Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 747 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29984Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22381 of 26800 Old 05-05-2019, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Apple TV owners' thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by umenon View Post




The above is how my iTunes purchase of Casino looks



And below is how it looks on StarZ. Why???





Looks like the one on StarZ is being played with wrong aspect ratio. According to IMDb Casino was framed at 2.35:1


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Gardo, Ph8te and galonzo like this.
Andrew Stirling is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22382 of 26800 Old 05-05-2019, 04:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,570
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6649 Post(s)
Liked: 6471
Quote:
Originally Posted by umenon View Post




The above is how my iTunes purchase of Casino looks



And below is how it looks on StarZ. Why???





One looks like they used open matte (Starz) and ITunes looks to have the “correct” version of 2:35:1.
Gardo likes this.
Ph8te is offline  
post #22383 of 26800 Old 05-05-2019, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
umenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 987 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
One looks like they used open matte (Starz) and ITunes looks to have the “correct” version of 2:35:1.
Interesting that there are two different versions of the analog still exists and both got converted to digital. When making the movie did they locate the mics light fixtures etc out of the 16:9 frame even though they were planning to release it in 2:39:1. Or, was the intent to use the 16:9 as source for 4:3 displays? I realize this may be off topic, but really curious.
Tweeter2002 likes this.
umenon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22384 of 26800 Old 05-05-2019, 04:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,570
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6649 Post(s)
Liked: 6471
Quote:
Originally Posted by umenon View Post
Interesting that there are two different versions of the analog still exists and both got converted to digital. When making the movie did they locate the mics light fixtures etc out of the 16:9 frame even though they were planning to release it in 2:39:1. Or, was the intent to use the 16:9 as source for 4:3 displays? I realize this may be off topic, but really curious.


Depends on how the shot. Many films will be made “16:9” safe, just in case. For instance The Wire while filmed for 4:3 during all 5 seasons, they filmed 16:9 “safe”. Sometimes they have the “open” versions available other times they zoom to make things fit.
Ph8te is offline  
post #22385 of 26800 Old 05-06-2019, 07:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Casino was filmed in Super 35 which allows for variable aspect ratios. HBO commonly reframes widescreen movies for 16:9. Super 35 makes such reframes easy.
Flickpal is offline  
post #22386 of 26800 Old 05-06-2019, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Now that I have a true 4K HDR tv (LG C8), I have a few questions about the AppleTV 4K (latest version).

1) When set to output 4K HDR 60hz, does it convert SDR 1080P material (and other non-HDR video) to that?

2) if so, do I have to switch the output to SDR 1080P for non HDR programming or is there a way to have this done automatically ?

3) What version of HDR should I use: DV or HDR?

I stream Apple content in 4K and 1080P along with HBO and Amazon prime. Also play backed up Blu-ray’s in m4v off hard drive.

LG 55”C8 OLED Oppo BDP-103 Sony X800m2
Denon X3300W 5.2.2 PSB/M&K speakers
Samsung 55HU8550/SEK-3500U
Sonos 5.1 Playbase/sub/surrounds
CalMAN Home Enthusiast/i1display pro oem/i1 pro 2/Videoforge HDMI-2 TPG
keyoctave is offline  
post #22387 of 26800 Old 05-06-2019, 01:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,570
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6649 Post(s)
Liked: 6471
Apple TV owners' thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by keyoctave View Post
Now that I have a true 4K HDR tv (LG C8), I have a few questions about the AppleTV 4K (latest version).



1) When set to output 4K HDR 60hz, does it convert SDR 1080P material (and other non-HDR video) to that?



2) if so, do I have to switch the output to SDR 1080P for non HDR programming or is there a way to have this done automatically ?



3) What version of HDR should I use: DV or HDR?



I stream Apple content in 4K and 1080P along with HBO and Amazon prime. Also play backed up Blu-ray’s in m4v off hard drive.


Set to 4K60 SDR with match framerate and dynamic range set to ON. This way SDR plays for SDR and HDR (regardless of flavor) plays for HDR. Unfortunately not every app has the SDR flag, so if you set to HDR you’ll be watching “forced” HDR on some programming of not set like previously stated. The ATV4K will upscale everything to 4K as there is no “match resolution”. Most are ok with this as the ATV4K is not bad at upscaling.
galonzo likes this.
Ph8te is offline  
post #22388 of 26800 Old 05-06-2019, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,845
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2235 Post(s)
Liked: 1753
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyoctave View Post
Now that I have a true 4K HDR tv (LG C8), I have a few questions about the AppleTV 4K (latest version).
Please see the first post in this thread.
dianebrat and Ph8te like this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #22389 of 26800 Old 05-06-2019, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Set to 4K60 SDR with match framerate and dynamic range set to ON. This way SDR plays for SDR and HDR (regardless of flavor) plays for HDR. Unfortunately not every app has the SDR flag, so if you set to HDR you’ll be watching “forced” HDR on some programming of not set like previously stated. The ATV4K will upscale everything to 4K as there is no “match resolution”. Most are ok with this as the ATV4K is not bad at upscaling.
Thank you. That clears that up!

LG 55”C8 OLED Oppo BDP-103 Sony X800m2
Denon X3300W 5.2.2 PSB/M&K speakers
Samsung 55HU8550/SEK-3500U
Sonos 5.1 Playbase/sub/surrounds
CalMAN Home Enthusiast/i1display pro oem/i1 pro 2/Videoforge HDMI-2 TPG
keyoctave is offline  
post #22390 of 26800 Old 05-06-2019, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Please see the first post in this thread.
Should have looked there first. Thanks!

LG 55”C8 OLED Oppo BDP-103 Sony X800m2
Denon X3300W 5.2.2 PSB/M&K speakers
Samsung 55HU8550/SEK-3500U
Sonos 5.1 Playbase/sub/surrounds
CalMAN Home Enthusiast/i1display pro oem/i1 pro 2/Videoforge HDMI-2 TPG
keyoctave is offline  
post #22391 of 26800 Old 05-06-2019, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyoctave View Post
Should have looked there first. Thanks!
I would agree with the earlier advice to set the default output to 4K SDR 60 Hz and turn Dynamic Range Match to on, although you may wish to keep Frame Rate Match set to off. Some folks (myself included) find that turning it on creates various problems, including lips being out of sync with the audio on some content.
NashGuy is offline  
post #22392 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 08:46 AM
Member
 
gambler52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by NashGuy View Post
I would agree with the earlier advice to set the default output to 4K SDR 60 Hz and turn Dynamic Range Match to on, although you may wish to keep Frame Rate Match set to off. Some folks (myself included) find that turning it on creates various problems, including lips being out of sync with the audio on some content.
I noticed this issue watching Bosch last night on Prime. The sound was way ahead of the motion, lip sync. Is turning off Match Frame Rate the only fix? Running Apple TV through Denon to Lg C7. Thanks.

LG OLED 55C7
Denon AVR-X2300
Apple TV 4K
Channel Master OTA DVR
DirectTv Now Streaming Box (Beta), Phillips Blu-Ray 7502
gambler52 is offline  
post #22393 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by gambler52 View Post
I noticed this issue watching Bosch last night on Prime. The sound was way ahead of the motion, lip sync. Is turning off Match Frame Rate the only fix? Running Apple TV through Denon to Lg C7. Thanks.
Your display can’t keep up with the video in its native frame rate, hence the video delay. By disabling the ATV Match Frame Rate, you’re reducing the amount of work the display has to do so it’s able to keep up. The other fix would be to buy a display that has better/faster image processing. Anecdotally, LGs seem to show up with this problem more than others (or at least to a higher degree of delay).
galonzo likes this.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #22394 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 09:45 AM
Member
 
gambler52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Your display can’t keep up with the video in its native frame rate, hence the video delay. By disabling the ATV Match Frame Rate, you’re reducing the amount of work the display has to do so it’s able to keep up. The other fix would be to buy a display that has better/faster image processing. Anecdotally, LGs seem to show up with this problem more than others (or at least to a higher degree of delay).
Thanks for the advice, I will give it a try tonight. I don't think I will be giving up much with it turned off. I can always turn it back on if it becomes a problem with other shows.

LG OLED 55C7
Denon AVR-X2300
Apple TV 4K
Channel Master OTA DVR
DirectTv Now Streaming Box (Beta), Phillips Blu-Ray 7502
gambler52 is offline  
post #22395 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,087
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1584 Post(s)
Liked: 912
I love the Apple TV, my only gripe is that since audio is sent as LPCM I have no way of knowing if I am getting Stereo or Surround Sound or if I am getting E-AC-3 or AC-3. That is probably the fault of my soundbar I suppose since in the audio info it just tells me LPCM. I can tell when I have Atmos because that says Dolby Atmos MAT. Do all of the big apps put out E-AC-3? Netflix, Vudu, iTunes, Amazon ect....on other devices it would tell me LPCM if stereo Dolby Digital or Dolby Digital Plus.....Thanks guys.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #22396 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 10:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Laserfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 4,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
I love the Apple TV, my only gripe is that since audio is sent as LPCM I have no way of knowing if I am getting Stereo or Surround Sound or if I am getting E-AC-3 or AC-3. That is probably the fault of my soundbar I suppose since in the audio info it just tells me LPCM.
It seems this should be a question for your soundbar User Guide or Mfr i.e. "what does it do with multichannel LPCM?" I believe for example that my own Zvox processes 5.1 and simulates a surround effect, but honestly I can find no technical description of how this might work at zvox.com.




Found some (old) discussion of this quandry here:


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/195-s...r-speaker.html
Laserfan is offline  
post #22397 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,845
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2235 Post(s)
Liked: 1753
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Your display can’t keep up with the video in its native frame rate, hence the video delay. By disabling the ATV Match Frame Rate, you’re reducing the amount of work the display has to do so it’s able to keep up.
Not to say that this isn't true but if you've set the UI to [email protected]/SDR and turn off Match rate you're delivering 24/25FPS content at 60FPS. Neither of my LG OLEDs had/have this issue -- at my house it's entirely dependent on the source material and the source device (i.e. app on the ATV and channel on my TiVo).
spear and gambler52 like this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #22398 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 11:23 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,960
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 706 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Comcast bitrate for their linear HBO channel is capped at 4 Mb/s and is in a 720p/60 MPEG4(AVC) format.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Oof..thankfully there are streaming options
I subscribed to HBO only to watch Game of Thrones. I considered the streaming options, as everything is pretty much the same price, except for Comcast's additional taxes to pad their bill, as I found out after the fact. Granted, I also had no idea about the bit rate differences, so I am getting the shaft on both ends due to the higher price due to taxes, and the lesser bit rate.

That said, one big consideration in my decision was to be able to binge-record other HBO shows while I am subscribed, so it was worth a little more, but not at this quality level. Last, streaming is an issue, because thanks to the Comcast "Terabyte Internet Experience", our family of five is always pushing the limits of our monthly data cap. And when school is out, we go over easily, so that is when we use our two allotted months per year to exceed the data cap without additional charges.

Argh!

Mark

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is online now  
post #22399 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,570
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6649 Post(s)
Liked: 6471
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
I subscribed to HBO only to watch Game of Thrones. I considered the streaming options, as everything is pretty much the same price, except for Comcast's additional taxes to pad their bill, as I found out after the fact. Granted, I also had no idea about the bit rate differences, so I am getting the shaft on both ends due to the higher price due to taxes, and the lesser bit rate.



That said, one big consideration in my decision was to be able to binge-record other HBO shows while I am subscribed, so it was worth a little more, but not at this quality level. Last, streaming is an issue, because thanks to the Comcast "Terabyte Internet Experience", our family of five is always pushing the limits of our monthly data cap. And when school is out, we go over easily, so that is when we use our two allotted months per year to exceed the data cap without additional charges.



Argh!



Mark


No need to really record when everything is basically available via HBOGO I get it for folks who are fighting with caps, etc as it’s less bandwidth
Ph8te is offline  
post #22400 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,845
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2235 Post(s)
Liked: 1753
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
binge-record other HBO shows while I am subscribed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
No need to really record when everything is basically available via HBOGO

I read this as recording everything of interest available as on-demand during the six weeks (two months) GoT is showing. I subscribe just for the "season" since you can't buy the current season for the ATV (at least not from Apple).
giomania likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #22401 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,570
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6649 Post(s)
Liked: 6471
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
I read this as recording everything of interest available as on-demand during the six weeks (two months) GoT is showing. I subscribe just for the "season" since you can't buy the current season for the ATV (at least not from Apple).


Yeah, I was just giving an alternative, it seems many folks don’t know just how much is available. This al is moot if one subscribes for a short period or has limited bandwidth. It’s a shame that most of the “live” versions (cable/satellite) are such low quality.
giomania and ppasteur like this.
Ph8te is offline  
post #22402 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 02:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by gambler52 View Post
I noticed this issue watching Bosch last night on Prime. The sound was way ahead of the motion, lip sync. Is turning off Match Frame Rate the only fix? Running Apple TV through Denon to Lg C7. Thanks.
A lot of folks, myself included, find that lip sync is off in the Prime Video app on the Apple TV 4K regardless of whether you have Match Frame Rate turned on or off. It just seems to be a problem in Amazon's app or on their servers and there's nothing really that can be done to fix it. So if you're only seeing lip sync issues in that app, and not in any others, then my guess is that changing the Match Frame Rate setting won't matter. But you can try.
NashGuy is offline  
post #22403 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 02:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by NashGuy View Post
A lot of folks, myself included, find that lip sync is off in the Prime Video app on the Apple TV 4K regardless of whether you have Match Frame Rate turned on or off. It just seems to be a problem in Amazon's app or on their servers and there's nothing really that can be done to fix it. So if you're only seeing lip sync issues in that app, and not in any others, then my guess is that changing the Match Frame Rate setting won't matter. But you can try.


Yeah - I get it hit and miss in the Amazon app and in nothing else. Mrs. Maisel was really bad and I had to switch to the LG app, but then I’ll watch other Amazon shows on the Apple TV and there’s no problem.

On another matter, I just noticed Hulu has their originals and some other stuff up in 5.1 on my LG Hulu app, but Apple TV is still only stereo. It’s always one thing or another with this stuff.
galonzo and pappaduke like this.
met_fan is online now  
post #22404 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
Yeah - I get it hit and miss in the Amazon app and in nothing else. Mrs. Maisel was really bad and I had to switch to the LG app, but then I’ll watch other Amazon shows on the Apple TV and there’s no problem.
I notice it being worse on some shows than others but the audio sync seems to be at least slightly off on everything I watch through the Prime Video app on my ATV4K.

Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
On another matter, I just noticed Hulu has their originals and some other stuff up in 5.1 on my LG Hulu app, but Apple TV is still only stereo. It’s always one thing or another with this stuff.
Hmm. Well, it's a positive sign that they're now doing 5.1 audio at all. If it's there on a smart TV app, it should show up on the ATV app before long. I'll get excited, though, when Hulu starts offering 4K HDR like Netflix and Prime Video have been doing for a few years now...
NashGuy is offline  
post #22405 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 05:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,334
Mentioned: 205 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5156 Post(s)
Liked: 3624
That's so weird, I am using ATV4K and no sync issues what so ever. Is it only related to LG and the ATV?

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, XBox One & (X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #22406 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
machavez00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Phoenix, Az
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Anyone try using this, Calibr8?
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cali...061996443?mt=8
Brian Hampton likes this.

machavez00 is offline  
post #22407 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
That's so weird, I am using ATV4K and no sync issues what so ever. Is it only related to LG and the ATV?
Exacerbated by Amazon app.
Further exacerbated by amazon app with Match Framerate On. Further exacerbated by having an LG OLED.
mutelight and galonzo like this.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #22408 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 08:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,360
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2300 Post(s)
Liked: 2604
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
That's so weird, I am using ATV4K and no sync issues what so ever. Is it only related to LG and the ATV?

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
Nope, I get it on all 3 of my Sony TVs, it is the app itself.
mutelight is online now  
post #22409 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 11:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
That's so weird, I am using ATV4K and no sync issues what so ever. Is it only related to LG and the ATV?

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk


I used to have zero sync issues and then I changed my amplifier from a Yamaha 3050 to a 3070. Now I need to set a delay of 115ms for all 23.976Hz material and a delay of 0ms for all 50Hz and 60Hz material.

I do have an LG tv but I can’t explain why changing my amp introduced the issue


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
shoman94 and galonzo like this.
Andrew Stirling is offline  
post #22410 of 26800 Old 05-07-2019, 11:45 PM
Member
 
BarryDMartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Exacerbated by Amazon app.
Further exacerbated by amazon app with Match Framerate On. Further exacerbated by having an LG OLED.
I have an LG E6 and using the Prime app with Match Framerate On (going through an Anthem AVM 60) I have no audio lag whatsoever. I have been watching episodes of Bosch the past few nights with no concerns, but I checked extra carefully tonight after seeing this discussion. The only difference I can think of might be a different server streaming to the Canadian market??

Anthem AVM 60, 7.2.4 configuration with Emotive XPA-7 Gen3 and Anthem PVA 4 amplifiers.
B&W 683 S2 (FLR); B&W HTM61 S2 (C); B&W 685 S2 (SLR); B&W 685 S2 (RSLR); 4 x B&W CCM663 (Ceiling/Presence/Atmos); 2 x Sunfire HRS-12 (Subwoofers)
LG OLED65E6P, OPPO UDP-203, Project RPM1 Carbon Turntable, Apple TV 4K, Ultralink HDC-150 Power, Harmony Elite Remote, Arris Cable Box, Primacoustics London 12 Room Treatment
BarryDMartin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off