Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 784 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29506Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23491 of 26120 Old 06-30-2019, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,658
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Having a bit of a problem. I hooked up my Yamaha AVR RX A780 today to my LG C8 Oled and the LG will shut off after about 30 min. Running HDMI Premium Certified cable into oled input 2 ARC from 780 HDMI output 1.
Am viewing ATV Youtube (with also certified cable) into HDMI 1 on the Yamaha,

It's almost like the Oled is seeing no activity and shuts down though it usually will just do a screen saver.
Can't think of any setting I am using that would cause a conflict. I am not using any 780 processing, just going direct.

I am guessing I have the ATV set on Dolby Vision. Actually the ATV set itself on DV. When I first turned it on the ATV asked if I wanted DV and it checked to see if my TV will run that. It will.

Should I set the video to something other than DV on the ATV?
Yes, set it to 4K/SDR...
mjwagner and dreaux like this.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23492 of 26120 Old 06-30-2019, 12:13 PM
Member
 
tornesmock@comca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
Yes, set it to 4K/SDR...
Also, set match frame rate to yes ... then the ATV will auto change to DV when source has available.
mjwagner and dreaux like this.
[email protected] is offline  
post #23493 of 26120 Old 06-30-2019, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,658
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Also, set match frame rate to yes ... then the ATV will auto change to DV when source has available.
Absolutely, I forgot to mention that...
dreaux likes this.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23494 of 26120 Old 06-30-2019, 02:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,213
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3517 Post(s)
Liked: 2539
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Having a bit of a problem. I hooked up my Yamaha AVR RX A780 today to my LG C8 Oled and the LG will shut off after about 30 min. Running HDMI Premium Certified cable into oled input 2 ARC from 780 HDMI output 1.
Am viewing ATV Youtube (with also certified cable) into HDMI 1 on the Yamaha,

It's almost like the Oled is seeing no activity and shuts down though it usually will just do a screen saver.
Can't think of any setting I am using that would cause a conflict. I am not using any 780 processing, just going direct.

I am guessing I have the ATV set on Dolby Vision. Actually the ATV set itself on DV. When I first turned it on the ATV asked if I wanted DV and it checked to see if my TV will run that. It will.

Should I set the video to something other than DV on the ATV?
I have the Yamaha A-780 as my hub with the ATV4k connected to it. Single HDMI cable from the A-780 to the 65 C8. ARC/CEC is disabled on all HDMI connected devices because I don't need ARC and use a Harmony to control my HTS. My ATV4k settings are:

Video

Enable Dolby Vision
Format - 4k SDR @60Hz
HDMI Output - YCbCr
Chroma - 4:2:0
Match Content - Range & Frame Rate
Match Dynamic Range - On
Match Frame Rate - On

No issue playing any content from any app (Netflix, Amazon Prime, YouTube, etc). The Yamaha is set so that all audio and video is a direct pass-through. I previously used BJC Premium High Speed HDMI cables with no issues but am currently using short length Ruipro4k cables (hybrid fiber) as a test for Ruipro.
dreaux likes this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #23495 of 26120 Old 06-30-2019, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
I have the Yamaha A-780 as my hub with the ATV4k connected to it. Single HDMI cable from the A-780 to the 65 C8. ARC/CEC is disabled on all HDMI connected devices because I don't need ARC and use a Harmony to control my HTS. My ATV4k settings are:

Video

Enable Dolby Vision
Format - 4k SDR @60Hz
HDMI Output - YCbCr
Chroma - 4:2:0
Match Content - Range & Frame Rate
Match Dynamic Range - On
Match Frame Rate - On

No issue playing any content from any app (Netflix, Amazon Prime, YouTube, etc). The Yamaha is set so that all audio and video is a direct pass-through. I previously used BJC Premium High Speed HDMI cables with no issues but am currently using short length Ruipro4k cables (hybrid fiber) as a test for Ruipro.

Thanks, had the AVT4k sitting around and just hooked it up. I found the LG C8 internal apps to actually have a little better surround sound than the ATV, but that was with a soundbar.
Now that I have the Yamaha 780 AVR I'm sure the ATV will improve the audio quality.


Just making sure ..Chroma a 4:2:0 and not at 4:4:4?
Match Dynamic Range on?
dreaux is offline  
post #23496 of 26120 Old 06-30-2019, 08:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,213
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3517 Post(s)
Liked: 2539
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Thanks, had the AVT4k sitting around and just hooked it up. I found the LG C8 internal apps to actually have a little better surround sound than the ATV, but that was with a soundbar.
Now that I have the Yamaha 780 AVR I'm sure the ATV will improve the audio quality.


Just making sure ..Chroma a 4:2:0 and not at 4:4:4?
Match Dynamic Range on?
I've always been very happy with audio from the ATV4k thru the A-780 for my 5.1 system. Very clean and well defined. I rarely, if ever use the internal apps of the C8. I haven't setup Atmos and probably won't for a long time. Installing speakers in the ceiling would not pass the WAF

4:4:4 chroma is usually used for PC. Most content (movies, tv, sports) use 4:2:0 chroma. PC's and video games use 4:4:4. Yes, Match Dyamic Range and Match Frame Rate are both On.
dreaux, galonzo and Musician like this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #23497 of 26120 Old 06-30-2019, 08:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,209
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5072 Post(s)
Liked: 3583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
I've always been very happy with audio from the ATV4k thru the A-780 for my 5.1 system. Very clean and well defined. I rarely, if ever use the internal apps of the C8. I haven't setup Atmos and probably won't for a long time. Installing speakers in the ceiling would not pass the WAF



4:4:4 chroma is usually used for PC. Most content (movies, tv, sports) use 4:2:0 chroma. PC's and video games use 4:4:4. Yes, Match Dyamic Range and Match Frame Rate are both On.
I guess it would depend on the TV. Some TV's process these signals in different ways.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #23498 of 26120 Old 06-30-2019, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,213
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3517 Post(s)
Liked: 2539
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I guess it would depend on the TV. Some TV's process these signals in different ways.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
Possibly. All I know is that pq on my C8 is just phenomenal regardless of source with the settings I have for the ATV4k (and my UHD BD player as well).
shoman94 likes this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #23499 of 26120 Old 06-30-2019, 08:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
I've always been very happy with audio from the ATV4k thru the A-780 for my 5.1 system. Very clean and well defined. I rarely, if ever use the internal apps of the C8. I haven't setup Atmos and probably won't for a long time. Installing speakers in the ceiling would not pass the WAF

4:4:4 chroma is usually used for PC. Most content (movies, tv, sports) use 4:2:0 chroma. PC's and video games use 4:4:4. Yes, Match Dyamic Range and Match Frame Rate are both On.

Got it...thanks.
dreaux is offline  
post #23500 of 26120 Old 06-30-2019, 10:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,209
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5072 Post(s)
Liked: 3583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Possibly. All I know is that pq on my C8 is just phenomenal regardless of source with the settings I have for the ATV4k (and my UHD BD player as well).
I've read that some TVs change 420->422->444..... Same time gets 422->444..... Again same TV 444->422->444 when not in Game/PC mode.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #23501 of 26120 Old 06-30-2019, 11:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,213
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3517 Post(s)
Liked: 2539
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I've read that some TVs change 420->422->444..... Same time gets 422->444..... Again same TV 444->422->444 when not in Game/PC mode.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
I had not heard that. Only if you set your tv's HDMI input to PC then 4:4:4 is implemented. Other than that, whatever you set the source device to, the tv will use that chroma as long as the input is not set to pc mode. Makes no sense to me for the panel to change the chroma on the fly from something other than what the source is encoded in.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #23502 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 03:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,283
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 933
YouTube 4K

I know YouTube uses a codec for 4K that Apple doesn't want to support.

But,... I'm having more fun watching YouTube 4K demo videos from my Sony X700 than I usually have watching content From my ATV4K.

I think whenever the AppleTV app goes to Roku that it will be time for me to get a new device, ... unless ATV4K has a breakthrough in this lack of YouTube 4K -ness.


-Brian
galonzo likes this.

Last edited by Brian Hampton; 07-01-2019 at 05:11 AM.
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #23503 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobbino421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,993
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1285 Post(s)
Liked: 808
Question I have the Denon X4500H and I was watching Star Trek Discovery on the CBS all Access app through my Apple 4K TV. All I get is the is Multi ch on my Denon? Netflix I get Atmos when the content supports it but other shows in Multi Ch? Can someone explain this to me? I can’t get other Dolby formats? I get DD+ and other formats with my HD antenna and my other devices the same. I will also post this on the Denon thread. Thanks in advance!

Sony 55 A9F
Panasonic DP-UB820
Sony UBP-X700
Samsung HW-K950 Dolby Atmos sound bar
bobbino421 is online now  
post #23504 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,533
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
I know YouTube uses a codec for 4K that Apple doesn't want to support.

But,... I'm having more fun watching YouTube 4K demo videos from my Sony X700 than I usually have watching content From my ATV4K.

I think whenever the AppleTV app goes to Roku that it will be time for me to get a new device, ... unless ATV4K has a breakthrough in this lack of YouTube 4K -ness.


-Brian
Don't hold your breath waiting for the current ATV4K to play 4K HDR in YouTube.

My guess is that Apple won't release a new model of the Apple TV until they have a chip with hardware decoding support for the new royalty-free AV1 codec, which is supported by both Apple and Google (and just about every other important player in Hollywood and tech). We can expect Google/YouTube to offer 4K HDR videos encoded in AV1, and their app on the next version of the Apple TV to play them.

When will that next version of the Apple TV hit the market? Soonest possible date would be fall 2020, although spring 2021 is possible too. Just depends on how fast the technology develops.
NashGuy is offline  
post #23505 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hello All,

Is audio on the nvidia shield equal to the apple tv with Infuse Pro? I have both but thinking of ditching one of them... too many devices...
kenkkl is offline  
post #23506 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 08:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Laserfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 4,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 135
It has happened to me again that my ATV4K Video settings have "changed themselves" from my selected 4K SDR and Match...Both to 4K HDR and No matching.

I thought the "SDR vs HDR" options were related to the UI, but it seems clear to me that when my ATV discovers I have an HDR set that it decides on its own to adapt!!!?!!! But why should it change its Match Content mind? I suppose I need to get into the habit of checking these ahead of any viewings...
Laserfan is offline  
post #23507 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,132
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4727 Post(s)
Liked: 2755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserfan View Post
It has happened to me again that my ATV4K Video settings have "changed themselves" from my selected 4K SDR and Match...Both to 4K HDR and No matching.

I thought the "SDR vs HDR" options were related to the UI, but it seems clear to me that when my ATV discovers I have an HDR set that it decides on its own to adapt!!!?!!! But why should it change its Match Content mind? I suppose I need to get into the habit of checking these ahead of any viewings...
That's happened to my ATV4K a lot of times. Don't know what triggers it so I have got into the habit of checking those settings all the time?

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #23508 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 08:58 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,366
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2706 Post(s)
Liked: 1863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
I had not heard that. Only if you set your tv's HDMI input to PC then 4:4:4 is implemented. Other than that, whatever you set the source device to, the tv will use that chroma as long as the input is not set to pc mode. Makes no sense to me for the panel to change the chroma on the fly from something other than what the source is encoded in.
There's no such thing as 422 and 420 at the panel level. At the panel level only 444 exists and so everything is ultimately converted to 444 somewhere in the pipeline.

There are often all kinds of internal conversions that might happen which seem unnecessary, due to architectural choices in the video processing.

What you have posted is an idealistic view of all that theoretically needs to happen to get from a given input format to the panel. In reality there can be all kinds of constraints that are unexpected.
Keenan, shoman94 and galonzo like this.
bobof is online now  
post #23509 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,658
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbino421 View Post
Question I have the Denon X4500H and I was watching Star Trek Discovery on the CBS all Access app through my Apple 4K TV. All I get is the is Multi ch on my Denon? Netflix I get Atmos when the content supports it but other shows in Multi Ch? Can someone explain this to me? I can’t get other Dolby formats? I get DD+ and other formats with my HD antenna and my other devices the same. I will also post this on the Denon thread. Thanks in advance!
This is the way the ATV 4K works. When you see Multi Channel you are getting the full 5.1 just not see DD 5.1. Atmos is a bit different, when you are receiving an Atmos provided program the Denon will show Atmos. This is normal. You are getting the full array of Dolby formats when you see Multi Channel....

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #23510 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1820 Post(s)
Liked: 1121
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkkl View Post
Hello All,



Is audio on the nvidia shield equal to the apple tv with Infuse Pro? I have both but thinking of ditching one of them... too many devices...


Keep them both. The Shield is the only one that will give you 7.1 True HD/Atmos but it doesn’t have Dolby Vision. The Apple TV is technologically advanced, more powerful, faster and has DoVi.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #23511 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,213
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3517 Post(s)
Liked: 2539
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
There's no such thing as 422 and 420 at the panel level. At the panel level only 444 exists and so everything is ultimately converted to 444 somewhere in the pipeline.

There are often all kinds of internal conversions that might happen which seem unnecessary, due to architectural choices in the video processing.

What you have posted is an idealistic view of all that theoretically needs to happen to get from a given input format to the panel. In reality there can be all kinds of constraints that are unexpected.
Interesting. It seems then that setting the chroma is really only important at the source end provided that the source and data pipe (cable) can handle it. I would imagine that's why the ATV4k has the "cable check" option when you change chroma?

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #23512 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 10:03 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,366
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2706 Post(s)
Liked: 1863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Interesting. It seems then that setting the chroma is really only important at the source end provided that the source and data pipe (cable) can handle it. I would imagine that's why the ATV4k has the "cable check" option when you change chroma?
Depending on the implementation in the TV or perhaps intermediate AVR you might prefer to do the chroma upsampling in the TV or the AppleTV. Also where you have UI elements that are generated programatically with fades etc it can be preferable to use 444 output.

The cable check on changing chroma would be because 444 places higher requirements on the cable than 422, so it is a good time to suggest it I guess.
shoman94 and galonzo like this.
bobof is online now  
post #23513 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbino421 View Post
Question I have the Denon X4500H and I was watching Star Trek Discovery on the CBS all Access app through my Apple 4K TV. All I get is the is Multi ch on my Denon? Netflix I get Atmos when the content supports it but other shows in Multi Ch? Can someone explain this to me? I can’t get other Dolby formats? I get DD+ and other formats with my HD antenna and my other devices the same. I will also post this on the Denon thread. Thanks in advance!
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
This is the way the ATV 4K works. When you see Multi Channel you are getting the full 5.1 just not see DD 5.1. Atmos is a bit different, when you are receiving an Atmos provided program the Denon will show Atmos. This is normal. You are getting the full array of Dolby formats when you see Multi Channel....
Unfortunately, even though the Apple TV4K is sending a proper multi channel signal, in the US “Star Trek Discovery” is only streamed in stereo. I’ve heard in other countries (like Australia), they get it in DD5.1. It’s a shame such a storied, and technically advanced franchise has crippled audio. Do any of the CBS All Access programs have anything better than stereo audio?

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #23514 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
machavez00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Phoenix, Az
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Anyone else notice the search function has changed? Press to dictate is gone.

machavez00 is offline  
post #23515 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,658
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
Unfortunately, even though the Apple TV4K is sending a proper multi channel signal, in the US “Star Trek Discovery” is only streamed in stereo. I’ve heard in other countries (like Australia), they get it in DD5.1. It’s a shame such a storied, and technically advanced franchise has crippled audio. Do any of the CBS All Access programs have anything better than stereo audio?
My Denon reports a 5.1 input signal on the Denon app while the Denon itself shows Multi In when playing Discovery. It is very definitely a multi channel production, not stereo. Many of the prime time series are the same. When I look at Classic series available, specifically Cheers, in All Access these old stereo programs are indeed stereo and show up on the Denon as DD Surround. The Denon app agrees, it shows 2 channel input.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #23516 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
My Denon reports a 5.1 input signal on the Denon app while the Denon itself shows Multi In when playing Discovery. It is very definitely a multi channel production, not stereo. Many of the prime time series are the same. When I look at Classic series available, specifically Cheers, in All Access these old stereo programs are indeed stereo and show up on the Denon as DD Surround. The Denon app agrees, it shows 2 channel input.
Right, my processor reports 7.1 PCM from ATV4K for Discovery, but do you actually hear anything coming out of the surrounds?

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #23517 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,658
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
Right, my processor reports 7.1 PCM from ATV4K for Discovery, but do you actually hear anything coming out of the surrounds?
Oh God yes!

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #23518 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Has anyone noticed when streaming hdr and dv movies through the apple app that in dark scenes they flash ? I have 2 apple 4k boxes both do this through both my vizio 4k hdr-dv tvs .....and if i watch the same movies in vudu or movies anywhere apps this doesnt happen only with the apple app and 1080p content doesnt flash in the apple app only hdr n dv ,,,,i cant be the only one someone let me know if you notice this also =))
joe1003 is offline  
post #23519 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,658
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe1003 View Post
Has anyone noticed when streaming hdr and dv movies through the apple app that in dark scenes they flash ? I have 2 apple 4k boxes both do this through both my vizio 4k hdr-dv tvs .....and if i watch the same movies in vudu or movies anywhere apps this doesnt happen only with the apple app and 1080p content doesnt flash in the apple app only hdr n dv ,,,,i cant be the only one someone let me know if you notice this also =))
I haven't seen that on my Vizio. Can you name a few movies and precisely where in that movie you see this.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #23520 of 26120 Old 07-01-2019, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1820 Post(s)
Liked: 1121
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe1003 View Post
Has anyone noticed when streaming hdr and dv movies through the apple app that in dark scenes they flash ? I have 2 apple 4k boxes both do this through both my vizio 4k hdr-dv tvs .....and if i watch the same movies in vudu or movies anywhere apps this doesnt happen only with the apple app and 1080p content doesnt flash in the apple app only hdr n dv ,,,,i cant be the only one someone let me know if you notice this also =))


Try watching it through the iTunes Movies app instead of the Apple TV app and see if you have the same issue.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off