Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 332 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 32036Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9931 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 04:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,129
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2443 Post(s)
Liked: 1928
Quote:
Originally Posted by popechild View Post
May have to look into putting it on my Mac with Bootcamp or something and figure out if the GUI would work that way on a Mac.
Yes, the Linker/Vertex PC interfaces work under Bootcamp. They do not work under VirtualBox. There's a Bluetooth based mobile app that displays some information but you have to purchase a BT dongle for HDFury device.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9932 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 06:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1072 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by 256k View Post
Guys, anyone with a DV Capable TV should buy "IT", NOW, seriously, this movie is a Demo for HDR and OLED TV's, jesus christ

That being said, until Dolby, LG or Apple fix the raised blacks, here's the fix, use it on DV Bright Movie mode:

Oled Light 44
Contrast 99
Brightness 48

That retains as much black level possible without raising blacks

Hopefully the 4k list will keep growing fast... Also it's annoying that not all 4K movies are listed on Itunes PC app or the ATV 4k Itself, so tell Siri "4K Movies" and it will show the real entire list


Do you have the disc or are you referring to the iTunes download?

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #9933 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 06:42 AM
Member
 
toddn149's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
No problems, now. I use the HDFUry devices to remove the HDR flag (but of course still feed an HDR signal) and then manually select the HDR gamma on the JVC.







Turn OFF dynamic range matching. Set the ATV4K output to 1080p SDR, since you are not using a UHD tv.







Turn OFF Match Frame Rate and see if that helps with the audio sync issues. That has worked for many folks including me.



Don't worry about Chroma. 4:2:0 is perfect but auto is probably fine, too.


The dynamic range matching is already set to off. Any other suggestions? Thanks
toddn149 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9934 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
KOTULCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I just bought the War of Planet of the apes on ATV 4K and I had to crank my AVR volume up way higher than I ever have had to before. Those of you that have this movie, is this the same for you?
KOTULCN is offline  
post #9935 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 07:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,956
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6874 Post(s)
Liked: 6812
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Do you have the disc or are you referring to the iTunes download?


Well technically not ITunes download, but he’s referring to the ITunes version. The disc comes out on 1/9.
Ph8te is online now  
post #9936 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 07:37 AM
Member
 
Bullwyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by bommai View Post
How does it handle lossless audio? Does it unpack into pcm 5.1 or 7.1? I know Apple said atmos support is coming. I would be willing to live with pcm 5.1 or 7.1 if it is a bit for bit representation of the original lossless track. I have a Sony x800 UHD player already and I am trying to justify acquiring an Apple TV for easier to use performance. The plex app on the x800 is not very good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I tried with some downloaded samples of lossless True HD, DTS Master, etc. It was NOT able to play those. Tries to play, then keeps cutting out every second. Perhaps my settings (on server or in app) are not set to translate the audio to PCM, haven't played around with those things. Let me know if there's something specific you wish me to try for you.
Bullwyf is offline  
post #9937 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 08:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Anyone else have occasional audio dropouts from iTunes movies?

Netflix, Prime, Hulu, Vudu, YouTube, & WWE apps do not replicate the same problem for me.
Skunkbeard is offline  
post #9938 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
thebignewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Have new ATV 4k, with LG OLED TV. Yamaha RX-V383 4k AVR to pass through. When I watch purchased movies from iTunes the TV shows in HDR picture mode, but the movie will often times go to black screen, HDR pic logo shows upper right, then it resumes after 2 seconds. Is this normal? No buffering icon like Netflix happens. Thanks in advance.

[/B] LG OLED65E6P TV, Yamaha RX-V383 AVR with Paradigm speakers, Cableone STB, Samsung UHD BD player, AppleTV 4K[/B]
thebignewt is offline  
post #9939 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 08:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,956
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6874 Post(s)
Liked: 6812
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebignewt View Post
Have new ATV 4k, with LG OLED TV. Yamaha RX-V383 4k AVR to pass through. When I watch purchased movies from iTunes the TV shows in HDR picture mode, but the movie will often times go to black screen, HDR pic logo shows upper right, then it resumes after 2 seconds. Is this normal? No buffering icon like Netflix happens. Thanks in advance.


If you have ATV4K set to 4K SDR with match dynamic and framerate on, then yes. The switching of modes is causing a handshake. I see the same on my B7A.
kristoffer77 likes this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #9940 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 08:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebignewt View Post
Have new ATV 4k, with LG OLED TV. Yamaha RX-V383 4k AVR to pass through. When I watch purchased movies from iTunes the TV shows in HDR picture mode, but the movie will often times go to black screen, HDR pic logo shows upper right, then it resumes after 2 seconds. Is this normal? No buffering icon like Netflix happens. Thanks in advance.


If it just happens at the start of the film it’s normal. It shouldn’t be happening mid film.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Andrew Stirling is offline  
post #9941 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,554
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5046 Post(s)
Liked: 3058
Quote:
Originally Posted by KOTULCN View Post
I just bought the War of Planet of the apes on ATV 4K and I had to crank my AVR volume up way higher than I ever have had to before. Those of you that have this movie, is this the same for you?
I have to do this with all movies I watch on the Apple TV 4k. I usually use -10 dB with other devices but with the Apple TV 4k I have to go to -5 dB or even 0 dB which I used to watch "The Dark Knight Rises" 4k last night.

lujan
645 Ultra HD
730 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #9942 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,340
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6140
Quote:
Originally Posted by andygiddings View Post
2K vs 4K DI has absolutely nothing to do with final PQ. There are lovely 2K titles and terrible 4K titles. People need to stop obsessing about that. Secondly, while 4K streaming does look great, nothing rivals actual 4K Blu-ray.

ATV4K is great for 4K Netflix and Amazon UHD (Bright on Netflix looks GREAT), but iTunes 4K HDR movies still can't sniff UHD Blu-ray. We won't even bring up lossless vs lossy audio.
hobbs47, djb61230, Ph8te and 3 others like this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #9943 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,528
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2851 Post(s)
Liked: 2034
Quote:
Originally Posted by popechild View Post
Thanks. Yeah, I'm very familiar with stripping the HDR flag and manually switching the JVC on/off HDR gammas as I do that all the time with my UHD player. For whatever reason, on the ATV it's way off. It's most noticeable on the menu because the lack of contrast sticks out so dramatically. If yours is in SDR mode with dynamic range matching I wonder whether setting it to 4K HDR (to make the menu HDR) would cause your menu to seem off or not? No worries if you don't care to test it. I appreciate your replies.
I see:

ATV in forced hdr mode + jvc in hdr mode = nice rich menus
ATV in forced sdr mode + jvc in hdr mode = grossly overlooked colors and contrast menus.
ATV in forced hdr mode + jvc in sdr mode = washed out menus
ATV is forced sdr mode + jvc in sdr mode = nice rich menus


Quote:
Would love to hook it up to reference the GUI but unfortunately don't have a Windows PC. May have to look into putting it on my Mac with Bootcamp or something and figure out if the GUI would work that way on a Mac.
Take the Linker to wherever you set it up initially? I mean you had access to a PC at one point.... but yes, using a vm also works. I used Fusion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebignewt View Post
Have new ATV 4k, with LG OLED TV. Yamaha RX-V383 4k AVR to pass through. When I watch purchased movies from iTunes the TV shows in HDR picture mode, but the movie will often times go to black screen, HDR pic logo shows upper right, then it resumes after 2 seconds. Is this normal? No buffering icon like Netflix happens. Thanks in advance.
Sounds like the cables are getting maxed out. Specifically graded Premium Certified Cables are a must. So callled high speed 18gbs cables are not adequate.
nathan_h is offline  
post #9944 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
256k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Do you have the disc or are you referring to the iTunes download?
Itunes version
256k is offline  
post #9945 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 10:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1072 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by 256k View Post
Itunes version


Thank you, I’ll have to wait before it’s released here in holland. Thanks for the heads up!

Does someone here can recommend premium certified cables which are available here in holland? Those are hard to get here. Otherwise I’ll order the new belkin HDMI cable which is sold by Apple and ready for HDMI 2.1 I experience black dropouts when viewing content in 60hz HDR10

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #9946 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
andygiddings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Coppell, Texas
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
2K vs 4K DI has absolutely nothing to do with final PQ. There are lovely 2K titles and terrible 4K titles. People need to stop obsessing about that. Secondly, while 4K streaming does look great, nothing rivals actual 4K Blu-ray.

ATV4K is great for 4K Netflix and Amazon UHD (Bright on Netflix looks GREAT), but iTunes 4K HDR movies still can't sniff UHD Blu-ray. We won't even bring up lossless vs lossy audio.
Most of this is covered in the FAQ of the link provided. Also not sure why you feel people are "obsessing" rather than doing their homework.

Room 1 system: Paradigm Reference Active 7.2 system, Anthem AVM50, Oppo BDP-103. Pioneer Elite 610HD. Room 2: Samsung 65HU8550 with SEK3500, Paradigm Monitor 5.1 system, Denon AVR-X2400H, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield, Apple TV 4k
andygiddings is offline  
post #9947 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,340
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6140
Quote:
Originally Posted by andygiddings View Post
Most of this is covered in the FAQ of the link provided. Also not sure why you feel people are "obsessing" rather than doing their homework.
Using that site is obsessing over something that does not matter... The whole basis of the site means nothing, yet people throw it around in forums like it does. I've been watching UHD discs since Mar 16, and I know better, yet that site will get throw into a discussion real quick.

If that site makes the same point in a FAQ, then by definition it makes a site "real or fake 4k' useless, because 2K vs 4K DI = NOTHING.
Ph8te likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #9948 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,569
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3928 Post(s)
Liked: 3951
Quote:
Originally Posted by andygiddings View Post
Most of this is covered in the FAQ of the link provided. Also not sure why you feel people are "obsessing" rather than doing their homework.
What is a fact is that 4k resolution by itself provides a small improvement when compared to HDR and the wider color gamut those can be done well regardless of whether the original source was shot in 4k or not thus the whole basis of the site is bogus imo




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #9949 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
andygiddings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Coppell, Texas
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
What is a fact is that 4k resolution by itself provides a small improvement when compared to HDR and the wider color gamut those can be done well regardless of whether the original source was shot in 4k or not thus the whole basis of the site is bogus imo




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Which is also mentioned in the FAQ on the site - but to each their own

Room 1 system: Paradigm Reference Active 7.2 system, Anthem AVM50, Oppo BDP-103. Pioneer Elite 610HD. Room 2: Samsung 65HU8550 with SEK3500, Paradigm Monitor 5.1 system, Denon AVR-X2400H, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield, Apple TV 4k
andygiddings is offline  
post #9950 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
thebignewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
If you have ATV4K set to 4K SDR with match dynamic and framerate on, then yes. The switching of modes is causing a handshake. I see the same on my B7A.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
If it just happens at the start of the film it’s normal. It shouldn’t be happening mid film.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
It does it every 5 minutes during the movie I'd say. Kind of distracting. I haven't changed the default settings on the ATV 4K since I got it. It seems to work fine except for that. Looks great too. I most all of Amazon content shows in HDR with the new app.

[/B] LG OLED65E6P TV, Yamaha RX-V383 AVR with Paradigm speakers, Cableone STB, Samsung UHD BD player, AppleTV 4K[/B]
thebignewt is offline  
post #9951 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,129
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2443 Post(s)
Liked: 1928
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
What is a fact is that 4k resolution by itself provides a small improvement when compared to HDR and the wider color gamut those can be done well regardless of whether the original source was shot in 4k or not thus the whole basis of the site is bogus imo
(Just an FYI there's more than one site. I think the site I linked to provides useful information. I don't think either 4Kmedia or RealOrFake mean much by Fake which appears to be marketing.)

It'sa truism that the WCG/HDR are the drivers in improved picture quality. Of course the set of non-4K WCG/HDR features is sufficiently small that 4K is a given. So the extra information (if correct) can be handy.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #9952 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,956
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6874 Post(s)
Liked: 6812
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebignewt View Post
It does it every 5 minutes during the movie I'd say. Kind of distracting. I haven't changed the default settings on the ATV 4K since I got it. It seems to work fine except for that. Looks great too. I most all of Amazon content shows in HDR with the new app.


If it’s doing that then it sounds like you are having handshake issues. That could be cable or component related. If you haven’t changed settings try setting to 4K SDR (or 4K HDR) with Match Dynamic Rate and Framerate ON with color space set to 4:2:0.

You may also want to try new cables or a direct connection (bypassing AVR) to see if that clears things up. Handshake issues are usually as simple as a setting or swapping out a cable.
Ph8te is online now  
post #9953 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
thebignewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
If it’s doing that then it sounds like you are having handshake issues. That could be cable or component related. If you haven’t changed settings try setting to 4K SDR (or 4K HDR) with Match Dynamic Rate and Framerate ON with color space set to 4:2:0.

You may also want to try new cables or a direct connection (bypassing AVR) to see if that clears things up. Handshake issues are usually as simple as a setting or swapping out a cable.
Thanks. I wasn't set to 4K HDR or Match DR/FR. It was set to color 4:2:0. the "check cable" showed clear pic so it should be OK. I'll see if the annoying pauses stops now.

EDIT: That completely stopped the pauses, thanks. Question: if I go to color space 4:2:2 with a high speed cable will it look better? Now everything I show/stream is in HDR, even this basketball game from my iPad (ASU UofA) and it looks amazing.
Ph8te likes this.

[/B] LG OLED65E6P TV, Yamaha RX-V383 AVR with Paradigm speakers, Cableone STB, Samsung UHD BD player, AppleTV 4K[/B]

Last edited by thebignewt; 12-30-2017 at 07:17 PM.
thebignewt is offline  
post #9954 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 06:40 PM
Member
 
popechild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Yes, the Linker/Vertex PC interfaces work under Bootcamp. They do not work under VirtualBox. There's a Bluetooth based mobile app that displays some information but you have to purchase a BT dongle for HDFury device.
Thanks. It took way more effort than desired to gain access to a single program that I don't use on a regular basis, but I was able to install Windows 7 on Bootcamp and access the Linker FW and GUI programs. Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
I see:

ATV in forced hdr mode + jvc in hdr mode = nice rich menus
ATV in forced sdr mode + jvc in hdr mode = grossly overlooked colors and contrast menus.
ATV in forced hdr mode + jvc in sdr mode = washed out menus
ATV is forced sdr mode + jvc in sdr mode = nice rich menus

Take the Linker to wherever you set it up initially? I mean you had access to a PC at one point.... but yes, using a vm also works. I used Fusion.
Thanks for checking. As noted above, I did install windows 7 so I have access now. It was actually setup by a friend out of state, so not exactly convenient! You're definitely getting different results than I'm getting, but I'll try to move this discussion over to the Linker thread since it seems like no one else here has the same issues and I'm only getting it when using the Linker.
popechild is offline  
post #9955 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
blackjackmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Occasional “screen goes black”

Anyone had occasions where during playback (in my case, of Netflix) with the ATV4k the screen just goes black for two seconds, then comes back? Audio does not drop out.

Watching The Crown tonight and happened probably four times during two episodes. Rewinding and playing the same scene again resulted in no dropout.

Have never seen this happen with the old ATV 4th gen, just got the new ATV4k.

Running it through a Denon X4300H, all into an LG OLED65C7P. All are on the most current public firmwares.

Doesn’t seem to happen frequently enough to be a handshake issue, but maybe it is.

Have never had an issue with my Oppo 203 running through the same receiver into the same HDMI port in the LG, FWIW.

Any other ideas?

LG OLED65C7P / Denon AVR-X4300H / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K
blackjackmark is offline  
post #9956 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 10:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,956
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6874 Post(s)
Liked: 6812
@blackjackmark I would try a new cable just to be sure.
nathan_h and I WANT MORE like this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #9957 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 10:24 PM
Senior Member
 
blackjackmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackjackmark View Post
Anyone had occasions where during playback (in my case, of Netflix) with the ATV4k the screen just goes black for two seconds, then comes back? Audio does not drop out.

Watching The Crown tonight and happened probably four times during two episodes. Rewinding and playing the same scene again resulted in no dropout.

Have never seen this happen with the old ATV 4th gen, just got the new ATV4k.

Running it through a Denon X4300H, all into an LG OLED65C7P. All are on the most current public firmwares.

Doesn’t seem to happen frequently enough to be a handshake issue, but maybe it is.

Have never had an issue with my Oppo 203 running through the same receiver into the same HDMI port in the LG, FWIW.

Any other ideas?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
@blackjackmark I would try a new cable just to be sure.
Pro blah not a bad idea, but I was just coming back here to edit my original post and state I’m running all Monoprice Premium Certified HDMI cables everywhere...but maybe I got a bad one.

LG OLED65C7P / Denon AVR-X4300H / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K
blackjackmark is offline  
post #9958 of 29123 Old 12-30-2017, 11:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,554
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5046 Post(s)
Liked: 3058
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackjackmark View Post
Anyone had occasions where during playback (in my case, of Netflix) with the ATV4k the screen just goes black for two seconds, then comes back? Audio does not drop out.

Watching The Crown tonight and happened probably four times during two episodes. Rewinding and playing the same scene again resulted in no dropout.

Have never seen this happen with the old ATV 4th gen, just got the new ATV4k.

Running it through a Denon X4300H, all into an LG OLED65C7P. All are on the most current public firmwares.

Doesn’t seem to happen frequently enough to be a handshake issue, but maybe it is.

Have never had an issue with my Oppo 203 running through the same receiver into the same HDMI port in the LG, FWIW.

Any other ideas?
Only goes black for me when switching screens and not during any playback of content.

lujan
645 Ultra HD
730 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #9959 of 29123 Old 12-31-2017, 01:39 AM
Senior Member
 
kristoffer77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Apple TV owners' thread.

My Apple TV 4K sometimes loses signal to my tv. A reboot is the only fix. It seems as if the box loses HDCP handshake when I change the HDMI input. I hope Apple is working on a fix. I use a LG B6 OLED and a high speed HDMI 2.0 cable.
More people have reported this problem on Apple’s forums.
kristoffer77 is offline  
post #9960 of 29123 Old 12-31-2017, 02:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,402
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1568 Post(s)
Liked: 998
Bond HDR ?

Hi,

I'm in love with the ATV 4K and would happily rebuy all my James Bond films to have them in 4K iTunes.

However, none of them show as HDR.

I read that currently Amazon and Apple are bidding on James Bond movie rights. I wouldn't want to buy a copy that gets replaced and eventually removed from the store... this kind of thing does happen or used to anyway.

Also, there is no "full collection at a discount" option. I guess I better hold off till the next film is released. They tend to come out in Nov pretty darn close to Black Friday.

-brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , apple tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off