Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 734 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29514Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21991 of 26142 Old 04-17-2019, 09:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,533
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
I certainly hope Prime is still an improvement, because I watched the GOT season 8 premiere on HBO NOW, and the quality is abysmal (and my TV is just 55"). I can't believe HBO doesn't get more flak for their terrible streaming quality. Best show on TV and we get what appears to be a 5 mbps stream. Meanwhile Netflix looks close to UHD blu-ray quality. I'm always bummed when interesting new shows are announced on HBO rather Netflix or Amazon for this reason (and HBO calls themself a 'premium' TV service).
I hear you. Same goes for Showtime (although the HD PQ in the Showtime apps is better than in the HBO apps). But I tend to believe that most (all?) major HBO series have been filmed and mastered in 4K (or even 4K HDR) for awhile now. They've even released S1 of GOT in 4K on UHD Blu-ray. You *know* at some point HBO is going to start offering content through their subscription service in 4K/HDR. The question is when. My guess is that it will coincide with the launch of WarnerMedia's upcoming streaming service this fall, which will reportedly be built around HBO.
Ted99 likes this.
NashGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21992 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 05:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by NashGuy View Post
For now, subscribe to HBO through Amazon Channels/Prime Video. But at some point in May, Apple is going to offer a similar thing called Apple TV Channels, which will allow you to subscribe to and watch HBO, Showtime, Starz, etc. right inside the TV app on the ATV4K. We'll see but my hunch is that will emerge as the absolute best way to subscription to any of those services on Apple's own hardware. So maybe be ready to cancel HBO on Amazon after one month and then switch over to HBO on Apple TV Channels.

Thanks for all the input, folks! I think this is the route I'll take. We're only going to subscribe for a month or two to finish GOT and S3 of True Detective.
roland6465 is offline  
post #21993 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 05:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
LDBetaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
I certainly hope Prime is still an improvement, because I watched the GOT season 8 premiere on HBO NOW, and the quality is abysmal (and my TV is just 55"). I can't believe HBO doesn't get more flak for their terrible streaming quality. Best show on TV and we get what appears to be a 5 mbps stream. Meanwhile Netflix looks close to UHD blu-ray quality. I'm always bummed when interesting new shows are announced on HBO rather Netflix or Amazon for this reason (and HBO calls themself a 'premium' TV service).
It looks like it may be more than just a bit rate problem:
https://www.indiewire.com/2019/04/ga...ee-1202059546/
giomania, galonzo and Mike_WI like this.
LDBetaGuy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21994 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 08:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDBetaGuy View Post
It looks like it may be more than just a bit rate problem:
https://www.indiewire.com/2019/04/ga...ee-1202059546/
It is also pretty dark from my FiOS Cisco DVR. I sometimes switch to ISF Expert Bright mode. The scene at the Umber House was especially dark. Except for the Blue eyes...LOL!

LG OLED 65C7P • Apple TV 4K • Roku Ultra 2018 • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray • LG UP970 UHD BD
Denon X3400H AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 CT Speaker System
gossamer88 is offline  
post #21995 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
I certainly hope Prime is still an improvement, because I watched the GOT season 8 premiere on HBO NOW, and the quality is abysmal (and my TV is just 55"). I can't believe HBO doesn't get more flak for their terrible streaming quality. Best show on TV and we get what appears to be a 5 mbps stream. Meanwhile Netflix looks close to UHD blu-ray quality. I'm always bummed when interesting new shows are announced on HBO rather Netflix or Amazon for this reason (and HBO calls themself a 'premium' TV service).
Think it depends on your bandwidth and equipment as my GOT (and other shows) via HBOGo have fantastic near-UHD quality.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #21996 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
I certainly hope Prime is still an improvement, because I watched the GOT season 8 premiere on HBO NOW, and the quality is abysmal (and my TV is just 55"). I can't believe HBO doesn't get more flak for their terrible streaming quality. Best show on TV and we get what appears to be a 5 mbps stream. Meanwhile Netflix looks close to UHD blu-ray quality. I'm always bummed when interesting new shows are announced on HBO rather Netflix or Amazon for this reason (and HBO calls themself a 'premium' TV service).
Think it depends on your bandwidth and equipment as my GOT (and other shows) via HBOGo have fantastic near-UHD quality.
I have a 150 mbps connection and watch via an Apple TV 4K. Not sure how you can claim it’s near UHD quality when HBO doesn’t even offer 4K or HDR, which is the selling point of UHD.
aaronwt, cydeweyz, bguzman and 2 others like this.
lockdown571 is offline  
post #21997 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
I have a 150 mbps connection and watch via an Apple TV 4K. Not sure how you can claim it’s near UHD quality when HBO doesn’t even offer 4K or HDR, which is the selling point of UHD.
Perhaps my display just does a way better job upscaling than yours (so, again, hardware-specific).

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #21998 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
I have a 150 mbps connection and watch via an Apple TV 4K. Not sure how you can claim it’s near UHD quality when HBO doesn’t even offer 4K or HDR, which is the selling point of UHD.
Perhaps my display just does a way better job upscaling than yours (so, again, hardware-specific).
Unless you have your Apple TV 4K set to 1080, your display is not doing any upscaling.
lockdown571 is offline  
post #21999 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
Unless you have your Apple TV 4K set to 1080, your display is not doing any upscaling.
Yep, my bad. Dunno what to tell you then, mine looks fantastic.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #22000 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,134
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4727 Post(s)
Liked: 2755
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotony View Post
The beta is a worthwhile update. Adds the ATV sleep on shutdown and app switcher. I've read more than once to force close an app with the Harmony app switcher, you need to double press the up directional button. I think we're all in agreement on that?

I've tried to force close an app by voice and Siri referred me to manual method with app switcher.

Outside is voice assistant and missing touch pad features, I don't see how Harmony could improve on the beta? I wish Harmony could get some voice assistant cooperation with OEMs. Touch and Siri would be worth a Harmony equipment upgrade! Until then, I'll use both remotes; I can't do without scrub and Siri.

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
I used to use the "Reboot" functionality for one of the Harmony buttons but I don't see "Reboot" available as a command under the Beta device for Harmony. Has anyone found a easy way to reboot without doing a bunch of key strokes in a sequence?

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #22001 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 02:51 PM
Member
 
jbnpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Think it depends on your bandwidth and equipment as my GOT (and other shows) via HBOGo have fantastic near-UHD quality.


Have to disagree. There is a significant quality difference between got via Blu ray and hbo streaming. In comparison Netflix does a much better job.

I have no idea why you claim it to be uhd quality... It's not even available in 4k/hdr which is almost criminal.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
aaronwt and smhealey like this.
jbnpaul is offline  
post #22002 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
brotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I used to use the "Reboot" functionality for one of the Harmony buttons but I don't see "Reboot" available as a command under the Beta device for Harmony. Has anyone found a easy way to reboot without doing a bunch of key strokes in a sequence?
I noticed that reboot wasn't there way back but forgot about it.

Seems it used to be easy to do with Siri remote too? Had to look it up; appears to be a timing thing, while looking at White LED on box. Hold TV and menu buttons until it flashes and release. Seems to be the only way besides creating a sequence through menu.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201836

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
brotony is online now  
post #22003 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,134
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4727 Post(s)
Liked: 2755
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotony View Post
I noticed that reboot wasn't there way back but forgot about it.

Seems it used to be easy to do with Siri remote too? Had to look it up; appears to be a timing thing, while looking at White LED on box. Hold TV and menu buttons until it flashes and release. Seems to be the only way besides creating a sequence through menu.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201836

Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
Interesting thanks! It seems it takes at least 5 - 10 seconds before it will reboot. Now I have to see if there is a way of simulating holding these two buttons for this time period on the Harmony.

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #22004 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,760
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1823 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I used to use the "Reboot" functionality for one of the Harmony buttons but I don't see "Reboot" available as a command under the Beta device for Harmony. Has anyone found a easy way to reboot without doing a bunch of key strokes in a sequence?


Also for @brotony

I have the reboot command in mine and assigned it to an unused key. Are you sure you entered the beta device per instructions “Harmony Beta TV” with no other Harmony devices included?




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Ph8te and gossamer88 like this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #22005 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 03:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,134
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4727 Post(s)
Liked: 2755
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Also for @brotony

I have the reboot command in mine and assigned it to an unused key. Are you sure you entered the beta device per instructions “Harmony Beta TV” with no other Harmony devices included?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Mine is called "Harmony Beta Test Apple TV". Is there more than one on Beta?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HarmonyBeta.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	8.8 KB
ID:	2554976  

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #22006 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 03:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,760
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1823 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Mine is called "Harmony Beta Test Apple TV". Is there more than one on Beta?


Yes, there is more than one, maybe 3 or 4? I learned this because I was testing different activities and noticed different device names gave different available commands.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #22007 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,659
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbnpaul View Post
Have to disagree. There is a significant quality difference between got via Blu ray and hbo streaming. In comparison Netflix does a much better job.

I have no idea why you claim it to be uhd quality... It's not even available in 4k/hdr which is almost criminal.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
And I might have to agree. My 4K display does a fine upscale from HBO Now, and formerly HBO Go, when coming through my AppleTV 4K or Firestick 4K and my Denon X2300W. I watched the latest GOT and it looked very, very good. Netflix looks better because most of their stuff is Dolby Vision 2160, IMO, while HBO is still 1080p. I have wired connections to my devices and my download is 90mbs.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is offline  
post #22008 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
And I might have to agree. My 4K display does a fine upscale from HBO Now, and formerly HBO Go, when coming through my AppleTV 4K or Firestick 4K and my Denon X2300W. I watched the latest GOT and it looked very, very good. Netflix looks better because most of their stuff is Dolby Vision 2160, IMO, while HBO is still 1080p. I have wired connections to my devices and my download is 90mbs.


The Apple TV will be doing the upscaling unless you have your menus set to 1080p


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Andrew Stirling is offline  
post #22009 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,134
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4727 Post(s)
Liked: 2755
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Yes, there is more than one, maybe 3 or 4? I learned this because I was testing different activities and noticed different device names gave different available commands.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I think I finally have the right one. Thanks to all!
brotony and m_snow like this.

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #22010 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 04:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 985 Post(s)
Liked: 889
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
Yes, there is more than one, maybe 3 or 4? I learned this because I was testing different activities and noticed different device names gave different available commands.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I only found one - 'Harmony Beta Test Apple TV'. This does have the reboot available to assign.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #22011 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,659
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Stirling View Post
The Apple TV will be doing the upscaling unless you have your menus set to 1080p


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Of course you are correct. My bottom line point is the same though. GOT looks great from HBO Now through that ATV. Perhaps those that are seeing less are using Wifi connections that get bottlenecked by neighboring users.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is offline  
post #22012 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
Of course you are correct. My bottom line point is the same though. GOT looks great from HBO Now through that ATV. Perhaps those that are seeing less are using Wifi connections that get bottlenecked by neighboring users.


Well. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. For me i watch GOTs from HBO on cable and I see a lot of blooming etc due to heavy compression. The quality isn’t high. What looks “great” to one is crap to another.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Brian Lynch is offline  
post #22013 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 06:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,659
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Lynch View Post
Well. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. For me i watch GOTs from HBO on cable and I see a lot of blooming etc due to heavy compression. The quality isn’t high. What looks “great” to one is crap to another.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
And that is why streaming is better provided you have the bandwidth to make a go of it. When I watched GOT, last many years, on Dish the picture couldn't compare to what I got with HBO Go. Now Dish doesn't have HBO at all so I am watching with Now it is beautiful.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is offline  
post #22014 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
And that is why streaming is better provided you have the bandwidth to make a go of it. When I watched GOT, last many years, on Dish the picture couldn't compare to what I got with HBO Go. Now Dish doesn't have HBO at all so I am watching with Now it is beautiful.


Totally agree. But for me- I have a 7.2.4 surround sound setup. So I’ll take some compressed video for better sound (5.1) vs steaming which in Canada is via crave and is 720p and 2.0 sound. Awful. Always trade offs.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Brian Lynch is offline  
post #22015 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,760
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1823 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
I only found one - 'Harmony Beta Test Apple TV'. This does have the reboot available to assign.


I found a few. If I typed in Harmony Beta 2 (and so on) it would be a different set of commands.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #22016 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
spear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbnpaul View Post
Have to disagree. There is a significant quality difference between got via Blu ray and hbo streaming. In comparison Netflix does a much better job.

I have no idea why you claim it to be uhd quality... It's not even available in 4k/hdr which is almost criminal.
To be fair, OP said "near UHD". Also, it was a response to someone who claimed that it was "terrible" and seemed to assume that it had to be terrible for everyone else. I don't think it's close to UHD but it most definitely is not terrible for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Lynch View Post
Well. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. For me i watch GOTs from HBO on cable and I see a lot of blooming etc due to heavy compression. The quality isn’t high. What looks “great” to one is crap to another.
No one here claimed HBO quality was great *everywhere* either. The discussion was about HBO Go/Now streaming, not cable/satellite. For me, the quality of HBO Go on the Apple TV 4k is certainly better than Comcast's HBO feed.
bobby94928, gomo657, Ph8te and 1 others like this.
spear is offline  
post #22017 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
PlasmaHiDef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
And that is why streaming is better provided you have the bandwidth to make a go of it. When I watched GOT, last many years, on Dish the picture couldn't compare to what I got with HBO Go. Now Dish doesn't have HBO at all so I am watching with Now it is beautiful.
+1 GOT on HBO Now using my ATV 4K was beautiful. I was shocked how clear the picture was. When I had cable during the last season of GOT, the picture was BAD. It's a shame how FIOS killed the PQ. I am sure other cable companies are the same.

The night scenes in the first episode of the new season really shined compared to previous seasons. No more washed out blacks!
TrendSetterX likes this.

LG OLED55B8PUA
LG OLED65C7P
LG UBK90
ATV 4K
Samsung HW-N950

Last edited by PlasmaHiDef; 04-18-2019 at 07:21 PM.
PlasmaHiDef is offline  
post #22018 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spear View Post
To be fair, OP said "near UHD". Also, it was a response to someone who claimed that it was "terrible" and seemed to assume that it had to be terrible for everyone else. I don't think it's close to UHD but it most definitely is not terrible for me.



No one here claimed HBO quality was great *everywhere* either. The discussion was about HBO Go/Now streaming, not cable/satellite. For me, the quality of HBO Go on the Apple TV 4k is certainly better than Comcast's HBO feed.


Totally fair. Canada has 1 option (other than pirating). I choose 5.1 over 2.0. You do you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Brian Lynch is offline  
post #22019 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 08:29 PM
Member
 
BarryDMartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Lynch View Post
Totally agree. But for me- I have a 7.2.4 surround sound setup. So I’ll take some compressed video for better sound (5.1) vs steaming which in Canada is via crave and is 720p and 2.0 sound. Awful. Always trade offs.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Streaming HBO from Crave is brutal!! It would be nice to get at least one of better picture or better sound. I might as well have added HBO to my cable package for the duration of GOT considering the poor quality of streaming.

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
Brian Lynch likes this.

Anthem AVM 60, 7.2.4 configuration with Emotive XPA-7 Gen3 and Anthem PVA 4 amplifiers.
B&W 683 S2 (FLR); B&W HTM61 S2 (C); B&W 685 S2 (SLR); B&W 685 S2 (RSLR); 4 x B&W CCM663 (Ceiling/Presence/Atmos); 2 x Sunfire HRS-12 (Subwoofers)
LG OLED65E6P, OPPO UDP-203, Project RPM1 Carbon Turntable, Apple TV 4K, Ultralink HDC-150 Power, Harmony Elite Remote, Arris Cable Box, Primacoustics London 12 Room Treatment
BarryDMartin is offline  
post #22020 of 26142 Old 04-18-2019, 08:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryDMartin View Post
Streaming HBO from Crave is brutal!! It would be nice to get at least one of better picture or better sound. I might as well have added HBO to my cable package for the duration of GOT considering the poor quality of streaming.

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk


Crave is third world quality. $20/month plus tax. 720 picture and 2.0 sound


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Brian Lynch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off