New Lumagen Radiance Pro Series - Page 69 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4211Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2041 of 5987 Old 10-07-2017, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I am thinking about getting a 4440 unit, but have a couple of questions. Does the pro unit support Dolby vision? Can this unit be upgraded to 4446 by adding new inputs later?
Tuning is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2042 of 5987 Old 10-07-2017, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,276
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2647 Post(s)
Liked: 2151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuning View Post
I am thinking about getting a 4440 unit, but have a couple of questions. Does the pro unit support Dolby vision? Can this unit be upgraded to 4446 by adding new inputs later?
No Dolby Vision support and I think Jim posted a few months back that is not on the roadmap.
thrang is offline  
post #2043 of 5987 Old 10-07-2017, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,922
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
No Dolby Vision support and I think Jim posted a few months back that is not on the roadmap.
but yes you can add more modules to make it a 4442 or a 4444 or a 4446

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2044 of 5987 Old 10-09-2017, 09:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1131 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Picked up an Apple TV 4K. Seems to work pretty solid with the Pro! SJ
SJHT is offline  
post #2045 of 5987 Old 10-13-2017, 12:58 AM
Senior Member
 
KarlKlammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookii View Post
Personally I’d like to see a future IM implementation where the Radiance Pro reads ahead by a frame and calculates its own dynamic tone mapping based on that frames peak luminance. That then removes the reliance on possible incorrect metadata, and will also possibly give users more control over how much range and variation that dynamic tone mapping is allowed to use between frames.
Some Displays already have their own way to analyze frames and dynamically modify tone mapping (for example LG and even this years Sony projectors have some kind of dynamic enhancement).
I'm quite happy with the current state of IM compared to the original implementation. But I also think, this frame analysis would be a major step to improve the HDR experience, provided that the Radiance has enough processing power and the result wouldn't look like a bad tuned dynamic iris.

Projection: JVC DLA-NX9
VP/Calibration: Lumagen Radiance Pro, LightSpace CMS, x-rite i1 Pro 2, x-rite i1 Display 3
KarlKlammer is offline  
post #2046 of 5987 Old 10-13-2017, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BrolicBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charles County, MD
Posts: 5,573
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1894 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
Picked up an Apple TV 4K. Seems to work pretty solid with the Pro! SJ

Question: how does 4k streaming on the Apple TV through the Lumagen compare to a 4k disc? Also, does it contain the same metadata that allows the Lumagen to determine the nit mastering level (for IM purposes)? I know that Apple recently revamped their encoding, and I'm wondering if they're getting closer to disc quality. I'm looking for a reason to move my Roku Ultra from the theater into the family room.
BrolicBeast is offline  
post #2047 of 5987 Old 10-13-2017, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1131 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrolicBeast View Post
Question: how does 4k streaming on the Apple TV through the Lumagen compare to a 4k disc? Also, does it contain the same metadata that allows the Lumagen to determine the nit mastering level (for IM purposes)? I know that Apple recently revamped their encoding, and I'm wondering if they're getting closer to disc quality. I'm looking for a reason to move my Roku Ultra from the theater into the family room.
It is OK, but disc (and in my case Kaleidescape as well) are superior including audio. We mostly used streaming to watch Netflix original content as well as others like HBO, etc. I also create movies and slide shows from my Mac and easy to show these through the Apple TV devices. Now, if they would finally add Amazon to these units which they are suppose to do soon.... Also, haven’t watched any HDR yet.... SJ
SJHT is offline  
post #2048 of 5987 Old 10-13-2017, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,276
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2647 Post(s)
Liked: 2151
For me, 4K HDR appears identical to UHD. Outstanding....

4K Dolby Vision titles (relying on HDR-10 base layer information) seems to have some meta data or encoding issues resulting in occasional highlight blowout - working with Apple on investigating this, and I think Jim and Patrick are starting to look into what’s being delivered and how the Radiance is processing, so it’s a bit early to know what’s going on

But once this is addressed, and Atmos is added, it will be a killer box.
AidenL likes this.
thrang is offline  
post #2049 of 5987 Old 10-13-2017, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,276
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2647 Post(s)
Liked: 2151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post
Display as in the OLED? I can try that scene both ways (DV vs HDR10) and let you know how it looks. I have that movie in my library so easy to test. I will try and get to it this weekend and report back.
Hi Kris


Did you ever get a chance to look at this...?
thrang is offline  
post #2050 of 5987 Old 10-14-2017, 08:58 AM
Member
 
leemathre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I just want to give Jim Peterson of Lumagen a shout out for the best support I have ever received for any product from any vendor. I was one of the first 40 owners of a Radiance Pro and mine has logged many hours of use. My unit basically stopped working recently and I sent it in for repair. Jim went well above and beyond what I expected to get my Pro working and he treated me extremely well. I am a Lumagen fan for life.

Lee Mathre
Las Vegas, NV
leemathre is offline  
post #2051 of 5987 Old 10-14-2017, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D_B_0673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by leemathre View Post
I just want to give Jim Peterson of Lumagen a shout out for the best support I have ever received for any product from any vendor. I was one of the first 40 owners of a Radiance Pro and mine has logged many hours of use. My unit basically stopped working recently and I sent it in for repair. Jim went well above and beyond what I expected to get my Pro working and he treated me extremely well. I am a Lumagen fan for life.
I echo your experience with Jim. I bought an Radiance XD in 2007, am still using it but will be upgrading to a pro next week (tuesday) along with a new JVC RS640. I am the farthest from understanding all this as a person could get and Jim, both 10yrs ago and now has patiently helped me. This level of customer service is unheard of. I will tell you, that if I could not buy from Jim, I will do without and just run my new JVC as is and without a external processor.
dan
leemathre likes this.

Dan

Last edited by D_B_0673; 10-14-2017 at 09:55 AM.
D_B_0673 is offline  
post #2052 of 5987 Old 10-18-2017, 12:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Good morning, I just received my Radiance Pro.

I would like to match it with a tv Oled Lg E6, I wanted to ask if it is possible to send the signal to the Tv at 18Ghz or if the maximum allowed is 9Ghz, I ask this because with the 18Ghz I can not see the pictures while the 9 ghz is all correct .

HDMI Cable or HDMI Input Problem (max 9ghz limit on tv?)....?
mikigio is offline  
post #2053 of 5987 Old 10-18-2017, 04:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D_B_0673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikigio View Post
Good morning, I just received my Radiance Pro.

I would like to match it with a tv Oled Lg E6, I wanted to ask if it is possible to send the signal to the Tv at 18Ghz or if the maximum allowed is 9Ghz, I ask this because with the 18Ghz I can not see the pictures while the 9 ghz is all correct .

HDMI Cable or HDMI Input Problem (max 9ghz limit on tv?)....?
which Pro do you have and does it have 18Ghz input and output cards, or just 9Ghz

Dan
D_B_0673 is offline  
post #2054 of 5987 Old 10-18-2017, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by D_B_0673 View Post
which Pro do you have and does it have 18Ghz input and output cards, or just 9Ghz

Hi.
yes i have input and output 18ghz in Radiance Pro, but maybe Lg input only 9 Ghz ?
mikigio is offline  
post #2055 of 5987 Old 10-18-2017, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,157
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1182 Post(s)
Liked: 1053
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikigio View Post
Good morning, I just received my Radiance Pro.

I would like to match it with a tv Oled Lg E6, I wanted to ask if it is possible to send the signal to the Tv at 18Ghz or if the maximum allowed is 9Ghz, I ask this because with the 18Ghz I can not see the pictures while the 9 ghz is all correct .

HDMI Cable or HDMI Input Problem (max 9ghz limit on tv?)....?
You should have NP using 18GHz inputs or outputs. I have a LG EF9500 and a C7, NP sending a SDR or HDR signal.

ss

"Don't worry be happy"
LG77C8, Klein K10-A, Jeti 1211, CMS Lightspace, Calman home plus licence for K10-A, Murideo 6G.
sillysally is offline  
post #2056 of 5987 Old 10-18-2017, 08:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
You should have NP using 18GHz inputs or outputs. I have a LG EF9500 and a C7, NP sending a SDR or HDR signal.

ss

What is NP?
mikigio is offline  
post #2057 of 5987 Old 10-18-2017, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D_B_0673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikigio View Post
What is NP?
probably "no problem"

Dan
D_B_0673 is offline  
post #2058 of 5987 Old 10-18-2017, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 3,386
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Arrow FW Beta 100317

http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php...ncepro_updates

Beta 100317
Added programmable crossover point for selecting HDR mapping settings (was previously fixed at 2000 nits).
Crossover point setting is found in menu under Input: Options: HDR Setup: Crossover Pt .
Improved HDR intensity mapping for HDR in to HDR out.
Fix for case of 'Auto' setting of Output: CMS: Colorspace not getting the correct output (particular case was input change from SDR709 to HDR2020 and incorrectly left output at SDR709).
Fix for bad source that in some cases could prevent Pro from giving picture or cause occasional video stutters even if the source was not the currently selected input.
Fix for 42xx reporting 4k60-422 as 420.
Improved or eliminated some cases of screen flashes on input format changes.
Small menu improvements.
Added debug command, "menu 0529", to view last 32 characters received over rs232.
Please continue giving us your detailed feedback on issues via email at [email protected] .
Update time ~5 minutes @230k from previous firmware
alex_t likes this.

HT: Oppo UDP-203 -> Lumagen RadiancePro 4446 {18 GHz input x2 & 18 GHz output x1 cards} - "new (112818 FW)" 18 GHz microcode - parallel outs to --> [Audio: Denon 5308CI] --> [Video: JVC RS520 FW v30.1]
HT Details: link
Mike_WI is offline  
post #2059 of 5987 Old 10-18-2017, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 10,870
Mentioned: 204 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4055 Post(s)
Liked: 7086
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Hi Kris


Did you ever get a chance to look at this...?
Sorry no, I have been on a submarine for the last couple weeks, which wasn't planned. I will try and look this weekend.

My Home Theater UPDATED DEC 2017
Technical Editor/Writer Sound and Vision Magazine
Deep Dive AV - Calibration, Consulting and Education
Kris Deering is offline  
post #2060 of 5987 Old 10-18-2017, 07:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,157
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1182 Post(s)
Liked: 1053
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikigio View Post
What is NP?
Quote:
Originally Posted by D_B_0673 View Post
probably "no problem"
Yes NP stands for no problem.

ss

"Don't worry be happy"
LG77C8, Klein K10-A, Jeti 1211, CMS Lightspace, Calman home plus licence for K10-A, Murideo 6G.
sillysally is offline  
post #2061 of 5987 Old 10-18-2017, 07:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,276
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2647 Post(s)
Liked: 2151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post
Sorry no, I have been on a submarine for the last couple weeks, which wasn't planned. I will try and look this weekend.
I went to a buffet unexpectedly last week, but doesn’t seem like the same thing...

Hopefully this was not against your will....

Anyway, you should be prepared to do a deep-dive on this issue...
jamesmil, JFR0317 and Mike_WI like this.
thrang is offline  
post #2062 of 5987 Old 10-19-2017, 01:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
Yes NP stands for no problem.

ss
Hi, tank you for answer,

I guess this, if it passes a 4k 24/30p 18Ghz signal no problem, while if it passes a 4K signal 50/60p 18 Ghz freezes the video and becomes black on Oled.
mikigio is offline  
post #2063 of 5987 Old 10-19-2017, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Intensity mapping question

Hi everybody!
My name is Rikard, and i am from Sweden.

I have plans to buy a 4240 model.
I have a question about this intensity mapping.
I read earlier in this thread that some of you output a HDR in to SDR out and then do this mapping.
But don't you lose the 10-bit then?
In the owners manuel it says something about internal test pattern. What patterns is there?
And last, which calibration tools do you prefer and work best with Lumagen. Calman, chromapure or other?

You have to excuse me for my bad vocabulary

Rikard
Rikard R is offline  
post #2064 of 5987 Old 10-19-2017, 10:19 AM
Member
 
Chris5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Hi mikigio, your problem is almost certainly the hdmi cables you are using. Don't ask me which have been proved to work with 18ghz + pro 'cause I don't know. You also have not said how long the cable run is.

Sony 65A1 OLED
Chris5 is offline  
post #2065 of 5987 Old 10-19-2017, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,922
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikard R View Post
Hi everybody!
My name is Rikard, and i am from Sweden.

I have plans to buy a 4240 model.
I have a question about this intensity mapping.
I read earlier in this thread that some of you output a HDR in to SDR out and then do this mapping.
But don't you lose the 10-bit then?
In the owners manuel it says something about internal test pattern. What patterns is there?
And last, which calibration tools do you prefer and work best with Lumagen. Calman, chromapure or other?

You have to excuse me for my bad vocabulary

Rikard
You can send 10bit HDR in to scaler and output it at 4:2:2 12bit...
patterns. There are a lot of patterns. http://lumagen.com/docs/Tip0005_Usin...rns_112013.pdf
Personally i use LightSpace by Lightillusion for LUT calibration with the Pro

Gordon

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
post #2066 of 5987 Old 10-19-2017, 04:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris5 View Post
Hi mikigio, your problem is almost certainly the hdmi cables you are using. Don't ask me which have been proved to work with 18ghz + pro 'cause I don't know. You also have not said how long the cable run is.

Hello and thank you everyone, I solved the problem of 18Ghz, I had an incorrect setting in the HDMI port TV to which was attached the radiance Pro, now all ok.


I add, very good quality the Lut on SDR and the tone mapping of HDR Pro has potential, I prefer it compared to the tone mapping of Tv Oled.

Last edited by mikigio; 10-19-2017 at 11:23 PM.
mikigio is offline  
post #2067 of 5987 Old 10-21-2017, 05:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D_B_0673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Are there brightness/contrast patterns in the Lumagen, that I can use to set brighness.contrast in a new JVC projector.
Any advice or suggestions greatly appreciated
thanks
dan

Dan
D_B_0673 is offline  
post #2068 of 5987 Old 10-21-2017, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dlinsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by D_B_0673 View Post
Are there brightness/contrast patterns in the Lumagen, that I can use to set brighness.contrast in a new JVC projector.
The Pro's manual says to use Contrast1 and Contrast2 from tech tip 5.

I've not used it myself - I should check them out. I just like the flashing bars on the free AVS disc (download the ISO and burn) for SDR, and Ryan Masciola's for HDR.
dlinsley is offline  
post #2069 of 5987 Old 10-21-2017, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D_B_0673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlinsley View Post
The Pro's manual says to use Contrast1 and Contrast2 from tech tip 5.

I've not used it myself - I should check them out. I just like the flashing bars on the free AVS disc (download the ISO and burn) for SDR, and Ryan Masciola's for HDR.
Thanks
I was just pointed to the AVS disk, and practiced with it on my current tv and my 10yr old RS1 pj.
Will use it on the new PJ when it arrives
and will look at the tech tip you mentioned
dan

Dan
D_B_0673 is offline  
post #2070 of 5987 Old 10-22-2017, 01:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hi, I have a message when I save a parameter that says and I lose the input and output saved parameters, it returns to default, this happens now after loading the last firmware. This is message. firmware invalidate update.

how should I behave

Last edited by mikigio; 10-22-2017 at 01:55 AM.
mikigio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off