Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 438 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29554Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13111 of 26195 Old 03-07-2018, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by nihilan View Post
Don’t Roku and chrome cast do Atmos?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I know Roku does but evidently the pic quality is far below that of ATV.
daimler2015 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13112 of 26195 Old 03-07-2018, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
nihilan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by daimler2015 View Post
I know Roku does but evidently the pic quality is far below that of ATV.


Really? I’d never heard that, but then I really haven’t researched other streaming devices much.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
nihilan is offline  
post #13113 of 26195 Old 03-07-2018, 03:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by nihilan View Post
Really? I’d never heard that, but then I really haven’t researched other streaming devices much.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Yes, tested their best one here myself back before the ATV4K came out. After a very short series of tests, it was removed. Stuck with the ATV4 and waited for Apple to join the 4K market
daimler2015 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13114 of 26195 Old 03-07-2018, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked: 622
So I know that the Apple TV supports Dolby Vision and will convert Dolby Vision to HDR10 when needed, but will it play the native HDR10 version if it is available from VUDU? Also does the apple video store only support Dolby Vision or does it also have HDR10 versions like VUDU?
Buddylee123 is online now  
post #13115 of 26195 Old 03-07-2018, 04:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,332
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2273 Post(s)
Liked: 2573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddylee123 View Post
So I know that the Apple TV supports Dolby Vision and will convert Dolby Vision to HDR10 when needed, but will it play the native HDR10 version if it is available from VUDU? Also does the apple video store only support Dolby Vision or does it also have HDR10 versions like VUDU?
Vudu is currently only SDR on Apple TV. Apple does have HDR10 movies on iTunes and those play natively in HDR10.
Uppsalaing likes this.
mutelight is offline  
post #13116 of 26195 Old 03-07-2018, 04:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
Vudu is currently only SDR on Apple TV. Apple does have HDR10 movies on iTunes and those play natively in HDR10.
Ok thank you
Buddylee123 is online now  
post #13117 of 26195 Old 03-07-2018, 05:46 PM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Yes but it is again DD+ Atmos. Its not HD Audio Atmos.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #13118 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Doug Schiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
Yes but it is again DD+ Atmos. Its not HD Audio Atmos.
You can also pull Atmos from a PCM stream which I learned Xbox One does with its Atmos supported games.
Doug Schiller is offline  
post #13119 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,702
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1695 Post(s)
Liked: 1290
Quote:
Originally Posted by daimler2015 View Post
I know Roku does but evidently the pic quality is far below that of ATV.
That's not my experience. I can't see any difference in PQ.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nihilan View Post
Really? I’d never heard that, but then I really haven’t researched other streaming devices much.
Exactly. It's not like I have low-end displays either.
kbmb likes this.

Sony XBR75X940C & XBR65A1E Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #13120 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,077
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1784 Post(s)
Liked: 1139
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
That's not my experience. I can't see any difference in PQ.



Exactly. It's not like I have low-end displays either.
I never noticed much difference between the Apple & Roku on HDR10 content or HD. On SD content the Apple graphics processor seems a little stronger and it handles 25 fps better. My main use of my Apple is for DolbyVision.
rlb and CCsoftball7 like this.
naustin is online now  
post #13121 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 12:36 PM
Member
 
martiansoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Berry View Post

The auto sleep still doesn’t work.
Auto Sleep has never worked on my ATV 4K. My setup is: ATV 4K > Denon AVR-S510BT Receiver > Sony XBR65X900E TV, all operated with a Logitech Elite.

Contacted Apple about this and their first course of action was for me to go to the store and get a replacement. After some running around and multiple Apple store visits, I was able to pick up my replacement which has also had the same sleep issue that the 1st one had. Another call to support and they passed me on to the next level of support who opened up a case and had me run several scenarios and send them the logs. What we found with all the testing is that the Apple TV will only sleep (in the set time) if the Sony TV is powered on. If the TV is in stand by mode, the ATV 4K continues to stay on with the screensaver running in the background, for anywhere from 15 - 48 hours before it sleeps. Often, I would have turned the TV back on again to watch something before the Apple TV slept.

After getting all my logs, I was informed that everything has been passed on to the development team and that I may or may not hear if and when the issue is fixed, but if it was fixed, it would be in the form of a firmware update (which I expected). As of today, issue still persists and I have been setting the ATV 4K to "Sleep Now" within settings each time before I turn off the TV and receiver.
Mr Berry likes this.
martiansoldier is offline  
post #13122 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,330
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2730 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Schiller View Post
You can also pull Atmos from a PCM stream which I learned Xbox One does with its Atmos supported games.
What? If you mean "One can pull PCM from an ATMOS stream" then I follow you. Otherwise, this doesn't appear to be true and I would love to see the Dolby specs that enable this.
nathan_h is offline  
post #13123 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,624
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Since two things changed it makes solving/blaming someone difficult but yesterday I had a bad case of buffering via Infuse. Infuse was just updated along with the latest Apple TV 4K Beta. It was with the same 4K file I viewed fine a few days ago along with several others. I removed my server from the list as I could view the same file (independently and at the same time) via another device without issue. I tried SMB and NFS with the same result. Anyway I ended up doing a Factory Reset and afterwards it was good to go as I watched 4K files for a couple of hours with zero issues.

125" Projection | 5.2.4 Audio | Shield TV | LibreELEC/ODROID-C2 Kodi Media Client | Ubuntu/ODROID-XU4 NAS/Server | 65" LG OLED TV | TiVo | Shield TV |
| Water cooled Threadripper & Radeon VII, NVMe PC - 43" 4K IPS Panel |
Charles R is offline  
post #13124 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 01:18 PM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,241
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2274 Post(s)
Liked: 1918
Quote:
Originally Posted by martiansoldier View Post
Auto Sleep has never worked on my ATV 4K. My setup is: ATV 4K > Denon AVR-S510BT Receiver > Sony XBR65X900E TV, all operated with a Logitech Elite.

Contacted Apple about this and their first course of action was for me to go to the store and get a replacement. After some running around and multiple Apple store visits, I was able to pick up my replacement which has also had the same sleep issue that the 1st one had. Another call to support and they passed me on to the next level of support who opened up a case and had me run several scenarios and send them the logs. What we found with all the testing is that the Apple TV will only sleep (in the set time) if the Sony TV is powered on. If the TV is in stand by mode, the ATV 4K continues to stay on with the screensaver running in the background, for anywhere from 15 - 48 hours before it sleeps. Often, I would have turned the TV back on again to watch something before the Apple TV slept.

After getting all my logs, I was informed that everything has been passed on to the development team and that I may or may not hear if and when the issue is fixed, but if it was fixed, it would be in the form of a firmware update (which I expected). As of today, issue still persists and I have been setting the ATV 4K to "Sleep Now" within settings each time before I turn off the TV and receiver.
That's strange. Are you running the beta firmware? I had the problem until two prior beta updates ago. It was fixed at that point. I'm setup is the ATV4K/Denon X3300/XBR75Z9D.
bguzman likes this.

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is offline  
post #13125 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 01:40 PM
Member
 
martiansoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
That's strange. Are you running the beta firmware? I had the problem until two prior beta updates ago. It was fixed at that point. I'm setup is the ATV4K/Denon X3300/XBR75Z9D.
No, I'm currently running tvOS 11.2.6.

Yours seems like a similar set up as mine, just different model receiver and TV. So, I wonder why this could be happening. I'll try a reset and update to see if that helps.
martiansoldier is offline  
post #13126 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,783
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1129
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by martiansoldier View Post
Auto Sleep has never worked on my ATV 4K. My setup is: ATV 4K > Denon AVR-S510BT Receiver > Sony XBR65X900E TV, all operated with a Logitech Elite.

Contacted Apple about this and their first course of action was for me to go to the store and get a replacement. After some running around and multiple Apple store visits, I was able to pick up my replacement which has also had the same sleep issue that the 1st one had. Another call to support and they passed me on to the next level of support who opened up a case and had me run several scenarios and send them the logs. What we found with all the testing is that the Apple TV will only sleep (in the set time) if the Sony TV is powered on. If the TV is in stand by mode, the ATV 4K continues to stay on with the screensaver running in the background, for anywhere from 15 - 48 hours before it sleeps. Often, I would have turned the TV back on again to watch something before the Apple TV slept.

After getting all my logs, I was informed that everything has been passed on to the development team and that I may or may not hear if and when the issue is fixed, but if it was fixed, it would be in the form of a firmware update (which I expected). As of today, issue still persists and I have been setting the ATV 4K to "Sleep Now" within settings each time before I turn off the TV and receiver.
That's strange. Are you running the beta firmware? I had the problem until two prior beta updates ago. It was fixed at that point. I'm setup is the ATV4K/Denon X3300/XBR75Z9D.
Mine works now too except it I have the Ditectvnow app running when I shut everything down (except that app). That stream makes the ATV4K think I?m using it.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #13127 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 02:19 PM
Member
 
martiansoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Mine works now too except it I have the Ditectvnow app running when I shut everything down (except that app). That stream makes the ATV4K think I?m using it.
I always make it a point to get to the home screen before It turn everything off and have my 7 year old trained to do this too. Now that more of you are reporting that the Sleep feature is working as it should, I have to check it again. I know it didn't work on my last weekend. Maybe a reset will help.
martiansoldier is offline  
post #13128 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 02:21 PM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,241
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2274 Post(s)
Liked: 1918
Quote:
Originally Posted by martiansoldier View Post
No, I'm currently running tvOS 11.2.6.

Yours seems like a similar set up as mine, just different model receiver and TV. So, I wonder why this could be happening. I'll try a reset and update to see if that helps.
I've only had the ATV4K for 4-5 weeks and have always been on the beta (bought it for DV; but it's now my "go to" streamer). Maybe the issue wasn't fixed until two versions ago on the beta. If that's the case, you should have it resolved with tvOS 11.3.

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is offline  
post #13129 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,783
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1129
Quote:
Originally Posted by martiansoldier View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Mine works now too except it I have the Ditectvnow app running when I shut everything down (except that app). That stream makes the ATV4K think I?m using it.
I always make it a point to get to the home screen before It turn everything off and have my 7 year old trained to do this too. Now that more of you are reporting that the Sleep feature is working as it should, I have to check it again. I know it didn't work on my last weekend. Maybe a reset will help.
I usually set the TV timer on my bedroom TV to turn off later so I?m not awake to get to the Home Screen.
I?m my family room the Harmony Elite sends a turn off sequence when it powers down which automates the process and sleep works there too. BTW I?m I?m the beta 4 of tvOS.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #13130 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 02:28 PM
Member
 
martiansoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I usually set the TV timer on my bedroom TV to turn off later so I?m not awake to get to the Home Screen.
I?m my family room the Harmony Elite sends a turn off sequence when it powers down which automates the process and sleep works there too. BTW I?m I?m the beta 4 of tvOS.
I have a turn off sequence set on the Harmony Elite, but I don't think I have a step for the ATV in the turn off sequence. If I get my ATV to sleep automatically, I might add a home button step in the turn off sequence.
martiansoldier is offline  
post #13131 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
Try turning off Match Dynamic Range to see if that fixes it. Before my TVs received DV updates, all the DV titles were converted to HDR10 for my displays.

Vincent Teoh also did an anlysis on the performance of Apple TV's conversion:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ipo05SYfqXw
Great video, thanks for posting
Buddylee123 is online now  
post #13132 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 02:31 PM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,241
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2274 Post(s)
Liked: 1918
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I usually set the TV timer on my bedroom TV to turn off later so I?m not awake to get to the Home Screen.
I?m my family room the Harmony Elite sends a turn off sequence when it powers down which automates the process and sleep works there too. BTW I?m I?m the beta 4 of tvOS.
I'm also on beta 4 and my Harmony Elite does a turn off sequence.

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is offline  
post #13133 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,783
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1129
Quote:
Originally Posted by martiansoldier View Post
I have a turn off sequence set on the Harmony Elite, but I don't think I have a step for the ATV in the turn off sequence. If I get my ATV to sleep automatically, I might add a home button step in the turn off sequence.

@kbmb taught me a special sequence done under Device/Power Settings that changes it from a one button to two button power off followed by a short sequence. Maybe he can share.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #13134 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 997 Post(s)
Liked: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
@kbmb taught me a special sequence done under Device/Power Settings that changes it from a one button to two button power off followed by a short sequence. Maybe he can share.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Right now I'm not doing anything special for the ATV in the power settings. Actually on 11.3b4 it seems to be sleeping regularly for me.
rlb and martiansoldier like this.
kbmb is online now  
post #13135 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Berry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by martiansoldier View Post
Auto Sleep has never worked on my ATV 4K. My setup is: ATV 4K > Denon AVR-S510BT Receiver > Sony XBR65X900E TV, all operated with a Logitech Elite.

Contacted Apple about this and their first course of action was for me to go to the store and get a replacement. After some running around and multiple Apple store visits, I was able to pick up my replacement which has also had the same sleep issue that the 1st one had. Another call to support and they passed me on to the next level of support who opened up a case and had me run several scenarios and send them the logs. What we found with all the testing is that the Apple TV will only sleep (in the set time) if the Sony TV is powered on. If the TV is in stand by mode, the ATV 4K continues to stay on with the screensaver running in the background, for anywhere from 15 - 48 hours before it sleeps. Often, I would have turned the TV back on again to watch something before the Apple TV slept.

After getting all my logs, I was informed that everything has been passed on to the development team and that I may or may not hear if and when the issue is fixed, but if it was fixed, it would be in the form of a firmware update (which I expected). As of today, issue still persists and I have been setting the ATV 4K to "Sleep Now" within settings each time before I turn off the TV and receiver.


Very interesting. I’ll see if it sleeps when the tv is ON.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mr Berry is offline  
post #13136 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Berry View Post
Very interesting. I’ll see if it sleeps when the tv is ON.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Mine go to sleep when the TV is powered off.
cydeweyz is online now  
post #13137 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 03:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reversing Apple TV Bluetooth

Is there anyway with Apple TV 4, to have a BT signal go into it and come out via HDMI to your AV system?

I know it can send audio out to speakers or headphones but, can it receive BT audio so it comes out of the speakers on your system?
pointthinker is offline  
post #13138 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,557
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by pointthinker View Post
Is there anyway with Apple TV 4, to have a BT signal go into it and come out via HDMI to your AV system?



I know it can send audio out to speakers or headphones but, can it receive BT audio so it comes out of the speakers on your system?


It supports AirPlay for wireless audio. You need an iDevice that supports it. It does not play audio over Bluetooth.
rsonnens is online now  
post #13139 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
CrazyEddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
It supports AirPlay for wireless audio. You need an iDevice that supports it. It does not play audio over Bluetooth.
Actually, you need anything which supports the AirPlay protocol. Not *only* an iThing.

AirParrot or Airfoil, for example.
CrazyEddie is offline  
post #13140 of 26195 Old 03-08-2018, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by martiansoldier View Post
Auto Sleep has never worked on my ATV 4K. My setup is: ATV 4K > Denon AVR-S510BT Receiver > Sony XBR65X900E TV, all operated with a Logitech Elite.

Contacted Apple about this and their first course of action was for me to go to the store and get a replacement. After some running around and multiple Apple store visits, I was able to pick up my replacement which has also had the same sleep issue that the 1st one had. Another call to support and they passed me on to the next level of support who opened up a case and had me run several scenarios and send them the logs. What we found with all the testing is that the Apple TV will only sleep (in the set time) if the Sony TV is powered on. If the TV is in stand by mode, the ATV 4K continues to stay on with the screensaver running in the background, for anywhere from 15 - 48 hours before it sleeps. Often, I would have turned the TV back on again to watch something before the Apple TV slept.

After getting all my logs, I was informed that everything has been passed on to the development team and that I may or may not hear if and when the issue is fixed, but if it was fixed, it would be in the form of a firmware update (which I expected). As of today, issue still persists and I have been setting the ATV 4K to "Sleep Now" within settings each time before I turn off the TV and receiver.


I identified this problem about a month ago and explained the problem if my TV (Sony) was turned off and the ATV will not go to sleep. Problem still persists today. It appears to be a problem with Sony owners.
But really, all you have to do is press the "home button" for about 2 seconds and hit select to put it to sleep immediately.
That's what I do. It will go to sleep everytime if you leave the TV on.
Gerry
jb442386 likes this.

Sony XBR 75X940E - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - ATV 4K - 2019 Shield TV Pro
ggw2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off