Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 553 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 30998Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16561 of 27910 Old 07-04-2018, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Craig Mecak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
But that product is only 18 Gbps. I heard 48 Gbps is needed for DOLBY VISION. Is this correct?
No.
galonzo likes this.

Yamaha RX-A3060 7.1.4 Receiver [+Sony Power Amp for Rear Height] / Sony KD-65Z9D / JVC HD1 DILA Projector / 90" screen / OPPO UDP-203 UHD blu-ray / Apple TV 4K
Ascension Summoner 3-way Front Speakers / Ascension 3-way Centre Speaker / Peachtree D5 Surrounds / Yamaha NS-555 3-Way Rear Speakers / ERA D4 x 4 Height Speakers / Rythmik Audio F15HP Sub
Craig Mecak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16562 of 27910 Old 07-04-2018, 10:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,234
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1894 Post(s)
Liked: 1234
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
But that product is only 18 Gbps. I heard 48 Gbps is needed for DOLBY VISION. Is this correct?
18 Gbps is the HDR standard (for HDR10, HDR10+ and Dolby Vision). The key point is Premium Certified with a holographic sticker. Yes other cables without certification may work, but why test and troubleshoot. 18 Gbps premium certified cables can be inexpensive. I've even seen GE branded ones at Target and Walmart.
galonzo likes this.
naustin is offline  
post #16563 of 27910 Old 07-04-2018, 10:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,234
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1894 Post(s)
Liked: 1234
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
This one (Premium Certified and inexpensive):

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15427



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Good cable but thick I replaced mine with more flexible Monoprice at the same price. If you need 8 Ft or less. https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_...seq=1&format=2
Ted99 and captainbrent like this.
naustin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16564 of 27910 Old 07-04-2018, 10:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Good cable but thick I replaced mine with more flexible Monoprice at the same price. If you need 8 Ft or less. https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_...seq=1&format=2

Ditto
galonzo likes this.
cydeweyz is online now  
post #16565 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 05:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,303
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6114
In case anyone is curious later on, I did some searching and answered my own question from earlier:


Audio Output Settings

Audio settings on the Apple TV can be adjusted in two places. Through Infuse > Settings and through Apple TV > Settings Audio and Video.

Infuse

Auto (recommended): Audio will be sent as uncompressed, multi-channel LPCM (up to 7.1 channels and 24-bit). Additional output adjustments can be made through the Apple TV > Settings > Audio and Video menu.

Apple TV

Best Quality Available (recommended): Audio will be sent as uncompressed, multi-channel LPCM (up to 7.1 channels and 24-bit)


"Keeping Infuse set to Auto, and the Apple TV set to Best Quality Available is recommended. This will provide the highest possible audio quality, and will adjust automatically to a wide array of audio system types."

https://support.firecore.com/hc/en-u...-Options-tvOS-
m_snow likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / Uverse / Roku Ultra
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #16566 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 06:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,659
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 998 Post(s)
Liked: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by tre74 View Post
I don't believe the Apple TV 4K will output anything but Dolby Digital 5.1 over bitstream until the Dolby Atmos update. If that is in fact the case, you would want to connect the Apple TV to your receiver directly if you want to get Dolby Atmos when it is available as I do not believe any tv will pass Dolby Atmos over ARC at this time. I believe Dolby Digital + is where they max out. If anybody has more info on that issue, please fill us all in on it.
Not correct on my Sony XBR as it passes ATMOS riding on DD+ without problem over ARC.. This is the method that I have found to be used with all streaming services that I use (VUDU, ATV4K w/ios 12 beta). You will not see uncompressed ATMOS used.
Gerry
galonzo likes this.

Sony XBR 77A9G - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - 2019 Shield TV Pro - 2019 Roku Ultra
ggw2000 is online now  
post #16567 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,234
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1894 Post(s)
Liked: 1234
Quote:
Originally Posted by tre74 View Post
I don't believe the Apple TV 4K will output anything but Dolby Digital 5.1 over bitstream until the Dolby Atmos update. If that is in fact the case, you would want to connect the Apple TV to your receiver directly if you want to get Dolby Atmos when it is available as I do not believe any tv will pass Dolby Atmos over ARC at this time. I believe Dolby Digital + is where they max out. If anybody has more info on that issue, please fill us all in on it.
A lot of TVs will pass Atmos over ARC, but is part of Dolby Digital Plus so it is lossy Atmos.
william06 and galonzo like this.
naustin is offline  
post #16568 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,813
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2128 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Do you mean the LG webOS Vudu app or the ATV Vudu app?
I'm comparing using the Vudu app on the apple tv with my LG OLED vs. x900e



Quote:
Originally Posted by leonmckee View Post
Do you have the HDMI port 2 or 3 on the X900E correctly configured? Set to Enhanced!

Leon McKee
I had already went into the x900e settings and selected enhanced for ports 2/3 (it's one setting of enhanced vs. standard)



Quote:
Originally Posted by gomo657 View Post
Make sure the Sony hdr setting is on auto.
HDR is already set to Auto (as is everything else under video options)



Quote:
Originally Posted by leonmckee View Post
Ok, when you have the ATV4K hooked up to your LG OLED it works. However, if you then connect it directly to your X900E port 2 or 3 (set to enhanced) it does not work. Other than the remote possibility of a certified premium HDMI cable issue I have no idea. Sorry

Leon McKee
Yes, that's correct. I grabbed my apple tv and hdmi cable that I know works in my LG OLED setup and will try it at my dad's house.



Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Under Picture adjustments/Advanced settings/Video options all of my settings (HDR mode, HDMI Video Range, Color space) are set to Auto if that helps.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yes, all are set to AUTO
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #16569 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,813
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2128 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Cross posting here from the tv thread...

VUDU app does do 4K HDR / DV...when connected to my LG OLED, I get HDR10 and Dolby Vision for my 4k owned movies from the Apple TV VUDU app.
https://www.engadget.com/2018/05/06/...s-to-apple-tv/

On the x900e HDR is set to AUTO. I tried the Grand Tour on Amazon app as well and it only sent through 4K SDR without switching to HDR (I chose the UHD version, but oddly Amazon showed no HDR tag in the info). The Apple TV is set to 4K SDR with match frame ON / match range ON. On my LG OLED these same settings will switch to HDR or DV depending on the content, and leave SDR for everything else.



I'm pretty stumped at this point since it's just a couple of settings. I may try the following:

1) Reset Apple TV and x900e to default
2) If that doesn't work, I'll bring over my Apple TV and HDMI cable that I know works on my LG setup and seem if I can replicate.

Again, it doesn't seem like a cable issue because when I set the Apple TV to only output at 4K HDR with match OFF, the TV reads the HDR signal (verified seeing the HDR tag in the picture settings menu).
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #16570 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 08:37 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Huge Improvement when I upgraded my high speed HDMI cables to the new 48 GBPS. You most likely have 18 GBPS, which will not work with Dolby Vision.

https://www.apple.com/shop/product/H...le-2m?fnode=a4
otranto300 is offline  
post #16571 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 08:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,357
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4893 Post(s)
Liked: 2892
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
Huge Improvement when I upgraded my high speed HDMI cables to the new 48 GBPS. You most likely have 18 GBPS, which will not work with Dolby Vision.

https://www.apple.com/shop/product/H...le-2m?fnode=a4
Dolby Vision works with 18 Gbps cables. It's HDMI 2.1 that will require the 48 Gbps cables.
nathan_h, Ted99, galonzo and 3 others like this.

lujan
610 Ultra HD
723 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #16572 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 08:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,357
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4893 Post(s)
Liked: 2892
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
A lot of TVs will pass Atmos over ARC, but is part of Dolby Digital Plus so it is lossy Atmos.
This statement causes confusion for me as to why Apple would make Atmos available with firmware 12 but not DD+ since they are related?

lujan
610 Ultra HD
723 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #16573 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
Huge Improvement when I upgraded my high speed HDMI cables to the new 48 GBPS. You most likely have 18 GBPS, which will not work with Dolby Vision.



https://www.apple.com/shop/product/H...le-2m?fnode=a4
You’ve already been corrected in other threads previously. Please stop spreading incorrect information.
andyadler, Ted99, rsonnens and 6 others like this.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #16574 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
Huge Improvement when I upgraded my high speed HDMI cables to the new 48 GBPS. You most likely have 18 GBPS, which will not work with Dolby Vision.



Dolby Vision works just fine with 18 GBPS certified HDMI cables. I've had no issues with an 18 GBPS HDMI cable from my Sony UBPX700 to a Sony X940E playing a Dolby Vison disc. I also use a Belkin 48 GBPS cable, from the Apple TV 4K to the Sony X940E.
galonzo, Greg TB and Musician like this.

Sony XBR75X940E, Sony STR-DN1080, AppleTV 4K
Carl940 is offline  
post #16575 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Apple TV owners' thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
You’ve already been corrected in other threads previously. Please stop spreading incorrect information.


Unless he can post a comparison video showing how much better the AppleTV 4k performs with 48GB cables over any certified premium 18GB cables?

Last edited by cydeweyz; 07-05-2018 at 09:06 AM.
cydeweyz is online now  
post #16576 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,719
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 913
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
Huge Improvement when I upgraded my high speed HDMI cables to the new 48 GBPS. You most likely have 18 GBPS, which will not work with Dolby Vision.

https://www.apple.com/shop/product/H...le-2m?fnode=a4
I have 18GPBS HDMI cables going from my Apple4K, Roku Ultra, Oppo 203, and Hopper 3 to my Denon X2300W and then from that same Denon to my Vizio P75-C1. I get Dolby Vision from all sources, with the exception of the Roku and Hopper 3 which only has HDR10, just fine. Your statement is blatantly incorrect....
galonzo, Greg TB and Musician like this.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #16577 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,271
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 300
I installed the TVOS 12 Beta 3 and I can't get Atmos to work on any of the supported titles. I have an Onkyo TX-NR676. I have a few of the titles- if I play Jumanji (2017) I get the usual PCM output. I have it set for Atmos in settings so obviously that's not the problem. Dolby Vision through the cable is working, so that's not it. Doesn't work on Vudu either.

I realize it's a beta, but I'm wondering if anyone else with either the 575 or 676 Onkyo was able to get it to work? (Atmos works fine from all my other sources).

Edit: I got Atmos working- once. Most of the time the HDMI light on the receiver flashes on and off and eventually it switches to PCM. Hopefully by the time they get it released they'll work most of the bugs out.

Where do I send feedback?

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.

Last edited by DaveFi; 07-05-2018 at 09:48 AM.
DaveFi is offline  
post #16578 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
I installed the TVOS 12 Beta 3 and I can't get Atmos to work on any of the supported titles. I have an Onkyo TX-NR676. I have a few of the titles- if I play Jumanji (2017) I get the usual PCM output. I have it set for Atmos in settings so obviously that's not the problem. Dolby Vision through the cable is working, so that's not it. Doesn't work on Vudu either.

I realize it's a beta, but I'm wondering if anyone else with either the 575 or 676 Onkyo was able to get it to work? (Atmos works fine from all my other sources).
You may have better luck asking here: AVSForum Apple TV TVOS Public Beta Releases
nathan_h and Musician like this.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #16579 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 09:59 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
I have 18GPBS HDMI cables going from my Apple4K, Roku Ultra, Oppo 203, and Hopper 3 to my Denon X2300W and then from that same Denon to my Vizio P75-C1. I get Dolby Vision from all sources, with the exception of the Roku and Hopper 3 which only has HDR10, just fine. Your statement is blatantly incorrect....
I can get cheaper tires too, and it gets me from point A to Point B. But not in maximum effort mode.
otranto300 is offline  
post #16580 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 10:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,234
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1894 Post(s)
Liked: 1234
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
I can get cheaper tires too, and it gets me from point A to Point B. But not in maximum effort mode.
Look at the brightside your ready for a 2.2 HDMI Tv that can handle 48 Gbps. Futureproof.
galonzo, Musician and m_snow like this.
naustin is offline  
post #16581 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 10:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
I can get cheaper tires too, and it gets me from point A to Point B. But not in maximum effort mode.
Let's break down your points that you seem to be conflating:
  1. A higher speed cable that supports 48Gbps is required for DV
    • This is completely false for any current media available to consumers.
    • Technically, it is required for 4K 60 4:4:4 with HDR/DV, however there is currently no content available to consumers that would use this (and there won't be for the foreseeable future, even after actual HDMI 2.1 devices and cables are released - we're talking at easily 3 years out).
  2. A higher speed cable will provide a better picture
    • This isn't analog, a better cable isn't going to provide you a better picture
    • A better cable will, however, allow you the capability to display better formats (when your source/display can support them as well)
    • But again, you don't need a 48gbs cable for anything currently available (or that will be available for the next few years)
References:
I'm sorry for BODOSON for this being off topic, I just couldn't let it stand

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #16582 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by cydeweyz View Post
Unless he can post a comparison video showing how much better the AppleTV 4k performs with 48GB cables over any certified premium 18GB cables?
He cannot, because quite simply it is not possible. 4K 12-bit Dolby Vision (the most demanding that the ATV 4K will every supply) will NEVER need more than 18Gbps, so any (functioning!) 18Gbps-capable cable is just fine.

Now there are a lot of dodgy cables being sold that claim to be capable of 18Gbps and are not. It is possible he had one of those. In which case a new cable that IS capable of 18Gbps (and may or may not be capable of 48Gbps - there is no way of real life testing that right now before real 48Gbps sources arrive) may have been better for him. However, a working 18Gbps cable is perfect for Dolby Vision, guaranteed!
galonzo, Greg TB, naustin and 1 others like this.

LG OLED65E6V, Yamaha RX-A3060 AVR, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray player, Apple TV 4K, Sky Q 2TB, Chromecast Ultra
Home-built Ivy Bridge i5-3570K HTPC, 8GB RAM and Nvidia GTX1050 GPU with Plex and Jriver Media Centre,
Ruipro 15M Fiber HDMI cable, B&W FPM speakers, Logitech Harmony Ultimate intelligent remote.
jong1 is offline  
post #16583 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,271
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Yup, the Apple TV 4k definitely seems to be pretty picky outputting Dolby Vision with certain HDMI cables. I'm having issues- it doesn't seem like any 2 cables from the same manufacturer are consistent.

Can someone name some cables they've had luck with consistently that works with Dolby Vision? I need quite a few. I mainly rely on the Monoprice and Amazon 18gbps cables but I'm getting frustrated now.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #16584 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Yup, the Apple TV 4k definitely seems to be pretty picky outputting Dolby Vision with certain HDMI cables. I'm having issues- it doesn't seem like any 2 cables from the same manufacturer are consistent.

Can someone name some cables they've had luck with consistently that works with Dolby Vision? I need quite a few. I mainly rely on the Monoprice and Amazon 18gbps cables but I'm getting frustrated now.
How long are your cable runs?

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #16585 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Yup, the Apple TV 4k definitely seems to be pretty picky outputting Dolby Vision with certain HDMI cables. I'm having issues- it doesn't seem like any 2 cables from the same manufacturer are consistent.

Can someone name some cables they've had luck with consistently that works with Dolby Vision? I need quite a few. I mainly rely on the Monoprice and Amazon 18gbps cables but I'm getting frustrated now.
Buy premium certified cables (under 25ft) and you should be good. Of course, there is always a chance ANY cable will be faulty. Over 25ft I'd recommend hybrid fiber, like the Ruipro.

If you have other sources that are working fine @18Gbps into the same HDMI port with the same cable as you are trying with your ATV there is a chance, just a chance, your ATV (or AVR, if you have one) is the problem. I had to get Yamaha to swap my 2060 for a 3060 (I'm sure there are plenty of 2060s that are fine, but it was Yamaha's choice to offer a 3060) before I got one that could completely cleanly do 18Gbps.
galonzo and Greg TB like this.

LG OLED65E6V, Yamaha RX-A3060 AVR, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray player, Apple TV 4K, Sky Q 2TB, Chromecast Ultra
Home-built Ivy Bridge i5-3570K HTPC, 8GB RAM and Nvidia GTX1050 GPU with Plex and Jriver Media Centre,
Ruipro 15M Fiber HDMI cable, B&W FPM speakers, Logitech Harmony Ultimate intelligent remote.
jong1 is offline  
post #16586 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,234
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1894 Post(s)
Liked: 1234
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post
Yup, the Apple TV 4k definitely seems to be pretty picky outputting Dolby Vision with certain HDMI cables. I'm having issues- it doesn't seem like any 2 cables from the same manufacturer are consistent.

Can someone name some cables they've had luck with consistently that works with Dolby Vision? I need quite a few. I mainly rely on the Monoprice and Amazon 18gbps cables but I'm getting frustrated now.
Monoprice if they are Premium Certified with the holograph seal should be fine. Length can be an issue over 12 to 15 feet between devices in the AV chain. Also all devices along that chain need to be Dolby Vision compatible and properly configured to support [email protected]/60Hz Chroma 4:2:0 aka 18 Gbps.
galonzo likes this.
naustin is offline  
post #16587 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,357
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4893 Post(s)
Liked: 2892
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
Those "answers" are not from Apple, just random people on the internet!!
Not only that but Apple is wrong all the time...

lujan
610 Ultra HD
723 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #16588 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 10:56 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
See my answer above. The description of the product is just marketing from Belkin and the answers are just from random people. Apple TV 4K is only an HDMI 2.0b device and HDMI 2.0b only goes to 18Gbps. That is a fact. There are NO HDMI 2.1 sources out there right now, so nothing purchased now will ever send more than 18Gbps over HDMI.
I wanna believe you, so I don't have to go out and spend $30 for stupid cables. But as a consumer, I'm at the mercy of what the vendor tells me. Looks like Belkin wins, and I win too by thinking I have the proper setup.
otranto300 is offline  
post #16589 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
nihilan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
I wanna believe you, so I don't have to go out and spend $30 for stupid cables. But as a consumer, I'm at the mercy of what the vendor tells me. Looks like Belkin wins, and I win too by thinking I have the proper setup.


Except you also lose out on 15-20 bucks that you could have otherwise spent on something else.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
galonzo and smhealey like this.
nihilan is offline  
post #16590 of 27910 Old 07-05-2018, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
I wanna believe you, so I don't have to go out and spend $30 for stupid cables. But as a consumer, I'm at the mercy of what the vendor tells me. Looks like Belkin wins, and I win too by thinking I have the proper setup.
Yes, shops have made a lot of money over the years by upselling people to unnecessary "gold-plated super-duper" HDMI cables and in this instance apple.com is just a shop! Don't get me wrong, you DO need to buy quality 18Gbps cables, Premium Certified if you want any kind of hassle-free experience. But you do NOT need any more than 18Gbps and any cables labelled 48Gbps today are far from guaranteed to work at that speed with real HDMI 2.1 devices in a year or so (at least if HDMI 2.0 is anything to go by!).
galonzo likes this.

LG OLED65E6V, Yamaha RX-A3060 AVR, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray player, Apple TV 4K, Sky Q 2TB, Chromecast Ultra
Home-built Ivy Bridge i5-3570K HTPC, 8GB RAM and Nvidia GTX1050 GPU with Plex and Jriver Media Centre,
Ruipro 15M Fiber HDMI cable, B&W FPM speakers, Logitech Harmony Ultimate intelligent remote.
jong1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , apple tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off