Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 733 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29912Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21961 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,445
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 988 Post(s)
Liked: 903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Download Harmony program form site, install, connect USB to computer and Harmony remote) proceed with instructions given.
OK sorted it. Needed to use app to pair as it said! All done thanks.
Ph8te likes this.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Fire TV Stick 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21962 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,192
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4771 Post(s)
Liked: 2801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Culpepper View Post
Strange....works well for me. By any chance have you changed any of the Harmony options like timing or delays that might cause issues? I think mine is at default.
I was using the wrong button presses for the sequences and that's why it wasn't working. Once I added yours, it's working fine, thanks!
Culpepper likes this.

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #21963 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 06:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 949
This is the email I received from Onkyo regarding the loss of Dolby Vision when attempting to pass through an Onkyo receiver after the last ATV4K update.


Hello Ben

I’ve just tried with our TX-NR787 and AppleTV 4K, I was able to pass Dolby Vision through to the TV. What brand of TV do you have? We have noticed that some TV manufacturers will enable only the base level Dolby Vision pass-through which can lead to output issues.

Have you made sure the TV, receiver and AppleTV are all up to date with their software?

Regards

Michael Mangerpan
Technical Specialist
Onkyo USA Corp.
18 Park Way
Upper Saddle River, NJ 07458



Is anyone currently able to repeat this with their equipment?

HT TCL 55P605, Mitsubishi HC6500, Pioneer UDP LX500, Panasonic LX1000, Firestick 4K, ATV4K, Onkyo TX-NR787, DefTech, Klipsch, Martin Logan, SVS @ 5.2.4 Atmos
Stereo Sansui SR-4050, Dual 1219, Pioneer UDP LX500, Emotiva PT-100, Be One Audio MA100, Polk Monitor 10, SVS SB1000
bguzman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21964 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,192
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4771 Post(s)
Liked: 2801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Culpepper View Post
Strange....works well for me. By any chance have you changed any of the Harmony options like timing or delays that might cause issues? I think mine is at default.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I was using the wrong button presses for the sequences and that's why it wasn't working. Once I added yours, it's working fine, thanks!
I spoke too soon. It's working on my Harmony Companion but not on the Elite. The only difference is the Elite supports Bluetooth.

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #21965 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I spoke too soon. It's working on my Harmony Companion but not on the Elite. The only difference is the Elite supports Bluetooth.
I ran into the same problem with the Harmony 950 added to hub. Though the companion remote works with most sequences, what worked best for me was select, directionright, select (3 step sequence). Add another directionright between the selects to add 10 more seconds per skip. Use directionleft to skip back.

I use 20 second skip programmed in the Harmony for tennis (between serves) and Siri remote for 10 second skip and voice skip... nice for Tennis TV app on ATV4K.

The Harmony 950 with hub should be equivalent to Harmony Elite.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
brotony is offline  
post #21966 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
bokap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by usc1995 View Post
What are you trying to accomplish by connecting the two devices? The Bluesound is a music streamer and the ATV is a video device. You could probably share your iTunes music library residing on a separate computer with both devices but that would not be “connecting” them.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Thanks for the response. Apple TV is more than video. I use their music App to access all my music that is in iTunes. All of my music is stored in iTunes and it is all in Apple’s iCloud. I am planning on doing a trial of Tidal and Qobuz but I still want access to my huge iTunes library that includes all my CD’s that I converted to AIFF.
I’m just trying to understand how to set up the Node2i before I buy it
bokap is offline  
post #21967 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,192
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4771 Post(s)
Liked: 2801
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotony View Post
I ran into the same problem with the Harmony 950 added to hub. Though the companion remote works with most sequences, what worked best for me was select, directionright, select (3 step sequence). Add another directionright between the selects to add 10 more seconds per skip. Use directionleft to skip back.

I use 20 second skip programmed in the Harmony for tennis (between serves) and Siri remote for 10 second skip and voice skip... nice for Tennis TV app on ATV4K.

The Harmony 950 with hub should be equivalent to Harmony Elite.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
Thanks, it’s working by doing this manually on the remote but still not as a sequence and assigning the sequence to a button. I even tried adding the sequences to the remote screen and it didn’t work.

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #21968 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 07:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
usc1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 799
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokap View Post
Thanks for the response. Apple TV is more than video. I use their music App to access all my music that is in iTunes. All of my music is stored in iTunes and it is all in Apple’s iCloud. I am planning on doing a trial of Tidal and Qobuz but I still want access to my huge iTunes library that includes all my CD’s that I converted to AIFF.

I’m just trying to understand how to set up the Node2i before I buy it


For your music collection you will need to set up sharing on the computer where the files are located. You can learn more here https://support1.bluesound.com/hc/en...bile_site=true


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
usc1995 is offline  
post #21969 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 07:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Thanks, it’s working by doing this manually on the remote but still not as a sequence and assigning the sequence to a button. I even tried adding the sequences to the remote screen and it didn’t work.
Have you checked your delay for the ATV4K beta Bluetooth device on your remote. Inter-key is 0.1 second on mine. Seems I had to use defaults to get this to work on the ATV4K, not sure but my other devices are set at 0 delay. Multiple presses may be ignored is fast pressing; this is why I went with the 20 second skip sequence on the Harmony 950.

It does work being assigned to a key on remote but I'm more accustomed to using the Android app on my phone than my PC.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
galonzo likes this.
brotony is offline  
post #21970 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,192
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4771 Post(s)
Liked: 2801
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotony View Post
Have you checked your delay for the ATV4K beta Bluetooth device on your remote. Inter-key is 0.1 second on mine. Seems I had to use defaults to get this to work on the ATV4K, not sure but my other devices are set at 0 delay. Multiple presses may be ignored is fast pressing; this is why I went with the 20 second skip sequence on the Harmony 950.

It does work being assigned to a key on remote but I'm more accustomed to using the Android app on my phone than my PC.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
I just looked up the device and I’m using “Apple TV 4th generation” so this is probably the issue. After a year and a half and Harmony is still using a beta device for the ATV4k device?

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #21971 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,352
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2293 Post(s)
Liked: 2604
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I just looked up the device and I’m using “Apple TV 4th generation” so this is probably the issue. After a year and a half and Harmony is still using a beta device for the ATV4k device?
TBH I haven't found any issues with it over the past year (outside of the inability for the tap function, which I personally don't care about) so they probably looked at telemetry to see the number of users and weighed that against reported issues and just left it in perpetual "beta" and didn't invest any more development time.
lujan, Ph8te and galonzo like this.
mutelight is offline  
post #21972 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I just looked up the device and I’m using “Apple TV 4th generation” so this is probably the issue. After a year and a half and Harmony is still using a beta device for the ATV4k device?
The beta is a worthwhile update. Adds the ATV sleep on shutdown and app switcher. I've read more than once to force close an app with the Harmony app switcher, you need to double press the up directional button. I think we're all in agreement on that?

I've tried to force close an app by voice and Siri referred me to manual method with app switcher.

Outside is voice assistant and missing touch pad features, I don't see how Harmony could improve on the beta? I wish Harmony could get some voice assistant cooperation with OEMs. Touch and Siri would be worth a Harmony equipment upgrade! Until then, I'll use both remotes; I can't do without scrub and Siri.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
lujan and Ph8te like this.
brotony is offline  
post #21973 of 26698 Old 04-15-2019, 10:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 3,095
Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2438 Post(s)
Liked: 2290
Quote:
Originally Posted by bguzman View Post
This is the email I received from Onkyo regarding the loss of Dolby Vision when attempting to pass through an Onkyo receiver after the last ATV4K update.


Hello Ben

I’ve just tried with our TX-NR787 and AppleTV 4K, I was able to pass Dolby Vision through to the TV. What brand of TV do you have? We have noticed that some TV manufacturers will enable only the base level Dolby Vision pass-through which can lead to output issues.

Have you made sure the TV, receiver and AppleTV are all up to date with their software?

Regards

Michael Mangerpan
Technical Specialist
Onkyo USA Corp.
18 Park Way
Upper Saddle River, NJ 07458



Is anyone currently able to repeat this with their equipment?
I would suggest checking if your TCL TV has a firmware update available.

I think TCL had an firmware update to support the XBox sending low latency version of Dolby Vision. Perhaps that update broke support for the Apple TV Dolby Vision or perhaps Apple is now expecting the TCL to support low latency Dolby Vision but your TV does not have the firmware update.
galonzo likes this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is online now  
post #21974 of 26698 Old 04-16-2019, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
I would suggest checking if your TCL TV has a firmware update available.

I think TCL had an firmware update to support the XBox sending low latency version of Dolby Vision. Perhaps that update broke support for the Apple TV Dolby Vision or perhaps Apple is now expecting the TCL to support low latency Dolby Vision but your TV does not have the firmware update.
Everything was working as expected before the latest ATV4K update and my TV processes Dolby Vision if I connect the ATV4k directly to it. Only when I try to pass Dolby Vision via my Onkyo 787 does it fail to pass Dolby Vision. Additionally Dolby Vision works fine through my receiver when using my Oppo 203 and Firestick 4K

HT TCL 55P605, Mitsubishi HC6500, Pioneer UDP LX500, Panasonic LX1000, Firestick 4K, ATV4K, Onkyo TX-NR787, DefTech, Klipsch, Martin Logan, SVS @ 5.2.4 Atmos
Stereo Sansui SR-4050, Dual 1219, Pioneer UDP LX500, Emotiva PT-100, Be One Audio MA100, Polk Monitor 10, SVS SB1000
bguzman is online now  
post #21975 of 26698 Old 04-16-2019, 06:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 435 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokap View Post
Thanks for the response. Apple TV is more than video. I use their music App to access all my music that is in iTunes. All of my music is stored in iTunes and it is all in Apple’s iCloud. I am planning on doing a trial of Tidal and Qobuz but I still want access to my huge iTunes library that includes all my CD’s that I converted to AIFF.
I’m just trying to understand how to set up the Node2i before I buy it
Jump over to the bluesound thread and ask the question there. There's at least one person that has a good handle on how to do what you want.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...l#post57898560
You'll get your answer there. In short, I believe you'll be able to accesss your AIFF files from your computer as long as it's on the same network.
bokap likes this.

Man cave-Marantz 8012, Oppo 203, 4K ATV, Sony XBR-75X940E, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, 2 Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's,
4 SVS Prime elevations. B&W P5. Living room- Yamaha 2010, Bluesound Node 2, Paradigm SE-1's, Zone 2-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM. B&W PX for travel
Bedroom- Samsung UN60ES7100F, Oppo 103D, Pulse Mini, JBL Bar Studio, ATV3 and Harmony 650
pappaduke is online now  
post #21976 of 26698 Old 04-16-2019, 07:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by bguzman View Post
Everything was working as expected before the latest ATV4K update and my TV processes Dolby Vision if I connect the ATV4k directly to it. Only when I try to pass Dolby Vision via my Onkyo 787 does it fail to pass Dolby Vision. Additionally Dolby Vision works fine through my receiver when using my Oppo 203 and Firestick 4K
In some scenarios the receiver is expecting 4:4:4 but the Apple TV is putting out 4:2:2. Apparently it's a handshake issue. Not sure what steps you've taken so far, but you could try changing the mode on the Onkyo.

You can change this by Hold tone and press return on the receiver. Brings up menu. Whatever HDMI port you have your Apple TV in change it from mode 1 to mode 2. (Hat tip to Thormus for calling Onkyo on this one)

I haven't hand any issues with my TX-NR686 since the last round of Apple updates, but the above is worth a shot if you haven't tried it yet.
sonoftumble and Musician like this.
usernameunknown is offline  
post #21977 of 26698 Old 04-16-2019, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
bokap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
Jump over to the bluesound thread and ask the question there. There's at least one person that has a good handle on how to do what you want.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...l#post57898560
You'll get your answer there. In short, I believe you'll be able to accesss your AIFF files from your computer as long as it's on the same network.
Ok Thanks
bokap is offline  
post #21978 of 26698 Old 04-16-2019, 09:44 AM
Member
 
cbsdallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 33
For someone that witnessed HBO start way back in the day on a small cable system that had local channels and HBO I feel like we have gone full circle. We used to have one system that had everything we wanted including local channels on one device easy to understand and one payment. Today we have a multitude of providers with no way to coalesce them into one device. We are paying 5 to 10 different monthly bills and have to switch between all the sources and we still have to have a stupid antennae to watch locals channels. If Apple TV could find a way to provide all of these sources with one sign in and also local channels I think they would have millions sign up just for ease of use and payment. I don't see this current system of multiple sources and switching and payments as progress.
cbsdallas is offline  
post #21979 of 26698 Old 04-16-2019, 01:31 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,231
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9529 Post(s)
Liked: 6221
Quote:
Originally Posted by bguzman View Post
Everything was working as expected before the latest ATV4K update and my TV processes Dolby Vision if I connect the ATV4k directly to it. Only when I try to pass Dolby Vision via my Onkyo 787 does it fail to pass Dolby Vision. Additionally Dolby Vision works fine through my receiver when using my Oppo 203 and Firestick 4K
I ran into this issue when my TCL 6 series updated to OS9. Luckily they were able to roll me back to OS8. After working with a Roku support person on the Roku forums.

I too was going through an Onkyo, a 656 model. It works perfect with OS8, but with OS9 I had major issues with the ATV 4K and a Roku Streaming Stick+. And also a couple of 1080P devices showed up as DVI devices and wouldn't pass audio.
galonzo likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #21980 of 26698 Old 04-16-2019, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbsdallas View Post
For someone that witnessed HBO start way back in the day on a small cable system that had local channels and HBO I feel like we have gone full circle. We used to have one system that had everything we wanted including local channels on one device easy to understand and one payment. Today we have a multitude of providers with no way to coalesce them into one device. We are paying 5 to 10 different monthly bills and have to switch between all the sources and we still have to have a stupid antennae to watch locals channels. If Apple TV could find a way to provide all of these sources with one sign in and also local channels I think they would have millions sign up just for ease of use and payment. I don't see this current system of multiple sources and switching and payments as progress.
Yep, true. I do think Apple is trying to solve that problem with their TV app, which pulls together content from various sources. They're taking it a step further with their upcoming Apple TV Channels initiative, that allows users to easily subscribe to multiple services (HBO, Showtime, CBS All Access, Britbox, MTV Hits, etc.) with all of the content commingled into one app.

I would love it if Apple just bought the little two-man shop that offers the Channels app and then bake that functionality somehow into their TV app so that local channels from an OTA antenna were integrated with various streaming sources.

But I don't know if Netflix will ever relent and allow their content and billing to be integrated under the Apple umbrella. Right now they're the top dog by a mile, so they don't have to cooperate.
Mike_WI likes this.
NashGuy is offline  
post #21981 of 26698 Old 04-16-2019, 06:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by usernameunknown View Post
In some scenarios the receiver is expecting 4:4:4 but the Apple TV is putting out 4:2:2. Apparently it's a handshake issue. Not sure what steps you've taken so far, but you could try changing the mode on the Onkyo.

You can change this by Hold tone and press return on the receiver. Brings up menu. Whatever HDMI port you have your Apple TV in change it from mode 1 to mode 2. (Hat tip to Thormus for calling Onkyo on this one)

I haven't hand any issues with my TX-NR686 since the last round of Apple updates, but the above is worth a shot if you haven't tried it yet.
Thanks for the tip yet I have done and it was unsuccessful.

HT TCL 55P605, Mitsubishi HC6500, Pioneer UDP LX500, Panasonic LX1000, Firestick 4K, ATV4K, Onkyo TX-NR787, DefTech, Klipsch, Martin Logan, SVS @ 5.2.4 Atmos
Stereo Sansui SR-4050, Dual 1219, Pioneer UDP LX500, Emotiva PT-100, Be One Audio MA100, Polk Monitor 10, SVS SB1000
bguzman is online now  
post #21982 of 26698 Old 04-16-2019, 06:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I ran into this issue when my TCL 6 series updated to OS9. Luckily they were able to roll me back to OS8. After working with a Roku support person on the Roku forums.

I too was going through an Onkyo, a 656 model. It works perfect with OS8, but with OS9 I had major issues with the ATV 4K and a Roku Streaming Stick+. And also a couple of 1080P devices showed up as DVI devices and wouldn't pass audio.
Thanks for the tip I will head over to the Roku forum.

HT TCL 55P605, Mitsubishi HC6500, Pioneer UDP LX500, Panasonic LX1000, Firestick 4K, ATV4K, Onkyo TX-NR787, DefTech, Klipsch, Martin Logan, SVS @ 5.2.4 Atmos
Stereo Sansui SR-4050, Dual 1219, Pioneer UDP LX500, Emotiva PT-100, Be One Audio MA100, Polk Monitor 10, SVS SB1000
bguzman is online now  
post #21983 of 26698 Old 04-17-2019, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wilbur_the_goose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokap View Post
Thanks for the response. Apple TV is more than video. I use their music App to access all my music that is in iTunes. All of my music is stored in iTunes and it is all in Apple’s iCloud. I am planning on doing a trial of Tidal and Qobuz but I still want access to my huge iTunes library that includes all my CD’s that I converted to AIFF.
I’m just trying to understand how to set up the Node2i before I buy it
Roon is your friend - Give it a shot - free trial.
bokap likes this.
wilbur_the_goose is offline  
post #21984 of 26698 Old 04-17-2019, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
bokap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
Roon is your friend - Give it a shot - free trial.
I know nothing about Roon other than that it is expensive. What will it do for me.
I already have so many subscriptions, Apple Music, Netflix, Hulu, DVD Netflix. I will either subscribe to Qobuz or Tidal.
If Roon has advantages over the software that Bluesound provides I would consider it
thanks
bokap is offline  
post #21985 of 26698 Old 04-17-2019, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokap View Post
Thanks for the response. Apple TV is more than video. I use their music App to access all my music that is in iTunes. All of my music is stored in iTunes and it is all in Apple’s iCloud. I am planning on doing a trial of Tidal and Qobuz but I still want access to my huge iTunes library that includes all my CD’s that I converted to AIFF.
I’m just trying to understand how to set up the Node2i before I buy it
HomePod...?

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR797
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
post #21986 of 26698 Old 04-17-2019, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
bokap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 33
[QUOTE=R8ders2K;57915596]HomePod...?[/QUOTE

I have had my questions answered by Qobuz. Bluesound Node2i is what I will be buying
Someone posted I needed Roon. I answered that I don't know anything about Roon
bokap is offline  
post #21987 of 26698 Old 04-17-2019, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 428
So what's the consensus on the best way to subscribe to HBO on the ATV4K? I've heard previously that Prime is the way to go, but is it still better looking/sounding than the HBONow app?


Thanks.
roland6465 is offline  
post #21988 of 26698 Old 04-17-2019, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 941 Post(s)
Liked: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by roland6465 View Post
So what's the consensus on the best way to subscribe to HBO on the ATV4K? I've heard previously that Prime is the way to go, but is it still better looking/sounding than the HBONow app?


Thanks.

Go through Prime and you get it both ways! Directly through Amazon app and you get the HBONOW app to boot..
Gerry

Sony XBR 75X940E - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - ATV 4K - 2019 Shield TV Pro
ggw2000 is offline  
post #21989 of 26698 Old 04-17-2019, 08:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by roland6465 View Post
So what's the consensus on the best way to subscribe to HBO on the ATV4K? I've heard previously that Prime is the way to go, but is it still better looking/sounding than the HBONow app?


Thanks.
I certainly hope Prime is still an improvement, because I watched the GOT season 8 premiere on HBO NOW, and the quality is abysmal (and my TV is just 55"). I can't believe HBO doesn't get more flak for their terrible streaming quality. Best show on TV and we get what appears to be a 5 mbps stream. Meanwhile Netflix looks close to UHD blu-ray quality. I'm always bummed when interesting new shows are announced on HBO rather Netflix or Amazon for this reason (and HBO calls themself a 'premium' TV service).
giomania likes this.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #21990 of 26698 Old 04-17-2019, 08:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by roland6465 View Post
So what's the consensus on the best way to subscribe to HBO on the ATV4K? I've heard previously that Prime is the way to go, but is it still better looking/sounding than the HBONow app?


Thanks.
For now, subscribe to HBO through Amazon Channels/Prime Video. But at some point in May, Apple is going to offer a similar thing called Apple TV Channels, which will allow you to subscribe to and watch HBO, Showtime, Starz, etc. right inside the TV app on the ATV4K. We'll see but my hunch is that will emerge as the absolute best way to subscription to any of those services on Apple's own hardware. So maybe be ready to cancel HBO on Amazon after one month and then switch over to HBO on Apple TV Channels.
NashGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off