Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 619 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 32689Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18541 of 29817 Old 09-29-2018, 11:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
flyinion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
After the latest Amazon update Bezos finally gives us 5.1 on Jack Ryan. Still no DV and still only 2ch on other shows. Baby steps.
What settings for audio in the ATV are you using to get 5.1 on Ryan? I tried earlier today and am still getting 2ch PCM with Atmos enabled in the ATV settings on it.
galonzo likes this.

Pansonic TC-P60VT60 | Denon AVR-X4500H | Sony UBP-X800 | Chane A2.4 L/C/R | Chane A1.4 SR | SVS Elevation Atmos/height | SVS PB-2000 | Logitech Harmony 950 | Arris MX011ANM (Xfinity X1) | Apple TV 4K
flyinion is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18542 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 12:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyoctave View Post
I’m having a problem with my AppleTV 4K.



I have a lot of Blu-ray movie back ups on my computer hard drives that are in an Apple TV container .h264, 30hz frame rate, with Dolby digital pass-through, ripped at a higher bit rate for quality. They have all worked flawlessly when I was using my Apple TV 3 through iTunes.

Now, when playing them through the new 4K model, there is a skip to them. The picture jitters a bit every 8-10 seconds. I have the video output set for 1080P SDR 30hz which is what the Apple TV 3 was putting out. I tried the 60hz setting to no avail. I do not have a 4K television hooked up to the newer Apple TV. I fact, the Apple 4K does not give me any 4K options that it did when first setting it up. (I understand this is due to my tv not being SHD). This only happens when playing the movies, inc a few downloaded HD Apple movies. No problem when streaming.





Does anyone know what may be causing this jitter?


It seems really unusual for Blu Ray Rips to have a 30hz framerate. Most Blu rays will be shot close to 24fps. Could this be the issue? Of course that won’t explain why your previous Apple TV showed this issue.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
galonzo likes this.
Andrew Stirling is offline  
post #18543 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 12:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
After the latest Amazon update Bezos finally gives us 5.1 on Jack Ryan. Still no DV and still only 2ch on other shows. Baby steps.
I switched to German Amazon and now have 5.1 on everything available with 5.1

And many languages audio and subtitles in many languages, including English.

Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk is crappy on ATV.

Last edited by raf77; 09-30-2018 at 12:26 AM.
raf77 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18544 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 12:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Leaky Tiki
Posts: 17,921
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7704 Post(s)
Liked: 17490
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinion View Post
What settings for audio in the ATV are you using to get 5.1 on Ryan? I tried earlier today and am still getting 2ch PCM with Atmos enabled in the ATV settings on it.
I have the audio set at auto, Atmos available. Have you done the most current Amazon update?

Quote:
Originally Posted by raf77 View Post
I switched to German Amazon and now have 5.1 on everything available with 5.1

And many languages audio and subtitles in many languages, including English.

Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk is crappy on ATV.
Deutschland? Don't order the Schnitzel, they're using Schnauzer.

__________________________________________________
Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila
Waboman is online now  
post #18545 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 12:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
flyinion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
I have the audio set at auto, Atmos available. Have you done the most current Amazon update?


I assume I have. Apps are set to auto update and if I go into the store listing for the app no update is available and it says it's from 9-26-18. I've only had it hooked up since Wednesday though so I could be doing something totally wrong.

Pansonic TC-P60VT60 | Denon AVR-X4500H | Sony UBP-X800 | Chane A2.4 L/C/R | Chane A1.4 SR | SVS Elevation Atmos/height | SVS PB-2000 | Logitech Harmony 950 | Arris MX011ANM (Xfinity X1) | Apple TV 4K
flyinion is online now  
post #18546 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 01:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
I have the audio set at auto, Atmos available. Have you done the most current Amazon update?



Deutschland? Don't order the Schnitzel, they're using Schnauzer.
Bad shot.
I'm Polish.
Don't like Germany to much (They shot through my grandmother house with heavy machine gun on WW2)
, but app from Amazon on ATV work better .
djb61230 likes this.

Last edited by raf77; 09-30-2018 at 02:03 AM.
raf77 is online now  
post #18547 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
It seems really unusual for Blu Ray Rips to have a 30hz framerate. Most Blu rays will be shot close to 24fps. Could this be the issue? Of course that won’t explain why your previous Apple TV showed this issue.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

That’s an excellent point.
The ripping software has options to put your media in a number of formats with options in each format. The one I use for AppleTV converts it to 1080P @ 30hz to match the output of the Apple device. Like you mentioned, it has worked well with the Apple 3. I might just have to leave the 3 hooked up for use with those movies. Just would like to know why the 4 has issues.

Thanks for your reply.

LG 55”C8 OLED Oppo BDP-103 Sony X800m2
Denon X3300W 5.2.2 PSB/M&K speakers
Samsung 55HU8550/SEK-3500U
Sonos 5.1 Playbase/sub/surrounds
CalMAN Home Enthusiast/i1display pro oem/i1 pro 2/Videoforge HDMI-2 TPG
keyoctave is offline  
post #18548 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 05:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Probably it could be interesting for somebody to know How to watch own movies with Dolby Atmos at Apple TV. So here is the link about it
. However such approach allows to watch .mp4 only and not .mkv

Is anyone know way how to convert .mp4 to .mkv and save Dolby Atmos sound?
agrebnev is offline  
post #18549 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 05:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
After the latest Amazon update Bezos finally gives us 5.1 on Jack Ryan. Still no DV and still only 2ch on other shows. Baby steps.
My AT4 was still 2ch on Jack Ryan. The store shows it updated Sept 26. Are you on the 4k model? a later update?
ItzMe is offline  
post #18550 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 05:49 AM
Senior Member
 
frankhj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
My AT4 was still 2ch on Jack Ryan. The store shows it updated Sept 26. Are you on the 4k model? a later update?
If you select the 1st version of Jack Ryan you see that is not HDR you will get 2 channel sound. If you scroll down to the HDR section and select that version of Jack Ryan it will be 5.1.
frankhj is offline  
post #18551 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 06:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankhj View Post
If you select the 1st version of Jack Ryan you see that is not HDR you will get 2 channel sound. If you scroll down to the HDR section and select that version of Jack Ryan it will be 5.1.
I see, but I have the ATV4 (non 4k) which apparently doesn’t offer me the HDR section. More reasons for me to stop procrastinating my upgrades.
ItzMe is offline  
post #18552 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 08:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 141
I have Apple TV connected to lg oled tv directly so no Atmos for jack Ryan, on 2nd tv I used Samsung 4K player Amazon app, full band Dolby Atmos it is fantastic sound. On my family room setup I have connected my roku ultra to oppo 203 Input, I am getting hdr and Atmos, my sc 85 shows Dolby Atmos but oppo display shows DD 5.1 only, oppo set to bitstream and roku set to DD+ auto, this the only option available in roku.
I could attach ATV 4K to oppo input but there is 2 channel sound from Amazon app and I loose DV.
Roku has Netflix and Amazon prime app in Dolby Atmos and vudu also with Atmos.

SONY 75X900F: Oppo UDP-203: DirecTv 4K: ATV4K
Marantz SR6013: Parasound 2250 V2: Aircom T8: Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Definitive Tech. BP9060, CS 9060 HD: Mythos GEMS
Subwoofer Paradigm X12: Belkin PF30: Panamax M8-AV Pro
Harmony Elite Remote: Philips Hue Ambient Lights: 6500K Bias LED Lights
iserum is offline  
post #18553 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
LeRoyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Woodstock Georgia
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by iserum View Post
I have Apple TV connected to lg oled tv directly so no Atmos for jack Ryan, on 2nd tv I used Samsung 4K player Amazon app, full band Dolby Atmos it is fantastic sound. On my family room setup I have connected my roku ultra to oppo 203 Input, I am getting hdr and Atmos, my sc 85 shows Dolby Atmos but oppo display shows DD 5.1 only, oppo set to bitstream and roku set to DD+ auto, this the only option available in roku.
I could attach ATV 4K to oppo input but there is 2 channel sound from Amazon app and I loose DV.
Roku has Netflix and Amazon prime app in Dolby Atmos and vudu also with Atmos.
iserum,

My LG OLED TV has a Amazon Prime Video app that gives me Dolby Vision and ATMOS for Jack Ryan over ARC or to an ATMOS soundbar. Better than ATV4K for Prime Video until Amazon and Apple get their act together.

LG OLED65C8PUA, Onkyo TX-RZ920, Panasonic DP-UB820, Apple TV 4K, Amazon Fire TV Stick 4K, AT&T Gigabit Internet & U-verse
LeRoyK is online now  
post #18554 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 09:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeRoyK View Post
iserum,

My LG OLED TV has a Amazon Prime Video app that gives me Dolby Vision and ATMOS for Jack Ryan over ARC or to an ATMOS soundbar. Better than ATV4K for Prime Video until Amazon and Apple get their act together.
are you sure Atmos on Arc?

SONY 75X900F: Oppo UDP-203: DirecTv 4K: ATV4K
Marantz SR6013: Parasound 2250 V2: Aircom T8: Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Definitive Tech. BP9060, CS 9060 HD: Mythos GEMS
Subwoofer Paradigm X12: Belkin PF30: Panamax M8-AV Pro
Harmony Elite Remote: Philips Hue Ambient Lights: 6500K Bias LED Lights
iserum is offline  
post #18555 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
LeRoyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Woodstock Georgia
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by iserum View Post
are you sure Atmos on Arc?
Yes iserum, it is the streaming form of ATMOS: DD+. You will hear it if your receiver supports ATMOS over ARC. (not all ATMOS receivers are capable of ARC ATMOS)

LG OLED65C8PUA, Onkyo TX-RZ920, Panasonic DP-UB820, Apple TV 4K, Amazon Fire TV Stick 4K, AT&T Gigabit Internet & U-verse
LeRoyK is online now  
post #18556 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,405
Mentioned: 232 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2734 Post(s)
Liked: 2494
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeRoyK View Post
iserum,

My LG OLED TV has a Amazon Prime Video app that gives me Dolby Vision and ATMOS for Jack Ryan over ARC or to an ATMOS soundbar. Better than ATV4K for Prime Video until Amazon and Apple get their act together.
Since we have Atmos playing on iTunes, Netflix, Vudu, etc., and Apple doesn't actually code/program any of these apps, it is more likely that Amazon needs to step it up. The hooks are there. Maybe someday Amazon might actually build a useable interface, but I wouldn't hold my breath on that either.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #18557 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 141
My C6 does not do ATMOS on ARC a bummer for LG. that would be ideal. there is always a weak link in this 4K HDR and high resolution audio. i am frustrated.

SONY 75X900F: Oppo UDP-203: DirecTv 4K: ATV4K
Marantz SR6013: Parasound 2250 V2: Aircom T8: Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Definitive Tech. BP9060, CS 9060 HD: Mythos GEMS
Subwoofer Paradigm X12: Belkin PF30: Panamax M8-AV Pro
Harmony Elite Remote: Philips Hue Ambient Lights: 6500K Bias LED Lights
iserum is offline  
post #18558 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Bejoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 156
I updated to tv 0s 12 and now the 4k option is missing? How to fix this?

Spoiler!
Bejoy is offline  
post #18559 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,109
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3968 Post(s)
Liked: 2854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejoy View Post
I updated to tv 0s 12 and now the 4k option is missing? How to fix this?
Have you Reset the ATV4k after the update?
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #18560 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,331
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2725 Post(s)
Liked: 5665
Quote:
Originally Posted by iserum View Post
are you sure Atmos on Arc?
It appears @LeRoyK has the best of both worlds and he can plug the ATV4K into either his 2017 LG OLED65C8PUA TV, the year that company began supporting Dolby Digital Plus (DD+) / Atmos over HDMI ARC, or into his AVR which provides ATMOS and also received an update to provide Dolby Vision passthrough.

Your 2016 LG OLED 65C6P TV on the other hand doesn’t provide Dolby Digital Plus (DD+) / Atmos over HDMI ARC nor does your AVR support Dolby Vision passthrough so here’s your choices:

1) Plug ATV4K into TV for Dolby Vision without Atmos
2) Plug ATV4K into AVR for Atmos without Dolby Vision

Of course you could always buy a new TV, or a new AVR, or a splitter that you have mentioned (though I have no first hand knowledge with it).

Personally I would opt for choice 2 and plug the ATV4K into your AVR to get Atmos with HDR10 passthrough for the time being.

And for those following your saga I see in this post on the 2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread that you were able to figure out that your particular TV model only supports a maximum of 24/25/30 Hz for Dolby Vision and 60 Hz for HDR10.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iserum View Post
My C6 does not do ATMOS on ARC a bummer for LG. that would be ideal. there is always a weak link in this 4K HDR and high resolution audio. i am frustrated.
No doubt eh!

Seems no matter what year we bought into 4K with each passing year they keep moving the goal line!
rlb, TrendSetterX, galonzo and 1 others like this.

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1550.0
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1550.0
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K; Acer 4K HTPC
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer

Last edited by Musician; 09-30-2018 at 05:01 PM.
Musician is online now  
post #18561 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
It appears @LeRoyK has the best of both worlds and he can plug the ATV4K into either his 2017 LG OLED65C8PUA TV, the year that company began supporting DD+ over ARC and re-encoding of TrueHD/Atmos to DD+, or into his AVR which provides ATMOS and also received an update to provide Dolby Vision passthrough.

Your 2016 LG OLED 65C6P TV on the other hand doesn’t provide DD+ over ARC nor does your AVR support Dolby Vision passthrough so here’s your choices:

1) Plug ATV4K into TV for Dolby Vision without Atmos
2) Plug ATV4K into AVR for Atmos without Dolby Vision

Of course you could always buy a new TV, or a new AVR, or a splitter that you have mentioned (though I have no first hand knowledge with it).

Personally I would opt for choice 2 and plug the ATV4K into your AVR to get Atmos with HDR10 passthrough for the time being.

And for those following your saga I see in this post on the 2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread that you were able to figure out that your particular TV model only supports a maximum of 24/25/30 Hz for Dolby Vision and 60 Hz for HDR10.



No doubt eh!

Seems no matter what year we bought into 4K with each passing year they keep moving the goal line!
I have 150 plus movies on iTunes so I will buy hdfury splitter for ATV 4k, for DV for lg c6 and Atmos for sc 85, not worth spending money on AVR. SC 85 was $1600. I will keep AVR until there is no choice, my Yamaha RXv1800 used for 10 years, still works but not in use. I thought sc 85 will 4K but 4K is royal mess by studios who ran hdcp 2.2 crap on people who are paying for content.

SONY 75X900F: Oppo UDP-203: DirecTv 4K: ATV4K
Marantz SR6013: Parasound 2250 V2: Aircom T8: Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Definitive Tech. BP9060, CS 9060 HD: Mythos GEMS
Subwoofer Paradigm X12: Belkin PF30: Panamax M8-AV Pro
Harmony Elite Remote: Philips Hue Ambient Lights: 6500K Bias LED Lights
iserum is offline  
post #18562 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,195
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 865 Post(s)
Liked: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by iserum View Post
I have 150 plus movies on iTunes so I will buy hdfury splitter for ATV 4k, for DV for lg c6 and Atmos for sc 85, not worth spending money on AVR. SC 85 was $1600. I will keep AVR until there is no choice, my Yamaha RXv1800 used for 10 years, still works but not in use. I thought sc 85 will 4K but 4K is royal mess by studios who ran hdcp 2.2 crap on people who are paying for content.


FYI: The Integral 2 has now replaced the AVR Key and the Integral, but the other products are still available at reduced prices until sold out.

Mark


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #18563 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 04:25 PM
Member
 
limbery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 22
So if I'm running an appleTV 4K through my Opportunity 203 and then to my JVC DLA-X570R projector should I have my ATV set for UHD SDR but allow full resolution, and then my Opponent set at HDR Auto? with HDR off on the projector? I'm trying to let the Oppo manage my HDR
limbery is offline  
post #18564 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Earth
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by smjbj View Post
Problem solved! Went to iTunes Apps store and saw an update for "In app purchases" for Netflix. When I clicked on it the updated version of Netflix loaded. Now I have Atmos on Netflix! Thanks ggw2000.
I just bought an ATV 4K today add the Netflix app and not getting Dolby Atmos yet. I hope I'm having the same issue

Projector: VPLHW40ES + DIY 125" Screen AVR: CX-A5100 + B&K REF 200.7
Speakers: DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP2000(FL/FR), CLR2000 (C), DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP10 (RL/RR),
MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling ATMOS/DTS), (4) MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling R/L REAR SURR)
Tweeter2002 is online now  
post #18565 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
ANSEK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweeter2002 View Post
I just bought an ATV 4K today add the Netflix app and not getting Dolby Atmos yet. I hope I'm having the same issue
Did you update the ATV4K? Did you turn on ATMOS in the audio settings?
galonzo likes this.

anseK®

Denon AVR-8500H | Optoma UHD60 | Xbox One X | AppleTV 4K
SVS Ultra Towers | SVS Ultra Center | SVS Ultra Surrounds | SVS Prime Elevation | SVS PB16 Ultra
ANSEK is offline  
post #18566 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Leaky Tiki
Posts: 17,921
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7704 Post(s)
Liked: 17490
Quote:
Originally Posted by limbery View Post
So if I'm running an appleTV 4K through my Opportunity 203 and then to my JVC DLA-X570R projector should I have my ATV set for UHD SDR but allow full resolution, and then my Opponent set at HDR Auto? with HDR off on the projector? I'm trying to let the Oppo manage my HDR
Frankly autocorrect, I'm getting a bit tired of your shirt.
galonzo and pappaduke like this.

__________________________________________________
Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila
Waboman is online now  
post #18567 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 07:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,166
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2475 Post(s)
Liked: 1949
Quote:
Originally Posted by limbery View Post
So if I'm running an appleTV 4K through my Oppo 203 and then to my JVC DLA-X570R projector
The subtleties of this question are best left the Oppo or JVC threads. The obvious solution is an EDID manager advertising SDR, or running in HD, so you get SDR assets.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #18568 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Earth
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANSEK View Post
Did you update the ATV4K? Did you turn on ATMOS in the audio settings?
Sure did, then I adds Netflix. I'll need to see if there is an updated version of Netflix available.

In my CX-A5100 the surround is on straight which is necessary to access Dolby Atmos

Projector: VPLHW40ES + DIY 125" Screen AVR: CX-A5100 + B&K REF 200.7
Speakers: DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP2000(FL/FR), CLR2000 (C), DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP10 (RL/RR),
MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling ATMOS/DTS), (4) MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling R/L REAR SURR)
Tweeter2002 is online now  
post #18569 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 10:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,405
Mentioned: 232 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2734 Post(s)
Liked: 2494
Quote:
Originally Posted by iserum View Post
I have 150 plus movies on iTunes so I will buy hdfury splitter for ATV 4k, for DV for lg c6 and Atmos for sc 85, not worth spending money on AVR. SC 85 was $1600. I will keep AVR until there is no choice, my Yamaha RXv1800 used for 10 years, still works but not in use. I thought sc 85 will 4K but 4K is royal mess by studios who ran hdcp 2.2 crap on people who are paying for content.
I looked at the HDFURY tech specs and it doesn't appear to support DV or HDR passthrough:
https://www.hdfury.com/product/splitter-4k/
It looks like you would have to step up to the Vertex line to get that support.

I found this on AVPro's website. It supports HDR, HLG, DV, Atmos, etc. Looks like you'll save about $100.
https://www.avprostore.com/AC-DA12-A...-auhd-gen2.htm

I'm in the same boat as you. I've got a VSX-90 that passes 4K HDR but no DV or HLG.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #18570 of 29817 Old 09-30-2018, 11:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
flyinion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankhj View Post
If you select the 1st version of Jack Ryan you see that is not HDR you will get 2 channel sound. If you scroll down to the HDR section and select that version of Jack Ryan it will be 5.1.
Hmmm, it must be embedded in the stream to the Apple TV then. When I grab it from the watch list the title says "UHD" in the title but since I'm playing to a 1080p in my case maybe it's grabbing a different stream and it only has 2ch attached to it. Look like I'll just continue using my X800 for Amazon in my case since I can actually get Atmos with that anyway on Amazon.
galonzo likes this.

Pansonic TC-P60VT60 | Denon AVR-X4500H | Sony UBP-X800 | Chane A2.4 L/C/R | Chane A1.4 SR | SVS Elevation Atmos/height | SVS PB-2000 | Logitech Harmony 950 | Arris MX011ANM (Xfinity X1) | Apple TV 4K
flyinion is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , apple tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off