Apple TV owners' thread. - Page 752 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 27805Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22531 of 23716 Old 05-12-2019, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 65
My 700 keeps giving my Sammy TV the button priority. So I have no direction arrows. Did you reprogram those buttons? I can and that works. But seems wrong. Let me look on page 1 again..

Samsung UN82MU8000 4K UHD TV | Onkyo TX NR787 9.2 AVR with Klipsch R-15M L&R and R-34C front stage speakers | Klipsch G-12 surrounds | 2 Atrium 5 Front Tops | 2 Klipsch R-14SA Rear heights | Dual BIC RtR EV-1200 Subs | 5.1.4 Atmos system | Samsung UBD M9500 BD Player | FireTV 4K | Logitech Harmony 750 | TIVO BOLT OTA 849000
Chuck666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22532 of 23716 Old 05-12-2019, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,682
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4355 Post(s)
Liked: 2448
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
Some people LOVE the ATV 4K remote and others HATE it. Personally, I LOVE IT, and the fantastic app which runs on both iPhones and iPads.

Sure, the Roku is 1/2 the price - but like all things in life - you get what you pay for. All of my HDR capable TV's can playback Dolby Vision - which the Roku cannot. That was the game breaker for me.

There's also the huge advantage of having the iTunes movie library at your disposal with nearly 500 Dolby Vision titles. Finally, 4K HDR/Dolby Vision rentals and purchases are the same price as the 1080P versions. The other streaming services that rent or sell titles charge nearly double for the 4K/HDR/Dolby Vision offerings.
I only like the remote for a couple of functions:

1. The tap function on the pad to bring up the progress bar and,

2. The voice function to ask to bring up subtitles, skip a section, etc.

Otherwise, I use the Harmony remote for all other functionality.
Culpepper likes this.

lujan
515 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #22533 of 23716 Old 05-12-2019, 12:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
ppasteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck666 View Post
My 700 keeps giving my Sammy TV the button priority. So I have no direction arrows. Did you reprogram those buttons? I can and that works. But seems wrong. Let me look on page 1 again..
I didn't do anything in addition to using the ATV4k (I think it said BETA at that time) for the device setup and use that in my activity. Obviously it only sets up a few buttons as the native remote is pretty sparse, but the transport and direction buttons work.
Chuck666 likes this.
ppasteur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22534 of 23716 Old 05-12-2019, 01:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 65
^^^^^^^^^

Thanks. Well, I'm really confused now... LOL

What does your page 1 spoiler supposed to show?

Samsung UN82MU8000 4K UHD TV | Onkyo TX NR787 9.2 AVR with Klipsch R-15M L&R and R-34C front stage speakers | Klipsch G-12 surrounds | 2 Atrium 5 Front Tops | 2 Klipsch R-14SA Rear heights | Dual BIC RtR EV-1200 Subs | 5.1.4 Atmos system | Samsung UBD M9500 BD Player | FireTV 4K | Logitech Harmony 750 | TIVO BOLT OTA 849000

Last edited by Chuck666; 05-12-2019 at 01:03 PM.
Chuck666 is offline  
post #22535 of 23716 Old 05-12-2019, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
ppasteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 106
@Chuck666
Now I am confused. Spoiler ??? Page 1 ??? Maybe you are referring to some other post.
ppasteur is offline  
post #22536 of 23716 Old 05-12-2019, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Superman07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I am using an elite, so it should t be an issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brotony View Post
When I had PS Vue about a year ago, I tried Roku Ultra and ATV4K; hands down ATV4K was faster and got updates quicker too. Roku was slow and didn't always allow skip through commercials that I could do with the ATV4K (some vod and catch-up episodes)? PS Vue support was telling me at the time that Roku was in need of updates. ATV4K seems to generally have more update frequency across most apps.

And personally, I like the Roku Ultra but for TV streaming apps, it only seemed ideal for YouTube TV. Been nearly a year but it was slow on DirecTV Now and still has issues with framerate auto switching on Hulu for me. And I've yet to sync any Harmony remote will with it; missed command steps or just goes inactive for a spell. Annoying. Also annoys me that Roku lost its interval skipping forward feature; now it's only fast forward in increasing increments (no guess where you land), no logical skip for set time frames like 30 seconds, 90 seconds or 3 and one half minutes. Voice skipping still isn't there yet.

If you have the Harmony Hub, your Harmony remote will integrate better with Apple TV than Roku.

Search and voice commands are best with the ATV4K, IMO. Roku has some catching up to do with Google Assistant. However, I believe it's still only the Amazon Fire TV that will do the voice commands like voice skip with PS Vue. At least I think it did with PS Vue? Been a while for me, sorry!

If you're willing to pay the extra for the ATV4K, I think you'll like it. Some don't like the Siri remote but I find it's a premium when scrubbing through content and using voice skip where available. I also have the Amazon Fire TV 4K Stick; though it also has voice skip and framerate matching, it's less available than ATV4K for my apps and use. Alexa generally annoys me with narrow voice commands and misinterpreted commands. And using voice commands, I much prefer Siri's approach to text onscreen rather than voice that doesn't even have its own volume control. Surely wish Amazon would fix the volume issue!

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk

Thanks - this was super helpful. Price isn’t the issue - although half is nice! I may end up going with ATV then. Now the question becomes when’s the next update.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Superman07 is online now  
post #22537 of 23716 Old 05-12-2019, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,238
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1876 Post(s)
Liked: 1419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck666 View Post
I'm really confused now
It would appear you're having a generic Harmony issue. If so you should check the relevant Harmony thread or start a new thread in the Remote Control section.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #22538 of 23716 Old 05-12-2019, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
no_cure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 1. Jönköping Sverige / 2. DFW
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Hey fellow AVS’rs - Happy Mother’s Day everyone. Hope you’re celebrating properly!

And also thanks to the spouses that allow us to have this HiFi hobby! For me, it’s either HiFi or expensive German sports cars (hmm 911, I’m looking at you!!!!)

‘Zee Germans’ lost however...HiFi it is!
Brian Hampton and Spock1234 like this.
no_cure is offline  
post #22539 of 23716 Old 05-12-2019, 03:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,427
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 931 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman07 View Post
I am using an elite, so it should t be an issue.




Thanks - this was super helpful. Price isn’t the issue - although half is nice! I may end up going with ATV then. Now the question becomes when’s the next update.
The TV app is due to receive a major update with a redesigned UI this month. The overall operating system (tvOS) is due for the next major annual update this fall.
Mike_WI and brotony like this.
NashGuy is offline  
post #22540 of 23716 Old 05-12-2019, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppasteur View Post
@Chuck666
Now I am confused. Spoiler ??? Page 1 ??? Maybe you are referring to some other post.
The spoiler on page 1 wasn't written by you; my error. Sorry for the confusion.

Samsung UN82MU8000 4K UHD TV | Onkyo TX NR787 9.2 AVR with Klipsch R-15M L&R and R-34C front stage speakers | Klipsch G-12 surrounds | 2 Atrium 5 Front Tops | 2 Klipsch R-14SA Rear heights | Dual BIC RtR EV-1200 Subs | 5.1.4 Atmos system | Samsung UBD M9500 BD Player | FireTV 4K | Logitech Harmony 750 | TIVO BOLT OTA 849000
Chuck666 is offline  
post #22541 of 23716 Old 05-12-2019, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chuck666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
It would appear you're having a generic Harmony issue. If so you should check the relevant Harmony thread or start a new thread in the Remote Control section.
You are correct; it was operator error, ME.......... I had chosen the wrong type of activity for use with the ATV4K. I didn't realize the effect it has on the "My Harmony" software.

All is well now and corrected.

Thank to all those that responded.....
bobby94928 likes this.

Samsung UN82MU8000 4K UHD TV | Onkyo TX NR787 9.2 AVR with Klipsch R-15M L&R and R-34C front stage speakers | Klipsch G-12 surrounds | 2 Atrium 5 Front Tops | 2 Klipsch R-14SA Rear heights | Dual BIC RtR EV-1200 Subs | 5.1.4 Atmos system | Samsung UBD M9500 BD Player | FireTV 4K | Logitech Harmony 750 | TIVO BOLT OTA 849000
Chuck666 is offline  
post #22542 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Anyone can confirm that any content in Netflix with Atmos English audio track has other languages (French, Italian) only in stereo and not 5.1 like the Netflix TV native app? My Integral show only 2.0 channel. I'm running beta so want to know if other users not in beta program has the same issue.

LG OLED 55 B7v | LG SK10Y Soundbar | Samsung 55KS8000 | LG Plasma 50PZ550 | i1D3 OEM | Calman Enthusiast

Last edited by MrRobotoPlus; 05-13-2019 at 06:52 AM.
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #22543 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,238
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1876 Post(s)
Liked: 1419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman07 View Post
Now the question becomes when’s the next update.
Today.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #22544 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Has anybody in the US seen a lot of films downgrade over the past 24 hours. So far in the UK I’ve seen all of the harry potters bar the first one turn HD. Both jump street films have gone back as has the Lego movie. Others on AVforums are also reporting a lot of films reverting back. I’m sure they’ll be sorted in time but the scale of the downgrading is eye opening.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Brian Hampton and shoman94 like this.
Andrew Stirling is offline  
post #22545 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Culpepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I only like the remote for a couple of functions:

1. The tap function on the pad to bring up the progress bar and,

2. The voice function to ask to bring up subtitles, skip a section, etc.

Otherwise, I use the Harmony remote for all other functionality.
For me, the apple remote tap is the same as pause...pauses the video and displays the progress bar. Same as the pause button my Harmony remote.

LG OLED65B7P
Denon AVR-X4400
GoldenEar Triton 2+ and SuperCenterX
SVS SB12 sub, Monster THX side surrounds, Infinity RS-II rear surrounds
ATV 4k, Tivo Roamio
Culpepper is offline  
post #22546 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,944
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
Has anybody in the US seen a lot of films downgrade over the past 24 hours. So far in the UK I’ve seen all of the harry potters bar the first one turn HD. Both jump street films have gone back as has the Lego movie. Others on AVforums are also reporting a lot of films reverting back. I’m sure they’ll be sorted in time but the scale of the downgrading is eye opening.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
My guess is server maintenance... But it's just a guess. I don't think Hunger Games is ever going back to 4K ... would like to be wrong.

For the moment I stopped upgrading films I already have from HD to 4K unless they come up for $4.99. It would annoy me if I gifted myself a movie I already own in HD to get the 4K and then at some point the 4K-ness vanishes.

Edit- Was going to say my Harry Potter movies are still 4K but just checked and I guess they have been given the down grade.
I'm not sure I ever watched any of them in 4K ... I watched plenty of Blu Rays versions years ago.

I guess this is why ATV4K removed the tally of how many movies and how many 4K movies you have because things like this would get more obvious and freak more people out.

Last edited by Brian Hampton; 05-13-2019 at 01:21 PM.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #22547 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,353
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1585 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
My guess is server maintenance... But it's just a guess. I don't think Hunger Games is ever going back to 4K ... would like to be wrong.



For the moment I stopped upgrading films I already have from HD to 4K unless they come up for $4.99. It would annoy me if I gifted myself a movie I already own in HD to get the 4K and then at some point the 4K-ness vanishes.



Edit- Was going to say my Harry Potter movies are still 4K but just checked and I guess they have been given the down grade.

I'm not sure I ever watched any of them in 4K ... I watched plenty of Blu Rays versions years ago.



I guess this is why ATV4K removed the tally of how many movies and how many 4K movies you have because things like this would get more obvious and freak more people out.


I can’t remember ever actually losing one permanently though. I’m sure the Potter’s will be back as will Hunger Games. As for counts we can still add up the rows .


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #22548 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,169
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5048 Post(s)
Liked: 3574
That would piss me off. I paid for the 4k movies.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #22549 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
Your understanding is correct but as I pointed out, that is specific to 4K Blu-rays only which use two layers.

Streaming is either, SDR, HDR10, or DV and everything thing is single layer. iTunes only keeps one HDR version on their servers which is why the Apple TV converts DV titles to HDR10. However, services like Vudu store two different versions for HDR and depending on the capability of the device, the appropriate version is called.
I know Netflix has streams for both HDR10 and Dolby Vision. I can watch a show on Netflix off my Nvidia Shield and Netflix reports HDR10 and if if go to Netflix on my ATV4k the same show is available Dolby Vision. I have yet to find a show that is either one or the other on Netflix. I compare them both frequently.
galonzo likes this.
smhealey is offline  
post #22550 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,187
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2173 Post(s)
Liked: 2460
Quote:
Originally Posted by smhealey View Post
I know Netflix has streams for both HDR10 and Dolby Vision. I can watch a show on Netflix off my Nvidia Shield and Netflix reports HDR10 and if if go to Netflix on my ATV4k the same show is available Dolby Vision. I have yet to find a show that is either one or the other on Netflix. I compare them both frequently.
Correct, they have a HDR10 version derived from the Dolby Vision master and it is part of their Dolby Vision workflow. When you are on a non-DV device it calls the HDR10 stream, if you have DV, it calls the single layer DV stream.
galonzo likes this.
mutelight is online now  
post #22551 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,828
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2215 Post(s)
Liked: 2070
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
Correct, they have a HDR10 version derived from the Dolby Vision master and it is part of their Dolby Vision workflow. When you are on a non-DV device it calls the HDR10 stream, if you have DV, it calls the single layer DV stream.

Netflix does have separate HDR10 and Dolby Vision versions available, but the ATV ignores the HDR10 version and converts the Dolby Vision source to HDR10 instead if your display does not support DV. Other players will play the HDR10 or Dolby Vision Netflix version depending on the capabilities of the connected display. The conversion is what has been generating the variable HDR10 metadata values that you only see from the ATV.
galonzo likes this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is offline  
post #22552 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 03:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,169
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5048 Post(s)
Liked: 3574
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
but the ATV ignores the HDR10 version and converts the Dolby Vision source to HDR10 instead if your display does not support DV.
Wow, even with the HDR10 stream available? That's just wrong.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #22553 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,187
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2173 Post(s)
Liked: 2460
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Wow, even with the HDR10 stream available? That's just wrong.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
For someone with a DV TV you seems to be really up in arms about how Apple does the conversion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
That would piss me off. I paid for the 4k movies.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
No, you paid for the 1080p version and got the 4K as a free upgrade.
galonzo likes this.
mutelight is online now  
post #22554 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,169
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5048 Post(s)
Liked: 3574
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
For someone with a DV TV you seems to be really up in arms about how Apple does the conversion.







No, you paid for the 1080p version and got the 4K as a free upgrade.
No, I paid for 4k. I think I know what I paid for.

Just because I use it on a DV capable TV doesn't mean I should ignore something that I think is wrong.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #22555 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
machavez00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Phoenix, Az
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by machavez00 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Not sure about this one because if you look at version history you see:

2.0.22 Feb 3, 2016

If this is correct, this app hasn't been updated in 3 years.
Quote:
Originally Posted by machavez00 View Post
For $5.99 I may give it a try. My AVS Calibration dvd does not want to play in my PS3. It did when I burned it a few years ago. I had a Sammy DLP at the time. I have a Sammy PN60F5300 Pioneer BuRay burner now. I need to download the files a burn a new BluRay as well.
I looked at the notes/screenshots in the ATV app store. It uses the test patterns from the AVS calibration disc.

Quote:
Each Step in Calibr8 plays a video that includes explanations and easy-to-understand instructions (without the techno-mumbo-jumbo), followed by hi-fidelity AVS HD.709 Test Patterns used by industry professionals. These Test Patterns stay on-screen while you adjust the settings on your HDTV. You can Pause / Rewind each Step as many times as you wish, giving you unprecedented control over your Apple TV calibration experience.
It looks like someone turned the AVS HD.709 files into an ATV app.

machavez00 is offline  
post #22556 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,187
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2173 Post(s)
Liked: 2460
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
No, I paid for 4k. I think I know what I paid for.
It is clear you do not and are looking at things backwards. There is no differentiation in pricing compared to all other services out there, you are paying HD prices.

Anyway if 4K versions go away, get upset with the studios.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Just because I use it on a DV capable TV doesn't mean I should ignore something that I think is wrong.
Seems like unnecessary stress to worry so much about something that doesn't impact you at all. I just find it humorous that you were none the wiser that they were doing a conversion until the other day when I mentioned it and now you have your pitchfork out.

It is a pain for those with projectors that have issues with the metadata though.

The way they convert Netflix Dolby Vision when there is a HDR10 version is dumb but for all we know it is Netflix's fault. At least it actually switches to SDR for source material in that dynamic range on the Apple TV. Netflix can't even bother to add the ability for their console apps to switch to SDR for applicable content and pipe out HDR10/DV at all times.
galonzo likes this.
mutelight is online now  
post #22557 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,944
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 761
On a bright side , movies anywhere 4K purchases are sold as 4K and tend to be more reliable (disappear less)

I’m done with discs for the most part but collecting iTunes is risky. Movies Anywhere helps a bit
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #22558 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 04:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,169
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5048 Post(s)
Liked: 3574
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
It is clear you do not and are looking at things backwards. There is no differentiation in pricing compared to all other services out there, you are paying HD prices.



Anyway if 4K versions go away, get upset with the studios.







Seems like unnecessary stress to worry so much about something that doesn't impact you at all. I just find it humorous that you were none the wiser that they were doing a conversion until the other day when I mentioned it and now you have your pitchfork out.



It is a pain for those with projectors that have issues with the metadata though.



The way they convert Netflix Dolby Vision when there is a HDR10 version is dumb but for all we know it is Netflix's fault. At least it actually switches to SDR for source material in that dynamic range on the Apple TV. Netflix can't even bother to add the ability for their console apps to switch to SDR for applicable content and pipe out HDR10/DV at all times.
When I bought it, it's listed as 4k. I don't know why you argue about it. I've also purchased many titles from Vudu that had the same price for HD and 4k. Some titles even had the same prices for SD, HD and 4k.

I was none the wiser because I never use it. My pitchfork is sharp and ready. LoL
By console app you are talking about Xbox and PS4? Yea that is another bone that I could pick with my pitchfork!

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
galonzo and thomasfxlt like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #22559 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 04:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,169
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5048 Post(s)
Liked: 3574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
On a bright side , movies anywhere 4K purchases are sold as 4K and tend to be more reliable (disappear less)



I’m done with discs for the most part but collecting iTunes is risky. Movies Anywhere helps a bit
Doesn't make sense to me. For example, my digital transfer to Vudu from iTunes of my 8 film Harry Potter collection is still 4k in Movies Anywhere and 4k DV in Vudu.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #22560 of 23716 Old 05-13-2019, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
smoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Netflix Improved Audio in Canada

I have seen some of the online info indicating that Netflix has now increased the bitrate for audio for Dolby 5.1 and Dolby Atmos on Apple TV 4K. I am in Toronto and the last update to Netflix was in mid-March. Does anyone know the build number or date for this update and if it is available in Canada?

Is there anyway to check the bitrate of audio on an Apple TV 4K running directly into a 2017 LG OLED C7?

Thanks
smoore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , mgy52ll , mqd22ll , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off