Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 774 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29514Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23191 of 26140 Old 06-17-2019, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAPTAINJPW View Post
Has anyone had any issues with Infuse causing black crush on HDR playback when subtitles or an onscreen menu is enabled? here is a link to the video I took showing what happens. https://streamable.com/zmpgg


Not an Infuse user, but this is sometimes/often caused by TVs that depending upon their tone mapping settings and other dynamic picture algorithm that can’t handle subtitles well with their algorithms.
galonzo likes this.
rsonnens is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23192 of 26140 Old 06-17-2019, 01:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by u8mycrackers View Post
After a couple months I am revisiting the HDMI-CEC power on/off to which the Apple TV (via ATV remote, siri, or shortcut) turns on the AVR, which turns on the Sony TV.

The reverse of which the Sony TV turns off the AVR which turns off the ATV works great. Very Solid but it will not work full duplex in the other direction. Is this possible? no harmony... I hear the comments already! LOL

Not a necessity but would be nice to work that way in my OCD world. I hope you understand..


It’s all dependent upon your specific equipment. For me and my LG V7 OLED and Denon AVR (with ATV/Blue-ray/ATV CEC devices) the answer is that CEC is borked and it often randomly switches to my ATV (and sometimes to my Blue-Ray) when when I power on my DirectTV box. I use a harmony solution.

You will just have to try it with your set up. If it works for you great otherwise just bitch about how CEC is screwed up and move on. ;-)
geoffrsc likes this.
rsonnens is online now  
post #23193 of 26140 Old 06-17-2019, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,262
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
I’ve heard other people mention it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yes my beta toggle disappeared also cannot figure how to get it back. Public beta.
utee05 and Garyoke like this.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23194 of 26140 Old 06-17-2019, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
bigck417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Yes my beta toggle disappeared also cannot figure how to get it back. Public beta.


I don’t think there are any public betas available right now are there?
bigck417 is offline  
post #23195 of 26140 Old 06-17-2019, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,262
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigck417 View Post
I don’t think there are any public betas available right now are there?
Yes I know but the toggle was always there

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #23196 of 26140 Old 06-17-2019, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TheRatPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Anyone notice the new northern lights screen saver, or am I late to the party?
bobola and Rodney Nicotine like this.
TheRatPatrol is offline  
post #23197 of 26140 Old 06-17-2019, 06:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Apple TV owners' thread.

Genius solution to a real problem for almost everyone. Glad Apple decided to tackle this in a future OS update. I hope it will be smart enough to generate different settings based upon different video and audio types.


https://www.reddit.com/r/appletv/com...ss_audio_sync/

Last edited by rsonnens; 06-17-2019 at 06:46 PM.
rsonnens is online now  
post #23198 of 26140 Old 06-17-2019, 06:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by u8mycrackers View Post
After a couple months I am revisiting the HDMI-CEC power on/off to which the Apple TV (via ATV remote, siri, or shortcut) turns on the AVR, which turns on the Sony TV.

The reverse of which the Sony TV turns off the AVR which turns off the ATV works great. Very Solid but it will not work full duplex in the other direction. Is this possible? no harmony... I hear the comments already! LOL

Not a necessity but would be nice to work that way in my OCD world. I hope you understand..


Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
It’s all dependent upon your specific equipment. For me and my LG V7 OLED and Denon AVR (with ATV/Blue-ray/ATV CEC devices) the answer is that CEC is borked and it often randomly switches to my ATV (and sometimes to my Blue-Ray) when when I power on my DirectTV box. I use a harmony solution.

You will just have to try it with your set up. If it works for you great otherwise just bitch about how CEC is screwed up and move on. ;-)
The problem is your AVR. The AppleTv, even when CEC Control is disabled, responds to CEC device profiling requests. This is within the CEC spec. The problem is that your AVR sees the AppleTv announce itself and assumes (incorrectly) that it’s a device powering on as opposed to a device just saying “I’m here.”

If you don’t want to control the AppleTv at all, and you don’t want its CEC responses to confuse other devices, then your best bet is the Lindy adapter from Amazon: Lindy HDMI CEC Less Adapter, Female to Male (41232) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DL48KVI..._UAdcDb3GNNPWR
galonzo and Musician like this.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #23199 of 26140 Old 06-17-2019, 07:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
checker9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,342
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1649 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Any inexpensive universal remote with voice recognition that would work as an Apple TV remote and command Siri also?
checker9 is online now  
post #23200 of 26140 Old 06-17-2019, 07:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
The problem is your AVR. The AppleTv, even when CEC Control is disabled, responds to CEC device profiling requests. This is within the CEC spec. The problem is that your AVR sees the AppleTv announce itself and assumes (incorrectly) that it’s a device powering on as opposed to a device just saying “I’m here.”

If you don’t want to control the AppleTv at all, and you don’t want its CEC responses to confuse other devices, then your best bet is the Lindy adapter from Amazon: Lindy HDMI CEC Less Adapter, Female to Male (41232) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DL48KVI..._UAdcDb3GNNPWR

You are correct for my case and it is not limited to the ATV. It happens with any CEC device that responds to an enumeration request from the TV. I’m not a CEC expert so I don’t know if the issue is fact the Denon AVR or how the LG OLED TV does the enumeration—with the same setup except having an older Sony 4K SDR tv I did not have this issue. I believe it is a CEC hdmi device enumeration related issue because of my work around below.

I have a fully working solution (and I don’t need a special cable.) I just limit my AVR to process only audio CEC commands from the TV (needed for ARC and using the TV volume control to control my AVR). This filters out the CEC device enumeration trigger by the TV that leaves the ATV or blue ray selected. I combine this with a harmony to control things.

As I said in my response to the op, CEC working all depends upon his equipment. He’ll just need to try it and see if things work for him and move on.
galonzo and Musician like this.
rsonnens is online now  
post #23201 of 26140 Old 06-17-2019, 10:36 PM
Newbie
 
JayDeePee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
You have to gift it to yourself.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
I have a question about previous purchased movies in my library. When you want a better version of a movie purchased on iTunes and it was SDR how do you gift it to yourself? Do you pay for it again? I've never understood this. Can you elaborate.
JayDeePee is offline  
post #23202 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 02:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayDeePee View Post
I have a question about previous purchased movies in my library. When you want a better version of a movie purchased on iTunes and it was SDR how do you gift it to yourself? Do you pay for it again? I've never understood this. Can you elaborate.


Yeah you pay for it again.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Andrew Stirling is offline  
post #23203 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 02:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,134
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4727 Post(s)
Liked: 2755
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayDeePee View Post
I have a question about previous purchased movies in my library. When you want a better version of a movie purchased on iTunes and it was SDR how do you gift it to yourself? Do you pay for it again? I've never understood this. Can you elaborate.
If you have a PC (not sure how it works on a MAC since they got rid of iTunes?), you can gift it to yourself as shown on image below:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hulk.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	196.5 KB
ID:	2581408  
galonzo likes this.

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #23204 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 06:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
The problem is your AVR. The AppleTv, even when CEC Control is disabled, responds to CEC device profiling requests. This is within the CEC spec. The problem is that your AVR sees the AppleTv announce itself and assumes (incorrectly) that it’s a device powering on as opposed to a device just saying “I’m here.”

If you don’t want to control the AppleTv at all, and you don’t want its CEC responses to confuse other devices, then your best bet is the Lindy adapter from Amazon: Lindy HDMI CEC Less Adapter, Female to Male (41232) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DL48KVI..._UAdcDb3GNNPWR
I had this issue between my ATV and new Yamaha AVR, and turning off SimpleLink fixed it. That disables ARC. I haven't missed ARC too much since I have pretty much all the same apps on the ATV. But I'm thinking of buying the Lindy so that I can use my LG's Smart TV version of the YouTube app. That YouTube app offers real 4k HDR while the ATV version does not.

If I do buy the Lindy, and I know its a crap shoot, where are you all installing it? Where the HDMI connects to the ATV? (I hope)
ItzMe is offline  
post #23205 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
I had this issue between my ATV and new Yamaha AVR, and turning off SimpleLink fixed it. That disables ARC. I haven't missed ARC too much since I have pretty much all the same apps on the ATV. But I'm thinking of buying the Lindy so that I can use my LG's Smart TV version of the YouTube app. That YouTube app offers real 4k HDR while the ATV version does not.



If I do buy the Lindy, and I know its a crap shoot, where are you all installing it? Where the HDMI connects to the ATV? (I hope)
Between AppleTV and AVR.
ItzMe likes this.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #23206 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 905 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Looks like IOS 13 will include a feature to help sync audio on Apple TV’s, pretty cool

https://9to5mac.com/2019/06/18/ios-1...nc-issues/amp/


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Buddylee123 is offline  
post #23207 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,209
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5072 Post(s)
Liked: 3583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddylee123 View Post
Looks like IOS 13 will include a feature to help sync audio on Apple TV’s, pretty cool

https://9to5mac.com/2019/06/18/ios-1...nc-issues/amp/


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Seems like an odd way to do it. You would have to do it every time you change audio format.

Sent from my BND-L24 using Tapatalk
galonzo and Salty01 like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #23208 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 905 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Seems like an odd way to do it. You would have to do it every time you change audio format.

Sent from my BND-L24 using Tapatalk


Does seem odd. I personally have never had any audio sync problems with the Apple tv


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Buddylee123 is offline  
post #23209 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,700
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2155 Post(s)
Liked: 1686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddylee123 View Post
Looks like IOS 13 will include a feature to help sync audio on Apple TV’s
This was noted nine posts back.
rsonnens likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #23210 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 905 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
This was noted nine posts back.


Thanks for that information


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ataneruo and Garyoke like this.
Buddylee123 is offline  
post #23211 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,700
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2155 Post(s)
Liked: 1686
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Seems like an odd way to do it. You would have to do it every time you change audio format.
It's a system level function (it's under Calibration) like the HDMI check. You would rerun it if you changed your TV.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #23212 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,209
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5072 Post(s)
Liked: 3583
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
It's a system level function (it's under Calibration) like the HDMI check. You would rerun it if you changed your TV.
But it changes depending on the audio output...ie Atmos or PCM 5.1 or PCM 2.0 etc.

When you have Atmos track on a non Atmos system, you can get an extra delay as well. This is why I like the auto delay built into the AVR so it can adjust every time content starts.


Sent from my BND-L24 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #23213 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
But it changes depending on the audio output...ie Atmos or PCM 5.1 or PCM 2.0 etc.

When you have Atmos track on a non Atmos system, you can get an extra delay as well. This is why I like the auto delay built into the AVR so it can adjust every time content starts.


Sent from my BND-L24 using Tapatalk


How do you know apples calibration test won’t vary audio AND video signals when testing? The issue of delay is not limited to just the audio format as TVs vary depending upon both frame rate, hdr, and TV specific features. I know of no AVR that can handle all this. This solution is the best because the hdmi lip sync protocol seems to be implemented poorly across systems.

This is an inspired solution to a bad problem if implemented well.
rsonnens is online now  
post #23214 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,700
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2155 Post(s)
Liked: 1686
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
But it changes depending on the audio output...ie Atmos or PCM 5.1 or PCM 2.0 etc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
How do you know apples calibration test won’t vary audio AND video signals when testing?
It sounds like you're thinking how it might work or how you'd hope it would work rather that actually doing it. None of what is mentioned above has anything to do with how it currently works.

You go to the calibration page and select wireless audio sync. A pop-up appears on your iOS device and you tap through three screens with your mobile device close to your TV*. Tones are generated via HDMI. There is no video and it doesn't use the camera in the mobile device.

I imagine it might send audio via HDMI to your speakers and perhaps the same audio via BT to the mobile device and compare the two audio inputs. Or not. Since there's no video being captured and you don't get to select any test specific audio attributes I don't see the point (yet). However this is a beta feature with all that implies.


*This bit makes it sound like this is for TV speakers. Not AVRs/soundbars.
galonzo likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8

Last edited by bodosom; 06-18-2019 at 11:42 AM.
bodosom is online now  
post #23215 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Wayne Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 24
HBO GO frame rate

When I watch HBO GO on my Apple TV 4K, the frame rate is always 60 frames per second. I did call Apple support about this, and they suggested a few things that didn't work. A lot of older HBO programs are available from Amazon Prime. The strange thing is that if I watch HBO programming using the Amazon app on the Apple TV, it streams with the native frame rate.

Any thoughts on this?
Wayne Z is offline  
post #23216 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 11:47 AM
Member
 
Burrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne Z View Post
When I watch HBO GO on my Apple TV 4K, the frame rate is always 60 frames per second. I did call Apple support about this, and they suggested a few things that didn't work. A lot of older HBO programs are available from Amazon Prime. The strange thing is that if I watch HBO programming using the Amazon app on the Apple TV, it streams with the native frame rate.

Any thoughts on this?
It's up to the app developer, in this case, HBO. Amazon has updated their app to support the frame rate match feature.
galonzo and naustin like this.
Burrens is online now  
post #23217 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
checker9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,342
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1649 Post(s)
Liked: 374
So if you Apple TV set to 4K SDR, the ATV will upscale all content to 4K? I have Dynamic Range and Frame Rate set On for match. There is no way to make resolution match so that if you are watching a 1080 or lower, it will send the signal in that resolution?
checker9 is online now  
post #23218 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,134
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4727 Post(s)
Liked: 2755
Quote:
Originally Posted by checker9 View Post
So if you Apple TV set to 4K SDR, the ATV will upscale all content to 4K? I have Dynamic Range and Frame Rate set On for match. There is no way to make resolution match so that if you are watching a 1080 or lower, it will send the signal in that resolution?
Yes, it doesn't have resolution matching. On my TV, it will always display 2160p for the resolution on the ATV4K using 4K SDR.
galonzo likes this.

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #23219 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
checker9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,342
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1649 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Yes, it doesn't have resolution matching. On my TV, it will always display 2160p for the resolution on the ATV4K using 4K SDR.

My Samsung UHD Blu-ray player is the same way. Not sure why they do not have native resolution option.
checker9 is online now  
post #23220 of 26140 Old 06-18-2019, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by checker9 View Post
My Samsung UHD Blu-ray player is the same way. Not sure why they do not have native resolution option.


Would be a nice option but there’s no real issue. If you have a 4k tv then it can only output 4k. If you feed it a 1080p signal then the tv will upscale it. This is usually the preferred option as it’s common for streaming devices to be very poor at upscaling (looking at you nvidia shield!) so people prefer to leave it to the tv. However, the Apple TV is pretty fantastic at upscaling and easily a match for most TVs


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Keenan and galonzo like this.
Andrew Stirling is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off