Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 603 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29137Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18061 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 05:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
The presence of the 4K/HDR section is almost certainly a server side issue. It's come and gone before. It was on my devices until today and they were updated to 16J364 on Friday.
I was able to get mine back today by signing out and back in to my iTunes account.
cydeweyz likes this.
Yycbob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18062 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Well,



I'm depressed now and I blame Apple.



The last two movies I bought don't playback correctly. (They do if I use Vudu to watch them.) The screen goes black for a few seconds every 5 minutes. It has nothing to do with bandwidth as I can rewind and the interruption happens in the same exact place every time.



I emailed Apple Support and the reply had lots of information about DL-ing the movies. Here's where I think Apple itself is a bit two faced. They offer 4K versions but they like to fall back on the notion that really you're buying the ability to Download HD versions. It's like a bait and switch.



I bought the ATV4K because I want to have my 4K collection in iCloud and I watch them whenever. This often works but seems is completely unsupported.



I have NO IDEA why I have this problem with these 2 movies (Oceans 8 and JP Fallen Kingdom) but I certainly don't want to buy anymore now that this happens with every new movie I buy.



Apple's response is I should really be DL-ing the HD versions of these to a computer. .... Swell.... but I was/am really interested in the 4K versions which are actually a bit un supported.



Maybe It's time to go back to Discs .... Again... Ugh.... I don't want to but maybe it's the better plan.



-Brian


Brian, I don’t have either of these two movies but I’m not hearing anyone on the Google+ communities mentioning this issue. Are you hearing of other people with issues on these two films?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #18063 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TheRatPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 226
How do you see or activate the new screen savers? Thanks
cydeweyz likes this.
TheRatPatrol is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18064 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 06:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 858 Post(s)
Liked: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Well,

Here's where I think Apple itself is a bit two faced. They offer 4K versions but they like to fall back on the notion that really you're buying the ability to Download HD versions. It's like a bait and switch.
While it's nice to blame Apple, you should really take it up with the content providers. Vudu, Amazon, Google, etc.., don't allow 4k downloads. None of the streaming services do. Heck, most of them don't even allow 1080p downloads to a computer.

Lyngdorf MP-50 | Yamaha MX-A5200 | Ascend Sierra Towers | Ascend Sierra Horizon | Ascend Sierra Lunas | Ascend HTM-200SE | SVS SB-13 x4
duckymomo is offline  
post #18065 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 06:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,263
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Brian, I don’t have either of these two movies but I’m not hearing anyone on the Google+ communities mentioning this issue. Are you hearing of other people with issues on these two films?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I haven't seen anyone else having the problem. I assume I'm not the only person who bought those movies.

They playback on my iPhone... I thought resetting the ATV would take care of it... it's very strange that it's just those 2 movies.

I feel like capturing it on Video and sharing it... it's bizarre ... Just about 5 minutes into either film there's a few seconds of black screen. In the case of Oceans 8 Sandra is on the phone trying to scam the hotel for a free room. In the case of JP one it's the first land Dino chase scene when it happens.

Now, I know being 4K neither of these versions reside on my ATV4K ... they are streamed.... So .. it looks to me like a problem with the stream but then there should be LOTS of effected users.

-Brian

Last edited by Brian Hampton; 09-17-2018 at 06:48 PM.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #18066 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
I haven't seen anyone else having the problem. I assume I'm not the only person who bought those movies.



They playback on my iPhone... I thought resetting the ATV would take care of it... it's very strange that it's just those 2 movies.

It’s a very strange problem. You should ask for a refund and let them know what’s happening.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Brian Hampton likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #18067 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,329
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2726 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
I haven't seen anyone else having the problem. I assume I'm not the only person who bought those movies.

....

Now, I know being 4K neither of these versions reside on my ATV4K ... they are streamed.... So .. it looks to me like a problem with the stream but then there should be LOTS of effected users.

-Brian
iTunes version of Oceans 8 in uhd 4K streams fine on Atv4k for me.
Brian Hampton likes this.
nathan_h is offline  
post #18068 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 07:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,461
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 491
So, what is the quality of the Atmos stream on Apple TV? True HD or DD+?

If this is been answered then I missed it and apologize.

PSN ID: CrimsonNagus
XBL GT: Crimson Nagus
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #18069 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 07:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,296
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2245 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
So, what is the quality of the Atmos stream on Apple TV? True HD or DD+?

If this is been answered then I missed it and apologize.
DD+ which is internally decoded and passed to the AVR via PCM MAT 2.0.
mutelight is online now  
post #18070 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
markmanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
We’re you on beta?
Yes, I was on the beta, and it was most recently the GM version. That didn't change today, but a few hours after I checked early am, ATMOS appeared on the iTunes movies that it wasn't playing on before.

System
Spoiler!
markmanner is offline  
post #18071 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 08:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,247
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 881 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmanner View Post
Yes, I was on the beta, and it was most recently the GM version. That didn't change today, but a few hours after I checked early am, ATMOS appeared on the iTunes movies that it wasn't playing on before.
Hi thanks. Checked again this evening and all is good.
markmanner likes this.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is offline  
post #18072 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 09:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
So, what is the quality of the Atmos stream on Apple TV? True HD or DD+?

If this is been answered then I missed it and apologize.
Lpcm to AVR.
raf77 is online now  
post #18073 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 10:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
boltsfan21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: California
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRatPatrol View Post
How do you see or activate the new screen savers? Thanks
Your ATV has to download them. They weren't there this afternoon, but I just checked and I see one of the new NASA ones. With the new update, you can now swipe left/right to change the screen saver. If you go into settings > general > screen saver, select preview and you can see all the ones currently downloaded on your ATV by swiping left/right. Another setting you might have to change is the Download New Video setting under Screen Saver. Mine is set at Daily.
galonzo likes this.
boltsfan21 is offline  
post #18074 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 11:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,778
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5650 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
We've been here before.
Either playing an on disk iTunes Atmos stream uses a private API, iTunes is an HLS server or Firecore is misdirecting.

However the deeper (less literal?) point is Firecore's argument is meaningless. All content rendered by a disk-less ATV has to be delivered by a server and requires a "client". That's not particularly limiting (or interesting).

Is Firecore saying?
  • Playing from a network filesystem requires using a private API or
  • We don't feel like providing an http server with our product or providing an extension so your existing http server that can create HLS (M3U playlists) or
  • Something else.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
I wrote a longer reply to this which speaks to some larger points so that's okay.
However I believe the simple answer here is that you misunderstood what I wrote or I was unclear.
You've used the term "Apple video playback". Technically there's no such thing. There's APIs that a developer can use though. Apple provides many APIs for media playback. APIs are either public (documented) or private (undocumented). Apple forbids the use of private APIs. Your app will not make it into the App Store or it will be deleted from the App Store.
galonzo likes this.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #18075 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 11:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by phat0m View Post
Skip the into and the episode should have Atmos.

I've noticed that a lot of stuff is hit or miss. First episode of the latest season of Chef's Table has Atmos but second episode doesn't... lol.
Tried 2 eps of Iron Fist - my Marantz SR6011 just says it was 7.1 PCM

Edit: Just got Atmos on Altered Carbon. Maybe it's a little buggy at first. I also updated the firmware on my receiver - not sure if that had something to do with it.

Very happy, finally have Atmos on Netflix! And the Apple TV has no problem with doing 4k SDR for my JVC RS49.

Last edited by rxp91; 09-17-2018 at 11:36 PM.
rxp91 is offline  
post #18076 of 25618 Old 09-17-2018, 11:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I will tell you something.
Amazon give a shied on you .
I switched to Amazon DE and I have 5.1 sound on ATV, same as on Roku ultra I had.
Amazon UK, only stereo.

Sneaky Pete.
From Amazon DE.

Last edited by raf77; 09-17-2018 at 11:24 PM.
raf77 is online now  
post #18077 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 01:33 AM
Member
 
JohnWB56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middlesbrough, UK
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Does anyone know how many new screen savers are available in tvOS 12 and how you can get them

LG OLED 55 C7, Marantz SR7010, Panasonic BD35, Logitech Elite, Virgin V6, Mission 752, Mission 75C, Wharfedall 9.0, BK XLS200 Mk 2, iPhone 6S, Synology 214Play, Wetek Play2, Mede8er MED600X3D, Amazon Fire Stick, Apple TV 4K, NowTV, Airport Extremes

Last edited by JohnWB56; 09-18-2018 at 01:40 AM.
JohnWB56 is offline  
post #18078 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 01:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,263
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Hi,

For anyone who saw me complaining of a blackout problem,... Last night I did more trouble shooting and found it's not just 2 movies recently but a problem I can re-create on any HDR movie. I believe the problem is a configuration issue. Some type of problem with HDMI configuration or my projector.

I had a dream that I already solved it... I think I can sort it out today.

-Brian
nathan_h, galonzo and Musician like this.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #18079 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 02:54 AM
Senior Member
 
ht guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Indy
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Hi,

For anyone who saw me complaining of a blackout problem,... Last night I did more trouble shooting and found it's not just 2 movies recently but a problem I can re-create on any HDR movie. I believe the problem is a configuration issue. Some type of problem with HDMI configuration or my projector.

I had a dream that I already solved it... I think I can sort it out today.

-Brian
...sounds like cables. All premium certified?
ht guy is offline  
post #18080 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 04:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,263
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Quote:
Originally Posted by ht guy View Post
...sounds like cables. All premium certified?
I'm going fairly CRAZY trying to sort this issue out.

I do believe my cables are all premium certified. But, I've pulled out all other sources from my system and done some swapping of cables. Now, I've bypassed the AVR and I'm going direct from ATV to Sony VW285ES.

My Projector and AVR Both have the option of Standard or Enhanced HDMI signal and I've tried every possible combination.

Currently any HDR movie has a blackout roughly every 5 minutes... I can do to the scene of the first instance in several movies now... in other words it doesn't have to play for 5 minutes to happen and it happens at the same exact place every time.

If I force my ATV to SDR I'm all set no issue!.... (great! ... not very great actually.)

I'm doing a second wave of RESET AND UPDATE on the ATV4K ... This issue came out of nowwhere a few days ago.... I just want it to go back to wherever it came from.

There's a fair chance my ATV itself is cooked... I may have to go get a replacement to use for troubleshooting. Hopefully my ATV4K is under warranty with Apple.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #18081 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 05:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
I'm going fairly CRAZY trying to sort this issue out.



I do believe my cables are all premium certified. But, I've pulled out all other sources from my system and done some swapping of cables. Now, I've bypassed the AVR and I'm going direct from ATV to Sony VW285ES.



My Projector and AVR Both have the option of Standard or Enhanced HDMI signal and I've tried every possible combination.



Currently any HDR movie has a blackout roughly every 5 minutes... I can do to the scene of the first instance in several movies now... in other words it doesn't have to play for 5 minutes to happen and it happens at the same exact place every time.



If I force my ATV to SDR I'm all set no issue!.... (great! ... not very great actually.)



I'm doing a second wave of RESET AND UPDATE on the ATV4K ... This issue came out of nowwhere a few days ago.... I just want it to go back to wherever it came from.



There's a fair chance my ATV itself is cooked... I may have to go get a replacement to use for troubleshooting. Hopefully my ATV4K is under warranty with Apple.



-Brian


You should rule out cable issues. This is what many of us use. They are inexpensive and “Premium Certified”. If yours don’t have this hologram they aren’t Premium Certified.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_...1204290a1c0e11



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
leonmckee and galonzo like this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #18082 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 05:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,263
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
You should rule out cable issues. This is what many of us use. They are inexpensive and “Premium Certified”. If yours don’t have this hologram they aren’t Premium Certified.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_...1204290a1c0e11



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Hi,

Thanks... The AVR bypassed the only HDMI cable is a fiber optic one that I recently bought...I can swap that, I will try with another cable I have...I have several recent HDMI cables that at least claimed to be premium certified.

I changed the audio settings .. just in case... that didn't help.
I verified the same scene can be played back in Vudu on the ATV4K in UHD and the problem goes away. Only iTunes is having the issue.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #18083 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 05:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,604
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2098 Post(s)
Liked: 1635
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post
You've used the term "Apple video playback". Technically there's no such thing. There's APIs that a developer can use though. Apple provides many APIs for media playback. APIs are either public (documented) or private (undocumented). Apple forbids the use of private APIs. Your app will not make it into the App Store or it will be deleted from the App Store.
And people accuse me of being too literal. In any case I assume you've misunderstood my entire point regarding Firecore and locally sourced E-AC-3+Atmos content since your comments, while true, are unrelated to what I'm talking about.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #18084 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 06:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,604
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2098 Post(s)
Liked: 1635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Currently any HDR movie has a blackout roughly every 5 minutes... I can do to the scene of the first instance in several movies now... in other words it doesn't have to play for 5 minutes to happen and it happens at the same exact place every time.
This is odd. Normally periodic re-negotiation means HDCP failures. I'd suggest testing per the first post in the thread or if you want to go all in use the "new in tvOS 12" HDMI check.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #18085 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 06:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,778
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5650 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
And people accuse me of being too literal. In any case I assume you've misunderstood my entire point regarding Firecore and locally sourced E-AC-3+Atmos content since your comments, while true, are unrelated to what I'm talking about.
I do understand your point but explaining it with "Apple video playback" is technically incorrect and potentially misleading.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole

Last edited by markus767; 09-18-2018 at 06:15 AM.
markus767 is offline  
post #18086 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 06:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,778
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5650 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
This is odd. Normally periodic re-negotiation means HDCP failures. I'd suggest testing per the first post in the thread or if you want to go all in use the "new in tvOS 12" HDMI check.
The cable test seems to be no longer available. The option disappeared for me in one of the last betas.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #18087 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 06:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GooglyBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Well,

I'm depressed now and I blame Apple.

The last two movies I bought don't playback correctly. (They do if I use Vudu to watch them.) The screen goes black for a few seconds every 5 minutes. It has nothing to do with bandwidth as I can rewind and the interruption happens in the same exact place every time.

I emailed Apple Support and the reply had lots of information about DL-ing the movies. Here's where I think Apple itself is a bit two faced. They offer 4K versions but they like to fall back on the notion that really you're buying the ability to Download HD versions. It's like a bait and switch.

I bought the ATV4K because I want to have my 4K collection in iCloud and I watch them whenever. This often works but seems is completely unsupported.

I have NO IDEA why I have this problem with these 2 movies (Oceans 8 and JP Fallen Kingdom) but I certainly don't want to buy anymore now that this happens with every new movie I buy.

-Brian
Brian, i have the same movie JPFK can i get the time your problem occurs? i'd like to see if it happens on my ATV4K/C8 as well

i have the HD version of JPFK for reference

-+ I heard mono with my ears, stereo with my heart, but I heard surround with my soul - Unnamed
-+ My tastes are simple -- I am always satisfied with the best
-+ You ainÂt gotta like me, you just mad 'cause I tell it how it is, and you tell it how it might be!
GooglyBear is offline  
post #18088 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
vsorgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Update seems to be working fine. My library upgraded to Atmos and sounds great. Haven’t checked Netflix yet. Any suggestions on the best Atmos content there?
One thing I noticed is that after the update it defaulted to 4K HDR with Match Content off and 4:2:0. I had to go back and reset those but other than that, pretty smooth sailing.

Marantz 7010 AVR --->7.2.4, LG OLED65E6, Oppo UDP-203, Onkyo TX-750 (2nd amp), Elac UF5 Front, DCM CX-Center, Elac UB5 Surrounds Polk A4 (Back) Energy CB-20 x 4 (ceiling) Hsu VTF2-MK4 x 2 Subs, Harmony Elite
vsorgi is offline  
post #18089 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 06:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsorgi View Post
Update seems to be working fine. My library upgraded to Atmos and sounds great. Haven’t checked Netflix yet. Any suggestions on the best Atmos content there?
One thing I noticed is that after the update it defaulted to 4K HDR with Match Content off and 4:2:0. I had to go back and reset those but other than that, pretty smooth sailing.
https://www.vudu.com/content/movies/...Bundle-/638505

Vudu has this but for some reason I can’t get it to come up in the app even when I wishlist it
jbyron is offline  
post #18090 of 25618 Old 09-18-2018, 06:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,604
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2098 Post(s)
Liked: 1635
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post
The cable test seems to be no longer available.
See [this post and this post]. I'll admit I haven't checked since the last update but I would shocked if Apple removed it.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off