Xtreamer Pro.. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 478 Old 02-10-2010, 06:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
talas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Xtreamer Pro more Information..Soon.




Connectivity:
WIFI
UPnP SSDP
UPnP AV

Web services
Video : YouTube, Picasa, Yahoo Video, CNN, NBC Today, CBS Face the Nation and more
Audio : Live365 Radio, iPodcast, Radiobox, ABC News, BBC Podcast, CNN News , Indiefeed, Jamendo
Photo : Picasaweb
RSS feed :Yahoo! Weather, Yahoo! News, Yahoo! Xchange, MSNBC News and more



Video containers : MPEG1/2/4 Elementary (M1V, M2V, M4V),MPEG1/2 PS (M2P, MPG), MPEG2 Transport Stream (TS, TP,
TRP, M2T, M2TS, MTS), VOB, AVI, ASF, WMV, Matroska (MKV), AVC HD, MOV (H.264), MP4, RMP4, FLV - Flash Video.[color=][/color]

Video codecs : XVID SD/HD, MPEG-1, MPEG-2([email protected]), MPEG-4.2([email protected], 720p, 1-point GMC ), WMV9([email protected]),H.264([email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]), VC-1([email protected], [email protected])
Audio containers : AAC, M4A, MPEG audio (MP1, MP2, MP3, MPA), WAV, WMA, FLAC, OGG
[color=]Audio codecs[/color]: Dolby tureHD, DTS-HD Master Audio(DTS DownMix Supported), WMA, WMA Pro, AAC, MP1, MP2, MP3,LPCM, FLAC, Vorbis .

Audio pass through : DTS, Dolby Digital, DTS-HD MA, DTS-HD HR, Dolby True HD, Dolby Digital Plus.
Photo formats :JPEG, BMP, PNG, GIF, HD JPEG.
Other formats: ISO, IFO, FLV, RM, RA, RAM.
Subtitle formats : SRT, SMI, SUB, SSA, IDX .
Streaming formats : RTSP, FLV .

Chipset Interface
Realtek 128X (Special Edition) 1x USB 2.0 slave
2x USB 2.0 host
Memory 1x eSATA
256MB DDR SDRAM, 256MB Flash Internal 3.5” SATA x 2bay]

Audio/Video outputs Network
HDMI v1.3a (up to 1080p) Ethernet 10/100
Composite Video WIFI USB Antenna 802.11n (optional)
Stereo Analog Audio
S/PDIF Optical Digital Audio Power
12V DC, 3A & 5V DC, 4.5A

Dimension
175mm(W) x 120mm(D) x 82mm(H
Weight: 1Kg
Multi Language
English, Korean, Spanish, French, German, Dutch, Danish, Italian, Russian,
Hebrew, Czech, Hungarian, Portuguese, Swedish, Slovenian Croatian boat,
Finnish, Polish, Romanian, Thai, Vietnamese, Greek, Chinese.
H.264 3.5”SATA 2BAY HDMI1.3 eSATA DivX
talas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 478 Old 02-10-2010, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Is this supposed to be eTrayz meets Xtreamer?

Cheers
dbone1026 is offline  
post #3 of 478 Old 02-10-2010, 07:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
talas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
talas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 478 Old 02-10-2010, 07:48 AM
Member
 
lmaolmao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
wonder why there needs to be a "hdd A/hdd B" switch>?
lmaolmao is offline  
post #5 of 478 Old 02-10-2010, 08:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MySassyGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looks good...

I hope they have a strong cooling system to vent additional 2 hard-drives.

sticking two 2TB for a total of 4TB storage in that thing would be a nice...
MySassyGirl is offline  
post #6 of 478 Old 02-10-2010, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
talas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More Information Tomorrow.
talas is offline  
post #7 of 478 Old 02-10-2010, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
720p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,374
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmaolmao View Post

wonder why there needs to be a "hdd A/hdd B" switch>?

just a guess but probably it can read from one or the other but not both at the same time, even if it doesn't make any sense?
720p is offline  
post #8 of 478 Old 02-10-2010, 11:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
talas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
talas is offline  
post #9 of 478 Old 02-11-2010, 12:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 41
for $ 500 i guess?
zoro is offline  
post #10 of 478 Old 02-11-2010, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
talas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No idea on Price but i would think Cheaper than that.
talas is offline  
post #11 of 478 Old 02-11-2010, 01:38 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since it's exactly the same as the existing Xtreamer but with eSATA and the two 3.5" drive bays I suspect it will be priced quite low. Perhaps at or slightly above the PlayOn, ~$160.

It's interesting that the video codec specs are exactly the same as the first Xtreamer but with the omission of TrueHD and DTS-HD MA passthrough. So a tactic admission by Xtreamer of the deficiency of the Realtek chip in this regard.
iboum is offline  
post #12 of 478 Old 02-11-2010, 01:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by iboum View Post

Since it's exactly the same as the existing Xtreamer but with eSATA and the two 3.5" drive bays I suspect it will be priced quite low. Perhaps at or slightly above the PlayOn, ~$160.

It's interesting that the video codec specs are exactly the same as the first Xtreamer but with the omission of TrueHD and DTS-HD MA passthrough. So a tactic admission by Xtreamer of the deficiency of the Realtek chip in this regard.

Then no go man, if no hd audio pass through ! Sorry extremer!
zoro is offline  
post #13 of 478 Old 02-11-2010, 01:52 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At least they are giving accurate specifications this time.

I meant 'audio specs', not 'video specs' above btw..
iboum is offline  
post #14 of 478 Old 02-11-2010, 02:08 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by iboum View Post

At least they are giving accurate specifications this time.

I meant 'audio specs', not 'video specs' above btw..

Agreed. I was able to get PlayON to update their audio specs on the PlayON!HD to clearly state that you only get pass through of DTS(MA)/TrueHD CORE, previously it only said DTS(MA)/TrueHD passthrough.

Very simple, if you care about HD Audio at a minimum stay away from Realtek players.

Cheers
dbone1026 is offline  
post #15 of 478 Old 02-11-2010, 02:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Actually, where are they giving accurate specs, as it clearly states:

Quote:


Audio pass through : DTS, Dolby Digital, DTS-HD MA, DTS-HD HR, Dolby True HD, Dolby Digital Plus.

As far as I am concerned this implies the Xtreamer can passthrough UNTOUCHED HD Audio...

Cheers
dbone1026 is offline  
post #16 of 478 Old 02-11-2010, 03:28 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ha. Yeah, you're right. Wishful thinking on my behalf.

The Xtreamer fairy story continues..
iboum is offline  
post #17 of 478 Old 02-11-2010, 01:42 PM
Member
 
theinv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love the xtreamer, but I wish it had a gigabit LAN port. Copying files to and from xtreamer over network is too slow and takes forever. With the current xtreamer, I have to remove the drive, connect it to my pc to do the copying.
theinv is offline  
post #18 of 478 Old 02-11-2010, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 205
I would still like to know how the Xtreamer can advertise bitstreaming of HD audio when a) it obviously cannot do so and b) it is now fact that the realtek chips cannot support HD Audio???

Cheers
dbone1026 is offline  
post #19 of 478 Old 02-11-2010, 11:43 PM
Member
 
Stinkpickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by talas View Post

HDMI v1.3a (up to 1080p) Ethernet 10/100


o_O
Stinkpickle is offline  
post #20 of 478 Old 02-12-2010, 06:12 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,943
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9304 Post(s)
Liked: 5987
Quote:
Originally Posted by theinv View Post

I love the xtreamer, but I wish it had a gigabit LAN port. Copying files to and from xtreamer over network is too slow and takes forever. With the current xtreamer, I have to remove the drive, connect it to my pc to do the copying.

Use the USB cable. Then you can connect it to the PC and it will show up as a USB drive. and you will get fast file transfers. No need to remove the hard drive.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #21 of 478 Old 02-12-2010, 12:17 PM
Newbie
 
kyosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But you would have to detach a device and bring it over to the other room to attach. not ideal for those of us who want to do everything via the router/switch.

Right now i'm waiting for a 10/100/1000 Xstreamer.
kyosho is offline  
post #22 of 478 Old 02-12-2010, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1004 Post(s)
Liked: 769
Please be advised that Xtreamer have not "officially" released any information about the Xtreamer Pro. The specification for the product has not been finalised yet.

The "leaked" information posted in this thread is inaccurate...


SeeMoreDigital
Xtreamer Forum Moderator

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #23 of 478 Old 02-12-2010, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by iboum View Post

Since it's exactly the same as the existing Xtreamer but with eSATA and the two 3.5" drive bays I suspect it will be priced quite low. Perhaps at or slightly above the PlayOn, ~$160.

It's interesting that the video codec specs are exactly the same as the first Xtreamer but with the omission of TrueHD and DTS-HD MA passthrough. So a tactic admission by Xtreamer of the deficiency of the Realtek chip in this regard.


True. Now I wouldn't consider a streamer that can't play TrueHD. While some people don't need that, I have a system that I'd like to use and hear that good, rich sound. Too bad, was pretty cool being able to house 2 drives.
Opentoe is offline  
post #24 of 478 Old 02-12-2010, 01:16 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,943
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9304 Post(s)
Liked: 5987
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyosho View Post

But you would have to detach a device and bring it over to the other room to attach. not ideal for those of us who want to do everything via the router/switch.

Right now i'm waiting for a 10/100/1000 Xstreamer.

That is still easier than removing the hard drive.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #25 of 478 Old 02-12-2010, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post

Please be advised that Xtreamer have not "officially" released any information about the Xtreamer Pro. The specification for the product has not been finalised yet.

The "leaked" information posted in this thread is inaccurate...


SeeMoreDigital
Xtreamer Forum Moderator



While "inaccurate" I still suspect the PRO doesn't support TrueHD passthru. I never got my Xtreamer to play full uncompressed M2TS or MKV files. Using NFS or TCP, the same lag. Then bring my Dune into the picture, right over the same Ethernet connection, HDMI connection, can play these files fine. The Xtreamer is a great portable solution for those on the run/road all the time. Not for an addition to the living room system. IMHO of course.
Opentoe is offline  
post #26 of 478 Old 02-12-2010, 01:27 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,943
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9304 Post(s)
Liked: 5987
Quote:
Originally Posted by opentoe View Post

............ The xtreamer is a great portable solution for those on the run/road all the time. Not for an addition to the living room system. Imho of course.

+1

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #27 of 478 Old 02-12-2010, 02:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

While "inaccurate" I still suspect the PRO doesn't support TrueHD passthru. I never got my Xtreamer to play full uncompressed M2TS or MKV files. Using NFS or TCP, the same lag. Then bring my Dune into the picture, right over the same Ethernet connection, HDMI connection, can play these files fine. The Xtreamer is a great portable solution for those on the run/road all the time. Not for an addition to the living room system. IMHO of course.

It has been confirmed that Realtek players cannot support HD Audio bitstreaming, it is a hardware limitation. Also agree about the Xtreamer being a great portable solution

Cheers
dbone1026 is offline  
post #28 of 478 Old 02-12-2010, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Actually, where are they giving accurate specs, as it clearly states:



As far as I am concerned this implies the Xtreamer can passthrough UNTOUCHED HD Audio...

Here we go again..... you think !

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
post #29 of 478 Old 02-12-2010, 03:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post

Here we go again..... you think !

Haha, is this deja vu!!!

Cheers
dbone1026 is offline  
post #30 of 478 Old 02-12-2010, 06:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,257
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Haha, is this deja vu!!!

Too funny... Dune still # 1 when dealing with HD Audio

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off