Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 495 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 31985Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14821 of 29051 Old 05-02-2018, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Has anyone else noticed that a lot of 4k HDR titles on the ATV4K are only indicating "4K" when playing the titles and doing the "swipe down"? It correctly shows as Dolby Vision or HDR before playing the title but once we start to play it, it only shows "4K" and not "4k HDR" or "4k Dolby Vision" when playing.
Guessing you have the ATV set to 4K SDR? If so, this has typically been how it will display during swipe down. If you were to switch to 4K HDR, you'd see the HDR or DV in the swipe down....and even if you switch back to 4K SDR that usually sticks until a reboot.
galonzo likes this.
kbmb is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14822 of 29051 Old 05-02-2018, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,540
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5034 Post(s)
Liked: 3049
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Guessing you have the ATV set to 4K SDR? If so, this has typically been how it will display during swipe down. If you were to switch to 4K HDR, you'd see the HDR or DV in the swipe down....and even if you switch back to 4K SDR that usually sticks until a reboot.
Oh, didn't know that, thanks!

lujan
640 Ultra HD
730 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #14823 of 29051 Old 05-02-2018, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Oh, didn't know that, thanks!
Yet another little thing I hope Apple fixes. I did notice that even on 11.3 and 4K SDR I am finally seeing the 4K & HDR listing in the TV app....so with that and the actual quality listings, Apple is getting better.
jsmiddleton4, galonzo and m_snow like this.
kbmb is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14824 of 29051 Old 05-02-2018, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Yet another little thing I hope Apple fixes. I did notice that even on 11.3 and 4K SDR I am finally seeing the 4K & HDR listing in the TV app....so with that and the actual quality listings, Apple is getting better.


I have mine at 4K SDR 60hz but match frame and range on. it plays everything correctly as it should.
Talon884, Greg TB and limbery like this.

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
post #14825 of 29051 Old 05-02-2018, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
I have mine at 4K SDR 60hz but match frame and range on. it plays everything correctly as it should.
Yes everything plays fine. It’s only in the swipe down display that doesn’t always show HDR or DV.
kbmb is online now  
post #14826 of 29051 Old 05-02-2018, 04:59 PM
Immaculate Grand Phoobah
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 55
New Apple TV 4k owner, replaced a 3rd gen Apple TV.

Currently connected: Apple TV 4K -2ft HDMI- Oppo BDP-203 in -2ft HDMI- Onkyo 805 -10ft HDMI- Sony 52" 1080p TV.

Need to replace the 10 ft HDMI from the 805 to the Sony with a 15ft HDMI (moved stuff around) and want to get one that will work for 4K for when when I replace the Sony.

I read that for >~2m I should get an active cable. I looked at Monoprice (as always) and see some reviewers say that the Apple TV 4K doesn't do well with any of the Monoprice active HDMI cables.

Any suggestions would be welcomed.
Thanks!

Are you talking' to me?
grubavs is offline  
post #14827 of 29051 Old 05-02-2018, 05:07 PM
Member
 
jakline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubavs View Post
New Apple TV 4k owner, replaced a 3rd gen Apple TV.

Currently connected: Apple TV 4K -2ft HDMI- Oppo BDP-203 in -2ft HDMI- Onkyo 805 -10ft HDMI- Sony 52" 1080p TV.

Need to replace the 10 ft HDMI from the 805 to the Sony with a 15ft HDMI (moved stuff around) and want to get one that will work for 4K for when when I replace the Sony.

I read that for >~2m I should get an active cable. I looked at Monoprice (as always) and see some reviewers say that the Apple TV 4K doesn't do well with any of the Monoprice active HDMI cables.

Any suggestions would be welcomed.
Thanks!
From what I have read, active cables don’t work well. I would get Monoprice certified premiums cables. The 15’ length is out of stock until 5/11/2018.

Read more about HDMI cables for this application here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/168-hd...hdmi-2-0b.html
galonzo and Musician like this.
jakline is offline  
post #14828 of 29051 Old 05-02-2018, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2,032
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2083 Post(s)
Liked: 1330
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubavs View Post
New Apple TV 4k owner, replaced a 3rd gen Apple TV.

Currently connected: Apple TV 4K -2ft HDMI- Oppo BDP-203 in -2ft HDMI- Onkyo 805 -10ft HDMI- Sony 52" 1080p TV.

Need to replace the 10 ft HDMI from the 805 to the Sony with a 15ft HDMI (moved stuff around) and want to get one that will work for 4K for when when I replace the Sony.

I read that for >~2m I should get an active cable. I looked at Monoprice (as always) and see some reviewers say that the Apple TV 4K doesn't do well with any of the Monoprice active HDMI cables.

Any suggestions would be welcomed.
Thanks!
I would stay away from active cables. There aren't many that support true 18 Gbps speeds. In addition they can cause issues with ARC, HDMI handshakes, etc.

You are much better off just going with an optical HDMI cable. They are a little pricy but they will work now and into the future when HDMI speeds are bumped yet again.
GregCh is offline  
post #14829 of 29051 Old 05-02-2018, 10:07 PM
Immaculate Grand Phoobah
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakline View Post
From what I have read, active cables don’t work well. I would get Monoprice certified premiums cables. The 15’ length is out of stock until 5/11/2018.

Read more about HDMI cables for this application here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/168-hd...hdmi-2-0b.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregCh View Post
I would stay away from active cables. There aren't many that support true 18 Gbps speeds. In addition they can cause issues with ARC, HDMI handshakes, etc.

You are much better off just going with an optical HDMI cable. They are a little pricy but they will work now and into the future when HDMI speeds are bumped yet again.
This is why I signed up for AVSForum long ago.

Thanks!

Are you talking' to me?
grubavs is offline  
post #14830 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 03:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 503
I have been running 10' monoprice dynamicview active certified cables for over a month now with no issues on my ATV4K and Sony X700.
Gerry

Sony XBR 77A9G - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - 2019 Shield TV Pro - 2019 Roku Ultra
ggw2000 is offline  
post #14831 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Have to post to say that I still continue to be disappointed with the ATV4K audio like some others have posted. Really hoping Vudu updates their ATV app for 4K soon so I can properly test, but they did just release an updated Android for my Sony 930E....and wow it looks great. But interestingly, viewing a movie via Vudu using the builtin app vs. the same movie via iTunes on the ATV4K....the sound via the ATV is not only much lower...but seems way less dynamic (BTW, same thing happens between my Roku and the ATV - it's just I was testing this new builtin app).

This is with both the internal Android app AND the ATV4K both outputting via optical from the TV 5.1 to my AVR. The ATV is set to 5.1, not best available, since it would only pass 2.0 PCM in my setup with best available.

I continue to be amazed at how much better other devices sound than the ATV.
kbmb is online now  
post #14832 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,330
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6129
I dont get people forcing 5.1. I let it PCM whatever the format is and my Yamaha A3060 do the heavy lifting.
rlb, dturturro, jeep05 and 3 others like this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #14833 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 12:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I dont get people forcing 5.1. I let it PCM whatever the format is and my Yamaha A3060 do the heavy lifting.
Due to handshake issues.......I have to have my ATV plugged directly into my Sony. I don't care for ARC, so I run optical out. I have no choice but to force the ATV to 5.1 since my TV won't pass the multichannel PCM.

That and I only have a 5.1 setup.
kbmb is online now  
post #14834 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,540
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5034 Post(s)
Liked: 3049
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Have to post to say that I still continue to be disappointed with the ATV4K audio like some others have posted. Really hoping Vudu updates their ATV app for 4K soon so I can properly test, but they did just release an updated Android for my Sony 930E....and wow it looks great. But interestingly, viewing a movie via Vudu using the builtin app vs. the same movie via iTunes on the ATV4K....the sound via the ATV is not only much lower...but seems way less dynamic (BTW, same thing happens between my Roku and the ATV - it's just I was testing this new builtin app).

This is with both the internal Android app AND the ATV4K both outputting via optical from the TV 5.1 to my AVR. The ATV is set to 5.1, not best available, since it would only pass 2.0 PCM in my setup with best available.

I continue to be amazed at how much better other devices sound than the ATV.
I don't think that Vudu updating the app for 4k on the ATV4K is going to make any difference on the audio since it will still be coming through the ATV4K...
nathan_h likes this.

lujan
640 Ultra HD
730 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #14835 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,330
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6129
I dunno, mine ran from the ATV > A3060 > 940E and now ATV > A3060 > A1E, and I have zero handshake issues.

What is your AVR? Whether you have 3.1, 5.1 or 7.2,etc... its better if you send the raw format to the AVR and let it map to whatever speakers you have.

Maybe thats why I haven't heard any audio issues. Now the PCM 5.1 is quieter than PCM 2.0 content, but that is normal IMO.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #14836 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I don't think that Vudu updating the app for 4k on the ATV4K is going to make any difference on the audio since it will still be coming through the ATV4K...
I'm not thinking so either....I was just looking for an apples to apples comparison just out of curiosity: both movies streamed from Vudu, both in 4K, both delivered via optical from the TV.
kbmb is online now  
post #14837 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,330
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6129
For you vudu users, it is now in DV 4K on the Sony new model tv's, like my A1E.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #14838 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I dunno, mine ran from the ATV > A3060 > 940E and now ATV > A3060 > A1E, and I have zero handshake issues.

What is your AVR? Whether you have 3.1, 5.1 or 7.2,etc... its better if you send the raw format to the AVR and let it map to whatever speakers you have.

Maybe thats why I haven't heard any audio issues. Now the PCM 5.1 is quieter than PCM 2.0 content, but that is normal IMO.
I have a Denon 2400H. I can run ATV -> Denon -> 930E. However, it's given me nothing but issues....no idea why.....but it's to the point where I have to restart the ATV daily to get it to work correctly. Plugging it directly into the TV has help a lot.

Regardless....same thing happens even if I run it directly into AVR and set to best available. I can stream the same movie via my Roku, not touching my AVR......and the sound is drastically different. Exactly like others have mentioned on here every once in a while.

It's times like these where I'm testing between 2 different apps/devices and switching back and forth that it's most noticeable. And in this case.....both apps/devices were sending the audio via the same way (TV -> optical -> AVR). I can of course crank the ATV up some to compensate.....but even that only seems to make it louder....not as full.

Last edited by kbmb; 05-03-2018 at 12:55 PM.
kbmb is online now  
post #14839 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
For you vudu users, it is now in DV 4K on the Sony new model tv's, like my A1E.
Yes:
https://forum.vudu.com/forum/technic...hnical-support

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ablet&hl=en_US
kurand likes this.
kbmb is online now  
post #14840 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 2,533
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Is this just thru the tv apps ? Dont use them .. just wondering

Sony XBR65A1E,(Pioneer 500m relocated), AppleTv 4K,Marantz sr7012, System Audio Loudspeakers( sa1750 mains), ML Grotto.
Eastern Electric Minimax cd, Oppo UDP-203, Toshiba HD, Pro Ject 1expression Carbon TT.
rocky1 is online now  
post #14841 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky1 View Post
Is this just thru the tv apps ? Dont use them .. just wondering
Correct....using the built in apps.
kbmb is online now  
post #14842 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked: 351
I hope Dolby Atmos bitstreaming is enabled soon! The wait is taking so long!

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #14843 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 598
Apple TV owners' thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
I hope Dolby Atmos bitstreaming is enabled soon! The wait is taking so long!


I’d probably assume that it’s not coming. So much weight has been attributed to a throwaway comment by some random at Apple.

If it does come we might get our first insight at WWDC in June when Apple might announce it as if they invented it. If it’s not mentioned at WWDC I’d probably forget it completely on this generation.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Andrew Stirling is offline  
post #14844 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
I’d probably assume that it’s not coming. So much weight has been attributed to a throwaway comment by some random at Apple.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro


Still, I do have a feeling that it will come soon. I’ve read somewhere that Apple is testing a new Netflix app with Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos badges on the Apple TV.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #14845 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 03:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Still, I do have a feeling that it will come soon. I’ve read somewhere that Apple is testing a new Netflix app with Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos badges on the Apple TV.


You read it here but there have been no screenshot validating these claims. I believe it when I see it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
nathan_h likes this.

Main: YouTubeTV -> Apple TV 4k -> Anthem MRX 720 (5.1.2 DTS:Neural X) <-> Sony 65A1E
Den: Apple TV -> Pioneer Kuro PDP-5010FD

DTS beats Dolby.
purduelion is offline  
post #14846 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,271
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 1406


I downloaded and installed the Android TV version from apkmirror.com (https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/vudu/) for my Sony 930E and sometimes it would trigger DV and other times it wouldn’t. I’m curious if you have the same inconsistent results.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #14847 of 29051 Old 05-03-2018, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,788
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1224 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakline View Post
From what I have read, active cables don’t work well. I would get Monoprice certified premiums cables. The 15’ length is out of stock until 5/11/2018.

Read more about HDMI cables for this application here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/168-hd...hdmi-2-0b.html
I have seen that up to about 15 feet you are good using good Premium Certified cables. I am using a 10 foot mono price Premium Cerrtified cable from my Shield to to my X900E and have no issues. On my LG C7 I use 5 for Blue Jeans cable from Oppo to AVR then 8 foot from AVR to TV from ATV4K I use 3 foot Monorpice cable to AVR, so 13 feet and 11 feet through AVR with no issues.
galonzo likes this.

LG 77 C9 (Also LG 65 C7 and Sony XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
post #14848 of 29051 Old 05-04-2018, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Can anybody get the UHD version of Last Flag Flying to play on Prime Video with our Apple box?

Real good to see Amazon is giving us the best experience. &#x1f644;

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0762DLHXX
galonzo likes this.
Skunkbeard is offline  
post #14849 of 29051 Old 05-04-2018, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 456
I just want to harp in the ATV's PQ for a minute.

I bought a FireTV 4K just to watch the movies and shows missing the 5.1 audio, but having just watched Bosch S4 in three days, the picture is a mono- blocked, banded nightmare on my projectior. Every scene in the precinct had banding on the walls, and the poignant final scene of the season was ruined by banding in the sky. I paused and resumed several times and switched sources, and it's not the app, it looks fine on ATV.

I'm an audio first guy, and that's why I got the FireTV, but Having just watched 9 hours in a row on it makes me question if the annoyance of lost channels is worth the trade-off.

Yesterday I watched the first episode of Lost in Space on the ATV's Netflix app, and got completely lost in the picture. This is how streaming should look.
roland6465 is offline  
post #14850 of 29051 Old 05-04-2018, 09:34 AM
Immaculate Grand Phoobah
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by kluken View Post
I have seen that up to about 15 feet you are good using good Premium Certified cables. I am using a 10 foot mono price Premium Cerrtified cable from my Shield to to my X900E and have no issues. On my LG C7 I use 5 for Blue Jeans cable from Oppo to AVR then 8 foot from AVR to TV from ATV4K I use 3 foot Monorpice cable to AVR, so 13 feet and 11 feet through AVR with no issues.
The reason I originally asked is I was looking for info HDMI from ATV 4k owners and I got it! Very cool.

I read several CNET articles about HDMI (went to CNET, searched HDMI cables) and my take home is that specific HDMI cables (not expensive vrs. cheap) may or may not work with a specific set of equipment... change even one piece of equipment in the chain and you may be needing a different HDMI cable. But definitely go cheap as you can and if it works, you're good to go.

CNET also has a very interesting article about Premium Certified Rating:

Do I need to buy Premium HDMI Certified Cables to watch 4K?



BTW: a CNET reviewer defined long HDMI cables as ≥50ft, which is his/hers starting point of really worrying about the cable quality. And did a review of some on HDGuru:

ALL HDMI CABLES ARE THE SAME! OR ARE THEY… – FULL TEST

(moderators, I really do not know if either link goes against AVSForum rules... if so, please dump it/them)

Are you talking' to me?
grubavs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , apple tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off