Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 749 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 30606Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22441 of 27612 Old 05-08-2019, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
bokap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I have a brand new Apple 4K, 950G Sony, 1120 Anthem receiver. Netflix will play Atmos. Amazon will not. Tech support says Sony does not support Amazon Atmos, but I use Apple TV for my apps which is hooked up via HDMI to the Anthem. Is there any way to have Atmos with Amazon Prime? Thanks
bokap is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22442 of 27612 Old 05-08-2019, 06:55 PM
Member
 
agerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 27
My Apple TV is plugged into a Denon X3400 avr to an LG C8 TV. I have "HDMI deep color" on for the avr and the tv. Is it ok to leave this on even when watching SDR sources from the Apple TV? Does it affect SDR picture quality in any way?

Aperion Verus Grand Bookshelf L/R
Aperion Verus Grand Center Channel
Aperion Verus Forte Satellite
SVS PB-1000
Denon X3400 / LG C8 65inch OLED / ATV4K

Last edited by agerson; 05-08-2019 at 07:01 PM.
agerson is offline  
post #22443 of 27612 Old 05-08-2019, 07:07 PM
Member
 
gambler52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by agerson View Post
My Apple TV is plugged into a Denon X3400 avr to an LG C8 TV. I have "HDMI deep color" on for the avr and the tv. Is it ok to leave this on even when watching SDR sources from the Apple TV? Does it affect SDR picture quality in any way?
You may want to read the first post. I have a similar set up and have the Denon set to no processing of the video and the LG C7 set to enable. It will improve your picture. Don't forget to apply to all inputs on the LG.

LG OLED 55C7
Denon AVR-X2300
Apple TV 4K
Channel Master OTA DVR
DirectTv Now Streaming Box (Beta), Phillips Blu-Ray 7502
gambler52 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22444 of 27612 Old 05-08-2019, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,539
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5302 Post(s)
Liked: 3675
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokap View Post
I have a brand new Apple 4K, 950G Sony, 1120 Anthem receiver. Netflix will play Atmos. Amazon will not. Tech support says Sony does not support Amazon Atmos, but I use Apple TV for my apps which is hooked up via HDMI to the Anthem. Is there any way to have Atmos with Amazon Prime? Thanks
I get Atmos with the ATV 4k on Prime. What are your ATV audio settings?

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
bokap likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #22445 of 27612 Old 05-08-2019, 08:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
usc1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokap View Post
I have a brand new Apple 4K, 950G Sony, 1120 Anthem receiver. Netflix will play Atmos. Amazon will not. Tech support says Sony does not support Amazon Atmos, but I use Apple TV for my apps which is hooked up via HDMI to the Anthem. Is there any way to have Atmos with Amazon Prime? Thanks


What are you watching on Prime? As far as I know, Jack Ryan is the only content Amazon has released on Prime so far. Give it a try and report back.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
usc1995 is offline  
post #22446 of 27612 Old 05-08-2019, 08:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,761
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1076 Post(s)
Liked: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokap View Post
I have a brand new Apple 4K, 950G Sony, 1120 Anthem receiver. Netflix will play Atmos. Amazon will not. Tech support says Sony does not support Amazon Atmos, but I use Apple TV for my apps which is hooked up via HDMI to the Anthem. Is there any way to have Atmos with Amazon Prime? Thanks
Not sure, I don’t use my ATV 4k for Amazon Prime ATMOS, I use my FireTV Stick 4k or my Shield. That said, their are only 2 shows that I know of that have ATMOS on Prime, Jack Ryan and Suspiria...
galonzo likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is online now  
post #22447 of 27612 Old 05-08-2019, 08:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,698
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6726 Post(s)
Liked: 6574
Quote:
Originally Posted by agerson View Post
My Apple TV is plugged into a Denon X3400 avr to an LG C8 TV. I have "HDMI deep color" on for the avr and the tv. Is it ok to leave this on even when watching SDR sources from the Apple TV? Does it affect SDR picture quality in any way?


You should be fine. You need this string set to ON for when you watch 4K HDR (any flavor). This is how I have my B7 and 930H set up (Deep color and 4K Enhanced).
Ph8te is offline  
post #22448 of 27612 Old 05-08-2019, 09:58 PM
Senior Member
 
bokap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I get Atmos with the ATV 4k on Prime. What are your ATV audio settings?

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
I sent a reply with the settings. Now I don't see my response so I sent photo. Last night I tried enabling Dolby Vision but it didn't work and I had to reboot Apple TV
Today I tried enabling Atmos on Audio but then I had no audio on Netflix. I didn't check anything else. I just went back to auto
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0068.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	1.37 MB
ID:	2564414  
bokap is offline  
post #22449 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Laserfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 4,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 141
This ATV4K continues to confuse me. I set the Format to 4K SDR but then I get something that says "are you HDR-ready" and after it checks and says I am, it changes the Format to 4K HDR. Further, my screen looks different from bokap's. Must be one of those things where the Apple display is different depending on what one might have playing at the time of checking the setting or something???
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-04-28_16-33-24_930.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	29.5 KB
ID:	2564638  
Laserfan is offline  
post #22450 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserfan View Post
This ATV4K continues to confuse me. I set the Format to 4K SDR but then I get something that says "are you HDR-ready" and after it checks and says I am, it changes the Format to 4K HDR. Further, my screen looks different from bokap's. Must be one of those things where the Apple display is different depending on what one might have playing at the time of checking the setting or something???
If you have a DV-capable system it asks about DV. If HDR, then HDR. Leave it on SDR and you’ll get HDR and/or DV.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is online now  
post #22451 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Laserfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 4,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
If you have a DV-capable system it asks about DV. If HDR, then HDR. Leave it on SDR and you’ll get HDR and/or DV.
Thanks...I will switch it back and then I guess I better test it. Which I think for me would mean streaming an HDR program and then selecting Info on my Sony projector to see that it says HDR.

OK dumb question maybe: if my system is not DV-capable, but I played iTunes "Interstellar 4K DV" using my ATV4K, was I getting any HDR effect, or not? It looked spectacular, but I am not at all sure I'd know HDR when I saw it!!?!! I guess I need to get Interstellar going again and look at the Sony projector's Info screen to see if it says "HDR" on it.
Laserfan is offline  
post #22452 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,951
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2310 Post(s)
Liked: 1827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Culpepper View Post
Is there an ATV setting that will enable more audio details?
No. You AVR should show the relevant details.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserfan View Post

All we get is the (for me anyway with my Denon AVR) display of 5.1 channels coming-in to it.
Don't blame Apple for your inadequate AVR.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #22453 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Laserfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 4,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
No. You AVR should show the relevant details.
Don't blame Apple for your inadequate AVR.
Nice guy.

I was simply stating Apple should have an Info display w/o needing any AVR (or in some folks' cases) their soundbar to have to (try to) report what the ATV4K is outputting.
naustin likes this.
Laserfan is offline  
post #22454 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Apple TV owners' thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserfan View Post
OK dumb question maybe: if my system is not DV-capable, but I played iTunes "Interstellar 4K DV" using my ATV4K, was I getting any HDR effect, or not? It looked spectacular, but I am not at all sure I'd know HDR when I saw it!!?!! I guess I need to get Interstellar going again and look at the Sony projector's Info screen to see if it says "HDR" on it.
Bodoson should conform, but I believe the badges displayed on a program’s Info are simply telling you the maximum feature-set available for that program. If you have an HDR-Only setup, your AppleTv will request the HDR version of the asset (although there are some formats the AppleTv modifies on the fly - DV to HDR May be one of these. Again Bodoson should confirm (and this is also all likely to be present in the first post of this thread - but I’m mobile and the first thread can be difficult to peruse when mobile)

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is online now  
post #22455 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,951
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2310 Post(s)
Liked: 1827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserfan View Post
but then I get something that says "are you HDR-ready" and after it checks and says I am, it changes the Format to 4K HDR.
This is Apple's covert campaign to get people to set the UI default to HDR.
It might make the HDR screensavers look better.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserfan View Post
was I getting any HDR effect, or not?
The ATV converts DoVi to HDR-10 as required. As you suggest the definitive answer to "what's my state" should be provided by the rendering/processing devices (AVR, display, signal processor etc.)
galonzo likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #22456 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,951
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2310 Post(s)
Liked: 1827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserfan View Post
This (keeping tech info from users) is the kind of Mother Apple thing that really ticks me off about them. Like they won't let you see what bitrate your WiFi is working at with your iPhone or iPad.
All we get is the (for me anyway with my Denon AVR) display of 5.1 channels coming-in to it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserfan View Post
... I was simply stating Apple should have an Info display w/o needing any AVR (or in some folks' cases) their soundbar to have to (try to) report what the ATV4K is outputting.
That's not what you said at all. The ATV currently has two flavors of audio output (LPCM and AC-3) and you pick which you want.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #22457 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,539
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5302 Post(s)
Liked: 3675
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

The ATV converts DoVi to HDR-10 as required.
The ATV is converting Dolby Vision to HDR10?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #22458 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Earth
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Here is my bitrate according to my AVR/PREAMP this is why I felt that I had been getting better audio from Netflix @bodosom
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190505_004433.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	380.1 KB
ID:	2564674  

Projector: VPLHW40ES + DIY 125" Screen AVR: CX-A5100 + B&K REF 200.7
Speakers: DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP2000(FL/FR), CLR2000 (C), DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY BP10 (RL/RR),
MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling ATMOS/DTS), (4) MONITOR AUDIO CT265FX (Ceiling R/L REAR SURR)
Tweeter2002 is offline  
post #22459 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2314 Post(s)
Liked: 2667
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
The ATV is converting Dolby Vision to HDR10?
Yup with content that is in Dolby Vision and when the Apple TV is connected to a TV that only support HDR10.
galonzo likes this.
mutelight is offline  
post #22460 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 02:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,539
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5302 Post(s)
Liked: 3675
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
Yup with content that is in Dolby Vision and when the Apple TV is connected to a TV that only support HDR10.
Do you know of any documentation that I could read about this? I want to learn something. This is the first I hear of any device doing this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #22461 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,951
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2310 Post(s)
Liked: 1827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweeter2002 View Post
Here is my bitrate according to my AVR/PREAMP this is why I felt that I had been getting better audio from Netflix @bodosom
I don't know what this means but if it's an ATV4K then you're limited to AC-3 performance when you force AC-3.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #22462 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2314 Post(s)
Liked: 2667
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Do you know of any documentation that I could read about this? I want to learn something. This is the first I hear of any device doing this.
mutelight is offline  
post #22463 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,951
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2310 Post(s)
Liked: 1827
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
This is the first I hear of any device doing this.
You should read the first post in this thread. There's also a thread dedicated to the issues this presents for some Sony projectors.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #22464 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,761
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1076 Post(s)
Liked: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
This is Apple's covert campaign to get people to set the UI default to HDR.
It might make the HDR screensavers look better.



The ATV converts DoVi to HDR-10 as required. As you suggest the definitive answer to "what's my state" should be provided by the rendering/processing devices (AVR, display, signal processor etc.)
I thought that DV already had the HDR10 data built in but also included additional metadata to make scene by scene adjustments. So effectively all the ATV has to do is pass the existing HDR10 base layer but not pass the additional DV metadata. So not really a "conversion", it just leaves out the stuff the non-DV capable display can't interpret/decode. Or maybe my understanding isn't correct?

Thankfully my projector seems to handle whatever the ATV is doing with the DV stuff just fine....

Mark
mjwagner is online now  
post #22465 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2314 Post(s)
Liked: 2667
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
I thought that DV already had the HDR10 data built in but also included additional metadata to make scene by scene adjustments. So effectively all the ATV has to do is pass the existing HDR10 base layer but not pass the additional DV metadata. So not really a "conversion", it just leaves out the stuff the non-DV capable display can't interpret/decode. Or maybe my understanding isn't correct?
That is only for 4K Blu-rays. They have a HDR10 base layer and then a 1080p DV metadata layer on top. Streaming is not the same and streams are either HDR10 or Dolby Vision.
giomania, Ph8te, shoman94 and 1 others like this.
mutelight is offline  
post #22466 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1593 Post(s)
Liked: 915
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Do you know of any documentation that I could read about this? I want to learn something. This is the first I hear of any device doing this.
To clarify, (you may already k ow this) if the film you are watching is only HDR10 (some iTunes Movies and Amazon Prime) then it will playback HDR10 natively. It's when you are watching something that is supposed to be in Dolby Vision on an HDR10 only device where it's converting on the spot.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
Ph8te likes this.
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #22467 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 02:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,539
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5302 Post(s)
Liked: 3675
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
You should read the first post in this thread. There's also a thread dedicated to the issues this presents for some Sony projectors.
I did read the first post and the only link I saw was to a Sony firmware.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #22468 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,761
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1076 Post(s)
Liked: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
That is only for 4K Blu-rays. They have a HDR10 base layer and then a 1080p DV metadata layer on top. Streaming is not the same and streams are either HDR10 or Dolby Vision.
Curious as to why streaming would be different. I suppose my underlying understanding of how DV works, base HDR10 data with the added DV data, is fundamentally not exactly accurate then. I always thought that if you fed a DV signal to a non-DV capable display it would just ignore the extra DV data and display as HDR10 since the HDR10 base layer was there in the DV signal. In fact I was told that by someone who knows much more about the technology than I do. But I suppose he could have been mistaken.

Mark
mjwagner is online now  
post #22469 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2314 Post(s)
Liked: 2667
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
Curious as to why streaming would be different. I suppose my underlying understanding of how DV works, base HDR10 data with the added DV data, is fundamentally not exactly accurate then. I always thought that if you fed a DV signal to a non-DV capable display it would just ignore the extra DV data and display as HDR10 since the HDR10 base layer was there in the DV signal. In fact I was told that by someone who knows much more about the technology than I do. But I suppose he could have been mistaken.
Your understanding is correct but as I pointed out, that is specific to 4K Blu-rays only which use two layers.

Streaming is either, SDR, HDR10, or DV and everything thing is single layer. iTunes only keeps one HDR version on their servers which is why the Apple TV converts DV titles to HDR10. However, services like Vudu store two different versions for HDR and depending on the capability of the device, the appropriate version is called.
mutelight is offline  
post #22470 of 27612 Old 05-09-2019, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,761
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1076 Post(s)
Liked: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
Your understanding is correct but as I pointed out, that is specific to 4K Blu-rays only which use two layers.

Streaming is either, SDR, HDR10, or DV and everything thing is single layer. iTunes only keeps one HDR version on their servers which is why the Apple TV converts DV titles to HDR10. However, services like Vudu store two different versions for HDR and depending on the capability of the device, the appropriate version is called.
Interesting. So what about something like NetFlix? As an example when I watch Umbrella Academy, on the info screen it shows that I am watching the DV version but my projector displays it as HDR. In this case what you are saying is that the ATV is doing a conversion to output HDR10? Again, thankfully it looks great on my Optoma UHZ65 projector!

Mark
mjwagner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , apple tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off