Headphone amp connection - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-24-2019, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Headphone amp connection

Probably a beating horse subject but help needed please. Thanks in advance

How are headphone amps connected to stereo pre amps in a normal 2 channel system.
(My goal is to be able to listen to headphones or through power amp for speakers, Not at the same time obviously)

I purchased a set of Hifiman Massdrop HE4xx headphones , impedance is 35.
my 2 channel system includes (GTP-555) Adcom pre amp with a built in headphone amp plug in, and Carver power amp, only analog input not being occupied on back of pre amp is (aux/vid). I keep reading about how separate headphone amps will only enhance my Phones sound quality over standard electronics built into separates ( eg: pre, power) ,

[[So am I correct to assume since the CD player (source) has a DAC built in, would I be able to run a Y splitter out of the CD players output RCA jack , and hook one line of splitter to the Adcom pre amp for normal through the speakers play and the other off the splitter feeding the phono amp, this way bypassing the Adcom volume control for headphone use, but still able to listen to the source (the CD player), then I guess that would bypass the Adcom pre amp completely along with any tone controls which would be an issue. Looking for ideas]]

Pre amp inputs being used are both Tapes 1&2, CD, Phono, Processor,Tuner, (Aux/Vid is only free).

How would I connect a external headphone amp to this type of system, I am confused from all the different explanations, none of which are for something similar to a simple 2 channel separates system. I mainly would use it to listen to my SACD player.

I also have a seperate Denon 3313ci AVR ( which is solely used for Audio/Video),with a SACD player hooked up also, would it be easier to use this system for what I am trying to accomplish considering it has so many more connection options free, if so , what connections would be advised.

Thanks for any input!

Last edited by pizzano; 07-24-2019 at 03:04 PM.
pizzano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-24-2019, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 6,193
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 957 Post(s)
Liked: 525
The Adcom GTP-555 has a Front Panel 1/4-in Headphone Jack that "should" be adequate to drive your HiFiMan 35-ohm Headset. BTW: Adcom Manual says you can turn PreAmp OFF while listening via Headphone Jack.

Alternatively, you can connect a Headphone Amp's L/R Input Jack [Analog RCA or 3.5-mm] to either the "Tape 1 OUT" or "Tape 2 OUT" RCA Jacks, which are NOT affected by the Adcom's Volume Control....so you only need to operate the Headphone Amp's Volume Control.

FYI: To drive my HiFiMan 400i's, I use the fol. Headphone Amp which has Bass/Mid/Treble Tone Controls [very rare]...which I find essential to "fix" numerous tracks. It is located next to my chair, plugged into a USB port on a nearby Power Strip:
https://www.sybausa.com/index.php?ro...product_id=270
https://www.sybausa.com/index.php?ro...ownload_id=276
https://www.kmart.com/syba-sd-dac-so...-05704434000P#

Since it's a 40+ ft run, to ensure no high frequency loss, instead of a very long shielded phono cable, I use a pair of off-the-shelf 50-ft RG-59 Coax cables with fol. F-Type to RCA Jack Adapters on both ends....plus a 3.5-mm to Stereo RCA Jack Adapter:
https://www.amazon.com/VCE-2-Pack-Co.../dp/B01N80QQ1F
Plus:
https://www.amazon.com/Gold-Plated-Copper-Shell-Heavy-Duty-Adapter-Extension/dp/B0721B58J2

Last edited by holl_ands; 07-24-2019 at 05:58 PM.
holl_ands is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-24-2019, 11:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post
The Adcom GTP-555 has a Front Panel 1/4-in Headphone Jack that "should" be adequate to drive your HiFiMan 35-ohm Headset. BTW: Adcom Manual says you can turn PreAmp OFF while listening via Headphone Jack.

Alternatively, you can connect a Headphone Amp's L/R Input Jack [Analog RCA or 3.5-mm] to either the "Tape 1 OUT" or "Tape 2 OUT" RCA Jacks, which are NOT affected by the Adcom's Volume Control....so you only need to operate the Headphone Amp's Volume Control.

FYI: To drive my HiFiMan 400i's, I use the fol. Headphone Amp which has Bass/Mid/Treble Tone Controls [very rare]...which I find essential to "fix" numerous tracks. It is located next to my chair, plugged into a USB port on a nearby Power Strip:
https://www.sybausa.com/index.php?ro...product_id=270
https://www.sybausa.com/index.php?ro...ownload_id=276
https://www.kmart.com/syba-sd-dac-so...-05704434000P#

Since it's a 40+ ft run, to ensure no high frequency loss, instead of a very long shielded phono cable, I use a pair of off-the-shelf 50-ft RG-59 Coax cables with fol. F-Type to RCA Jack Adapters on both ends....plus a 3.5-mm to Stereo RCA Jack Adapter:
https://www.amazon.com/VCE-2-Pack-Co.../dp/B01N80QQ1F
Plus:
https://www.amazon.com/Gold-Plated-Copper-Shell-Heavy-Duty-Adapter-Extension/dp/B0721B58J2

As stated , I don't have any tape connections free on the pre amp, and it would be just too much of a hassle to pull my equipment out and disconnect and connect everytime.

Also in the Adcom manual , It states the (Power amp) gets turned off (not Pre amp) while using the Adcoms front phone jack, because unlike AVR's where when you plug into the phone jack it automatically cuts off signal to the pre out and speakers, Doesn't work that way on separates such as a Adcom Pre amp.

I need a way to be able to connect a headphone amp and still be able to keep the system hooked up without eliminating already connected sources, or use my AVR and SACD for my headphone listening and work something out hooking a phone amp to the AVR.

((The adcom phono amp that is built in sounds good until I get roll off and muffle when the volume gets louder))

Appreciate your input!!
pizzano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 07-25-2019, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 6,193
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 957 Post(s)
Liked: 525
Even if already used, it is easy to add a set of "Y" cables on the Adcom's L/R "Tape 1 OUT" RCA Jacks [or "Tape 2 OUT"], with easy connection to Headset Amplifier's L/R Audio Input [as I mentioned above you might also need a L/R RCA to 3.5-mm Stereo Plug Adapter]:
https://www.amazon.com/Calrad-Stereo.../dp/B0745GWFX8 [Gold Plated]
https://www.amazon.com/Kenable-Stack.../dp/B003OSTKLU [Low Cost]

I'm not exactly sure what your desired configuration would be, but you could connect HDMI Outputs of SACD and DVD/BD-Player to AVR and ALSO connect their L/R Stereo RCA Output Jacks to Inputs on Adcom....or alternatively connect AVR's L/R Stereo RCA Jack OUTPUTS [if implemented] to a single (shared) Input on Adcom....or Zone2 Outputs [if implemented]. There are other alternatives if you have difficulties with these approaches....

Last edited by holl_ands; 07-27-2019 at 11:00 AM.
holl_ands is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-26-2019, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Thanks
pizzano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Headphones

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off