Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 789 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29118Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23641 of 25580 Old 07-10-2019, 01:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cheezmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,120
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by machavez00 View Post
Sound Check, on or off?
If you shuffle music from an iTunes library and use a good tool like iVolume to set the iTunes sound check volume normalization values, on.

Steve Martin
former ISF Calibrator
If you can see my pixels, you are sitting too close.
Sony XBR75X940D, Sony XBR55X930D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Oppo BDP-103, Oppo BDP-93,
Cheezmo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23642 of 25580 Old 07-10-2019, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,979
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4590 Post(s)
Liked: 2665
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheezmo View Post
If you shuffle music from an iTunes library and use a good tool like iVolume to set the iTunes sound check volume normalization values, on.
I've never heard of iVolume but is there a comparable app for iTunes and a PC?

lujan
561 Ultra HD
721 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #23643 of 25580 Old 07-10-2019, 05:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cheezmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,120
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I've never heard of iVolume but is there a comparable app for iTunes and a PC?
There is a Windows version. It does an excellent job of normalizing volume levels and even lets normalize over entire albums, so that if you do listen to an album with Sound Check on, the volume change is consistent for the entire album....

https://www.mani.de/en/ivolume/
lujan likes this.

Steve Martin
former ISF Calibrator
If you can see my pixels, you are sitting too close.
Sony XBR75X940D, Sony XBR55X930D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Oppo BDP-103, Oppo BDP-93,
Cheezmo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23644 of 25580 Old 07-10-2019, 06:10 PM
Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
Some ISPs like Verizon 5G for those who can get it, are still including an Apple TV 4K for signing up to their service.

But MacOSRumors buyers guide says Don't Buy Apple TV 4K because an update is expected soon.

There have been very little rumors about a new device, though with the new tvOS and new streaming (which we haven't heard anything about since the unveiling in the spring), you'd think there would be a new device in the fall?
Directv Now has had similar offers for a free ATV 4K with prepaid service. With AppleTV+ coming out this fall, I could see them releasing a new model (or lowering price), however, the current ATV 4K is already capable of what most consumers would want from a 4K streaming device. I think what I would want most is to see Disney titles upgraded to 4K to iTunes.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500/ZA | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV C41W | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung UN32EH4003 | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #23645 of 25580 Old 07-11-2019, 01:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sdg4vfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 1,835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Please review the section on cable testing in the first post. Note that the recommended settings ([email protected]/SDR, Match ON) ...
When you say "Match ON" - is that for both format and frame rate? (I read the first post and it wasn't clear to me.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My neighbors all listen to great music. Whether they like it or not.
sdg4vfx is offline  
post #23646 of 25580 Old 07-11-2019, 03:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,506
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 837 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdg4vfx View Post
When you say "Match ON" - is that for both format and frame rate? (I read the first post and it wasn't clear to me.)
[email protected] SDR with BOTH match settings on is the way to go....................
leonmckee, Ph8te, shoman94 and 4 others like this.

Sony XBR 75X940E - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - ATV 4K
ggw2000 is offline  
post #23647 of 25580 Old 07-11-2019, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,597
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2089 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
While some people have reported changing to a specific port fixes hdmi issues
The issue in the Denon case is the port work-around is reported to have come from Denon support. I don't know if jdsmoothie got got it first hand from Denon or is simply repeating what he considers to be reliable information. What does matter for ATV4K users with the UI set to > 300MHz is the front HDMI port limit of 300MHz (the description of this limitation is wrong in my Denon manual). However it's not an intermittent failure.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #23648 of 25580 Old 07-11-2019, 11:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
Unfortunately, even though the Apple TV4K is sending a proper multi channel signal, in the US “Star Trek Discovery” is only streamed in stereo. I’ve heard in other countries (like Australia), they get it in DD5.1. It’s a shame such a storied, and technically advanced franchise has crippled audio. Do any of the CBS All Access programs have anything better than stereo audio?
How are you streaming CBS All Access? If you stream it from Amazon Prime Channels, you will get CBS All Access in DD5.1. You may not with the CBS All Access app. At least I didn't before switching to Amazon.
Frank Monroe is online now  
post #23649 of 25580 Old 07-11-2019, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Monroe View Post
How are you streaming CBS All Access? If you stream it from Amazon Prime Channels, you will get CBS All Access in DD5.1. You may not with the CBS All Access app. At least I didn't before switching to Amazon.
I am getting 5.1 subscribed via Apple to CBS All Access.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #23650 of 25580 Old 07-11-2019, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,597
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2089 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdg4vfx View Post
When you say "Match ON" - is that for both format and frame rate?
Yes, when I say MATCH ON with no qualification I mean both range and rate.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #23651 of 25580 Old 07-11-2019, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Monroe View Post
How are you streaming CBS All Access? If you stream it from Amazon Prime Channels, you will get CBS All Access in DD5.1. You may not with the CBS All Access app. At least I didn't before switching to Amazon.
I'm using the CBS All Access App, I now understand they've added DD5.1 in season 2. I went back and watched an episode in the middle of the season, if I cranked the sides and rears I could hear something there, but not very impressive (for Star Trek). I'll try the same episode with the Prime app and see if it's better, thanks!

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #23652 of 25580 Old 07-12-2019, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alabama (36093)
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrippe View Post
Has anyone put together a list of apps on the Apple TV 4K that have some 4K content? Here is the list that I’ve come up with so far. Maybe there are more.

iTunes Movies
Hulu
Movies anywhere
Vudu
Netflix
Prime
Smithsonian
Plex
Toon Goggles
SpectiTV
EPIX
FoxNow
UltraFlix
Curiosity Stream
Infuse
Vimeo
Vive 4k TV
Maiko TV 4k
Several screen savers

I really wish we had NASA and YouTube in 4K.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Edited this list to add Hulu as it announced today that it is offering 4k content on the Apple TV now.
Brian Hampton, galonzo and brotony like this.

My setup: Sony 65X900F w/ Sony UBP-X700, Tivo Bolt 4k, AppleTV 4k (64GB), Sony HT-Z9F soundbar w/ Sony SAZ9R rear wireless speakers. TCL 4K 43" S405 w/ Sony UBP-X800, Tivo Mini 4k and Sony HT-XT100 soundbar.
jtrippe is offline  
post #23653 of 25580 Old 07-12-2019, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,318
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6523 Post(s)
Liked: 6238
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrippe View Post
Edited this list to add Hulu as it announced today that it is offering 4k content on the Apple TV now.


Went live yesterday. I confirmed a few of the Hulu Originals are now playing in 4K on the ATV4K.
jtrippe likes this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #23654 of 25580 Old 07-12-2019, 08:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Went live yesterday. I confirmed a few of the Hulu Originals are now playing in 4K on the ATV4K.
What about Dolby 5.1 surround sound?
Frank Monroe is online now  
post #23655 of 25580 Old 07-12-2019, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,318
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6523 Post(s)
Liked: 6238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Monroe View Post
What about Dolby 5.1 surround sound?


Haven’t checked that out, there were no announcements about that however so I doubt there is any change yet. I’m guessing we will see more updates as the year goes on and Disney+ launch gets closer.
Ph8te is online now  
post #23656 of 25580 Old 07-12-2019, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,329
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5399 Post(s)
Liked: 3821
Looks like they finally fixed the MLB app. The previous version would hide the scores, even when you toggled that off. An update came out after the ASG, so today is the first day using it since the update, and it was showing the Cubs score is the scoreboard of all games listed.
Keenan likes this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is offline  
post #23657 of 25580 Old 07-12-2019, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Haven’t checked that out, there were no announcements about that however so I doubt there is any change yet. I’m guessing we will see more updates as the year goes on and Disney+ launch gets closer.
No 5.1 at this point.
galonzo and brotony like this.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #23658 of 25580 Old 07-12-2019, 12:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
No 5.1 at this point.
or HDR...
galonzo and brotony like this.

LG OLED 65C7P • Apple TV 4K • Roku Ultra 2018 • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray • LG UP970 UHD BD
Denon X3400H AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 CT Speaker System
gossamer88 is offline  
post #23659 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 06:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TheRatPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Looks like they finally fixed the MLB app. The previous version would hide the scores, even when you toggled that off. An update came out after the ASG, so today is the first day using it since the update, and it was showing the Cubs score is the scoreboard of all games listed.
If they would just give us quad PIP already, I’d be happy.
TheRatPatrol is offline  
post #23660 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Laserfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 4,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
...HDMI issues:
  1. "Sparkles" caused by a defective cable (bandwidth limited by damage).
  2. Black-outs caused by end-to-end HDCP timing issues.
The first is fixed with a new cable. The second is fixed with a firmware update or new electronics (e.g. AVR)...
I connected my ATV4K to a new QLED HDR Samsung TV directly from ATV to TV HDMI using a short 18" HDMI cable that at least passes all the on-board ATV tests, but when I move-about the ATV GUI display interface, the picture oddly blacks-out for a moment, seemingly as I switch from icon to icon. It doesn't do this consistently and AFAICT it doesn't do it either within any app or during playback from any app of a program.

Could this be a settings issue, cable, or ...????

Again, the odd thing is these black-outs only seem to occur when moving around the ATV4K GUI itself.
Laserfan is offline  
post #23661 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,263
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 918
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggw2000 View Post
[email protected] SDR with BOTH match settings on is the way to go....................
For most users. Not for me. Seriously.

My PJ has an early adopter version of 4K and beyond 30p or so has easily visible banding. 4K HDR 24P with frame rate matching off is a better experience for me. I have to change to 25p for UK programming.

It's ok because I know this but there are cases where the one size fits all settings are not the best settings for everyone.

Also with SDR as the setting forget HDR screen savers you won't be seeing them. I don't have many apps that report SDR/HDR incorrectly maybe only Starz does that. Not worth while to miss the HDR screen savers when I know how to manually change settings if they are incorrect during playback because it doesn't happen often.

-Brian
cydeweyz likes this.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #23662 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 10:17 AM
Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserfan View Post
I connected my ATV4K to a new QLED HDR Samsung TV directly from ATV to TV HDMI using a short 18" HDMI cable that at least passes all the on-board ATV tests, but when I move-about the ATV GUI display interface, the picture oddly blacks-out for a moment, seemingly as I switch from icon to icon. It doesn't do this consistently and AFAICT it doesn't do it either within any app or during playback from any app of a program.

Could this be a settings issue, cable, or ...????

Again, the odd thing is these black-outs only seem to occur when moving around the ATV4K GUI itself.


I think cable length may be your issue. I read awhile ago that sometimes shorter cables (3ft or less) can have HDCP issues. I’m currently using 4ft cables with no problems. My first suggestion would be to try a 4ft or 6ft cable rated for [email protected] (preferably something that is premium certified if you don’t want to deal with the headache of trying multiple cables). What you are describing is what I would expect when testing different cables and saying, nope this one doesn’t cut it. Next.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Laserfan, galonzo and gambler52 like this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500/ZA | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV C41W | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung UN32EH4003 | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #23663 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Laserfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 4,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman0725 View Post
I think cable length may be your issue...
Thanks, I will try some other cable(s).
musicman0725 likes this.
Laserfan is offline  
post #23664 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,073
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3450 Post(s)
Liked: 2508
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman0725 View Post
I think cable length may be your issue. I read awhile ago that sometimes shorter cables (3ft or less) can have HDCP issues. I’m currently using 4ft cables with no problems. My first suggestion would be to try a 4ft or 6ft cable rated for [email protected] (preferably something that is premium certified if you don’t want to deal with the headache of trying multiple cables). What you are describing is what I would expect when testing different cables and saying, nope this one doesn’t cut it. Next.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FWIW, I've used cables as short as 4' and not had any issues. Currently I'm using 6' cables with no issues at all.
musicman0725 likes this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #23665 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 02:02 PM
Member
 
ynnek63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Need help with Prime app

Just bought a 64gb 4K Apple TV today. Everything was going fine setting up my apps like Netflix, Hulu, Plex, etc. Well when I launch the Prime app I get a weird launch screen where there are ? marks where the button text should be (see pic), Well, from a quick google search I know the first button is the sign in button, so I click it and it goes to the next screen and the little white circle just spins and spins. Nothing happens. The other buttons take me to the same spinning circle. I've tried removing and reinstalling the app several times to no avail.

I am hooked up thru my Onkyo AV receiver which is connected to my LG OLED TV. I also am using the Ethernet on the apple tv. All other apps seem to work and connect fine. Any help would be greatly appreciated. BTW...this is the only Apple product I own so I am not able to interact thru a mobile device.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190713_160243.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	595.5 KB
ID:	2590362  
galonzo likes this.
ynnek63 is offline  
post #23666 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 02:27 PM
Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by ynnek63 View Post
Just bought a 64gb 4K Apple TV today. Everything was going fine setting up my apps like Netflix, Hulu, Plex, etc. Well when I launch the Prime app I get a weird launch screen where there are ? marks where the button text should be (see pic), Well, from a quick google search I know the first button is the sign in button, so I click it and it goes to the next screen and the little white circle just spins and spins. Nothing happens. The other buttons take me to the same spinning circle. I've tried removing and reinstalling the app several times to no avail.



I am hooked up thru my Onkyo AV receiver which is connected to my LG OLED TV. I also am using the Ethernet on the apple tv. All other apps seem to work and connect fine. Any help would be greatly appreciated. BTW...this is the only Apple product I own so I am not able to interact thru a mobile device.

Have never seen that, however probably just a glitch with the Amazon app. Try double clicking the TV icon on the Apple TV remote. Then scroll until the Amazon app and when you get to it swipe upward on the remote trackpad. This will force kill the app. When you reload the issue should be resolved. You can also try just pulling the power cord on the ATV first to see if that kills the app. When it reloads I would expect it to load properly.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ynnek63 and galonzo like this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500/ZA | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV C41W | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung UN32EH4003 | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #23667 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 02:45 PM
Member
 
ynnek63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman0725 View Post
Have never seen that, however probably just a glitch with the Amazon app. Try double clicking the TV icon on the Apple TV remote. Then scroll until the Amazon app and when you get to it swipe upward on the remote trackpad. This will force kill the app. When you reload the issue should be resolved. You can also try just pulling the power cord on the ATV first to see if that kills the app. When it reloads I would expect it to load properly.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for your reply but neither suggestion worked worked. Good info about how to kill apps tho.
galonzo likes this.
ynnek63 is offline  
post #23668 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 03:11 PM
Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by ynnek63 View Post
Thanks for your reply but neither suggestion worked worked. Good info about how to kill apps tho.

No problem. Also, make sure you are on the latest version of tvOS. Go to Settings—>System—>Software Updates and update to the latest version (12.3). On the left side of the screen it will say the version of tvOS that you are on.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ynnek63 and galonzo like this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500/ZA | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV C41W | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung UN32EH4003 | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W
musicman0725 is online now  
post #23669 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 04:17 PM
Member
 
ynnek63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman0725 View Post
No problem. Also, make sure you are on the latest version of tvOS. Go to Settings—>System—>Software Updates and update to the latest version (12.3). On the left side of the screen it will say the version of tvOS that you are on.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I updated the OS first thing. Since it's new I guess my next step will be to reset the device. Again, this is my only Apple device so are my apps and settings saved to iCloud? Will they be restored automatically? Should I restore them or start over? Thanks again for your help!
galonzo likes this.
ynnek63 is offline  
post #23670 of 25580 Old 07-13-2019, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
shs1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Central Sierra Nevada
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 180
So far it seems like you have killed or quit the app and then restarted but have not deleted and reloaded it. This might solve the problem if the app's code is corrupted. Here is what I found online for deleting an app:

On Apple TV 4K and Apple TV HD, you can delete apps. On Apple TV (2nd or 3rd generation), you can hide them. Just highlight the app and hold down the Touch surface or Select until the app starts to jiggle. Then press the Play/Pause button and choose Delete or Hide.
ynnek63 and musicman0725 like this.

SONY VPL-VW385ES, Da-Lite 92" 0.9 HD progressive 16x9 screen, Apple TV 4K, HDFury Integral 2, Oppo UDP 203, Panasonic DP-UB820, Anthem AVM 60, D-Sonic 4000 (800x3, 400x4) for bed layer, 2 Crown XLS 1002 (225x4) for Atmos; Speakers: Polk LSiM 705s, 703 front, 4 702F/X surround, 4 Polk TL3 (Atmos), Dual Velodyne DD15 Subwoofers.
shs1234 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off