HDfury Dr HDMI 4k - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 83 Old 02-10-2020, 06:19 AM
Member
 
blub-blub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK, thx a lot
blub-blub is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 83 Old 02-28-2020, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Mandal, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 23
@HDfury , This device is rock solid. Not one wrong move in the month I've had it! Out of pure interest, is the HTPC mode simply blocking the signal to pin 19 on the HDMI plug to avoid hot pluggin detection? If you can answer and it isn't a business secret, that is.

11.4/7.4.4 Wharfedale E-series, Wharfedale Topaz 12" and 15" subwoofers, B&W ceiling speakers for Atmos/DTS:X use, Yamaha RX-A3070 for 7.2.4 and RX-A2070 for 0.2.4 in a Frankenstein presence setup, with RX-V3067 as a pure power amp for ceiling speakers for Atmos/DTS:X use, JVC DLA-X500 projector
Mastiff is offline  
post #63 of 83 Old 02-28-2020, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,622
Mentioned: 688 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5447 Post(s)
Liked: 1585
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiff View Post
@HDfury , This device is rock solid. Not one wrong move in the month I've had it! Out of pure interest, is the HTPC mode simply blocking the signal to pin 19 on the HDMI plug to avoid hot pluggin detection? If you can answer and it isn't a business secret, that is.
Yes that's it mainly (hotplug not propagated to the source from the sink), just keep in mind that such mode cannot work with hdcp protected content, so only use it with source that does not use or need hdcp.

Maestro: 4I/4O +4K HDR over HDBT +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver. [Won Best Product Award]
Diva: 4I/3O +Ambient Light +Lag Tester +4K HDR > 1080p SDR +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +autoswitch +webserver.
Vertex2: 4I/3O +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver.
HDfury is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 83 Old 02-28-2020, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Mandal, Norway - on the frozen tundra
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I thought so, thanks for satisfying my curiosity. And I know, I almost exclusively watch ISO ripped stuff, so the HDCP is already stripped.
HDfury likes this.

11.4/7.4.4 Wharfedale E-series, Wharfedale Topaz 12" and 15" subwoofers, B&W ceiling speakers for Atmos/DTS:X use, Yamaha RX-A3070 for 7.2.4 and RX-A2070 for 0.2.4 in a Frankenstein presence setup, with RX-V3067 as a pure power amp for ceiling speakers for Atmos/DTS:X use, JVC DLA-X500 projector
Mastiff is offline  
post #65 of 83 Old 03-03-2020, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JonStatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I have a 4 way HDMI switch with an optical output that supports bitstream from the HDMI source. However because the output device is an RS2000 projector, the PS4 pro and Xbox one X refuse to go into bitstream output and only output stereo.

Can I download the EDID from the projector and then easily modify it to enable dolby digital 5.1 bitstream?

Thanks
JonStatt is offline  
post #66 of 83 Old 03-03-2020, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,622
Mentioned: 688 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5447 Post(s)
Liked: 1585
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonStatt View Post
I have a 4 way HDMI switch with an optical output that supports bitstream from the HDMI source. However because the output device is an RS2000 projector, the PS4 pro and Xbox one X refuse to go into bitstream output and only output stereo.

Can I download the EDID from the projector and then easily modify it to enable dolby digital 5.1 bitstream?

Thanks
You don't need to modify PJ EDID, you can use one of the available edid banks in Dr.HMDI 4K, way easier than starting to modify EDID if you don't have experience on that.

Maestro: 4I/4O +4K HDR over HDBT +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver. [Won Best Product Award]
Diva: 4I/3O +Ambient Light +Lag Tester +4K HDR > 1080p SDR +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +autoswitch +webserver.
Vertex2: 4I/3O +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver.
HDfury is offline  
post #67 of 83 Old 03-13-2020, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,622
Mentioned: 688 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5447 Post(s)
Liked: 1585
Arrow Dr.HDMI 4K - FW0.8

This update is mandatory in case of issue.
Anyone willing to update and provide feedback is welcome.


######### What's new on FW 0.8 #########

1. minor EDID improvements

2. stability improved under heavy use condition




Download link: http://www.hdfury.com/tools/Dr.HDMI4K_v0.8.zip

Maestro: 4I/4O +4K HDR over HDBT +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver. [Won Best Product Award]
Diva: 4I/3O +Ambient Light +Lag Tester +4K HDR > 1080p SDR +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +autoswitch +webserver.
Vertex2: 4I/3O +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver.
HDfury is offline  
post #68 of 83 Old 03-20-2020, 09:07 AM
Newbie
 
schorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello,

I would like to determine if the DrHDMI will work for my use case. I have an Oppo UDP-203, run to a Pioneer SC-99 AVR, outputting to an LG OLED 65E6.

The problem I'm having is that the SC-99 EDID doesn't officially support DV passthrough. However, I've been able to get it to pass the metadata.

I've used another EDID emulator (Atlona Etude) in between the Oppo and the Pioneer. I copied the EDID from the LG E6, which allowed the Oppo to output Dolby Vision. The Pioneer SC-99 successfully passes the DV metadata to my TV in this configuration. However, since the EDID for the LG TV does not report that it can handle Dolby TrueHD/DTS HD-MA, I'm only getting standard Dolby Digital output to the receiver.

Would it be possible to use a similar setup with the DrHDMI 4K to achieve Dolby Vision and use lossless codecs or 8 channel pcm with the receiver?

Of note, I've tried copying the EDID from a newer OLED C9 without success. I think the Dolby Vision profile is different on the newer TVs, so it didn't end up working that way.
schorman is offline  
post #69 of 83 Old 03-20-2020, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,622
Mentioned: 688 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5447 Post(s)
Liked: 1585
Quote:
Originally Posted by schorman View Post
Hello,

I would like to determine if the DrHDMI will work for my use case. I have an Oppo UDP-203, run to a Pioneer SC-99 AVR, outputting to an LG OLED 65E6.

The problem I'm having is that the SC-99 EDID doesn't officially support DV passthrough. However, I've been able to get it to pass the metadata.

I've used another EDID emulator (Atlona Etude) in between the Oppo and the Pioneer. I copied the EDID from the LG E6, which allowed the Oppo to output Dolby Vision. The Pioneer SC-99 successfully passes the DV metadata to my TV in this configuration. However, since the EDID for the LG TV does not report that it can handle Dolby TrueHD/DTS HD-MA, I'm only getting standard Dolby Digital output to the receiver.

Would it be possible to use a similar setup with the DrHDMI 4K to achieve Dolby Vision and use lossless codecs or 8 channel pcm with the receiver?

Of note, I've tried copying the EDID from a newer OLED C9 without success. I think the Dolby Vision profile is different on the newer TVs, so it didn't end up working that way.
Yes sure, that will work just fine.

Our EDID are modded for full audio, so it will work with default custom EDID out of the box.

Maestro: 4I/4O +4K HDR over HDBT +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver. [Won Best Product Award]
Diva: 4I/3O +Ambient Light +Lag Tester +4K HDR > 1080p SDR +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +autoswitch +webserver.
Vertex2: 4I/3O +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver.
HDfury is offline  
post #70 of 83 Old 03-20-2020, 09:16 AM
Newbie
 
schorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Great! Thanks for the quick response.
schorman is offline  
post #71 of 83 Old 04-13-2020, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,
i have a Sony A9G Oled TV and in NetFlix build-in app i get Atmos sign when using TV's speakers, but when i connect my TV to my AV Receiver trought the eARC, NetFlix downgrades to 5.1. My AV supports Atmos but has ARC HDMI and not eARC. Can i make Sony "think" that is connected to an eARC device, and enable Atmos on NetFlix app, with HDFury Dr 4K ?
xstef75 is offline  
post #72 of 83 Old 04-14-2020, 01:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,622
Mentioned: 688 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5447 Post(s)
Liked: 1585
Quote:
Originally Posted by xstef75 View Post
Hello,
i have a Sony A9G Oled TV and in NetFlix build-in app i get Atmos sign when using TV's speakers, but when i connect my TV to my AV Receiver trought the eARC, NetFlix downgrades to 5.1. My AV supports Atmos but has ARC HDMI and not eARC. Can i make Sony "think" that is connected to an eARC device, and enable Atmos on NetFlix app, with HDFury Dr 4K ?
No you need HDfury Vertex2/Diva or Maestro to extract eARC from your TV and forward to your AVR INPUT !

Maestro: 4I/4O +4K HDR over HDBT +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver. [Won Best Product Award]
Diva: 4I/3O +Ambient Light +Lag Tester +4K HDR > 1080p SDR +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +autoswitch +webserver.
Vertex2: 4I/3O +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver.
HDfury is offline  
post #73 of 83 Old 04-30-2020, 02:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi I have a Apple TV 4K which goes to my LG C7 OLED, the problem is the Apple TV sends out the wrong Dolby Vision type, Player-led instead of TV-led. Will the Dr HDMI 4K fix my issue and be able to force TV-Led DV? As currently I have raises blacks and a dimmed picture.
chris2304 is offline  
post #74 of 83 Old 04-30-2020, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,622
Mentioned: 688 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5447 Post(s)
Liked: 1585
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris2304 View Post
Hi I have a Apple TV 4K which goes to my LG C7 OLED, the problem is the Apple TV sends out the wrong Dolby Vision type, Player-led instead of TV-led. Will the Dr HDMI 4K fix my issue and be able to force TV-Led DV? As currently I have raises blacks and a dimmed picture.
Yes it will by using EDID with DV mode 0 or mode 1

Maestro: 4I/4O +4K HDR over HDBT +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver. [Won Best Product Award]
Diva: 4I/3O +Ambient Light +Lag Tester +4K HDR > 1080p SDR +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +autoswitch +webserver.
Vertex2: 4I/3O +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver.
HDfury is offline  
post #75 of 83 Old 05-01-2020, 06:24 AM
Member
 
wuffzack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Control via RS232

Is there a way to switch edid banks programatically? The device has an RS232 port, can this be used? If yes, how? Is there a manual or documentation for the required cable?

Thanks!
wuffzack is offline  
post #76 of 83 Old 05-01-2020, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,622
Mentioned: 688 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5447 Post(s)
Liked: 1585
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuffzack View Post
Is there a way to switch edid banks programatically? The device has an RS232 port, can this be used? If yes, how? Is there a manual or documentation for the required cable?

Thanks!
Just read the RS232.txt that comes with any firmware update package.

Dr.HDMI 4K jack expects the following plug signals:
TIP = TX [sends data out from Dr HDMI 4K]
RING = RX [receives data to Dr HDMI 4K]
SLEEVE = GND

Parameters: 115200, n, 1, no handshake

DRHDMI2 version 0.8 (use #HELP on terminal to display it)

RS232 Commands [precede all commands with #-character ]

get version -- returns the current firmware version
get edid -- returns the current EDID mode and table number
get edidmode -- returns the current EDID mode
get edidtable -- returns the current EDID table number
get htpcmode -- returns htpcmode < on | off >

set hotplug -- issue RX hotplug
set edid < sink | custom | fhd | uhdfull | uhd51 | uhdstereo > < table # >
-- for < sink > no table # is defined, same as "edid custom 8"
-- for < custom > table # 1-8, #8 is the sink EDID
-- for < fhd | uhdfull | uhd51 | uhdstereo > table # 1-8

set htpcmode < on | off > -- set to ignore sink hotplugs

Maestro: 4I/4O +4K HDR over HDBT +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver. [Won Best Product Award]
Diva: 4I/3O +Ambient Light +Lag Tester +4K HDR > 1080p SDR +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +autoswitch +webserver.
Vertex2: 4I/3O +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver.
HDfury is offline  
post #77 of 83 Old 05-01-2020, 06:45 AM
Member
 
wuffzack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDfury View Post
Just read the RS232.txt that comes with any firmware update package.
...
Great, I have overlooked this. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks a lot!
HDfury likes this.
wuffzack is offline  
post #78 of 83 Old 05-11-2020, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 55
My prior Dr.HDMI4K failed a while ago. I have a used unit arriving soon. I do not know what version of firmware has been installed. Four questions: 1) How can I check for the current firmware version, so that I can update correctly; 2) what are the differences between v0.8, Driver 3.9.2 and v0.8, Driver 4.0.0; 3) is there an advantage in using Driver 4.0.0 over Driver 3.9.2; 4) how can I replace one driver version with another?
Thanks.

LG OLED55C9 | Denon AVR-X3400H | ATV 4K | Sony UBP-X700 | Hsu HC-1 MK2 (C) & HB-1 MK2 (LRSur), Sub VTF-15H MK2, ELAC Atmos | X-Rite i1D3 OEM | 2019 CalMAN Home for LG

Last edited by mhmercer; 05-11-2020 at 08:29 PM.
mhmercer is offline  
post #79 of 83 Old 05-12-2020, 05:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,622
Mentioned: 688 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5447 Post(s)
Liked: 1585
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhmercer View Post
My prior Dr.HDMI4K failed a while ago. I have a used unit arriving soon. I do not know what version of firmware has been installed. Four questions: 1) How can I check for the current firmware version, so that I can update correctly; 2) what are the differences between v0.8, Driver 3.9.2 and v0.8, Driver 4.0.0; 3) is there an advantage in using Driver 4.0.0 over Driver 3.9.2; 4) how can I replace one driver version with another?
Thanks.
If you have WIN10, there is no driver to install anymore, just connect to WIN10 and windows will install driver from internet, once done you can proceed normally with 3.9.2 directory.
You can check FW version by running GUI utility.
There is no advantage in using one driver against another, some combo of OS and USB port might work better but if you are under WIN10, just connect unit and let windows install driver for you and proceed with 3.9.2.

If you need to remove driver and install another, just go in program files/installed program and remove any reference you see to "silicon laboratories", "silabs", "usbxpress" and restart your computer. There is help video on our discord server or on our youtube channel for that if you need.

Maestro: 4I/4O +4K HDR over HDBT +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver. [Won Best Product Award]
Diva: 4I/3O +Ambient Light +Lag Tester +4K HDR > 1080p SDR +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +autoswitch +webserver.
Vertex2: 4I/3O +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver.
HDfury is offline  
post #80 of 83 Old 05-12-2020, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDfury View Post
If you have WIN10, there is no driver to install anymore, just connect to WIN10 and windows will install driver from internet, once done you can proceed normally with 3.9.2 directory.<snip>
Thanks.
HDfury likes this.

LG OLED55C9 | Denon AVR-X3400H | ATV 4K | Sony UBP-X700 | Hsu HC-1 MK2 (C) & HB-1 MK2 (LRSur), Sub VTF-15H MK2, ELAC Atmos | X-Rite i1D3 OEM | 2019 CalMAN Home for LG
mhmercer is offline  
post #81 of 83 Old 05-14-2020, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDfury View Post
<snip>
There is help video on our discord server <snip>
How does one access the "discord server"; I can't locate it from your website?

LG OLED55C9 | Denon AVR-X3400H | ATV 4K | Sony UBP-X700 | Hsu HC-1 MK2 (C) & HB-1 MK2 (LRSur), Sub VTF-15H MK2, ELAC Atmos | X-Rite i1D3 OEM | 2019 CalMAN Home for LG
mhmercer is offline  
post #82 of 83 Old 05-14-2020, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,622
Mentioned: 688 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5447 Post(s)
Liked: 1585
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhmercer View Post
How does one access the "discord server"; I can't locate it from your website?
Go on HDfury.com > support > 24/7

Or just go here: https://discord.gg/dkFtm9

Maestro: 4I/4O +4K HDR over HDBT +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver. [Won Best Product Award]
Diva: 4I/3O +Ambient Light +Lag Tester +4K HDR > 1080p SDR +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +autoswitch +webserver.
Vertex2: 4I/3O +Autoswitch any sources +HDMI/ARC/eARC sound to AVR input +webserver.
HDfury is offline  
post #83 of 83 Old 05-14-2020, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDfury View Post
Go on HDfury.com > support > 24/7

Or just go here: https://discord.gg/dkFtm9
Thanks.

LG OLED55C9 | Denon AVR-X3400H | ATV 4K | Sony UBP-X700 | Hsu HC-1 MK2 (C) & HB-1 MK2 (LRSur), Sub VTF-15H MK2, ELAC Atmos | X-Rite i1D3 OEM | 2019 CalMAN Home for LG
mhmercer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off