Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 623 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29159Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18661 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 06:37 AM
Senior Member
 
frankhj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 84
With the addition of Atmos I am now confused on how the Audio Format should be set for my system. I am connected to my LG C6 thru a Yamaha RX-V681. The RX-V681 is Atmos ready but I do not have the Atmos speakers, just a standard 5.1 setup. I understand that I should have the Audio Format set to Auto, but should I have Dolby Atmos On or Off in the ATV4K?
frankhj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18662 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 1725
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
Thank you for trying it. Definitely not just me having this issue it looks like. I'll see if I can contact them.
Sorry for the misinformation. I tried Skyscraper on VUDU again last night with my 4K projector and there was no Atmos sound.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
post #18663 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,042
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4640 Post(s)
Liked: 2699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
"without touchpad and Siri function"


(Ha... geez)
I asked because I use the touchpad (and the Siri function to turn subtitles On and Off) more than anything else on the original remote so I would never buy the one mentioned.
Brian Hampton likes this.

lujan
562 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18664 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 08:12 AM
Senior Member
 
YonathanZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Hi,

I’d like to stream downscaled 4K content to my 1080p tv for the higher bitrate on Netflix and other streaming services (dark scenes look awful in 1080p Netflix content).

Is there a way to do that?
YonathanZ is offline  
post #18665 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 08:16 AM
Newbie
 
strike shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by YonathanZ View Post
Hi,

I’d like to stream downscaled 4K content to my 1080p tv for the higher bitrate on Netflix and other streaming services (dark scenes look awful in 1080p Netflix content).

Is there a way to do that?

Yes, with the HDFury Linker.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/37-vi...rs-thread.html
galonzo likes this.
strike shadow is offline  
post #18666 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,960
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2323 Post(s)
Liked: 2175
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankhj View Post
With the addition of Atmos I am now confused on how the Audio Format should be set for my system. I am connected to my LG C6 thru a Yamaha RX-V681. The RX-V681 is Atmos ready but I do not have the Atmos speakers, just a standard 5.1 setup. I understand that I should have the Audio Format set to Auto, but should I have Dolby Atmos On or Off in the ATV4K?
It won't hurt to turn Dolby Atmos On in the ATV4K. Your AVR supports Atmos. You just won't get the overhead sound effects until you add Atmos speakers to your set up.

I have two Denon AVRs that support Atmos; one with Atmos speakers connected and one without. The AVR with Atmos speakers reports Atmos when receiving Atmos from the ATV4K. The AVR without Atmos speakers does not report Atmos when receiving Atmos from the ATV4k.
galonzo and Musician like this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is offline  
post #18667 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 08:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,263
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I asked because I use the touchpad (and the Siri function to turn subtitles On and Off) more than anything else on the original remote so I would never buy the one mentioned.
No Problem, The reason I say Geez in my post is in the Ebay description they mention the usefulness of Siri.

I use Siri a lot. I have a home bridge server so I can tell Siri to turn on and off my projector. (The rest of my stuff never sleeps.)

Edit the Ebay description says this ..."With Siri, you can find what you want to watch using just your voice. And the Touch surface lets you interact with your Apple TV quickly and easily." - Tricky business.
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #18668 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,960
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2323 Post(s)
Liked: 2175
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Audio question. I have the new ATV 4K with dolby atmos and am using the Nakamichi 9.2 sound bar which doesn't have Atmos. When I go into audio settings I only have 2 choices. 'Best Possible' and 'Dolby Digital 5.1'.
Which do I want to use to get the best audio experience?
Nowhere in the settings do I see a bitstream offered btw.
Interesting that Nakamichi chose to support DTS:X but not Atmos.

There is no bitstream option as the ATV4K does not support output of bitstreamed audio.

Choose Best Possible since it can support more channels than DD 5.1. Content with DD+ can include up to 7.1 channels that the ATV will map to PCM multi-channel output when Best Possible audio is configured.
dreaux, galonzo and Dime04 like this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral

Last edited by claw; 10-04-2018 at 08:58 AM.
claw is offline  
post #18669 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,611
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2102 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
When I go into audio settings I only have 2 choices. 'Best Possible' and 'Dolby Digital 5.1'.
Which do I want to use to get the best audio experience?
Nowhere in the settings do I see a bitstream offered btw.
There is no bitstream. Please review the first post in this thread.
Selecting AC-3 output is intended for special cases, the most common of which is that your "AVR" won't accept more than two LPCM channels. If that's not the case you should use best quality.
dreaux, galonzo and Tweeter2002 like this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8

Last edited by bodosom; 10-04-2018 at 09:11 AM.
bodosom is offline  
post #18670 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Interesting that Nakamichi chose to support DTS:X but not Atmos.

There is no bitstream option as the ATV4K does not support output of bitstreamed audio.

Choose Best Possible since it can support more channels than DD 5.1. Content with DD+ can include up to 7.1 channels that the ATV will map to PCM multi-channel output when Best Possible audio is configured.

We are being told that Nakamichi will be offering Dolby Atmos via FW update in 2 or 3 weeks. That should be interesting since we have no up-firing speakers. Sounds like a virtual enhancement.
galonzo likes this.
dreaux is offline  
post #18671 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,641
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
We are being told that Nakamichi will be offering Dolby Atmos via FW update in 2 or 3 weeks. That should be interesting since we have no up-firing speakers. Sounds like a virtual enhancement.
Might be they will be offering Atmos capability. If you don’t have the speakers you don’t get the sound. That’s the way my Denon works.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is offline  
post #18672 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
SLYDoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by strike shadow View Post

The HDFury Linker is being replaced by the HDFury Integral 2 --> https://www.avsforum.com/forum/37-vi...rs-thread.html
giomania and galonzo like this.

Regards, Steve
Projector/Receiver - Sony VPL-VW1100ES 4K PJ & Sony STR-ZA5000ES 4K Atmos AVR
Media Devices - Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BR, Sony UBP-X800 4K BR, ATV 4K, and Roku 4K
Screen - 145" Dragonfly, 1.2 Gain, 16:9, Matte White Fixed Screen
Theater Remote/Cables - Universal MX-990 RF Remote, Monoprice Certified 18Gb HDMI Cables
SLYDoggie is offline  
post #18673 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1811 Post(s)
Liked: 490
I think since the tvOS 12 upgrade I've been getting PCM Surround on my AVR and NOT Dolby Surround. Consequently it's not upmixing to my rear surrounds. Does anyone else notice the difference between PCM surround vs Dolby Surround on their AVR since the update?

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #18674 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,611
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2102 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
NOT Dolby Surround. Consequently it's not upmixing to my rear surrounds.
So pre-tvOS12 LPCM was upmixed to Dolby Surround and now it's not?

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #18675 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1811 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
So pre-tvOS12 LPCM was upmixed to Dolby Surround and now it's not?
All I know is that prior to 12 my AVR said Dolby Surround and now it says PCM surround which means that my rear surrounds are not getting upmixed to. Which basically means unless it's an Atmos title, they won't be used on ATV because nothing is 7 channel.

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #18676 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 02:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 435 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
All I know is that prior to 12 my AVR said Dolby Surround and now it says PCM surround which means that my rear surrounds are not getting upmixed to. Which basically means unless it's an Atmos title, they won't be used on ATV because nothing is 7 channel.


Incorrect
galonzo likes this.
cydeweyz is offline  
post #18677 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 02:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 498 Post(s)
Liked: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweeter2002 View Post
I would disable Atmos and use Dolby Digital+. ATV4K uses Dolby MAT and doesn't send audio via bitstream. Read the first post in this thread regarding Dolby MAT(rather interesting). You can try both and see which you prefer.


Absolutely no reason to disable Dolby Atmos. Best Available should also be used unless absolutely necessary.

Auto/Best Available (recommended): Audio will be sent as uncompressed, multi-channel LPCM (up to 7.1 channels and 24-bit)
Dolby Digital 5.1: Audio will be sent as Dolby Digital (up to 5.1 channels and 16-bit)
Stereo: Audio will be sent as stereo (2.0)
galonzo likes this.

LG OLED65C7P - Professionally Calibrated l Apple TV 4K l Microsoft Xbox One S l Sony STR-ZA1100ES l Polk Audio CS2 Series II Center Channel l Polk Audio Monitor 60 Series II Floorstanding L/R l Polk Audio Monitor 45B Rear Surround l Dual BIC V1220 Subwoofers
HD-Master is offline  
post #18678 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 02:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,960
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2323 Post(s)
Liked: 2175
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
All I know is that prior to 12 my AVR said Dolby Surround and now it says PCM surround which means that my rear surrounds are not getting upmixed to. Which basically means unless it's an Atmos title, they won't be used on ATV because nothing is 7 channel.
Not sure I understand your point unless you are saying that your AVR can't upmix PCM multi-channel audio. With my Denon AVR I select one of two sound modes to have it upmix ATV4K multi-channel audio input to my 7.2.2 speaker configuration:

Multi In + Dolby Surround
Multi Ch In + Neural:X

Depending on the content, sometimes I prefer the Neural:X upmix and other times the Dolby Surround upmix.

Both will upmix audio to my rear surrounds when the signal is 5.1.
Both will upmix audio to my Atmos or DTS:X Height speakers.
galonzo likes this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral

Last edited by claw; 10-05-2018 at 07:33 AM.
claw is offline  
post #18679 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Earth
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
Absolutely no reason to disable Dolby Atmos. Best Available should also be used unless absolutely necessary.

Auto/Best Available (recommended): Audio will be sent as uncompressed, multi-channel LPCM (up to 7.1 channels and 24-bit)
Dolby Digital 5.1: Audio will be sent as Dolby Digital (up to 5.1 channels and 16-bit)
Stereo: Audio will be sent as stereo (2.0)
I went back an reread the first post in this thread earlier today and you are correct.

Projector: VPLHW40ES + DIY 125" Screen AVR: CX-A5100 + B&K REF 200.7
Speakers: DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP2000(FL/FR), CLR2000 (C), DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP10 (RL/RR),
MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling ATMOS/DTS), (4) MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling R/L REAR SURR)
Tweeter2002 is offline  
post #18680 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Earth
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
Absolutely no reason to disable Dolby Atmos. Best Available should also be used unless absolutely necessary.

Auto/Best Available (recommended): Audio will be sent as uncompressed, multi-channel LPCM (up to 7.1 channels and 24-bit)
Dolby Digital 5.1: Audio will be sent as Dolby Digital (up to 5.1 channels and 16-bit)
Stereo: Audio will be sent as stereo (2.0)
Is the Dolby Digital+ at a higher bit rate from the ATV4K compared to the Roku Ultra? In my roku I can change audio tracks and notice different bit rates with a maximum of 192K

Projector: VPLHW40ES + DIY 125" Screen AVR: CX-A5100 + B&K REF 200.7
Speakers: DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP2000(FL/FR), CLR2000 (C), DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP10 (RL/RR),
MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling ATMOS/DTS), (4) MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling R/L REAR SURR)
Tweeter2002 is offline  
post #18681 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 04:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,297
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2245 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweeter2002 View Post
Is the Dolby Digital+ at a higher bit rate from the ATV4K compared to the Roku Ultra? In my roku I can change audio tracks and notice different bit rates with a maximum of 192K
It will be the same. Content providers don't want duplicate audio tracks for various platforms. Much easier to have the same audio encode for all platforms.
galonzo likes this.
mutelight is offline  
post #18682 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stikle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Sovereign State of Eastern Oregon
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 955 Post(s)
Liked: 1131
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Depending on the content, sometimes I prefer the Neural:X upmix to DTS:X and other times the Dolby Surround upmix to Atmos.
DSU does not upmix to Atmos and DTS Neural:X does not upmix to DTS:X.

The Seth-o-Plex 2.0 Build Thread - featuring Dolby Atmos/DTS:X 9.4.4 & 4K Dolby Vision!
Vizio | Dual Denon Atmos AVRs | Oppo | SVS | Mirage | Onkyo | Monoprice
stikle is offline  
post #18683 of 25652 Old 10-04-2018, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,611
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2102 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
At the moment I'm seeing some inconsistency between iTunes E-AC-3 labels and content. Some is E-AC-3 7.1 and some is AC-3 5.1. I assume this is a transient issue.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #18684 of 25652 Old 10-05-2018, 04:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,263
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Missing Marvel Movies

Hi,

I'm slow sometimes. I only realized today that 2 of my Marvel movies are in Vudu but didn't transfer to iTunes via Movies Anywhere.

They (Movies Anywhere) have a mention of this in FAQ. I emailed Vudu to ask for copy of Proof of Purchase and I think MA will do the rest.

I only mention it in case anyone else failed to notice this bug.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #18685 of 25652 Old 10-05-2018, 05:33 AM
Senior Member
 
slapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Not sure this is the best place to ask this but I’m on 12.0.1 and having an issue with the NHL tv app.

Is anyone else experiencing bugs when watching a game it kicks you back out to the game page on every commercial break?

Selecting the game again and which feed to watch, I’ll get the spinning circle endlessly. So I have to back out and have to wait and guesstimate when the commercials are over then I can select and play the game again, that is until the next commercial break, when I have to repeat the process.
Obviously a frustrating way to watch a game.

Happens on every game and every commercial break.
Never had an issue like this until a few weeks ago.

Contacted NHLTV support but they’re notoriously unhelpful, haven’t heard from them yet.
slapshot is online now  
post #18686 of 25652 Old 10-05-2018, 05:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,263
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Maybe call apple too. They are pretty friendly.
Call 1-800-MY-APPLE (800-692-7753).
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #18687 of 25652 Old 10-05-2018, 06:14 AM
Member
 
u8mycrackers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Diberville Ms
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by slapshot View Post
Not sure this is the best place to ask this but I’m on 12.0.1 and having an issue with the NHL tv app.

Is anyone else experiencing bugs when watching a game it kicks you back out to the game page on every commercial break?

Selecting the game again and which feed to watch, I’ll get the spinning circle endlessly. So I have to back out and have to wait and guesstimate when the commercials are over then I can select and play the game again, that is until the next commercial break, when I have to repeat the process.
Obviously a frustrating way to watch a game.

Happens on every game and every commercial break.
Never had an issue like this until a few weeks ago.

Contacted NHLTV support but they’re notoriously unhelpful, haven’t heard from them yet.
I had issues with resolution dropping and game freezing last night in the latter period of the third on the Pens game. I did get the spinning wheel of frustration on the wild game when attempting to watch dual feeds. I am sure it will get worked out though and not a concern me as of yet. I will give a couple nights.
u8mycrackers is offline  
post #18688 of 25652 Old 10-05-2018, 06:18 AM
Senior Member
 
slapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by u8mycrackers View Post
I had issues with resolution dropping and game freezing last night in the latter period of the third on the Pens game. I did get the spinning wheel of frustration on the wild game when attempting to watch dual feeds. I am sure it will get worked out though and not a concern me as of yet. I will give a couple nights.


I’ve had this problem even in the preseason which started a couple weeks ago or more, was hoping an app update would have fixed it but didn’t.
slapshot is online now  
post #18689 of 25652 Old 10-05-2018, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,473
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by stikle View Post
DSU does not upmix to Atmos and DTS Neural:X does not upmix to DTS:X.
I think you may have misunderstood what he was referring to. I think she was saying that sometimes he prefers Neural:X upmix instead of DTS:X and sometime the Dolby Surround upmix instead of Atmos.

Sony XBR-55A9F OLED
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BD Player
Roku Premium+ 4k / AppleTV 4K 4th Gen
Denon AVR-X4500H AV Receiver / Klipsch 5.1.2 Speakers
Daryl L is offline  
post #18690 of 25652 Old 10-05-2018, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,960
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2323 Post(s)
Liked: 2175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl L View Post
I think you may have misunderstood what he was referring to. I think she was saying that sometimes he prefers Neural:X upmix instead of DTS:X and sometime the Dolby Surround upmix instead of Atmos.
No, what I was trying to say is that the Dolby Surround upmix includes mapping sound to your configured Dolby Atmos speakers and Neural:X will map sounds to your configured DTS:X height speakers. So in effect, a sort of virtual Atmos and virtual DTS:X. Not the real thing.

Sorry for confusion.
galonzo and stikle like this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off