Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 240 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 31998Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7171 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 05:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
ROMIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Can ATV5 be controlled with a Harmony remote that is IR-only or does it require Bluetooth?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ROMIL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7172 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 05:47 PM
Member
 
icespide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I've been experiencing intermittent audio drops when using my Apple TV 4K on my Sony X930E. Usually when watching netflix or a movie, audio will cut out for a half a second every few seconds, rarely it will be worse and audio will completely go out for a few seconds. I've got audio going out to my Sonos playbase via optical out on the TV. The sonos has had a history of bugs related to 5.1 and optical out so I ruled out a sonos issue by switching the Apple TV to stereo, the issue still occurred so I am fairly confident that the sonos is not the issue. Other things I've tried:
  • unplugging and plugging the HDMI cable back in seems to solve the issue temporarily
  • I thought maybe 4:2:2 chroma was the issue, but it eventually happens on 4:2:0 as well.
  • I bought a new HDMI cable that was definitely rated 18gbps and I thought that fixed it but the issue eventually cropped up again.
  • On a different forum it was suggested that using the HDMI/ARC input for the Apple TV fixed the issue for someone else. I did this last night switching it from input 2 to input 3, the issue hasn't happened since but I haven't really put it through its paces yet
  • my last resort is to try the new 48gbps belkin ultra high speed cable that apple sells.
does anyone have any ideas?
icespide is offline  
post #7173 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
ht guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Indy
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgpublic View Post
This is the reason why I will continue to purchase UHD discs for specific titles. While 'lossy' audio options delivered via streaming range from acceptable to good, they will never reach the level that 'lossless' audio, especially Atmos, can attain.

Which is why Atmos on the ATV4K is a red herring, because it is 5.1 'lossy' and a poor, distant relation to 'lossless' found on a UHD disc.
I get that Atmos is far superior to 5.1, but are you saying that because the ATV can only deliver 'lossy' it will never be able to deliver true Atmos?

Atmos is the reason I opted to watch GOT via disk vs. streaming, so I'm with you 100% on wanting the format that delivers Atmos (for discs that offer it.)
ht guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7174 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 05:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,125
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2441 Post(s)
Liked: 1924
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankhj View Post
It was also my understanding that this has not changed on the ATV 4K...Works because I'm using arc?
Yes and yes.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #7175 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,125
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2441 Post(s)
Liked: 1924
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROMIL View Post
Can ATV5 be controlled with a Harmony remote that is IR-only
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes.
ROMIL likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #7176 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 07:35 PM
Member
 
eJeremye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by icespide View Post
I've been experiencing intermittent audio drops when using my Apple TV 4K on my Sony X930E. Usually when watching netflix or a movie, audio will cut out for a half a second every few seconds, rarely it will be worse and audio will completely go out for a few seconds. I've got audio going out to my Sonos playbase via optical out on the TV. The sonos has had a history of bugs related to 5.1 and optical out so I ruled out a sonos issue by switching the Apple TV to stereo, the issue still occurred so I am fairly confident that the sonos is not the issue. Other things I've tried:
  • unplugging and plugging the HDMI cable back in seems to solve the issue temporarily
  • I thought maybe 4:2:2 chroma was the issue, but it eventually happens on 4:2:0 as well.
  • I bought a new HDMI cable that was definitely rated 18gbps and I thought that fixed it but the issue eventually cropped up again.
  • On a different forum it was suggested that using the HDMI/ARC input for the Apple TV fixed the issue for someone else. I did this last night switching it from input 2 to input 3, the issue hasn't happened since but I haven't really put it through its paces yet
  • my last resort is to try the new 48gbps belkin ultra high speed cable that apple sells.
does anyone have any ideas?
I too have the same audio problems exactly like you described (intermittent audio drops while watching Netflix). ...MY display is a Vizio P series, Im using CEC and ARC, and I am using the 48gbps Apple sells.
eJeremye is offline  
post #7177 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
frankhj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 84
I guess I am blind. I have gone thru the Settings menus numerous times. Where is the Quick Start on/off setting?
frankhj is online now  
post #7178 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 07:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,125
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2441 Post(s)
Liked: 1924
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankhj View Post
Where is the Quick Start on/off setting?
Settings > Apps > iTunes Movies ...

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #7179 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 10:45 PM
Member
 
celestica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Hi Fellows My ATV is set at 4K 60 at 420 and iTunes movies display 4k tag but when played info shows HD only. Is this normal. I checked Netflix it's info tag for 4k HDR titles displays correct info and so does Vevo app for 4k videos. Can someone help why atv is not playing in 4k. Firmware is 11.1 if it matters. Thanks

Samsung UN65HU9000 with SEK3500 Evo Kit
Samsung 55D6050- D6500 Emulation
Samsung UBD-K8500 Bluray Player, Samsung BD-J7500 Bluray Player
Denon 4200x, Pioneer VSX-1124K 7.2 AVR, Apple TV, Amazon Fire TV
Neox 8-H plus MiniX, Nvidia Shield TV pro
celestica is offline  
post #7180 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 10:56 PM
Member
 
pelenor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quick question. I was planning on updating to the 4k Apple tv (i have the 4th gen) but my tv only supports HDR. I've read how the apple tv will automatically use either HDR or Dolby vision for 4k movie streaming from itunes, depending on whichever your specific tv supports. The question I have is do all 4k movies in itunes support both standards or is each movie is either HDR or dolby?
pelenor is offline  
post #7181 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 11:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Berry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
Oh, with quick start "Off" it caps them at HD? For some reason I thought it was the other way around since with it "Off" it will allow the quality to ramp up but it is definitely possible I misunderstood.

You are correct and it’s why I got confused as well. With QuickStart ON or OFF, it has to play back in 4K if that resolution is supported by the content. With OFF, it should just take a little longer to get there.

The description is also misleading. For both it states “best available resolution”. That is inaccurate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pelenor View Post
Quick question. I was planning on updating to the 4k Apple tv (i have the 4th gen) but my tv only supports HDR. I've read how the apple tv will automatically use either HDR or Dolby vision for 4k movie streaming from itunes, depending on whichever your specific tv supports. The question I have is do all 4k movies in itunes support both standards or is each movie is either HDR or dolby?


The base layer is HDR10 so the system will fall back on that when there’s no Dolby Vision availability.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mr Berry is offline  
post #7182 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 11:27 PM
Member
 
pelenor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Berry View Post


The base layer is HDR10 so the system will fall back on that when there’s no Dolby Vision availability.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
So does that mean all the 4k movies in Itunes are both dolby digital and HDR? And no matter which 4k movie I purchase, even if it says Dolby Digital, then I should be able to experience HDR on my television? Just want to be clear before I purchase it . Thanks
pelenor is offline  
post #7183 of 29063 Old 10-24-2017, 11:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Berry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by pelenor View Post
So does that mean all the 4k movies in Itunes are both dolby digital and HDR? And no matter which 4k movie I purchase, even if it says Dolby Digital, then I should be able to experience HDR on my television? Just want to be clear before I purchase it . Thanks


Yes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mr Berry is offline  
post #7184 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 02:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, can you play mkv 4k HDR files with some app type vlc, infuse, plex, etc. correctly?
david86bcn is offline  
post #7185 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 06:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,517
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 2033
Quote:
Originally Posted by celestica View Post
Hi Fellows My ATV is set at 4K 60 at 420 and iTunes movies display 4k tag but when played info shows HD only. Is this normal. I checked Netflix it's info tag for 4k HDR titles displays correct info and so does Vevo app for 4k videos. Can someone help why atv is not playing in 4k. Firmware is 11.1 if it matters. Thanks
If those movies you are playing in iTunes on the ATV5 (aka 4k) are movies you purchased from Apple, and you have QuickStart "on" (which is the default) in settings, then they should play back in UHD on a UHD capable system.

If those movies are from linking accounts using Movies Anywhere, or you have QuickStart "off", then HD is the max you will get, even if the movie is listed as 4k in iTunes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by david86bcn View Post
Hello, can you play mkv 4k HDR files with some app type vlc, infuse, plex, etc. correctly?
Apparently, some third party apps are working on this feature, but I haven't seen any release announcements.
celestica likes this.
nathan_h is offline  
post #7186 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 06:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,720
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1704 Post(s)
Liked: 1304
Quote:
Originally Posted by icespide View Post
I've been experiencing intermittent audio drops when using my Apple TV 4K on my Sony X930E. Usually when watching netflix or a movie, audio will cut out for a half a second every few seconds, rarely it will be worse and audio will completely go out for a few seconds. I've got audio going out to my Sonos playbase via optical out on the TV. The sonos has had a history of bugs related to 5.1 and optical out so I ruled out a sonos issue by switching the Apple TV to stereo, the issue still occurred so I am fairly confident that the sonos is not the issue. Other things I've tried:
  • unplugging and plugging the HDMI cable back in seems to solve the issue temporarily
  • I thought maybe 4:2:2 chroma was the issue, but it eventually happens on 4:2:0 as well.
  • I bought a new HDMI cable that was definitely rated 18gbps and I thought that fixed it but the issue eventually cropped up again.
  • On a different forum it was suggested that using the HDMI/ARC input for the Apple TV fixed the issue for someone else. I did this last night switching it from input 2 to input 3, the issue hasn't happened since but I haven't really put it through its paces yet
  • my last resort is to try the new 48gbps belkin ultra high speed cable that apple sells.
does anyone have any ideas?
I haven't had any issues on my 940C. I am direct (video and audio) to my TV. Have you tried it without the optical to see if you have the same results?

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #7187 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
frankhj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Are there any TV apps (Foxnow, AMC, ABC, etc) that have 5.1 sound on the ATV 4K? Have not found one yet and I think that is odd. I can airplay MaxGO from my iPhone to the ATV and that is in 5.1, but there is no ATV app.
frankhj is online now  
post #7188 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 08:33 AM
Member
 
intermediatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I purchased the AppleTV 4 and, although I expected it to be half baked, am really impressed. There are little issues, for example, if you search for "Durrells in Corfu," a PBS show that we can get for free in our PBS app, it sends us to the iTunes store where we have to pay for the show, but overall it's a big improvement. 4k is two years overdue, but it's a nice box, much more responsive than our Roku 4k, which suddenly seems old.

The issue for us, as for many, is controlling the device with our Logitech Harmony Elite. Now I looked through this forum but couldn't find an answer to my specific problem which is that when I hit the menu key, it not only triggers menu on the AppleTV, it triggers the menu on our 2015 Vizio M70-C3 TV!! This was not a problem with old AppleTV (pre TVOS) that we had before.

Any thoughts?
intermediatic is offline  
post #7189 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,125
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2441 Post(s)
Liked: 1924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Berry View Post
With QuickStart ON or OFF, it has to play back in 4K if that resolution is supported by the content. With OFF, it should just take a little longer to get there.
How have you tested this? I notice that you say "should" which sounds like speculation. Certainly in my case it doesn't switch from HD to UHD -- at least not within a few minutes (as long as I was willing to wait for it to change) rather Quick Start ON is always UHD just at a lower resolution for no more than a second or so and then switches to full resolution.

My link is 100Mbps and a 4K stream sends bursts at about 80Mbps.
nathan_h likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #7190 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,125
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2441 Post(s)
Liked: 1924
Quote:
Originally Posted by intermediatic View Post
when I hit the menu key, it not only triggers menu on the AppleTV, it triggers the menu on our 2015 Vizio M70-C3 TV!! This was not a problem with old AppleTV (pre TVOS) that we had before.

Any thoughts?
Switch back to the old (ATV3/ATV3,1/ATV3,2) code set and see what happens.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #7191 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 08:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,350
Mentioned: 166 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1472 Post(s)
Liked: 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pelenor View Post
So does that mean all the 4k movies in Itunes are both dolby digital and HDR? And no matter which 4k movie I purchase, even if it says Dolby Digital, then I should be able to experience HDR on my television? Just want to be clear before I purchase it . Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Berry View Post
Yes.
Assuming @pelenor meant Dolby Vision (which I believei he did), NO. I've seen some movies labeled as only 4K, some labeled as DV (which supposedly will play as HDR if you can't support DV), and some labeled as just HDR.

When you set the ATV5 to output as HDR, everything is sent as HDR (including menus, SDR content, other app content); so we can't really tell whether the DV titles are giving us true HDR.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield | PS4 Pro | Roku P+ (4630)
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Heat (1995) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #7192 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 08:55 AM
Member
 
pelenor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
Assuming @pelenor meant Dolby Vision (which I believei he did), NO. I've seen some movies labeled as only 4K, some labeled as DV (which supposedly will play as HDR if you can't support DV), and some labeled as just HDR.

When you set the ATV5 to output as HDR, everything is sent as HDR (including menus, SDR content, other app content); so we can't really tell whether the DV titles are giving us true HDR.
I actually meant dolby vision. Sorry for the confusion.So if a movie say Dolby Vision and I play it on my HDR only tv, will I still see HDR effect or do I need to have a dolby vision capable tv? I just want to be sure before I purchase the apple 4k. THanks.
pelenor is offline  
post #7193 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,125
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2441 Post(s)
Liked: 1924
Quote:
Originally Posted by pelenor View Post
... if a movie say Dolby Vision and I play it on my HDR only tv, will I still see HDR effect
Yes but I don't think anyone has determined the mechanism used to convert DV to HDR10.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #7194 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr Berry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Apple TV owners' thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post

Assuming @pelenor meant Dolby Vision (which I believei he did), NO. I've seen some movies labeled as only 4K, some labeled as DV (which supposedly will play as HDR if you can't support DV), and some labeled as just HDR.



When you set the ATV5 to output as HDR, everything is sent as HDR (including menus, SDR content, other app content); so we can't really tell whether the DV titles are giving us true HDR.


If a movie is labeled as only 4K, then it goes without saying that it doesn’t support any form of HDR.

Apple TV 4K uses Dolby Vision profile 5 which has a base layer or HDR10. So all Movies labeled DV played back on an HDR10 only display will playback in HDR10.

The movies labeled as HDR refers to movies in HDR10 only. That’s Movie Studio related (20th Century Fox) and nothing to do with the Apple TV itself.

I’ve made side by side comparisons of movies in SDR and HDR10 on DV/HDR10 movies on my non-DV Sony X900E and X800D displays and there’s a clear difference between HDR and SDR in Wonder Woman, Ghost in the Shell, Alien Isolation, Mad Max, Transformers TLK, Kong Skull Island, The Martian and Days of Future Past. These are the only ones I’ve tested, though I’ve watched more.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Mr Berry; 10-25-2017 at 09:17 AM.
Mr Berry is offline  
post #7195 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 09:18 AM
Member
 
aggrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Monoprice Certified Premium HDMI Cable Issues?

Hi All,

Using monoprice premium certified hdmi cables, connected to a vizio e65 e1, port 1, UHD features on that input enabled. When I go to HDR settings on ATV, and check out my chroma settings, I'm seeing only 4:2:0 as an option while set with the 4k @ 60 hz HDR setting. Anyone else using these cables with this issue? I've also noticed that when I change output settings to 4K @ 24 or 30hz I get the 4:2:2 option. This suggests to me the cables maybe falling short, but wondering if anyone else is having these challenges.
aggrobot is offline  
post #7196 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,517
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 2033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
How have you tested this? I notice that you say "should" which sounds like speculation. Certainly in my case it doesn't switch from HD to UHD -- at least not within a few minutes (as long as I was willing to wait for it to change) rather Quick Start ON is always UHD just at a lower resolution for no more than a second or so and then switches to full resolution.

My link is 100Mbps and a 4K stream sends bursts at about 80Mbps.
I've tested it. @Mr Berry is wrong from based on what the rest of us are seeing.

QuickStart OFF = HD is the max quality
QuickStart ON = UHD is the max quality
nathan_h is offline  
post #7197 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,517
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 2033
Quote:
Originally Posted by intermediatic View Post
The issue for us, as for many, is controlling the device with our Logitech Harmony Elite. Now I looked through this forum but couldn't find an answer to my specific problem which is that when I hit the menu key, it not only triggers menu on the AppleTV, it triggers the menu on our 2015 Vizio M70-C3 TV!! This was not a problem with old AppleTV (pre TVOS) that we had before.

Any thoughts?
I'm not a Elite user, but with the Harmony remotes I use, in the editing app, they let one re-map any key to a different device and action. That might be a solution.
nathan_h is offline  
post #7198 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 09:34 AM
Pip
Advanced Member
 
Pip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggrobot View Post
Hi All,

Using monoprice premium certified hdmi cables, connected to a vizio e65 e1, port 1, UHD features on that input enabled. When I go to HDR settings on ATV, and check out my chroma settings, I'm seeing only 4:2:0 as an option while set with the 4k @ 60 hz HDR setting. Anyone else using these cables with this issue? I've also noticed that when I change output settings to 4K @ 24 or 30hz I get the 4:2:2 option. This suggests to me the cables maybe falling short, but wondering if anyone else is having these challenges.
I've had the same experience with all sorts of cables including 50ft. optical cables.

I've posted a few questions as to video quality of 4:2:0 vs. 4:2:2, etc. I've received conflicting responses from forum members. Some claim 4:2:0 is just as good. Others claim that it's inferior. I have no idea which is correct.

I certainly don't notice a difference.

Pip
Pip is online now  
post #7199 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,517
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 2033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Berry View Post

Apple TV 4K uses Dolby Vision profile 5 which has a base layer or HDR10. So all Movies labeled DV played back on an HDR10 only display will playback in HDR10.
I used to think this, until a poster here did a close reading of the Dolby spec, and showed that there is no base layer in this DV profile.

This is why it appears to be a mystery about how Apple renders an HDR10 output from a DV file.
Brandon B and ZephyrForza79 like this.
nathan_h is offline  
post #7200 of 29063 Old 10-25-2017, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr Berry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Apple TV owners' thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
I've tested it. @Mr Berry is wrong from based on what the rest of us are seeing.



QuickStart OFF = HD is the max quality

QuickStart ON = UHD is the max quality


Yes, I admitted I was wrong a few posts back. No need to be so blunt about it...


Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
I used to think this, until a poster here did a close reading of the Dolby spec, and showed that there is no base layer in this DV profile.



This is why it appears to be a mystery about how Apple renders an HDR10 output from a DV file.


Which part of the DV spec did he closely scrutinize? I would like to have a look.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mr Berry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , apple tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off