Apple TV owners' thread. - Page 737 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 27825Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22081 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 02:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,945
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Sadly I don't have the Oppo 203 to test anything about that.

I do know running the ATV4K through the Oppo 203 results in audio problems. (I don't believe it will pass the version of ATMOS that ATV4K uses.)

If possible can the ATV4K be routed to the system bypassing the 203? FW updates can help however the 203 has been discontinued for a while and may have it's final FW update by now.
Brian Hampton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22082 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 04:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 138
I recently purchased the Sony WH1000XM3 bluetooth headphones which supports Apples preferred AAC codec.

In the Sony APP it shows AAC fine when pairing with iPhone and iPAD, however reverts to horrible painful SBC when connected to my APPLE TV4K.

Can anyone help with this as I am sure APPLE TV4k supports AAC bluetooth to headphones.

Is there an Audio setting I should change on the Apple TV4K?
Soundizer17 is offline  
post #22083 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 874 Post(s)
Liked: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nattypol View Post
Hello, everyone. My preprocessor doesn't support HDMI 2.0 , so I connect Apple TV 4k to HDMI in of Oppo UDP-203, then I connect HDMI video/audio from Oppo UDP-203 to Sony VPL-VW695ES and HDMI audio from Oppo UDP-203 to my preprocessor. I have a problem with Apple TV 4k connecting via Oppo UDP-203. The menu is very sluggish and I see a lot of dropout in video and audio. I can't watch any contents on Apple TV 4k.
Has anyone ever experienced this situation like me? Is this a bug or glitch between Apple TV 4k and Oppo UDP-203? I updated both Apple TV 4k and Oppo UDP-203 to latest firmware.
Thank you for your help.
Sounds like an HDMI handshake issue. Make sure all of your HDMI cables are premium certified. I have heard that having just one on the chain that is not can cause problems.
Buddylee123 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22084 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nattypol View Post
Hello, everyone. My preprocessor doesn't support HDMI 2.0 , so I connect Apple TV 4k to HDMI in of Oppo UDP-203, then I connect HDMI video/audio from Oppo UDP-203 to Sony VPL-VW695ES and HDMI audio from Oppo UDP-203 to my preprocessor. I have a problem with Apple TV 4k connecting via Oppo UDP-203. The menu is very sluggish and I see a lot of dropout in video and audio. I can't watch any contents on Apple TV 4k.

Has anyone ever experienced this situation like me? Is this a bug or glitch between Apple TV 4k and Oppo UDP-203? I updated both Apple TV 4k and Oppo UDP-203 to latest firmware.

Thank you for your help.
1. See the very first post in this thread with respect to proper settings for your AppleTv
2. Don’t pass HDMI through your Oppo since the Oppo doesn’t fully support the AppleTv4k

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #22085 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Need help setting up Apple TV
Just purchased the 4K 32GB Apple TV for Netflix only. I don’t have Mac or Iphone. I use wired internet 300mbps and HDMI cable. I set it up and select Netflix, click circle OK and now it ask me to have ITunes account to purchase it. I already have a premium account with Netflix so why would I want to purchase it from Itunes. I just want to install Netflix. Any idea what idea what I’m doing wrong?
Milan254 is offline  
post #22086 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
flyinion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milan254 View Post
Need help setting up Apple TV

Just purchased the 4K 32GB Apple TV for Netflix only. I don’t have Mac or Iphone. I use wired internet 300mbps and HDMI cable. I set it up and select Netflix, click circle OK and now it ask me to have ITunes account to purchase it. I already have a premium account with Netflix so why would I want to purchase it from Itunes. I just want to install Netflix. Any idea what idea what I’m doing wrong?


You'll need to create an iTunes account. Even free apps are considered purchases they just don't cost anything. You're acquiring the app from Apple's app store. I was a little confused about the "purchase" thing myself for free apps when I switched to Apple a couple years ago from Android. Overall it's no different than Android using a Google account to log in and do things like getting apps.


Sent from my iPhone X using Tapatalk

Pansonic TC-P60VT60 | Denon AVR-X4500H | Sony UBP-X800 | Chane A2.4 L/C/R | Chane A1.4 SR | SVS Elevation Atmos/height | SVS PB-2000 | Logitech Harmony 950 | Arris MX011ANM (Xfinity X1) | Apple TV 4K
flyinion is online now  
post #22087 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinion View Post
You'll need to create an iTunes account. Even free apps are considered purchases they just don't cost anything. You're acquiring the app from Apple's app store. I was a little confused about the "purchase" thing myself for free apps when I switched to Apple a couple years ago from Android. Overall it's no different than Android using a Google account to log in and do things like getting apps.


Sent from my iPhone X using Tapatalk
Thanks I will try that. PS: curious to see if the Netflix picture quality on Apple TV is much better
than the pre-installed Netflix application on my LG C8 OLED TV. What is your opinion- your TV or Apple TV for Netflix?
Milan254 is offline  
post #22088 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
flyinion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milan254 View Post
Thanks I will try that. PS: curious to see if the Netflix picture quality on Apple TV is much better

than the pre-installed Netflix application on my LG C8 OLED TV. What is your opinion- your TV or Apple TV for Netflix?


I don't know about a current LG OLED like that since I'm still using a Panasonic plasma that hasn't had app updates in like 3-4 years now but I don't think the C8 can output Atmos on Netflix if that matters to you. Atmos on Netflix (and other content) was one of the big reasons we actually got an ATV. I thought about doing an Xbox One for Netflix Atmos, but I don't actually really do console gaming so it would have been a waste of $$$ to a degree.


Sent from my iPhone X using Tapatalk

Pansonic TC-P60VT60 | Denon AVR-X4500H | Sony UBP-X800 | Chane A2.4 L/C/R | Chane A1.4 SR | SVS Elevation Atmos/height | SVS PB-2000 | Logitech Harmony 950 | Arris MX011ANM (Xfinity X1) | Apple TV 4K
flyinion is online now  
post #22089 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
LeRoyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Woodstock Georgia
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milan254 View Post
Thanks I will try that. PS: curious to see if the Netflix picture quality on Apple TV is much better
than the pre-installed Netflix application on my LG C8 OLED TV. What is your opinion- your TV or Apple TV for Netflix?
I don't think the Netflix app on my C8 ever changes the frame rate to match the delivered content. I think it is always displaying content at a fixed 60 frames per second.

The Apple TV 4k can match the frame rate to the content you are watching. If you watch a lot of BBC produced content like I do, you will appreciate 50 frames per second playing at a native rate. Your C8 is just fine with 50 frames per second content.

LG OLED65C8PUA, Onkyo TX-RZ920, Sony UBP-X700, Apple TV 4K, Amazon Fire TV Stick 4K, AT&T Gigabit Internet & U-verse
LeRoyK is offline  
post #22090 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 10:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinion View Post
I don't know about a current LG OLED like that since I'm still using a Panasonic plasma that hasn't had app updates in like 3-4 years now but I don't think the C8 can output Atmos on Netflix if that matters to you. Atmos on Netflix (and other content) was one of the big reasons we actually got an ATV. I thought about doing an Xbox One for Netflix Atmos, but I don't actually really do console gaming so it would have been a waste of $$$ to a degree.


Sent from my iPhone X using Tapatalk
Atmos is a good feature but I am really fussy about the picture quality, main reason why I want to try the
apple tv vs my build in Netflix in the LG, hope is worth the extra money if I get it even set up.
Milan254 is offline  
post #22091 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 12:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Does Apple TV4K support bluetooth audio Codec AAC?
Soundizer17 is offline  
post #22092 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 06:10 PM
Member
 
agerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 26
When I connect my Apple TV directly to the LG C8 TV via HDMI I get almost no stutter on slow-moving content. Testing it with the slow pans in the opening scene of Planet Earth II.

When I plug the Apple TV into my Denon X3400 and then the Denon sends the picture into the TV I get noticeable jerky stutter on the exact same scene. Could there be a bad setting somewhere on the AVR, or some lag somewhere? I am using the same Amazon High-Speed HDMI cables in all.

Aperion Verus Grand Bookshelf L/R
Aperion Verus Grand Center Channel
Aperion Verus Forte Satellite
SVS PB-1000
Denon X3400 / LG C8 65inch OLED / ATV4K
agerson is offline  
post #22093 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 06:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by agerson View Post
When I connect my Apple TV directly to the LG C8 TV via HDMI I get almost no stutter on slow-moving content. Testing it with the slow pans in the opening scene of Planet Earth II.



When I plug the Apple TV into my Denon X3400 and then the Denon sends the picture into the TV I get noticeable jerky stutter on the exact same scene. Could there be a bad setting somewhere on the AVR, or some lag somewhere? I am using the same Amazon High-Speed HDMI cables in all.


Should probably go to the appropriate denon thread but it depends upon your video settings on the denon. You should turn off all video process on the denon and see how that works and then debug from there.
rsonnens is online now  
post #22094 of 23742 Old 04-24-2019, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
utee05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 957
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by agerson View Post
When I connect my Apple TV directly to the LG C8 TV via HDMI I get almost no stutter on slow-moving content. Testing it with the slow pans in the opening scene of Planet Earth II.



When I plug the Apple TV into my Denon X3400 and then the Denon sends the picture into the TV I get noticeable jerky stutter on the exact same scene. Could there be a bad setting somewhere on the AVR, or some lag somewhere? I am using the same Amazon High-Speed HDMI cables in all.


I have a denon x3300 connected to my atv4k. No issues and I have all video processing turned off on my receiver. It just acts as a switch.
utee05 is offline  
post #22095 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 12:29 AM
Member
 
supaet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
happy to report that the dolby vision issue with onkyo receiver is fixed in 12.3 beta 3
Brian Hampton, TheMach and bguzman like this.
supaet is offline  
post #22096 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 01:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Does Apple TV4K support bluetooth audio Codec AAC?
Soundizer17 is offline  
post #22097 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,193
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2180 Post(s)
Liked: 2465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
I recently purchased the Sony WH1000XM3 bluetooth headphones which supports Apples preferred AAC codec.

In the Sony APP it shows AAC fine when pairing with iPhone and iPAD, however reverts to horrible painful SBC when connected to my APPLE TV4K.

Can anyone help with this as I am sure APPLE TV4k supports AAC bluetooth to headphones.

Is there an Audio setting I should change on the Apple TV4K?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
Does Apple TV4K support bluetooth audio Codec AAC?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
Does Apple TV4K support bluetooth audio Codec AAC?
You've asked this three times in this thread and in tvOS beta thread as well, in the past two days. Either people do not know or someone that does hasn't seen your posts yet.

That said, I think you have your answer if you are connecting your headphones to the ATV and aren't getting AAC.
gomo657 likes this.
mutelight is offline  
post #22098 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
usurpers26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 96
While I only have a G7, I prefer all my apps PQ through the ATV versus the LG. The LG internal apps seem a little darker (at least on the 7 series) to me. I wouldn't say "much better" but enough of a difference to my eyes to stick with the ATV.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Milan254 View Post
Thanks I will try that. PS: curious to see if the Netflix picture quality on Apple TV is much better
than the pre-installed Netflix application on my LG C8 OLED TV. What is your opinion- your TV or Apple TV for Netflix?
usurpers26 is offline  
post #22099 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,600
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nattypol View Post
Hello, everyone. My preprocessor doesn't support HDMI 2.0 , so I connect Apple TV 4k to HDMI in of Oppo UDP-203, then I connect HDMI video/audio from Oppo UDP-203 to Sony VPL-VW695ES and HDMI audio from Oppo UDP-203 to my preprocessor. I have a problem with Apple TV 4k connecting via Oppo UDP-203. The menu is very sluggish and I see a lot of dropout in video and audio. I can't watch any contents on Apple TV 4k.
Has anyone ever experienced this situation like me? Is this a bug or glitch between Apple TV 4k and Oppo UDP-203? I updated both Apple TV 4k and Oppo UDP-203 to latest firmware.
Thank you for your help.

I own an OPPO UDP-203 and an Apple TV (and an NVidia Shield). Before I got my new AVR (which supports all the new HDMI video standards like HDR10 and DV), I was using the HDMI input and dual HDMI outputs to take my NVidia Shield into my TV (with HDR10 video) and AVR (with Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD-MA) in parallel.

I never hooked my AppleTV up via the OPPO UDP-203 HDMI input for a simple reason: the Apple TV didn't/doesn't bitstream Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD-MA, so I don't use my AppleTV for my 1:1 BluRay and UHD Blu Ray rips. So I just took my AppleTV directly into the TV via HDMI, and then came back down to my AVR via TOSLINK, which got all of my Streaming Subscriptions that have HDR10 or Dolby Vision but no lossless audio to my TV with full PQ, and then out of the TV and to my AVR with their Dolby Digital 5.1 audio in-tact (I don't have/do atmos, fwiw).

But some of the experiences you are describing with the ATV4K via the OPPO UDP-203 HDMI input are very familiar to me to what I experienced using my Shield through the OPPO. The screen and GUI would get sluggish. Once every week or two video or GUI would get stutter-y/choppy and the only thing that would fix it was a reboot on my Shield. But the problem wasn't with the Shield, it was with the OPPO's HDMI-input. Ever since I got a new AVR, and made my signal chain Shield--> new AVR --> TV, all of the issues with sluggish GUI and weekly reboots went away. Also, at least at one time, the OPPO 203's HDMI input couldn't pass Dolby Vision, only HDR10. The Shield only supported HDR10, so I wasn't loosing anything using it that way, but if you're doing that with your ATV you might be sacrificing Dolby Vision support, too.

Unless you're doing something/using your AppleTV in a way that I don't, I'd recommend going straight into your TV and then down to your AVR; you aren't losing out on Lossless audio because your ATV doesn't do that. You get Dolby Vision that way. And you solve the problem with the sluggish GUI.


Hope this helps.
galonzo likes this.

Last edited by psuKinger; 04-25-2019 at 11:48 AM.
psuKinger is online now  
post #22100 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Apple TV owners' thread.

Infuse does lossless audio just fine. So your blu ray and uhd rips will play back perfectly if you play them via hdmi.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
galonzo likes this.
Andrew Stirling is online now  
post #22101 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,204
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
Infuse does lossless audio just fine. So your blu ray and uhd rips will play back perfectly if you play them via hdmi.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I'm open to being wrong about this, but Infuse sends audio via LPCM, so you lose the height and position information provided by object based formats like Atmos and DTS:X.
galonzo likes this.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #22102 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
I'm open to being wrong about this, but Infuse sends audio via LPCM, so you lose the height and position information provided by object based formats like Atmos and DTS:X.


You’re not wrong but the previous poster said he doesn’t have atmos


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
galonzo likes this.
Andrew Stirling is online now  
post #22103 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,600
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
You’re not wrong but the previous poster said he doesn’t have atmos


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I am that previous poster and I didn't respond intentionally because I don't care to get into a big argument over this in the ATV thread, as I know I'm in the minority here (at least in this thread), but I prefer bitstreaming of the lossless audio for decoding at my AVR over internal decoding at the streaming media player.
shoman94, no_cure, galonzo and 2 others like this.
psuKinger is online now  
post #22104 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 01:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,204
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
You’re not wrong but the previous poster said he doesn’t have atmos


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OK, I just think it's important for people that do have Atmos to know this
galonzo and blenky like this.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #22105 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,945
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Who believes the Hunger Games on iTunes will go back to 4K?

Who thinks Disney will remove iTunes purchases when they launch the Disney Streaming service ?

I like the idea of most of my movies in iTunes but I always wonder if that’s a bad plan given how my library contents can change. Often for the better but sometimes worse.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #22106 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Who believes the Hunger Games on iTunes will go back to 4K?

Who thinks Disney will remove iTunes purchases when they launch the Disney Streaming service ?

I like the idea of most of my movies in iTunes but I always wonder if that’s a bad plan given how my library contents can change. Often for the better but sometimes worse.
I purchased the Hunger Games bundle through iTunes and it appears they are all in 4K except for the original Hunger Games. This was actually my first 4K purchase from iTunes. I hope it goes back to 4K. I know there’s a lot of talk about the subject of movies going back and forth and disappearing. This is why for now I think I’ll continue to purchase disc the majority of the time.
galonzo likes this.

Man cave-Marantz 8012, Oppo 203, 4K ATV, Sony XBR-75X940E, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, 2 Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's,
4 SVS Prime elevations. B&W P5. Living room- Yamaha 2010, Bluesound Node 2, Paradigm SE-1's, Zone 2-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM
Bedroom- Samsung UN60ES7100F, Oppo 103D, Pulse Mini, JBL Bar Studio, ATV3 and Harmony 650
pappaduke is offline  
post #22107 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Laserfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by hubbenorlen View Post
Hi, I was wondering about something. I bought Interstellar 4K from Itunes, but when I play it the Playback Hud says that video display-size and natural-size both are 3840x1598...
New to ATV4K and digital generally, but jumped-into the pool today buying 4K Alien and Interstellar respectively for $7.99 and $9.99 which I thought were good deals. I haven't racked them up, but am gratified to learn here that Interstellar is apparently 2.40:1, hopefully beginning-to-end.


Anyway I wonder: is there any place where I can find such specs as Aspect Ratio IN ADVANCE for movies that I might be interested to buy from the Apple Store?
Brian Hampton likes this.
Laserfan is offline  
post #22108 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
no_cure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 1. Jönköping Sverige / 2. DFW
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
I own an OPPO UDP-203 and an Apple TV (and an NVidia Shield). Before I got my new AVR (which supports all the new HDMI video standards like HDR10 and DV), I was using the HDMI input and dual HDMI outputs to take my NVidia Shield into my TV (with HDR10 video) and AVR (with Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD-MA) in parallel.

I never hooked my AppleTV up via the OPPO UDP-203 HDMI input for a simple reason: the Apple TV didn't/doesn't bitstream Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD-MA, so I don't use my AppleTV for my 1:1 BluRay and UHD Blu Ray rips. So I just took my AppleTV directly into the TV via HDMI, and then came back down to my AVR via TOSLINK, which got all of my Streaming Subscriptions that have HDR10 or Dolby Vision but no lossless audio to my TV with full PQ, and then out of the TV and to my AVR with their Dolby Digital 5.1 audio in-tact (I don't have/do atmos, fwiw).

But some of the experiences you are describing with the ATV4K via the OPPO UDP-203 HDMI input are very familiar to me to what I experienced using my Shield through the OPPO. The screen and GUI would get sluggish. Once every week or two video or GUI would get stutter-y/choppy and the only thing that would fix it was a reboot on my Shield. But the problem wasn't with the Shield, it was with the OPPO's HDMI-input. Ever since I got a new AVR, and made my signal chain Shield--> new AVR --> TV, all of the issues with sluggish GUI and weekly reboots went away. Also, at least at one time, the OPPO 203's HDMI input couldn't pass Dolby Vision, only HDR10. The Shield only supported HDR10, so I wasn't loosing anything using it that way, but if you're doing that with your ATV you might be sacrificing Dolby Vision support, too.

Unless you're doing something/using your AppleTV in a way that I don't, I'd recommend going straight into your TV and then down to your AVR; you aren't losing out on Lossless audio because your ATV doesn't do that. You get Dolby Vision that way. And you solve the problem with the sluggish GUI.


Hope this helps.
@psuKinger : I"m very familiar (and disappointed) with the scenario that you described. I cannot duplicate the lossless Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD-MA sound I get via BluRays/UHD discs whenever I use the ATV4k for streaming because ATV doesn't pass through bitstream uncompressed audio like NVidia Shield does, so I too use optical cable between TV and pre/pro. But since my HT audio gear is Krell Evolution, and it sounds way too good to replace it any time soon...

I did submit a request to Apple to pass through unmolested audio codecs, so I'm not sure when/if ATV4K will implement that feature. Watching the same movie via ATV4k vs. on physical media is no contest despite the fact that I have 5.2 setup only. I'm forced to have ATV4k send Dolby Digital 5.1 (because choose best audio sends my TV stereo PCM) which by design is a compressed AC3 audio..

For those with legacy AVRs that still sound amazingly good and ATV4k...do you still rely on optical tosslink cables or have you found some other workarounds?
psuKinger likes this.
no_cure is online now  
post #22109 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
no_cure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 1. Jönköping Sverige / 2. DFW
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
I am that previous poster and I didn't respond intentionally because I don't care to get into a big argument over this in the ATV thread, as I know I'm in the minority here (at least in this thread), but I prefer bitstreaming of the lossless audio for decoding at my AVR over internal decoding at the streaming media player.
Hear! Hear!
psuKinger, pappaduke and blenky like this.
no_cure is online now  
post #22110 of 23742 Old 04-25-2019, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
no_cure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 1. Jönköping Sverige / 2. DFW
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
I'm open to being wrong about this, but Infuse sends audio via LPCM, so you lose the height and position information provided by object based formats like Atmos and DTS:X.
I'm not extremely familiar w/ Infuse app & ATV4k, but would Infuse also send LCPM audio for anything streamed via Netflix/Amazon apps or it's only applicable for files being played from the network that the ATV resides on?
no_cure is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , mgy52ll , mqd22ll , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off