Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 568 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28681Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17011 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,387
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2714 Post(s)
Liked: 2472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
I want to buy an Apple TV 4K for my parents but I know that the touch remote will give them issues. Any known compatible remotes that have simple “select” buttons, “back” buttons etc similar to a roku remote that someone can recommend?
Get them one of the "old school" versions. The ATV4K still supports IR control signals. $19

https://www.apple.com/shop/product/M...A/apple-remote
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	remote.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	113.0 KB
ID:	2435408  
giomania likes this.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17012 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
I want to buy an Apple TV 4K for my parents but I know that the touch remote will give them issues. Any known compatible remotes that have simple “select” buttons, “back” buttons etc similar to a roku remote that someone can recommend?
I got the $50 Harmony remote for my Dad when I swapped out his 12 year old AVR for a ZVOXX. I have harmonies at home, and they have the ATV codes. It's saved me hours of phone calls and trips across town to fix simple issues he has from time to time. The help button is his friend. Took me about half an hour to program and tweak it.
giomania and rlb like this.
roland6465 is offline  
post #17013 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 10:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Apple has released the next beta of TVOS today for public beta testers. Maybe it fixes whatever problems people were having here.
sonoftumble likes this.
MacinMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17014 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
georgeorwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: East Coast
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
I want to buy an Apple TV 4K for my parents but I know that the touch remote will give them issues. Any known compatible remotes that have simple “select” buttons, “back” buttons etc similar to a roku remote that someone can recommend?
Works great! OK and Exit buttons do the work.

https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Harm...harmony+remote
giomania likes this.
georgeorwell is offline  
post #17015 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,499
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 525 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
VP9 is a home-baked proprietary version of HDR. Google chose to go that direction instead of one of the standards so they could sell more Chromecast Ultra players So you either buy a CCU, or a TV that supports it.

Not to worry, YouTube's HDR content is really thin, and once you burn through the demo footage and travel stuff, you're wondering why you bought a CCU just for that. The bottom line is that you are not missing much.
Actually VP9.2 is the HDR variant. VP9 is needed for plain old vanilla 4K SDR, so YouTube on the ATV is limited to 1080p. A significantly bigger issue.
leonmckee and galonzo like this.
jong1 is offline  
post #17016 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,483
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1658 Post(s)
Liked: 947
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
I want to buy an Apple TV 4K for my parents but I know that the touch remote will give them issues. Any known compatible remotes that have simple “select” buttons, “back” buttons etc similar to a roku remote that someone can recommend?


There’s a couple of inexpensive options. I don’t remember the products but I’m sure there are people here who can provide Amazon links.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #17017 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 12:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,483
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1658 Post(s)
Liked: 947
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
Apple has released the next beta of TVOS today for public beta testers. Maybe it fixes whatever problems people were having here.


It fixes the audio cutout issue and the video artifact bug among other things. I don’t own an Atmos system so I’m not sure what they did there but overall, so far, the best and most stable of the 12.0 betas.
Keep in mind, there’s no going back from the beta. Once your in you can’t revert to production unless you exchange it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
giomania likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #17018 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
It fixes the audio cutout issue and the video artifact bug among other things. I don’t own an Atmos system so I’m not sure what they did there but overall, so far, the best and most stable of the 12.0 betas.
Keep in mind, there’s no going back from the beta. Once your in you can’t revert to production unless you exchange it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Glad to hear of the fixes, I'm not on the TVOS beta, and wasn't planning on it, was more hoping there would be fixes for those here reporting problems
MacinMan is offline  
post #17019 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 12:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Love my new Apple 4kTV but it does take some getting used to if your parents are older. I am 64 and there is a learning curve.
giomania likes this.
KenH54 is offline  
post #17020 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Alabama
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just got a Apple Tv 4k device since they're releasing the Atmos soon. I thought I would get use to it and when the new TVOS comes out I will be set. Currently watch most things on my Roku. I tried watching a movie on it the other night and it kept trying to play it over Air Play on my Denon. Finally turned it off on the ATV setting and it did it again. Didn't understand that part. Also it changes my volume way lower. Like let's say I'm on 65 with my Directv, Roku and Oppo. As soon as I switch to ATV it changes to 30.
I do have a ATMOS system. What's the best audio setting on the ATV? Display setting also. Everything runs through my Denon with Blue Jeans HDMI's. I have to figure out how to turn off the Air Play on my Denon too. It's not in the manual.

Movie Room: Sony 75" Z9D, Oppo 203, Denon X7200WA, SVS PB 2000, DefTech Di8R (4 ceiling), DefTech SM 55 (2), DefTech CS 8060, DefTech PM 1000 (4). Living room: Samsung JS8500, Samsung K8500
Airborneguy is offline  
post #17021 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,483
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1658 Post(s)
Liked: 947
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
Glad to hear of the fixes, I'm not on the TVOS beta, and wasn't planning on it, was more hoping there would be fixes for those here reporting problems
It does.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #17022 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 01:25 PM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeorwell View Post
Works great! OK and Exit buttons do the work.
Thanks for the advice and recommendations everyone! I think I might get the Harmony remote for me. For my parents however I found this pretty simple remote on Amazon, it’s big, has clearly labeled buttons, and no touch interface. It says compatible with Apple TV so hopefully it does the trick!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BBF78E5E-F5B9-449F-B022-E622D83F259D.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	83.4 KB
ID:	2435510  
giomania likes this.
Ario816 is offline  
post #17023 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 80
anyone know if the new Avengers movie is in Dolby Vision on the Vudu app? Last time I used the app, only some movies were showing up in Dolby Vision.
AVS Commenter is offline  
post #17024 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
nclou's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechSilver13 View Post
I was having the same issue with my ATV 4K on iOS 12. I tried Monoprice cables, belkin cables, audioquest sky cables, and monster cables. All certified and supposedly support 4K. Since I couldn’t downgrade to iOS 11 I exchanged my unit for a new one and stayed away from the beta. I haven’t had any issues since. I went through two brand new receivers thinking that was the issue but it’s the iOS 12 beta.

Well, disappointing to know a cable won't take care of it, but good to know I don't have to buy more cables. Hopefully this means it can get fixed in a future update. I've had mine way to long to return and exchange it.
nclou is offline  
post #17025 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 02:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,166
Mentioned: 157 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1351 Post(s)
Liked: 1751
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeorwell View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
I want to buy an Apple TV 4K for my parents but I know that the touch remote will give them issues. Any known compatible remotes that have simple “select” buttons, “back” buttons etc similar to a roku remote that someone can recommend?
Works great! OK and Exit buttons do the work.

https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Harm...harmony+remote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
Thanks for the advice and recommendations everyone! I think I might get the Harmony remote for me. For my parents however I found this pretty simple remote on Amazon, it’s big, has clearly labeled buttons, and no touch interface. It says compatible with Apple TV so hopefully it does the trick!
You can also control the ATV with your TV remote, as it supports HDMI-CEC (we mostly have Samsung TVs, and the kids are used to controlling everything with the "candybar" IR remotes, including the ATVs; works like a charm here).

Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS Commenter View Post
anyone know if the new Avengers movie is in Dolby Vision on the Vudu app? Last time I used the app, only some movies were showing up in Dolby Vision.
I'm showing DV in the VUDU app on my phone
Musician and AVS Commenter like this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #17026 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 02:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 726
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airborneguy View Post
I just got a Apple Tv 4k device since they're releasing the Atmos soon. I thought I would get use to it and when the new TVOS comes out I will be set. Currently watch most things on my Roku. I tried watching a movie on it the other night and it kept trying to play it over Air Play on my Denon. Finally turned it off on the ATV setting and it did it again. Didn't understand that part. Also it changes my volume way lower. Like let's say I'm on 65 with my Directv, Roku and Oppo. As soon as I switch to ATV it changes to 30.
I do have a ATMOS system. What's the best audio setting on the ATV? Display setting also. Everything runs through my Denon with Blue Jeans HDMI's. I have to figure out how to turn off the Air Play on my Denon too. It's not in the manual.
In your AppleTV Settings, navigate to "Video and Audio" then "Audio Output" and select the item that represents your Apple TV. It's likely you've changed this to your receiver which is incorrect and forces the appletv to send sound via Airplay to that item.
nathan_h and Airborneguy like this.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #17027 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,483
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1658 Post(s)
Liked: 947
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
Thanks for the advice and recommendations everyone! I think I might get the Harmony remote for me. For my parents however I found this pretty simple remote on Amazon, it’s big, has clearly labeled buttons, and no touch interface. It says compatible with Apple TV so hopefully it does the trick!


I forgot about this but as someone posted you can take any remote (like one your parents already have and are familiar with) and program the buttons to do most functions. That’s the cheapest and best solution for you. Done deal .


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
giomania, galonzo and Musician like this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #17028 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,329
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2726 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I forgot about this but as someone posted you can take any remote (like one your parents already have and are familiar with) and program the buttons to do most functions. That’s the cheapest and best solution for you. Done deal .
Exactly.

@Ario816 EVERY IR remote is compatible with the ATV since the ATV can learn buttons from any remote.
galonzo, Musician and m_snow like this.
nathan_h is offline  
post #17029 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,329
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2726 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
In your AppleTV Settings, navigate to "Video and Audio" then "Audio Output" and select the item that represents your Apple TV. It's likely you've changed this to your receiver which is incorrect and forces the appletv to send sound via Airplay to that item.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airborneguy View Post
I just got a Apple Tv 4k device since they're releasing the Atmos soon. I thought I would get use to it and when the new TVOS comes out I will be set. Currently watch most things on my Roku. I tried watching a movie on it the other night and it kept trying to play it over Air Play on my Denon.
As @TrendSetterX notes, when the ATV asks you where you want to play your audio, if you choose your receiver, this is what you get. You have to say "Play on the ATV." which in Apple-speak means play via HDMI output to whatever is on the other end.

Quote:
Finally turned it off on the ATV setting and it did it again. Didn't understand that part. Also it changes my volume way lower. Like let's say I'm on 65 with my Directv, Roku and Oppo. As soon as I switch to ATV it changes to 30.
Sounds possibly like CEC is enabled. I would turn that off.

Quote:
I do have a ATMOS system. What's the best audio setting on the ATV? Display setting also. Everything runs through my Denon with Blue Jeans HDMI's. I have to figure out how to turn off the Air Play on my Denon too. It's not in the manual.
AUDIO: Choose "best". For now, it will output everything at LPCM at the highest bit rate with the most channels. When OS12 is released, you'll get the option to output ATMOS.

Airplay on Denon: I don't think this can be turned off. But if you set the ATV to NOT output to the Denon (set the ATV to output audio to the ATV) then it won't matter.

Display settings: 4kSDR with Dynamic Range match = On and usually with Frame Rate match = On. This gives you HDR with all HDR. SDR for all SDR. And native frame rate when the app supports it.
Airborneguy likes this.
nathan_h is offline  
post #17030 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 07:11 PM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Exactly.

@Ario816 EVERY IR remote is compatible with the ATV since the ATV can learn buttons from any remote.
Wait so I can theoretically make like a Roku remote control the Apple TV? Any links/walkthroughs how to do this?
Ario816 is offline  
post #17031 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 07:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,329
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2726 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
No idea how the Roku remote works. It might be RF and not IR.

https://www.macworld.com/article/301...-apple-tv.html
galonzo likes this.
nathan_h is offline  
post #17032 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 08:49 PM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
No idea how the Roku remote works. It might be RF and not IR.

https://www.macworld.com/article/301...-apple-tv.html
Great! Thanks for the link!
Ario816 is offline  
post #17033 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 09:15 PM
Senior Member
 
magnus0322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechSilver13 View Post
I have the same setup but my receiver is the Marantz 6012. The 15’ cable is probably too long and the cables that worked best for me were the Belkin cables from the Apple Store. I had Monoprice cables first and had nothing but problems.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's funny because I bought the Belkin cable from the Apple store and it made my 2018 Vizio P65-F1 freeze and do all sorts of weird things that I wasn't experiencing with my Premium Certified Monoprice cables. My issue wasn't resolved until I went back to my Monoprice cable and I updated to tvOS 12 beta 4, I just installed the new beta and it works even better. I stopped getting the audio cutouts that required me to switch from SDR to HDR and back to get audio again

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
galonzo and captainbrent like this.
magnus0322 is offline  
post #17034 of 24934 Old 07-31-2018, 11:55 PM
Member
 
TechSilver13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: California
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus0322 View Post
That's funny because I bought the Belkin cable from the Apple store and it made my 2018 Vizio P65-F1 freeze and do all sorts of weird things that I wasn't experiencing with my Premium Certified Monoprice cables. My issue wasn't resolved until I went back to my Monoprice cable and I updated to tvOS 12 beta 4, I just installed the new beta and it works even better. I stopped getting the audio cutouts that required me to switch from SDR to HDR and back to get audio again

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


Probably a Vizio thing. I was recommended to buy them to clear my issues up with the Apple TV and the PS4 Pro and it fixed the issues. I’ve started recommending them here on other threads and it’s fixed others issues with their setups but they are using higher end devices. The Belkin cables are 48Gbps and will work with the future 8k 120 Hz (so a ton of extra bandwidth that you don’t need now but at least it’s not under spec like a lot of cables). Dolby Vision devices need a really good cable as it required a ton of bandwidth. Not all certified cables are actually meeting the 4K 60 Hz standard. Does the Vizio do Dolby Vision?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TechSilver13 is offline  
post #17035 of 24934 Old 08-01-2018, 12:53 AM
Member
 
JohnWB56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middlesbrough, UK
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
People say For best compatibility it should be set to 4kSDR


I was wondering what difference this makes compared to setting to 4KHDR

LG OLED 55 C7, Marantz SR7010, Panasonic BD35, Logitech Elite, Virgin V6, Mission 752, Mission 75C, Wharfedall 9.0, BK XLS200 Mk 2, iPhone 6S, Synology 214Play, Wetek Play2, Mede8er MED600X3D, Amazon Fire Stick, Apple TV 4K, NowTV, Airport Extremes
JohnWB56 is offline  
post #17036 of 24934 Old 08-01-2018, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,499
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 525 Post(s)
Liked: 522
This has been explained a lot. The main issue is there are a number of older SDR apps that have still not been updated to tell the ATV if content is SDR or HDR. If the ATV is set to 4K HDR all their content will be converted and displayed in HDR which will be less accurate. All HDR capable apps do correctly flag HDR content, so will display properly in 4K SDR mode if Match Range is set ON.

There is a 2nd possible reason. Personally, I have an OLED screen, which is somewhat more vulnerable to image retention, if abused. As a result I am wary of any semi-static content, like the ATV menus, displayed in HDR. I may be over cautious - image retention is no where near the problem that some make it out to be and I have never experienced it. But I prefer to be safe than sorry.
galonzo, JohnWB56 and not_fer like this.

LG OLED65E6V, Yamaha RX-A3060 AVR, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray player, Apple TV 4K, Sky Q 2TB, Chromecast Ultra
Home-built Ivy Bridge i5-3570K HTPC, 8GB RAM and Nvidia GTX1050 GPU with Plex and Jriver Media Centre,
Ruipro 15M Fiber HDMI cable, B&W FPM speakers, Logitech Harmony Ultimate intelligent remote.
jong1 is offline  
post #17037 of 24934 Old 08-01-2018, 04:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnWB56 View Post
People say For best compatibility it should be set to 4kSDR


I was wondering what difference this makes compared to setting to 4KHDR
4K HDR setting applies "fake" HDR to all video. Most like to see movies/shows as originally presented. By setting 4K SDR with frame rate and color space matching on, SDR programs are in SDR, and HDR programs are HDR.
georgeorwell and galonzo like this.
roland6465 is offline  
post #17038 of 24934 Old 08-01-2018, 05:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,499
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 525 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by roland6465 View Post
4K HDR setting applies "fake" HDR to all video.
This isn't strictly true. Modern apps, like Netflix or Amazon Prime, will tell the ATV if content is SDR or HDR and it will switch accordingly if Match Range is set on, even if the UI is set to HDR. But, apps that do not notify the ATV correctly will display all content in the mode of the UI.
TrendSetterX and galonzo like this.

LG OLED65E6V, Yamaha RX-A3060 AVR, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray player, Apple TV 4K, Sky Q 2TB, Chromecast Ultra
Home-built Ivy Bridge i5-3570K HTPC, 8GB RAM and Nvidia GTX1050 GPU with Plex and Jriver Media Centre,
Ruipro 15M Fiber HDMI cable, B&W FPM speakers, Logitech Harmony Ultimate intelligent remote.
jong1 is offline  
post #17039 of 24934 Old 08-01-2018, 06:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 726
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechSilver13 View Post
The Belkin cables are 48Gbps and will work with the future 8k 120 Hz (so a ton of extra bandwidth that you don’t need now but at least it’s not under spec like a lot of cables).
They’re marketed to do so. They are not certified nor tested by an ACA to do so and there is no content and there are no devices that will be “48 gbs” for a couple years.
giomania and galonzo like this.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #17040 of 24934 Old 08-01-2018, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,499
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 525 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
They’re marketed to do so. They are not certified nor tested by an ACA to do so and there is no content and there are no devices that will be “48 gbs” for a couple years.
Yes, I definitely would not buy any "48Gbps" cable now with the assumption I was future proofed.

There were many, many so called "18Gbps" cables before HDMI 2.0 that disappointed when real devices appeared and there still are.

Only buy a 48Gbps cable if it is the same price or lower than a Premium Certified cable and always make sure it can be easily replaced (conduit if necessary) when HDMI 2.1 properly hits.
giomania and galonzo like this.
jong1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off