Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 573 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29158Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17161 of 25651 Old 08-06-2018, 04:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,620
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1736 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
So if you have the ATV4K set to 4K, any content you watch on Infuse that is less that 4K (so 1080p, 720p, 480p, etc.) will need to be upscaled by Infuse. The new Infuse upscaler has improved this upscaling process. So unless you only watch 4k content in Infuse, you WILL benefit from the new upscaler. Whether or not you notice a difference is another question.


^^^ this is correct. During the beta there was an on/off toggle for the new upscaler under the Video tab but James pulled it out despite my “badgering” to keep it in. When you toggled it the new algorithm was noticeable on all my 1080 and under content. You could actually see it with the toggle.

The next version has live preview during ff/scrubbing. You have to be impressed with the responsiveness of this developer to his customers. Always improving always open to suggestions.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
IMWhizzle likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17162 of 25651 Old 08-06-2018, 06:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6055
I thought it was supposed to be the lanczos algortihm. If so they do a good job scaling.
m_snow likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #17163 of 25651 Old 08-06-2018, 11:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 973 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Apple TV owners' thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
^^^ this is correct. During the beta there was an on/off toggle for the new upscaler under the Video tab but James pulled it out despite my “badgering” to keep it in. When you toggled it the new algorithm was noticeable on all my 1080 and under content. You could actually see it with the toggle.

The next version has live preview during ff/scrubbing. You have to be impressed with the responsiveness of this developer to his customers. Always improving always open to suggestions.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


This is rare and a reason why I am an Infuse customer. James and his team are golden.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17164 of 25651 Old 08-07-2018, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a sony VPL-VW365 projector that is only capable of 8bit HDR. Apple tv will not recognize the HDR signal and there is no way i can see to get it playing hdr. Anyone have any advice?

Sony VPL-VW365ES Projector
Dolby Atmos 5.1.4 Monitor Audio 8" CP380
120" SI Screen
Yamaha RX-A2060
Matt Pasquinelli is offline  
post #17165 of 25651 Old 08-07-2018, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,611
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2101 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Pasquinelli View Post
I have a sony VPL-VW365 projector that is only capable of 8bit HDR ... and there is no way i can see to get it playing hdr.
Your projector is 4K SDR so you're not going to get HDR. Perhaps you mean something else?
galonzo and Musician like this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #17166 of 25651 Old 08-07-2018, 02:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question What's this option for?

Does anyone know what the option pictured in the attached screen does? Home Theater is the AppleTV itself, which is already pumping sound into my receiver, the other pictured option. Just not sure why there would be two options here.

FWIW, 5.1 sound working fine via Infuse (Auto there, and Best or whatever that option is on the ATV's settings). Just curious what this option is for.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-08-07 01.18.29.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	599.8 KB
ID:	2438774  
CyberMonk6 is offline  
post #17167 of 25651 Old 08-07-2018, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,640
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberMonk6 View Post
Does anyone know what the option pictured in the attached screen does? Home Theater is the AppleTV itself, which is already pumping sound into my receiver, the other pictured option. Just not sure why there would be two options here.

FWIW, 5.1 sound working fine via Infuse (Auto there, and Best or whatever that option is on the ATV's settings). Just curious what this option is for.
The second option is for Air Play. Say you couldn’t get an HDMI cable to your AVR, Airplay would get the sound there wireless.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #17168 of 25651 Old 08-07-2018, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,611
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2101 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberMonk6 View Post
Does anyone know what the option pictured in the attached screen does?
Yes. It selects the audio output device. The ATV itself is presumably a wired connection to some amplifier. The other choices (if any) are wireless AirPlay/AirTunes devices.
Musician likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #17169 of 25651 Old 08-08-2018, 04:24 PM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Was just reading an article stating that a NY is moving to kick Spectrum out and force them to sell off the TWC assets. Kind of a bummer in that I was looking forward to the Spectrum app coming to Apple TV this fall and I could get rid of the cable box.

Might have to reconsider Directv Now although combining that and paying just for internet would cost me more in the long run. Hopefully whoever picks up the NY Spectrum assets has plans for an Apple TV app
galonzo likes this.
Ario816 is offline  
post #17170 of 25651 Old 08-08-2018, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,611
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2101 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
Was just reading an article stating that a NY is moving to kick Spectrum
This action will be in litigation for some time and it's far too soon to be making any purchase plans based on this decision. If you want further information I suggest [StopTheCap's coverage]. They are a party to the negotiations, have "insider" information that informs their commentary and they've written a consumer backgrounder. I'd advise against reading the various discussion forums. The local New York media outlets have better, albeit limited, coverage of the facts.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #17171 of 25651 Old 08-08-2018, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
This action will be in litigation for some time and it's far too soon to be making any purchase plans based on this decision. If you want further information I suggest [StopTheCap's coverage]. They are a party to the negotiations, have "insider" information that informs their commentary and they've written a consumer backgrounder. I'd advise against reading the various discussion forums. The local New York media outlets have better, albeit limited, coverage of the facts.
I'm assuming this only applies to residents of New York, correct? I live in Florida, and Have Spectrum as well, but before the merge the Company was Brighthouse Networks, which isn't charter, or TWC. The company itself was a fork of TWC, but has been their own independent provider up until the merge.


Spectrum has had a Roku channel for some time now, but also waiting to see what comes in TVOS 12 as far as built in support. At this point, I don't pay for any cable TV packages, simply internet from Spectrum, then I pick and choose services individually such as Netflix, etc.
MacinMan is offline  
post #17172 of 25651 Old 08-08-2018, 08:03 PM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
This action will be in litigation for some time and it's far too soon to be making any purchase plans based on this decision. If you want further information I suggest [StopTheCap's coverage]. They are a party to the negotiations, have "insider" information that informs their commentary and they've written a consumer backgrounder. I'd advise against reading the various discussion forums. The local New York media outlets have better, albeit limited, coverage of the facts.
Thanks for the heads up and link to the info. Regardless of what happens I’m still hoping to see that Spectrum app (or TWC app) on the Apple TV this fall.
Ario816 is offline  
post #17173 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 06:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 82
How long does the remote last before it needs charged? I've had mine now for about 4 months and still have not had to charge it. I didn't even know you had to charge it until I read something online about it the other day.
AVS Commenter is offline  
post #17174 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 06:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS Commenter View Post
How long does the remote last before it needs charged? I've had mine now for about 4 months and still have not had to charge it. I didn't even know you had to charge it until I read something online about it the other day.
You can see the charge remaining in the settings. I think it's under "Remote"

Sony XBR-65Z9D
Oppo UDP-203 4K BD Player
Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K BD Player
Denon AVR-X6400H
Larry Little is offline  
post #17175 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS Commenter View Post
How long does the remote last before it needs charged? I've had mine now for about 4 months and still have not had to charge it. I didn't even know you had to charge it until I read something online about it the other day.

Unless there's something wrong with the battery, the charge should last several ( 4-6 ) months depending on use. Also the ATV will tell you on the main/home page when the battery is getting low. It uses the lightning connector just like a newer iPhone.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #17176 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,039
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4640 Post(s)
Liked: 2699
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
Unless there's something wrong with the battery, the charge should last several ( 4-6 ) months depending on use. Also the ATV will tell you on the main/home page when the battery is getting low. It uses the lightning connector just like a newer iPhone.
In September it will be a year since I've had the ATV4K and haven't charged it yet.
galonzo and sonoftumble like this.

lujan
562 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #17177 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 09:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,611
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2101 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS Commenter View Post
How long does the remote last before it needs charged? I've had mine now for about 4 months and still have not had to charge it. I didn't even know you had to charge it until I read something online about it the other day.
Apple support article on charging:
[Charge your Siri Remote or Apple TV Remote]

Per the [Specs Page]:

In the Box:
[]Apple TV 4K
[]Siri Remote
[]Power cord
[]Lightning to USB cable
[]Documentation

Siri Remote:
[]Bluetooth 4.0 wireless technology
[]IR transmitter
[]Accelerometer and three-axis gyro
[]Lightning connector for charging
[]Rechargeable battery providing months of battery life on a single charge (with typical daily usage)
[]Charging via USB to computer system or power adapter (sold separately)

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #17178 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 10:16 AM
Member
 
kinkade's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dolby Vision problem HELP !!!

I have my ATV set to 4k SDR, match on both, and when I watch Netflix DV it loses picture every few minutes. This is ONLY when watch DV. HDR is fine . I am using Sony 285 projector and Denon 4300H receiver.

Any suggestions are much appreciated.
kinkade is offline  
post #17179 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,611
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2101 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinkade View Post
I have my ATV set to 4k SDR, match on both, and when I watch Netflix DV it loses picture every few minutes. This is ONLY when watch DV. HDR is fine . I am using Sony 285 projector and Denon 4300H receiver.

Any suggestions are much appreciated.
Normally this is a cable problem.
Is this a new problem? Cables can go bad.
Does it affect all content? Normal DV content is [email protected] which is easy but Netflix has content that is doubled to [email protected] which is hard.
Is it just Netflix? Or others like Vudu or iTunes.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #17180 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 11:02 AM
Member
 
Spork3245's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi! I just got an AppleTV 4k, was a surprise present from my fiance last night. After setting it up, though, all hell has broken loose. I have an LG OLED B7a and a Denon x3400h receiver and the ATV is randomly powering both on and defaulting it to the TV Audio input which just leaves a Denon logo - since I have an OLED this is super dangerous as burn-in could occur. Also, while watching normal TV, even when the ATV is in sleep mode, it will randomly switch the receiver's input to itself and then immediately over to the TV Audio input. Obviously, disabling the CEC (TV and Device Control) setting in the ATV should fix this... however, it's not. The Device Control settings are set to "off" yet the ATV is still controlling and messing with the receiver and TV. I noticed that if I manually restart (or even unplug) the ATV, upon booting back up the Device Control setting goes back to "on" even if it was set to "off" prior to the reboot... This leads me to believe that the setting actually isn't turning off for some reason. WTF is going on here? Any help would be appreciated. Currently, I unplugged the HDMI cord from the ATV as a temp fix.
Spork3245 is offline  
post #17181 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 11:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spork3245 View Post
Hi! I just got an AppleTV 4k, was a surprise present from my fiance last night. After setting it up, though, all hell has broken loose. I have an LG OLED B7a and a Denon x3400h receiver and the ATV is randomly powering both on and defaulting it to the TV Audio input which just leaves a Denon logo - since I have an OLED this is super dangerous as burn-in could occur. Also, while watching normal TV, even when the ATV is in sleep mode, it will randomly switch the receiver's input to itself and then immediately over to the TV Audio input. Obviously, disabling the CEC (TV and Device Control) setting in the ATV should fix this... however, it's not. The Device Control settings are set to "off" yet the ATV is still controlling and messing with the receiver and TV. I noticed that if I manually restart (or even unplug) the ATV, upon booting back up the Device Control setting goes back to "on" even if it was set to "off" prior to the reboot... This leads me to believe that the setting actually isn't turning off for some reason. WTF is going on here? Any help would be appreciated. Currently, I unplugged the HDMI cord from the ATV as a temp fix.
Make sure CEC is disabled on every device in the chain (if possible) including the TV, receiver, etc.
nathan_h likes this.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #17182 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Spork3245's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spork3245 View Post
Hi! I just got an AppleTV 4k, was a surprise present from my fiance last night. After setting it up, though, all hell has broken loose. I have an LG OLED B7a and a Denon x3400h receiver and the ATV is randomly powering both on and defaulting it to the TV Audio input which just leaves a Denon logo - since I have an OLED this is super dangerous as burn-in could occur. Also, while watching normal TV, even when the ATV is in sleep mode, it will randomly switch the receiver's input to itself and then immediately over to the TV Audio input. Obviously, disabling the CEC (TV and Device Control) setting in the ATV should fix this... however, it's not. The Device Control settings are set to "off" yet the ATV is still controlling and messing with the receiver and TV. I noticed that if I manually restart (or even unplug) the ATV, upon booting back up the Device Control setting goes back to "on" even if it was set to "off" prior to the reboot... This leads me to believe that the setting actually isn't turning off for some reason. WTF is going on here? Any help would be appreciated. Currently, I unplugged the HDMI cord from the ATV as a temp fix.
Make sure CEC is disabled on every device in the chain (if possible) including the TV, receiver, etc.
Therein lies the issue - I only want it disabled on the ATV. CEC for the TV/Receiver to auto-switch for the TV audio input when using an app/usb, and switching back when exiting, is useful and has been working fine for me across two different TVs since 2012. Shouldn’t I simply be able to turn off CEC on the Apple TV? Why can it still control things when its own setting is off?
I had a similar issue with my PS4, however, I disabled the CEC/Smart-HDMI feature on my PS4 and all issues stopped. The ATV seems to not actually do anything different in regards to turning off its CEC, almost like the device doesn’t actually respond to my setting.
Spork3245 is offline  
post #17183 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 12:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS Commenter View Post
How long does the remote last before it needs charged? I've had mine now for about 4 months and still have not had to charge it. I didn't even know you had to charge it until I read something online about it the other day.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Little View Post
You can see the charge remaining in the settings. I think it's under "Remote"
While you're watching with ATV4K (maybe other models?) or even menus, just hold the Siri Mic button and say, "Battery". She will tell you in text overlay what your battery % is.

I've charged mine twice and now at 60%.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
cydeweyz and galonzo like this.
brotony is offline  
post #17184 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Normally this is a cable problem.
Is this a new problem? Cables can go bad.
Does it affect all content? Normal DV content is [email protected] which is easy but Netflix has content that is doubled to [email protected] which is hard.
Is it just Netflix? Or others like Vudu or iTunes.
You must be outside the US to have Netflix @50, here it's 60.
MacinMan is offline  
post #17185 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6055
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
You must be outside the US to have Netflix @50, here it's 60.
Nope, there are certain shows on Netflix that output for me as 4k/50 when the ATV4K is on match frame rate.
nathan_h, dwaleke and CrazyEddie like this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #17186 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Nope, there are certain shows on Netflix that output for me as 4k/50 when the ATV4K is on match frame rate.
That's strange. I've never heard of any North American content being 50fps unless it's imported from the UK, or another region.
What shows are showing up as 50? The other thing that surprised me about this is, 50 / 60 fps is based on the power grid where the display refreshes at the native power grid, that's why it's 60 over here, and 50 in the UK, and other parts of the world.

So, is this something not standard the ATV is doing ? Or are the shows on Netflix doing this produced outside the US?
MacinMan is offline  
post #17187 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 01:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1749 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
That's strange. I've never heard of any North American content being 50fps unless it's imported from the UK, or another region.
What shows are showing up as 50? The other thing that surprised me about this is, 50 / 60 fps is based on the power grid where the display refreshes at the native power grid, that's why it's 60 over here, and 50 in the UK, and other parts of the world.

So, is this something not standard the ATV is doing ? Or are the shows on Netflix doing this produced outside the US?
A lot of UK shows are 25 or 50 Hz, but you will never see that if you are watching on a Sony which doesn't do 50 Hz on USA models.
galonzo likes this.
naustin is offline  
post #17188 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1749 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
That's strange. I've never heard of any North American content being 50fps unless it's imported from the UK, or another region.
What shows are showing up as 50?
On Netflix Safe from GB and Glitch from Oz are 50 Hz.
galonzo likes this.
naustin is offline  
post #17189 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 02:00 PM
Member
 
Spork3245's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spork3245 View Post
Hi! I just got an AppleTV 4k, was a surprise present from my fiance last night. After setting it up, though, all hell has broken loose. I have an LG OLED B7a and a Denon x3400h receiver and the ATV is randomly powering both on and defaulting it to the TV Audio input which just leaves a Denon logo - since I have an OLED this is super dangerous as burn-in could occur. Also, while watching normal TV, even when the ATV is in sleep mode, it will randomly switch the receiver's input to itself and then immediately over to the TV Audio input. Obviously, disabling the CEC (TV and Device Control) setting in the ATV should fix this... however, it's not. The Device Control settings are set to "off" yet the ATV is still controlling and messing with the receiver and TV. I noticed that if I manually restart (or even unplug) the ATV, upon booting back up the Device Control setting goes back to "on" even if it was set to "off" prior to the reboot... This leads me to believe that the setting actually isn't turning off for some reason. WTF is going on here? Any help would be appreciated. Currently, I unplugged the HDMI cord from the ATV as a temp fix.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spork3245 View Post
Therein lies the issue - I only want it disabled on the ATV. CEC for the TV/Receiver to auto-switch for the TV audio input when using an app/usb, and switching back when exiting, is useful and has been working fine for me across two different TVs since 2012. Shouldn’t I simply be able to turn off CEC on the Apple TV? Why can it still control things when its own setting is off?
I had a similar issue with my PS4, however, I disabled the CEC/Smart-HDMI feature on my PS4 and all issues stopped. The ATV seems to not actually do anything different in regards to turning off its CEC, almost like the device doesn’t actually respond to my setting.
Anyone? I know I could disable CEC from my receiver but I should be able to simply turn off the ATV's CEC, shouldn't I? Why does the setting in the ATV seemingly do nothing? Am I the only one with the issue where the ATV can still control things even though I have set it not to? Is there something wrong with my ATV where it's not actually turning off the CEC when I set it to (again, if I power off the ATV, CEC in it's own settings is turned back to "on")?
Spork3245 is offline  
post #17190 of 25651 Old 08-09-2018, 02:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1461 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
So, is this something not standard the ATV is doing ? Or are the shows on Netflix doing this produced outside the US?
With Netflix the shows play back at their native frame rate. There is a lot of UK content on Netflix that is recorded at 25/50fps.
dwaleke is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off