color format and use Auto Convert to change the data you need to know what is going on so you can leave auto convert enabled or disable it as appropriate. Here are two examples:

For SDR source I use CMS0->Colorspace = SDR2020, with Auto Convert. For this I have our JVC RS4500 CMS disabled (but these comments work the same if you have it set to 2020). I can do a profile using SDR patterns with Auto Convert *on* and then create a 1D/3D LUT targeting Rec709 Gamut with Bt.1886 Gamma. This is because while Auto Convert is changing the data to 2020, so I can run the projector in 2020 mode (helps reduce the number of output restarts switching from SDR to HDR content), I want to calibrate to Rec709. This 1D/3D LUT is loaded into CMS0. Auto Convert must be on for watching content.

If I set HDR color mode as CMS1->Colorspace = SDRP3, since in this case I want to output and calibrate to P3 for a projector (or TV) with a Gamut around P3, when I do the profile, I must turn Auto Convert *off*. With Auto Convert off, I do a profile with SDR patterns and then create a 1D/3D LUT targeting P3 (D65) and Gamma = 2.4. This 1D/3D LUT is loaded into CMS1. Auto Convert must be on for watching content.
This is a little confusing and I would like to confirm (I have been using Calman with a 2144 for years but the Pro is a bit more complicated) -

For SDR content I want to output SDR 709 (I manually switch my RS2000 from 709 to 2020) so you are saying for this basically just do the same as I have always done with 2144 calibrate CMS0 to Rec709 BT1886 gamma correct?

For HDR content I want to output DTM SDR 2020 so for this one I want (with auto convert off) to calibrate CMS1 to P3 colorspace and Power Gamma 2.4 and then once I turn auto convert back on it will use this P3 Lut to make sure 2020 is correct? Once this is complete I can use the RS2000 in 2020 mode with the color filter engaged?

And then for my TV I can do both over again but use say CMS2 and 3 to have a separate SDR and HDR calibration for the TV? The way I did it with 2144 is set projector to A and TV to B for separate calibrations, sound about right?
FenceMan is offline  
post #5197 of 5286 Old 08-16-2019, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 15,934
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6720 Post(s)
Liked: 7851
Kris Deering calibrated my Lumagen / RS4500 yesterday. Kris's mastery of the Lumagen and dynamic tone mapping is impressive, and the picture looks amazing. Now to watch a bunch of movies. Thank you Kris !
Craig Peer is offline  
post #5198 of 5286 Old 08-16-2019, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
Kris Deering calibrated my Lumagen / RS4500 yesterday. Kris's mastery of the Lumagen and dynamic tone mapping is impressive, and the picture looks amazing. Now to watch a bunch of movies. Thank you Kris !


Looking for some great pic in twitter


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Craig Peer likes this.
A7mad78 is online now  
post #5199 of 5286 Old 08-16-2019, 11:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1226 Post(s)
Liked: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
Kris Deering calibrated my Lumagen / RS4500 yesterday. Kris's mastery of the Lumagen and dynamic tone mapping is impressive, and the picture looks amazing. Now to watch a bunch of movies. Thank you Kris !

Craig any specific Lumagen ATM tweaks other RS4500 guys might find useful? I'll be watching some stuff tonight, it's been awhile.
OzHDHT is online now  
post #5200 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 02:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Just spotted another update:

Beta 080919- Posted 081619 Fix for a DTM color flash issue that occurred for a few seconds on an HDR mode change. Further improvements to Dynamic Tone Mapping.

http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php...ncepro_updates
Spizz, OzHDHT, bferbrache and 2 others like this.

"Don't believe everything you read on the internet". William Shakespeare 1615
Kelvin1965S is online now  
post #5201 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 05:10 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 3,372
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post
Just spotted another update:

Beta 080919- Posted 081619 Fix for a DTM color flash issue that occurred for a few seconds on an HDR mode change. Further improvements to Dynamic Tone Mapping.

http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php...ncepro_updates
I like the new inclusion of the "posted on" date.

HT: Oppo UDP-203 -> Lumagen RadiancePro 4446 {18 GHz input x2 & 18 GHz output x1 cards} - "new (112818 FW)" 18 GHz microcode - parallel outs to --> [Audio: Denon 5308CI] --> [Video: JVC RS520 FW v30.1]
HT Details: link
Mike_WI is offline  
post #5202 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 06:32 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2442 Post(s)
Liked: 1570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post
Just spotted another update:

Beta 080919- Posted 081619 Fix for a DTM color flash issue that occurred for a few seconds on an HDR mode change. Further improvements to Dynamic Tone Mapping.

http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php...ncepro_updates
Awesome, will get this loaded this evening
Kelvin1965S and A7mad78 like this.
bobof is online now  
post #5203 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 15,934
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6720 Post(s)
Liked: 7851
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
Craig any specific Lumagen ATM tweaks other RS4500 guys might find useful? I'll be watching some stuff tonight, it's been awhile.
Hard to say since I only have one movie under my belt. Basically I just had a full system re-calibration, so you could say everything got tweaked ! One thing I did not have setup that Kris did to the Lumagen is the auto aspect detection - which is very cool !
mikela likes this.
Craig Peer is offline  
post #5204 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 10,697
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3834 Post(s)
Liked: 6534
This new update is a substantial revision to the dynamic tone mapping and how it is done. Most likely will require most to adjust the settings in their processor to get the best results. I’ll be reaching out to my clients this week and would suggest those that have had theirs setup professionally do the same.
LJG, SJHT, mikela and 4 others like this.

My Home Theater UPDATED DEC 2017
Technical Editor/Writer Sound and Vision Magazine
Deep Dive AV - Calibration, Consulting and Education
Kris Deering is offline  
post #5205 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 01:25 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2442 Post(s)
Liked: 1570
Noticed it has AA detecting 2.4 for AR > 2.4, which is nice. So now La La Land (2.55:1) triggers 2.4 instead of not detecting anything.
Craig Peer likes this.
bobof is online now  
post #5206 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 03:31 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 2,076
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 990 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
Hard to say since I only have one movie under my belt. Basically I just had a full system re-calibration, so you could say everything got tweaked ! One thing I did not have setup that Kris did to the Lumagen is the auto aspect detection - which is very cool !
Craig,
How does this work if you don't want to use the correct AR? I watched Shape Of Water using bt DCR in 2:40 and loved it.
Also, I would like to hit 16:9 to see the MENU say in a K Movie ot Apple TV?? Or my movies area in the VUDU app.
My install of Lumagen is on 26th - I am sure Adam will be able to answer all these questions - but I am just wondering.
Thanks,
Ash
Ash Sharma is offline  
post #5207 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 04:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 15,934
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6720 Post(s)
Liked: 7851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
Craig,
How does this work if you don't want to use the correct AR? I watched Shape Of Water using bt DCR in 2:40 and loved it.
Also, I would like to hit 16:9 to see the MENU say in a K Movie ot Apple TV?? Or my movies area in the VUDU app.
My install of Lumagen is on 26th - I am sure Adam will be able to answer all these questions - but I am just wondering.
Thanks,
Ash
Not sure since I have two screens and always watch in the native aspect ratio. But that does bring up a question - i'm not sure what happens with those changing aspect ratio movies. I'll have to throw one on and see.
Craig Peer is offline  
post #5208 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 10,697
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3834 Post(s)
Liked: 6534
They change aspect ratio

My Home Theater UPDATED DEC 2017
Technical Editor/Writer Sound and Vision Magazine
Deep Dive AV - Calibration, Consulting and Education
Kris Deering is offline  
post #5209 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 15,934
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6720 Post(s)
Liked: 7851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post
They change aspect ratio
Now that I think about it - in 2.40:1 mode with the DCR lens, it shouldn't make any difference. And on a 16:9 screen - watching Dunkirk ( with the Lumagen set to 16:9 mode ) it should not change either.
Craig Peer is offline  
post #5210 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BrolicBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charles County, MD
Posts: 5,512
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1858 Post(s)
Liked: 2197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
Craig,

How does this work if you don't want to use the correct AR? I watched Shape Of Water using bt DCR in 2:40 and loved it.

Also, I would like to hit 16:9 to see the MENU say in a K Movie ot Apple TV?? Or my movies area in the VUDU app.

My install of Lumagen is on 26th - I am sure Adam will be able to answer all these questions - but I am just wondering.

Thanks,

Ash
Ash, I'm covering this in a YouTube video...already shot. Just need to edit the content.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Ash Sharma and Craig Peer like this.
BrolicBeast is offline  
post #5211 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 06:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1226 Post(s)
Liked: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
Hard to say since I only have one movie under my belt. Basically I just had a full system re-calibration, so you could say everything got tweaked ! One thing I did not have setup that Kris did to the Lumagen is the auto aspect detection - which is very cool !

Thanks Craig, understood. I was probably more asking on the side of whether there were any specific settings altered in the Lumagen for use with DTM that might translate as a benefit to other 4500 owners. Auto aspect is indeed very cool. I've got it permanently engaged and it works a treat .
OzHDHT is online now  
post #5212 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 2,076
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 990 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrolicBeast View Post
Ash, I'm covering this in a YouTube video...already shot. Just need to edit the content.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Also very interested in your Q Sys Core Modes

BrolicBeast likes this.
Ash Sharma is offline  
post #5213 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 10:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BrolicBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charles County, MD
Posts: 5,512
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1858 Post(s)
Liked: 2197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
Also very interested in your Q Sys Core Modes



Love that rack! Man, the Qsys might need to be on a separate video... covered a lot of ground on the video side. YouTuber viewers' attention spans are not what they used to be.

Here's my Lumagen atop The Qsys core and DCA stack!



But hey, check this video out for my early Qsys implementation...my modes have certainly changed since then. Learned tons about eq and some of the rules thereof since then:


Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Ash Sharma, A7mad78 and dinamigym like this.
BrolicBeast is offline  
post #5214 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 11:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 15,934
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6720 Post(s)
Liked: 7851
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
Thanks Craig, understood. I was probably more asking on the side of whether there were any specific settings altered in the Lumagen for use with DTM that might translate as a benefit to other 4500 owners. Auto aspect is indeed very cool. I've got it permanently engaged and it works a treat .


Kris changed pretty much all my settings. But it would be hard to say what would work for someone else - it’s all custom situation specific. Looks great too. I’ll elaborate more as I watch stuff over the next week or two.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Craig Peer is offline  
post #5215 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 11:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1226 Post(s)
Liked: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
Kris changed pretty much all my settings. But it would be hard to say what would work for someone else - it’s all custom situation specific. Looks great too. I’ll elaborate more as I watch stuff over the next week or two.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yeah completely understand Craig, there would be a lot going on in the Lumagen settings across the board with Kris' full calibration of your set up. If I can hone down my question right to what I was getting at really specifically perhaps. What I was interested in was whether say if you were to compare what Jim himself says about the evolution of the default DTM settings and honing these settings slightly out of the box and noting the adjustments to for their house 4500 (matched up to their screen size and with DCR lens of course). If we compared that to what Kris did with right key DTM settings on yours (of course paying note to your specific screen size) was there that much difference to say Jim's 4500 or say mine?. Given Kris is contributing a lot himself to Jim and helping further refine the DTM software, that's kind of why I'm curious to know if much stands out in the actual DTM settings menu on yours now he's done the calibration (that isn't so much screen size dependent say). Hope that makes sense .


I spent some time with the latest firmware today and thought several samples I looked at were excellent. Solo was noticeably improved in the dark scenes.
OzHDHT is online now  
post #5216 of 5286 Old 08-17-2019, 11:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 10,697
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3834 Post(s)
Liked: 6534
Not to sound mean or rude but I’ve asked my clients not to share settings that I’ve done in their setups with others. This is now how I make my living and the level of knowledge I have with the Lumagen and a lot of other things is based on years of work and testing. The fact that most of the defaults in the Lumagen and a lot of the changes you see are based on my testing and feedback with Lumagen speaks volumes to this.

I’m happy to work with any members here on their Lumagen and they can reach out via PM or my website. I’d prefer if the people that paid for my services to get the most from their setup would simply refer those that ask to me. This ensures that others get the best setup for their own home theater and my work and living isn’t undermined. Hope everyone understands.

My Home Theater UPDATED DEC 2017
Technical Editor/Writer Sound and Vision Magazine
Deep Dive AV - Calibration, Consulting and Education
Kris Deering is offline  
post #5217 of 5286 Old 08-18-2019, 05:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 9,272
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4731 Post(s)
Liked: 3520
Interesting.

Lumagen must have changed the enclosure size sometime during the time this product has been on the market. The height of yours is taller than mine and those on his website. Given it is a 4444 with more inputs and outputs than mine would certainly explain the difference, however.
audioguy is offline  
post #5218 of 5286 Old 08-18-2019, 05:30 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2442 Post(s)
Liked: 1570
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Interesting.

Lumagen must have changed the enclosure size sometime during the time this product has been on the market. The height of yours is taller than mine and those on his website. Given it is a 4444 with more inputs and outputs than mine would certainly explain the difference, however.
The original 44xx units were 2U. Interestingly you won't usually really gain any rack height from the change to 1U height because if I recall the 2U intake and exhaust are both on the rear - so it doesn't have as much need for space above and below. The 1U intake and exhaust are bottom and top of the unit I think (at least they are on my 4242), meaning you really need at least 1/2U if not more of spacing top / bottom (at least in the area around the vents).

You can probably squeeze the 1U a bit if you're careful about what you put under it when designing your rack (eg a shelf to take some non-full width components could have a cable TV box offset from the intake)

Edit: Not sure about the 2U observations above - I think the 2U Pro might have the intake on the bottom still...

Last edited by bobof; 08-18-2019 at 09:37 AM.
bobof is online now  
post #5219 of 5286 Old 08-18-2019, 05:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 19,851
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1468 Post(s)
Liked: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post
Not to sound mean or rude but I’ve asked my clients not to share settings that I’ve done in their setups with others. This is now how I make my living and the level of knowledge I have with the Lumagen and a lot of other things is based on years of work and testing. The fact that most of the defaults in the Lumagen and a lot of the changes you see are based on my testing and feedback with Lumagen speaks volumes to this.

I’m happy to work with any members here on their Lumagen and they can reach out via PM or my website. I’d prefer if the people that paid for my services to get the most from their setup would simply refer those that ask to me. This ensures that others get the best setup for their own home theater and my work and living isn’t undermined. Hope everyone understands.
Kris, you are not being mean or rude. You put a lot of work into this and are providing a great service to your clients. Not all calibrators do this by any means, more one and done!
Ash Sharma, SJHT and gwthacker like this.

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/show....php?t=1158431 No dealer is authorized to tell you I refer to them - any referrals I make will be done personally by me. Over the years I have found certain dealer(s) who I cannot recommend for good reason.
! 9.4.13 Trinnov Altitude 32 Theatre renovation/upgrade starts end of July 2019!
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #5220 of 5286 Old 08-18-2019, 05:53 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 2,076
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 990 Post(s)
Liked: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrolicBeast View Post
Love that rack!

Here's my Lumagen atop The Qsys core and DCA stack!


Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Beautiful Rack - You Too..
And Amazing Video - Cant wait for the next one to be released - thanks for sharing your knowledge to all in the forum.
I will post pictures of my Rack once my Lumagen is Installed.
And will send you PM on the Q Sys to keep this thread in line with Lumagen.
BrolicBeast likes this.
Ash Sharma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off