New Lumagen Radiance Pro Series - Page 262 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6400Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7831 of 7843 Old 05-22-2020, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
GerryWaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by danam View Post
If you run a Windows 10 computer, you might (not sure) encounter a compatibility problem (nothing will happen), don't hesitate to activate the "Windows 8 compatibility" feature.
It worked perfectly for me.

=> right-click on the file then "Properties" then "Compatibility" tab, activate with "Windows 8".

Didn't have to on my laptop. Worked just fine for me with Windows 10.
danam likes this.

Sony XBR-75Z9D | Lumagen Radiance Pro 4446+ | Marantz AV8805 | Marantz MM8077 (2) | Denon AVR4311ci | Denon AVR3311ci | Oppo UDP-205 | Roku Ultra | NVidia Shield | Joseph Audio Pulsar (2) | Joseph Audio RM7si (6) | Martin Logan Motion AFX (4) | JL Audio e112 SW | RSL Speedwoofer 10 SW | Goldenear Aon 3 (2) |
GerryWaz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7832 of 7843 Old 05-22-2020, 10:03 PM
Member
 
danam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: paris - france
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 40
It happened to me once, not doing an update but doing a backup of my configuration.
I double clicked on the file and nothing happened ... enabling the Windows 8 compatibility on the file did the trick.
Anyway, just a tip which can help just in case.
danam is online now  
post #7833 of 7843 Old 05-23-2020, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Applemike68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 71
When I choose 2:35 on the lumagen the picture dose not look right on my 2:40.1 screen. Looks overly stretched, if that makes since, everything is to large. Right now it connected to my Strato. any ideas on how to make it look correct on a 2.40 screen?

Thank you

JVC RS3000 : Panamorph DCR Lens :Seymour Reference NEO 2.40 144"
Trinnov Altitude 16 : Kaleidescape Strato S 12TB :Kaleidescape 24TB Server :Apple TV 4K
Oppo 203 : Xbox One X
Procella P8's LCR and P5IW/P5's for surrounds and atmos
Procella P15SI x 4 : Audiocontrol G4 AMPS x 4 : Current Setup 9.4. 4 Atmos : Control 4
Applemike68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7834 of 7843 Old 05-23-2020, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 11,184
Mentioned: 233 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4363 Post(s)
Liked: 7927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applemike68 View Post
When I choose 2:35 on the lumagen the picture dose not look right on my 2:40.1 screen. Looks overly stretched, if that makes since, everything is to large. Right now it connected to my Strato. any ideas on how to make it look correct on a 2.40 screen?

Thank you
In the IO setup screen in the option menu, is your 2.35 button set to NEW or OLD? If it is new, it actually sets the aspect to 2.4, if it is old, it should be 2.35. If you use the auto detect, it will set it based on the incoming frame so you don't have to guess which is right.
JFR0317, Mike_WI and llang269 like this.

My Home Theater UPDATED NOV 2019
Technical Editor/Writer Sound and Vision Magazine
Deep Dive AV - Calibration, Consulting and Education
Kris Deering is offline  
post #7835 of 7843 Old 05-23-2020, 03:44 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 4,092
Mentioned: 94 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3286 Post(s)
Liked: 2498
In a similar vein, it would be quite nice to be able to make the auto aspect detection link 2.35 and 2.4 ratios and choose for only one of them to be used. The difference between the two can still on occasion be slightly twitchy and I'd quite happily settle for cropping anything 2.35 down to 2.4.
JFR0317 and thrang like this.
bobof is offline  
post #7836 of 7843 Old 05-23-2020, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nonstopdoc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 372
1. Do most people use Lumagen between the processor and the display or do you directly connect your devices to the Lumagen (and use it as a HDMI switch) and feed the audio out to the processor? What is recommended for best performance?

2. Also, is this something that can be self installed by an 'prosumer' or is it recommended to go through a dealer?

3. Another question I have is regarding subtitles on streaming services like Netflix or Prime. Most of the times they overlap on the picture and bottom black bar. Is there a way to move them up with this?

FS: QSC DPA 4.2 Amplifier
HT - Seymour Centerstage XD 2.39:1 133" W| JVC X790R | JBL SDP-55 | Nord NC500 | ATI AT528NC | Procella P8/P5V | Revel C763L | Monolith 12" x4
Living Room - LG OLED 65" | Denon X4400H | Monolith 3x200 | KEF Q900 L/R | Paradigm Millenia 20 CC | Polk Surrounds | Rythmik FV15HP x2

Last edited by nonstopdoc1; 05-23-2020 at 03:55 PM.
nonstopdoc1 is offline  
post #7837 of 7843 Old 05-23-2020, 04:37 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 4,092
Mentioned: 94 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3286 Post(s)
Liked: 2498
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonstopdoc1 View Post
1. Do most people use Lumagen between the processor and the display or do you directly connect your devices to the Lumagen (and use it as a HDMI switch) and feed the audio out to the processor? What is recommended for best performance?
Lumagen doing switching is recommended by manufacturer. In my own setup I've tried both and both work fine for me. Your mileage may vary depending on exactly what equipment you have.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonstopdoc1 View Post
2. Also, is this something that can be self installed by an 'prosumer' or is it recommended to go through a dealer?
Can be for sure, there are several owner / self-installer / operators in here - myself included. BUT if you don't have good calibration gear and the skills to use them you're missing out on a large part of the capabilities of the unit. The meters & SW you'd ideally want someone to use to calibrate your system through the Lumagen would have a retail cost of pretty much double a 4242. In my humble opinion not getting the benefit of the calibration capabilities on these is a crime...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonstopdoc1 View Post
3. Another question I have is regarding subtitles on streaming services like Netflix or Prime. Most of the times they overlap on the picture and bottom black bar. Is there a way to move them up with this?
You can't move just the text relative to the image (that would be deep magic) but you can come up with a custom memory that zooms out slightly and shifts the image up the screen so the subtitles are displayed within a scope screen ( though you'll have some pillarboxing). If you don't care for the subtitles and are happy for them to be cropped off you can apply a digital mask to them instead which will stop them lighting up you frame (you can do that in a lot of PJs too though).
bobof is offline  
post #7838 of 7843 Old 05-23-2020, 06:59 PM
jrp
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 1526
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
In a similar vein, it would be quite nice to be able to make the auto aspect detection link 2.35 and 2.4 ratios and choose for only one of them to be used. The difference between the two can still on occasion be slightly twitchy and I'd quite happily settle for cropping anything 2.35 down to 2.4.
Sounds like a good idea. I will mention it to Patrick.

Thanks for the suggestion.
JFR0317, Mike_WI and bobof like this.

Jim Peterson
Lumagen
jrp is offline  
post #7839 of 7843 Old Yesterday, 03:39 AM
Semi-Advanced Member
 
ht guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Indy
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonstopdoc1 View Post
1. Do most people use Lumagen between the processor and the display or do you directly connect your devices to the Lumagen (and use it as a HDMI switch) and feed the audio out to the processor? What is recommended for best performance?

2. Also, is this something that can be self installed by an 'prosumer' or is it recommended to go through a dealer?

3. Another question I have is regarding subtitles on streaming services like Netflix or Prime. Most of the times they overlap on the picture and bottom black bar. Is there a way to move them up with this?
1. You may find it advantageous to feed the video to the Lumagen and the audio to the processor, particularly if you have a small monitor hooked up to the pre/pro that you can use for sound calibration vs. firing up the projector.

2. I purchased mine used. I wiped the settings and did a "prosumer setup" (no calibration) and thought it (and my uncalibrated NX7) looked pretty good...until I got a calibration.
ht guy is offline  
post #7840 of 7843 Old Yesterday, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,731
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1430 Post(s)
Liked: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonstopdoc1 View Post
1. Do most people use Lumagen between the processor and the display or do you directly connect your devices to the Lumagen (and use it as a HDMI switch) and feed the audio out to the processor? What is recommended for best performance?
The advantage of using an AVR/processor as the switching device and having it feed video to the Lumagen is that you'll be able to continue to use the GUI. Using older AVRs had been associated with HDMI issues (and some potential for video degradation if the AVR's video processing circuitry could not be totally defeated), but I have ZERO problems running video sources initially through my Yamaha RX-A3080. I'm unable to predict how your Denon will interface.
nonstopdoc1 likes this.

JVC NX7, Yamaha RX-A3080 (2 discrete 7.2.4 speaker layouts: Dolby Atmos & DTS:X), Lumagen Radiance Pro 4240, Panasonic UB820, Panasonic UB420, Sony BDP-S5100, ATV4K, Roku Ultra, TiVo Bolt Vox, Vandersteen Model 3 Signatures & VCC-1 Signature, Atlantic Technology (side, rear, front height & overhead) surrounds, SVS SB-2000 (2), Clark Synthesis Tactile Bass Transducers (2), Polk PSW-12
docrog is offline  
post #7841 of 7843 Old Yesterday, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 11,184
Mentioned: 233 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4363 Post(s)
Liked: 7927
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
In a similar vein, it would be quite nice to be able to make the auto aspect detection link 2.35 and 2.4 ratios and choose for only one of them to be used. The difference between the two can still on occasion be slightly twitchy and I'd quite happily settle for cropping anything 2.35 down to 2.4.
You can do this in the aspect ratio setup, just do output to input and change what it does for either one. You can customize for every input aspect type.
skylarlove1999 and bobof like this.

My Home Theater UPDATED NOV 2019
Technical Editor/Writer Sound and Vision Magazine
Deep Dive AV - Calibration, Consulting and Education
Kris Deering is offline  
post #7842 of 7843 Old Yesterday, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 11,184
Mentioned: 233 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4363 Post(s)
Liked: 7927
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonstopdoc1 View Post
1. Do most people use Lumagen between the processor and the display or do you directly connect your devices to the Lumagen (and use it as a HDMI switch) and feed the audio out to the processor? What is recommended for best performance?

2. Also, is this something that can be self installed by an 'prosumer' or is it recommended to go through a dealer?

3. Another question I have is regarding subtitles on streaming services like Netflix or Prime. Most of the times they overlap on the picture and bottom black bar. Is there a way to move them up with this?
It is always recommended that you use the Lumagen for switching. It can work the other way, but YMMV quite a bit.

It can be setup by a individual, but there is definitely a learning curve if you want to maximize all the features. Or you could buy it from a dealer that sets it up to your system before it ever arrives (I know a guy)

The Radiance cannot change the subtitles because they are generated by the content or the device. But you can compensate with different aspect ratios to preserve as much width as possible while making the subtitles easier to see.

My Home Theater UPDATED NOV 2019
Technical Editor/Writer Sound and Vision Magazine
Deep Dive AV - Calibration, Consulting and Education
Kris Deering is offline  
post #7843 of 7843 Old Yesterday, 08:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,869
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 949
The device plays a key role. Even though I have a 16:9 screen, when I drop my top mask for 2.4 or whatever aspect, have the Lumagen drop the image to the bottom, the key for my setup is my Strato. Through my control system, I tell it to reconfigure as 2.4 or whatever aspect ratio. It then treats my screen accordingly and puts menus, subtitles, whatever as defined by the aspect ratio. Just like I had that size screen. Really cool feature. SJ
SJHT is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off