Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 766 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 32019Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22951 of 29096 Old 06-02-2019, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,401
Mentioned: 232 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2729 Post(s)
Liked: 2488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
I'm not saying it doesn't exist but it's certainly not all LG OLED's.

ATV4k -> Yamaha A-780 -> 65 C8. No audio sync issues with any content.

UHD/BD -> Yamaha A-780 -> 65 C8. No audio sync issues with any content.

Comcast local HDTV stations only -> 65 C8 -> optical to Yamaha A-780. No audio sync issues.
I have a 65 C7. No audio sync issues with any content.

Recently, I stopped using my AVR as a video source switcher. This was not due to audio sync issues associated with my Pioneer SC-99.
Quite simply, it doesn't pass Dolby Vision. So now I have a 4x2 matrix with Output 1 going direct to the TV, and Output 2 going to the AVR. I get to keep one of the last true Pioneer's for a few more years!

Anecdotally, it appears that complaints regarding audio sync issues are isolated to 6 series OLED's?

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22952 of 29096 Old 06-02-2019, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
freshmanjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
This is...false. Complete nonsense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Anecdotally it’s not. Nearly every time someone complains about delay that gets worse with DoVi, they have an LG OLED. But again - ANECDOTALLY - it could just be that it appears that way due to popularity of the displays
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
I have a 65 C7. No audio sync issues with any content.

Recently, I stopped using my AVR as a video source switcher. This was not due to audio sync issues associated with my Pioneer SC-99.
Quite simply, it doesn't pass Dolby Vision. So now I have a 4x2 matrix with Output 1 going direct to the TV, and Output 2 going to the AVR. I get to keep one of the last true Pioneer's for a few more years!

Anecdotally, it appears that complaints regarding audio sync issues are isolated to 6 series OLED's?
I bought a B7 and returned it because the audio sync was bad. Replaced with Sony and haven't had any issues. Same sources.
ggw2000 and galonzo like this.
freshmanjs is offline  
post #22953 of 29096 Old 06-02-2019, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ScottieBoysName's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1476 Post(s)
Liked: 561
Well....not sure what might have happened here or if anyone else has experienced this. I have 4 Apple TV 4K units in the house. They're all hard-wired/ethernet. One of them no longer works via ethernet. I've tried swapping cables, swapping the unit that is acting up with a unit that's not - no dice.

So, I should make an appointment with the genius bar? Or is there something else I can try?

The unit doesn't even give me an option to select ethernet - it doesn't recognize a cable is inserted at all.
ScottieBoysName is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22954 of 29096 Old 06-02-2019, 02:50 PM
Member
 
grimley141's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by purduelion View Post
I noticed that the flickering in the movies app only lasts about 15 seconds and then disappears. In the TV app, the flickering does not go away.

I would recommend trying the movies app again and giving it a few min.

Either way this is a bug that needs to be fixed, but for me a temp work around has been found.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


What’s the temporary workaround that you’re using?
grimley141 is offline  
post #22955 of 29096 Old 06-02-2019, 05:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimley141 View Post
What’s the temporary workaround that you’re using?


Like I mentioned: use the iTunes movie app instead of the tv app.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Main: YouTubeTV -> Apple TV 4k -> Anthem MRX 720 (5.1.2 DTS:Neural X) <-> Sony 65A1E
Den: Apple TV -> Pioneer Kuro PDP-5010FD

DTS beats Dolby.
purduelion is offline  
post #22956 of 29096 Old 06-02-2019, 06:57 PM
Member
 
grimley141's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by purduelion View Post
Like I mentioned: use the iTunes movie app instead of the tv app.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


Thanks. I’ve been doing that too.
grimley141 is offline  
post #22957 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 01:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 598
It’s a bit of a show-stopping bug to be honest. I don’t imagine it’ll be broken too long but then I wouldn’t have thought it would’ve got past beta testing either!




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Brian Hampton and galonzo like this.
Andrew Stirling is offline  
post #22958 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 02:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,402
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1568 Post(s)
Liked: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottieBoysName View Post
Well....not sure what might have happened here or if anyone else has experienced this. I have 4 Apple TV 4K units in the house. They're all hard-wired/ethernet. One of them no longer works via ethernet. I've tried swapping cables, swapping the unit that is acting up with a unit that's not - no dice.

So, I should make an appointment with the genius bar? Or is there something else I can try?

The unit doesn't even give me an option to select ethernet - it doesn't recognize a cable is inserted at all.
Thankfully the ATV4K is fairly simple. If blowing out the connection port doesn't fix this I think it's time for service.

You could start with a reset.... because maybe it's just a software glitch and that could fix it.... it's just a good trouble shooting step anyway.
m_snow likes this.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #22959 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 05:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ScottieBoysName's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1476 Post(s)
Liked: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Thankfully the ATV4K is fairly simple. If blowing out the connection port doesn't fix this I think it's time for service.



You could start with a reset.... because maybe it's just a software glitch and that could fix it.... it's just a good trouble shooting step anyway.


Thanks. Tried all of those. Blew out the port, did a full reset. No dice. Still won’t work.

I’m going to take it in.
ScottieBoysName is offline  
post #22960 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdg4vfx View Post
OK! Found a reasonably priced HDMI splitter that works for using an AT4K with an older AVR (pre 4K/HDR) and a 4K/HDR TV. The unit is specifically designed for this purpose.

The ViewHD VHD-UHAE2 for $65 on Amazon (Prime members can return it free if it doesn't work.) https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Supports up to 4K/60, 4:4:4, HDR/DV.
- HDMI-Out-1 does a pass-thru of HDMI-In with full video and audio signals untouched. This out also has the option to supports ARC.
- HDMI-Out-2 passes through just the full audio from HDMI-In (the unit creates and sends a black 1080p video signal to accommodate legacy AVRs).
- Toslink Out extracts audio from HDMI-In and outputs the standard PCM and DD+ signals supported by Toslink. (Details in manual.)

Tested it this afternoon with ATV4K > Denon 1713 > LG 65E6P and everything works great. Handles HDR/DV fine as well as changing frame rates.

The only inconvenience is that since the video signal no longer goes through the AVR the AVR UI doesn't show up on screen when your tweaking settings. I got around that by running an HDMI cable from the AVR to a second HDMI input on the TV.
Thanks to this post, I bought one of these as well, and can testify that it works great! I too have an older AVR (Harman Kardon 2600) that doesn't do 4K, but still sounds great, so when I bought my Apple TV 4K it got plugged into my TCL 65R615, and the sound delivered via optical. But now, with this doodad, it's as though I'm hearing my ATV4K for the first time! Now I'm getting up to 7.1 multi-channel PCM, and it sounds like a different beast. Thanks for the info. I had looked into splitters before, but was convinced that nothing worked other than the too expensive HDFury stuff.
sdg4vfx likes this.
Bill Wolfer is offline  
post #22961 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 09:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Here's a question: When you watch a movie on iTunes or Vudu with Atmos, but you don't have an Atmos AVR, what happens to the Atmos tracks? Are they downmixed into everything, or are the rear surrounds carrying those tracks?

Case in point: I watched Annihilation on iTunes after I installed the new HDMI splitter (see above post). My Harman Kardon 2600 reported Multi-channel PCM 3/4.1, in other words, 7.1. I have a 7.1 setup, but had to wonder if the rears were playing what should have been overhead.

Movies in Atmos no longer have channel numbers listed, they just say Atmos. I know it's a different animal with object-oriented whatever, but there ARE still channels there. I'll have to see if any of my Atmos movies play in less than 7.1.

What gets me wondering is that the current crop of seven channel AVRs that have Atmos can be configured as 7.1 or 5.1.2.

Either way, it sounded great--that movie has killer sound design. I wish there was an easy way to mute channels to hear what they're playing rather than just disconnecting them. I'd like to hear what's coming from the rear surrounds. It's hard to tell, because usually, when they're active, all hell is breaking loose in the movie.
Bill Wolfer is offline  
post #22962 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
no_cure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 1. Jönköping Sverige / 2. DFW
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Wolfer View Post
Here's a question: When you watch a movie on iTunes or Vudu with Atmos, but you don't have an Atmos AVR, what happens to the Atmos tracks? Are they downmixed into everything, or are the rear surrounds carrying those tracks?

Case in point: I watched Annihilation on iTunes after I installed the new HDMI splitter (see above post). My Harman Kardon 2600 reported Multi-channel PCM 3/4.1, in other words, 7.1. I have a 7.1 setup, but had to wonder if the rears were playing what should have been overhead.

Movies in Atmos no longer have channel numbers listed, they just say Atmos. I know it's a different animal with object-oriented whatever, but there ARE still channels there. I'll have to see if any of my Atmos movies play in less than 7.1.

What gets me wondering is that the current crop of seven channel AVRs that have Atmos can be configured as 7.1 or 5.1.2.

Either way, it sounded great--that movie has killer sound design. I wish there was an easy way to mute channels to hear what they're playing rather than just disconnecting them. I'd like to hear what's coming from the rear surrounds. It's hard to tell, because usually, when they're active, all hell is breaking loose in the movie.
Bill - thanks for posting your findings.

I'm in the same boat as you: currently using an optical tosslink out of my Sony TV to extract 5.1 DD (AC-3/compressed audio) out of my ATV4k to my AVR/SSP. Since my setup consists of 'only' 5.2 channels, there is part of me that doubts the benefits of extracting HDMI audio feed from the ATV4k...will there be a perceived audio improvement? As I understand it, the ATV4k doesn't pass uncompressed bitstream, rather a LPCM 7.1 for most Netflix, Prime, MA or Vudu streamed content.

I guess the more relevant question would be, if the destination is a 5.2 setup, does DD 5.1 via optical sound inferior to DD+/LPCM 7.1 via HDMI (since my SSP will down-convert the 7.1 into 5.2 anyways)?
no_cure is online now  
post #22963 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by no_cure View Post
Bill - thanks for posting your findings.

I'm in the same boat as you: currently using an optical tosslink out of my Sony TV to extract 5.1 DD (AC-3/compressed audio) out of my ATV4k to my AVR/SSP. Since my setup consists of 'only' 5.2 channels, there is part of me that doubts the benefits of extracting HDMI audio feed from the ATV4k...will there be a perceived audio improvement? As I understand it, the ATV4k doesn't pass uncompressed bitstream, rather a LPCM 7.1 for most Netflix, Prime, MA or Vudu streamed content.

I guess the more relevant question would be, if the destination is a 5.2 setup, does DD 5.1 via optical sound inferior to DD+/LPCM 7.1 via HDMI (since my SSP will down-convert the 7.1 into 5.2 anyways)?
It's a good question but I don't know--maybe after living with this a bit longer I'll have more to say, but I think that there may be no actual difference other than the ability to play 7.1. It seemed 'better' to me last night, but I had also made some changes in speaker placement, so I can't say with any certainty.

The optical hookup does vary from TV to TV, as I discovered recently. Some TVs can play DTS 5.1 via optical, but some don't. I'll try comparing the two and report back.
Bill Wolfer is offline  
post #22964 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
no_cure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 1. Jönköping Sverige / 2. DFW
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Wolfer View Post
It's a good question but I don't know--maybe after living with this a bit longer I'll have more to say, but I think that there may be no actual difference other than the ability to play 7.1. It seemed 'better' to me last night, but I had also made some changes in speaker placement, so I can't say with any certainty.

The optical hookup does vary from TV to TV, as I discovered recently. Some TVs can play DTS 5.1 via optical, but some don't. I'll try comparing the two and report back.
Bill - danke schön!
no_cure is online now  
post #22965 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 12:48 PM
Member
 
RolandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Previews in iTunes Movies

Anyone having trouble loading movie previews in iTunes movies on the ATV4K after the latest update?
sdg4vfx likes this.
RolandM is offline  
post #22966 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,127
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2442 Post(s)
Liked: 1926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Wolfer View Post
Here's a question: When you watch a movie on iTunes or Vudu with Atmos, but you don't have an Atmos AVR, what happens to the Atmos tracks?
I'd suggest running the Atmos test (see the first post in this thread) to see what your system does.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #22967 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 01:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,402
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1568 Post(s)
Liked: 998
Hey,

I'm wondering what will happen to my iTunes copies of Batman when the 4K editions are released (tomorrow I think.)

I have HD copies of the 80's Batman movies and they won't qualify for upgrade to 4K because I got them through Vudu Disc2Digital and then they ported to iTunes via MoviesAnywhere.

I expect to receive new special features for the 4K versions and also ATMOS sound tracks. It will be easy to tell if I get new special features because only the first of the 4 films currently has extras. What I'm most curious about is will the HD copy get a new master ? The UHD disc comes with a newly mastered 1080p Blu Ray...

I would love to rebuy the old Batman movies in native 4K but will have to watch for them to hit that $4.99 price point.

-Brian

Last edited by Brian Hampton; 06-03-2019 at 01:58 PM.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #22968 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,127
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2442 Post(s)
Liked: 1926
Minor updates to tvOS/TV coming.

However two things of interest:
1) Multi-user/profile support in tvOS.
2) The new 32" 6K display is competing with the BVM-X300. Not OLED but 1M:1 contrast and constant 1,000 nit output and much less than $40K.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #22969 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 01:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,402
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1568 Post(s)
Liked: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
However two things of interest:
1) Multi-user/profile support in tvOS.
2) The new 32" 6K display is competing with the BVM-X300. Not OLED but 1M:1 contrast and constant 1,000 nit output and much less than $40K.
Peak output is 1600 nit.

(And I avoid OLED ... they burn in... so it not being OLED is a plus.)

Quote "This innovative design allows the display to maintain 1000 nits of brightness indefinitely, and up to 1600 nits of peak brightness. In other words, the Pro Display XDR will allow photo and video editors to work on content as its intended to look like when it’s delivered to the end user."

I guess they count on the end user having one of these too.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #22970 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,127
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2442 Post(s)
Liked: 1926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
I guess they count on the end user having one of these too.
Presumably no more than studios with X300s or Photons in the pipeline expect people to get those.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #22971 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,602
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1043 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
However two things of interest:
1) Multi-user/profile support in tvOS.
2) The new 32" 6K display is competing with the BVM-X300. Not OLED but 1M:1 contrast and constant 1,000 nit output and much less than $40K.
I've been predicting that tvOS 13 will include multi-user profile support. Hopefully they've designed it so that individual apps can opt into the system, letting us set a particular profile in Netflix, Hulu, etc. as the default profile to use in that app when tvOS is running a particular profile.

Also, it looks like what has been the TV app will become the actual home screen in tvOS 13, if I understand correctly. (I missed that part of the keynote live but read recaps.)
NashGuy is offline  
post #22972 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 03:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by NashGuy View Post
I've been predicting that tvOS 13 will include multi-user profile support. Hopefully they've designed it so that individual apps can opt into the system, letting us set a particular profile in Netflix, Hulu, etc. as the default profile to use in that app when tvOS is running a particular profile.

Also, it looks like what has been the TV app will become the actual home screen in tvOS 13, if I understand correctly. (I missed that part of the keynote live but read recaps.)
The TV app is not the home screen in tvOS 13, the new one looks very similar to the old home screen just with more rounded corners that match the new TV app design. I'm currently running the developer beta if anyone has any other questions about it.
Brian Hampton likes this.
jwort93 is offline  
post #22973 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,283
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2152 Post(s)
Liked: 1419
Apple TV owners' thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
The TV app is not the home screen in tvOS 13, the new one looks very similar to the old home screen just with more rounded corners that match the new TV app design. I'm currently running the developer beta if anyone has any other questions about it.


I’m running it to and I’m noticing some apps aren’t populating the top shelf. Also still no counts for 4K/HDR and HD in the TV app.

Edit: never mind it was just one app that had a problem with top shelf. Plex Beta.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite

Last edited by m_snow; 06-03-2019 at 03:50 PM.
m_snow is offline  
post #22974 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
I'd suggest running the Atmos test (see the first post in this thread) to see what your system does.
I played the "Leaf" trailer using Infuse 6. My AVR displayed multi-channel PCM 3/2.1.

I imagine that any Atmos metadata was completely ignored. But I'm still wondering if the Atmos stuff on iTunes is steering height channel info to the rear surrounds. Probably not--the Annihilation blu-ray has an Atmos track and a 7.1 TrueHD track.

I still need to see what my other Atmos movies do in iTunes. Just curious.
Bill Wolfer is offline  
post #22975 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
BdoUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
The TV app is not the home screen in tvOS 13, the new one looks very similar to the old home screen just with more rounded corners that match the new TV app design. I'm currently running the developer beta if anyone has any other questions about it.
This may be a long shot but any hints of being able to bitstream TrueHD/Atmos/DTSX tracks?
BdoUK is offline  
post #22976 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by BdoUK View Post
This may be a long shot but any hints of being able to bitstream TrueHD/Atmos/DTSX tracks?


I read through the release notes published in the developer portal, and nothing seemed to indicate that unfortunately.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jwort93 is offline  
post #22977 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1015 Post(s)
Liked: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwort93 View Post
I read through the release notes published in the developer portal, and nothing seemed to indicate that unfortunately.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Damn - the one thing that would make this box almost perfect.
galonzo likes this.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Fire TV Stick 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #22978 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Damn - the one thing that would make this box almost perfect.
Agreed, I would say that, and if they finally fix support for true (albeit rare) 24Hz content (it currently plays back at 23.976Hz, instead of 24.000Hz), it would be damn near perfect.
jwort93 is offline  
post #22979 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,127
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2442 Post(s)
Liked: 1926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Wolfer View Post
I played the "Leaf" trailer using Infuse 6. My AVR displayed multi-channel PCM 3/2.1.
You need to get the relevant test-tones file. Not the "trailers".

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #22980 of 29096 Old 06-03-2019, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,419
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2358 Post(s)
Liked: 2733
Quote:
Originally Posted by BdoUK View Post
This may be a long shot but any hints of being able to bitstream TrueHD/Atmos/DTSX tracks?
No hint unfortunately and when I installed the beta today I instantly started looking around the audio and video settings but no hints there.

I don't want to divulge anything I shouldn't but there are some nice quality of life features even in this very early beta but one thing I will say is that is is notably snappier and faster overall!
galonzo likes this.
mutelight is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , apple tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off