alternatives for Sony HW700DS - surround headphones for 100% movies usage - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 05-24-2020, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 60
alternatives for Sony HW700DS - surround headphones for 100% movies usage

hi everyone!

I'm relatively new to the headphone scene as I've always been using my main HT system and subs. But due to having a young child at home & i can't blast, I am not able to use my main system. Hence I migrated to headphones to watch my movies late at night which brings me a BIG SMILE and keeps me sane!

I am currently using the Sony HW700DS headphone system.

I love what I am hearing on the Sony HW700DS for movies and I am waiting for the JVC Exofield to be released. But the JVC's release looks like to be delayed to later part this year due to the coronavirus.

So I'm looking for good alternatives that can perform better than the Sony HW700DS in the interim period while I wait for the JVC to be released. The Smyth is out for me as it's too expensive.

Usage is 100% movies. I don't use a HTPC at all for movies and I only play my movies 100% via my Oppo 203 BD/ Media player, with a shaker connected. So the headphone needs to work with my HT system and not thru a PC.

Any suggestions are very welcome! =)

Last edited by sevenz; 05-24-2020 at 08:53 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 05-25-2020, 12:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 682
There are no others unless you want to involve a PC or game console. It's either the Smyth or JVC. Is there some reason you can't wait the few months? The JVC is supposed to come out in August for about $1000, which is only 3 months away. It doesn't seem worth it to invest in something else for this short period of time.
post #3 of 8 Old 05-25-2020, 12:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 60