Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 419 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29585Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12541 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,510
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1019 Post(s)
Liked: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeorwell View Post
Speaking of Amazon hiding 4K content, I just found out that Season 2 of The Expanse is now available in UHD on Amazon. Season 1 has been there for some time, but Season 2 was just made available.
Damn, I watched it HD, thanks Amazon.

LG 65C7P (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12542 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
ChicagoChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Please see my previous response. This constant "replace your cables" advice is poor for random systems. It's completely unnecessary for someone with an ATV4K who can validate their cables with signals of known bandwidth from 27MHz to 597MHz.

4K60 SDR at 4:2:0 uses 297MHz as does [email protected] HDR. 9G cables are sufficient for that. The only issue with current content is frame doubled [email protected] or 30.
@bodosom I don't think anyone here is looking to replace cables. I'd rather not but if something is not working, the cable is a option. Honestly, I am not looking forward to pulling a new cable through the drywall.
ChicagoChris is offline  
post #12543 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,461
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The picture quality looked really good with what I looked at. But I'll need to take a look at a UHD test pattern, and compare 422 and 420 to see how it looks.


Where can you get UHD test patterns for the Apple TV?

PSN ID: CrimsonNagus
XBL GT: Crimson Nagus
rolltide1017 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12544 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,719
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2164 Post(s)
Liked: 1695
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChicagoChris View Post
I'd rather not but if something is not working, the cable is a option. Honestly, I am not looking forward to pulling a new cable through the drywall.
This is the circumstance I was referring to. Some cables are trivial to replace, some are annoying and some are hard. People in the latter camp are excellent candidates for testing before replacing.

A lesser issue is future-proofing*. At this point in time I'd suggest that anyone considering a difficult cable replacement wait for the 48G cables. They should be available at reasonable** cost late this year. Sadly it won't be easy to test them so greater trust will be required.

*As if.
**Similar to 18G

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #12545 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 07:38 PM
Member
 
eternal21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
Where can you get UHD test patterns for the Apple TV?
I know there are some test patterns if you search for them on Netflix, not sure if they are 4K though.

Sony XBR-65A1E | AppleTV 4K | PS4 Pro | PSVR
eternal21 is offline  
post #12546 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
andygiddings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Coppell, Texas
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by eternal21 View Post
I know there are some test patterns if you search for them on Netflix, not sure if they are 4K though.
Yes they are in 4k

Room 1 system: Paradigm Reference Active 7.2 system, Anthem AVM50, Oppo BDP-103. Pioneer Elite 610HD. Room 2: Samsung 65HU8550 with SEK3500, Paradigm Monitor 5.1 system, Denon AVR-X2400H, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield, Apple TV 4k
andygiddings is offline  
post #12547 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 08:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 957
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Does the new ATV 4 with 32 GB include a gigabit Ethernet port or 10/100? Apple claims all of the UHD ATVs have the gigabit port.

Memphis Tiger Fan-Sports enthusiast
rjhseven is offline  
post #12548 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 08:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anybody had/have an issue where yourd remote won?t turn your tv/receiver on anymore? For a while the remote wasn?t adjusting the sound either but now I at least have that function back.
tboysen00 is offline  
post #12549 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Apple TV owners' thread.

Anyone with an Amazon echo/dot and Harmony remote try this? If so, what words you use to open ‪Netflix?

https://www.reddit.com/r/amazonecho/...edium=tweet‬
*EDIT* Disregard I figured it out

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by krazyflipj; 02-21-2018 at 10:24 PM.
krazyflipj is offline  
post #12550 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 09:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was able to fix screen size by resetting Apple TV automatically it brings up full
Screen! I have question when I was selecting 4K HDR formats it defaulting to 4K SDR, Is this normal behaviour? I am using Audio quest chocolate 4K 18gbps hdmi cable and I am connected to Epson 5040 UB 4K projector! Any thoughts?
gakbw is offline  
post #12551 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 09:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,533
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhseven View Post
Does the new ATV 4 with 32 GB include a gigabit Ethernet port or 10/100? Apple claims all of the UHD ATVs have the gigabit port.
The ATV 4 has only 10/100. The ATV 4K has gigabit Ethernet.

https://support.apple.com/kb/SP724?locale=en_US

https://support.apple.com/kb/SP769?locale=en_US
aaronwt and rjhseven like this.
NashGuy is offline  
post #12552 of 26214 Old 02-21-2018, 09:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
leonmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhseven View Post
Does the new ATV 4 with 32 GB include a gigabit Ethernet port or 10/100? Apple claims all of the UHD ATVs have the gigabit port.
Both ATV4K models have Gigabit Ethernet. The only hardware difference known to the public is 32Gb verses 64GB.

Leon McKee
aaronwt likes this.

LR: XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | UBP-X700 | URC MX-890 | SoundTouch 300 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
MBR: KDL-65W850A | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | URC MX-890 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
4K HDR/DV Chains: ATV4K/UBP-X700>3ft Monoprice Certified Premium Cables>65X930E
Computing, Truck & Communication Devices: Proud Apple Customer Since 1979

Last edited by leonmckee; 02-21-2018 at 09:59 PM.
leonmckee is offline  
post #12553 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 08:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 806
Quote:
Originally Posted by leonmckee View Post
Try programing your remote to switch away from any device that uses HDCP, if possible, before you shut down everything. This helped me at some point in the past so I've just made it a best practice.

Leon McKee
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Please share your commands if they work.
Just a quick update....I thought this was going to work. I programmed my Harmony to switch to HDMI1 on my Sony before shutting down. HDMI1 is empty. Tried the ATV a couple times yesterday and first thing this morning....no issues. Each time I was able to watch the ATV without rebooting. However, just tried it again after having everything off for a few hours.....same problem. This time however, the UI came on the screen, then it blacked out. Pressing one of the direction arrows got the UI back.....but trying to play any video resulted in a black screen with just audio. Reboot again solved it.

Really hoping Apple responds to my bug report. I think they need to work with Sony to understand why this is happening to some people.
kbmb is offline  
post #12554 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,785
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1131
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Just a quick update....I thought this was going to work. I programmed my Harmony to switch to HDMI1 on my Sony before shutting down. HDMI1 is empty. Tried the ATV a couple times yesterday and first thing this morning....no issues. Each time I was able to watch the ATV without rebooting. However, just tried it again after having everything off for a few hours.....same problem. This time however, the UI came on the screen, then it blacked out. Pressing one of the direction arrows got the UI back.....but trying to play any video resulted in a black screen with just audio. Reboot again solved it.

Really hoping Apple responds to my bug report. I think they need to work with Sony to understand why this is happening to some people.
Sorry to hear that but I'm sure there are many others out there in the ATV community that are having the same or similar problems. I'm sure it will be fixed at "some point".

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #12555 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
leonmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Just a quick update....I thought this was going to work. I programmed my Harmony to switch to HDMI1 on my Sony before shutting down. HDMI1 is empty. Tried the ATV a couple times yesterday and first thing this morning....no issues. Each time I was able to watch the ATV without rebooting. However, just tried it again after having everything off for a few hours.....same problem. This time however, the UI came on the screen, then it blacked out. Pressing one of the direction arrows got the UI back.....but trying to play any video resulted in a black screen with just audio. Reboot again solved it.

Really hoping Apple responds to my bug report. I think they need to work with Sony to understand why this is happening to some people.
Bummer!

Way to many issues across the eco-system at this point in time. I've gotten into the habit of doing a warm restart of my personal ATV4K every morning! I'm sure it'll get better, but 2018 is going to be a long year for us

Leon McKee

LR: XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | UBP-X700 | URC MX-890 | SoundTouch 300 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
MBR: KDL-65W850A | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | URC MX-890 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
4K HDR/DV Chains: ATV4K/UBP-X700>3ft Monoprice Certified Premium Cables>65X930E
Computing, Truck & Communication Devices: Proud Apple Customer Since 1979
leonmckee is offline  
post #12556 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 806
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Sorry to hear that but I'm sure there are many others out there in the ATV community that are having the same or similar problems. I'm sure it will be fixed at "some point".
Yeah.....I keep hoping.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leonmckee View Post
Bummer!

Way to many issues across the eco-system at this point in time. I've gotten into the habit of doing a warm restart of my personal ATV4K every morning! I'm sure it'll get better, but 2018 is going to be a long year for us

Leon McKee
By a warm restart do you mean the reboot command for the ATV? Yeah plugging it directly into my TV has helped in that I can just restart the ATV and fix the problem. When it was going through my AVR it was really wrecking havoc with my TV where I had to unplug the TV. Thanks to @m_snow I learned about the reboot command so I programmed that into my Harmony. Tempted to program the reboot command into the Apple TV startup options on the Harmony next.
kbmb is offline  
post #12557 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
leonmckee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
By a warm restart do you mean the reboot command for the ATV? Yeah plugging it directly into my TV has helped in that I can just restart the ATV and fix the problem. When it was going through my AVR it was really wrecking havoc with my TV where I had to unplug the TV. Thanks to @m_snow I learned about the reboot command so I programmed that into my Harmony. Tempted to program the reboot command into the Apple TV startup options on the Harmony next.
Yes

Warm is a simple restart of the system. Cold or Hard restart means you remove and then reply power after a specific time.

Sometimes I revert back to my old way of communicating as a Support Engineer for DEC.

Leon McKee
kbmb, dominica and Uppsalaing like this.

LR: XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | UBP-X700 | URC MX-890 | SoundTouch 300 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
MBR: KDL-65W850A | ATV4K-64GB 5th Gen | URC MX-890 | Luminoodle Bias Lighting
4K HDR/DV Chains: ATV4K/UBP-X700>3ft Monoprice Certified Premium Cables>65X930E
Computing, Truck & Communication Devices: Proud Apple Customer Since 1979

Last edited by leonmckee; 02-22-2018 at 09:05 AM.
leonmckee is offline  
post #12558 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,719
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2164 Post(s)
Liked: 1695
If you're running beta code (and I include the current Sony DV update in that category) please mention it in issue reports.

I haven't seen recent issues with non-responsive devices and I haven't had to repower an ATV4k since the 11.2 beta releases.

I have had some odd handshake glitches but those have been fixable with a Hot Plug Event or a system sleep/wake for the more persistent ones.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #12559 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 10:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,785
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1131
Quote:
Originally Posted by leonmckee View Post
Yes



Warm is a simple restart of the system. Cold or Hard restart means you remove and then reply power after a specific time.



Sometimes I revert back to my old way of communicating as a Support Engineer for DEC.



Leon McKee


“DEC”, there’s an oldie but a goodie . I’m a technology guy too.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
leonmckee, Greg TB and naustin like this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #12560 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 522
I cut my teeth programming hand loading binary into a PDP11 from the control panel switches
leonmckee, Greg TB and m_snow like this.

LG OLED65E6V, Yamaha RX-A3060 AVR, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray player, Apple TV 4K, Sky Q 2TB, Chromecast Ultra
Home-built Ivy Bridge i5-3570K HTPC, 8GB RAM and Nvidia GTX1050 GPU with Plex and Jriver Media Centre,
Ruipro 15M Fiber HDMI cable, B&W FPM speakers, Logitech Harmony Ultimate intelligent remote.
jong1 is offline  
post #12561 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 11:25 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,105
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9427 Post(s)
Liked: 6110
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
Where can you get UHD test patterns for the Apple TV?
I have some test pattern video files at home. And Netflix has a bunch of test patterns.

I haven't figured out what I need to install, to be able to have the 4K ATV play back files on my home network. I know the ATV 4K choked on most of my UHD videos, through it's PLEX app.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 02-22-2018 at 11:31 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #12562 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,333
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2275 Post(s)
Liked: 2573
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I know the ATV 4K choked on most of my UHD videos, through it's PLEX app.
Give Infuse a try.
aaronwt and m_snow like this.
mutelight is offline  
post #12563 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 11:28 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,105
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9427 Post(s)
Liked: 6110
Quote:
Originally Posted by leonmckee View Post
Both ATV4K models have Gigabit Ethernet. The only hardware difference known to the public is 32Gb verses 64GB.

Leon McKee
Now if I could find a way to get the ATV 4K to play my UHD files. It even choked on the low bitrate 50Mb/s files I have, using the PLEX app. I'm sure there is an app I can use. I just need to find it. When I went to the app store i didn't notice a way to view all the apps that were available.

EDIT: I'll look for the Infuse app tonight
Ph8te likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 02-22-2018 at 11:32 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #12564 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 11:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,442
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6578 Post(s)
Liked: 6348
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Now if I could find a way to get the ATV 4K to play my UHD files. It even choked on the low bitrate 50Mb/s files I have, using the PLEX app. I'm sure there is an app I can use. I just need to find it. When I went to the app store i didn't notice a way to view all the apps that were available.



EDIT: I'll look for the Infuse app tonight


Infuse works for me and my UHDBR rips. I don’t think I’ve had a stutter yet.
Ph8te is offline  
post #12565 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,785
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1131
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Now if I could find a way to get the ATV 4K to play my UHD files. It even choked on the low bitrate 50Mb/s files I have, using the PLEX app. I'm sure there is an app I can use. I just need to find it. When I went to the app store i didn't notice a way to view all the apps that were available.

EDIT: I'll look for the Infuse app tonight
MrMC will play anything. I play high frame rate HDR files all the time with it including DV. It’s basically Kodi for Apple.
I prefer the Infuse interface but for big hairy files I use MrMC.
aaronwt likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #12566 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Now if I could find a way to get the ATV 4K to play my UHD files. It even choked on the low bitrate 50Mb/s files I have, using the PLEX app. I'm sure there is an app I can use. I just need to find it. When I went to the app store i didn't notice a way to view all the apps that were available.



EDIT: I'll look for the Infuse app tonight


The only way Infuse will stutter with uhd rips is if you’re using WiFi or if you’ve got some kind of internal networking issue. Definitely use Ethernet though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Keenan likes this.
Andrew Stirling is online now  
post #12567 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,442
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6578 Post(s)
Liked: 6348
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
MrMC will play anything. I play high frame rate HDR files all the time with it including DV. It’s basically Kodi for Apple.

I prefer the Infuse interface but for big hairy files I use MrMC.


Did they add dual layer DV to MrMc? Last I saw it was limited to single layer. Since most UHDBRs are dual layer type, it really didn’t mean much as far as support goes.
Ph8te is offline  
post #12568 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,785
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Did they add dual layer DV to MrMc? Last I saw it was limited to single layer. Since most UHDBRs are dual layer type, it really didn’t mean much as far as support goes.


No, still single layer and to my eye, looks more like SD than even HDR. The files from LG are small too so I’m not even sure it’s dual layer from the source.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #12569 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
andygiddings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Coppell, Texas
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
The only way Infuse will stutter with uhd rips is if you’re using WiFi or if you’ve got some kind of internal networking issue. Definitely use Ethernet though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
My experience with Infuse is stutter free even with wifi - as long as you have a good 5Ghz wireless AC signal

Room 1 system: Paradigm Reference Active 7.2 system, Anthem AVM50, Oppo BDP-103. Pioneer Elite 610HD. Room 2: Samsung 65HU8550 with SEK3500, Paradigm Monitor 5.1 system, Denon AVR-X2400H, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield, Apple TV 4k
andygiddings is offline  
post #12570 of 26214 Old 02-22-2018, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
atbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Any projected timeframe for when the Apple TV 4K firmware update will be released (full public release) that addresses the Sony Dolby Vision compatibility issue? Thanks

Sony XBR-65X930E | NVIDIA SHIELD TV | Apple TV 4K | Samsung BD-P1600
Yamaha TSR-7810 | Energy C-100 / Energy C-C100 / Energy S10.3 / Polk RC60i
Logitech Harmony 950 / Smart Control w/ Harmony Hub
atbear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off