Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 791 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28129Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23701 of 24281 Old 07-15-2019, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,330
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1926 Post(s)
Liked: 1476
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
If the only app with this problem then it is an Amazon app thing.
There's nothing like approaching a problem logically.
rsonnens likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23702 of 24281 Old 07-16-2019, 05:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,131
Mentioned: 154 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1337 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
Quote:
Originally Posted by box4m View Post
Hey guys,

So i just bought a sony oled + appletv4k and trying to figure out stuff to get the best picture, to my liking.
The problem i have is, when i have "match dynamic range" enabled, and watch a HDR10 movie - HDR kicks in, but to me it looks kinda washed out.

When i force Dolby Vision, and have "match dynamic range" off, it looks more correct to me - deeper blacks and better contrast. Im no picture tech pro but ive read quite abit and this seems weird to me, that DV looks better even though the movie isnt made for DV, what counts is ofcourse what i think but i wonder if im correct in thinking so, cause it seems weird to me.

The TV can handle both HDR10 and DV.

What is your initial thoughts on this?

Cheers
With that TV, the correct settings (4K/SDR with match enabled) should be hands down better than any other combination of ATV settings for HDR/DV content; I suspect you may need to tweak some picture controls for that HDMI input on your TV, so you may want to check the thread for your display.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Brightburn and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #23703 of 24281 Old 07-16-2019, 05:56 AM
Member
 
box4m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
With that TV, the correct settings (4K/SDR with match enabled) should be hands down better than any other combination of ATV settings for HDR/DV content; I suspect you may need to tweak some picture controls for that HDMI input on your TV, so you may want to check the thread for your display.
You are correct, the difference was a very impactful setting now its all good, embarrasing
galonzo likes this.

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony KD-77AG9 / AppleTV4k
box4m is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23704 of 24281 Old 07-16-2019, 09:23 AM
Member
 
cbsdallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I have an apple TV 4k and a 4k projector capable of HDR 10. I notice that sometimes when using netflix or prime that even though it doesn't say 4k or HDR when I play it my projector is stating 4k and premium HDR content is being displayed. This does not happen with Apple Itunes content as it displays what they say it is. Star Wars the last Jedi on Netflix showed to be playing in 4k HDR but was not advertised as such on Netflix. Has anyone else noticed this disconnect?
cbsdallas is offline  
post #23705 of 24281 Old 07-16-2019, 11:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 8,987
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1330 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Any signal would be unconverted to 4K on a 4K display so that sorts out half of your question. ... I think ... I'm still a little confused by your phrasing.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #23706 of 24281 Old 07-16-2019, 01:20 PM
Member
 
cbsdallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
sorry for the confusion. My projector has a selection to see what signal it is receiving which would show the 4k signal and HDR or a 1080p signal regular. According to the Netflix site it showed just an HD signal but on the projector it showed it was receiving the 4k HDR signal maybe the Apple TV is up-converting the signal as it decodes the Netflix data? could be some setting combination in my Apple TV except it does not up-convert other signals or other sources.
cbsdallas is offline  
post #23707 of 24281 Old 07-16-2019, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
freshmanjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbsdallas View Post
sorry for the confusion. My projector has a selection to see what signal it is receiving which would show the 4k signal and HDR or a 1080p signal regular. According to the Netflix site it showed just an HD signal but on the projector it showed it was receiving the 4k HDR signal maybe the Apple TV is up-converting the signal as it decodes the Netflix data? could be some setting combination in my Apple TV except it does not up-convert other signals or other sources.
AppleTV does not change resolutions based on source. If you have it set to 4k, it outputs everything in 4k.

As for HDR, do you have match dynamic range setting on or off?
galonzo likes this.

Last edited by freshmanjs; 07-16-2019 at 04:49 PM.
freshmanjs is offline  
post #23708 of 24281 Old 07-16-2019, 04:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,131
Mentioned: 154 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1337 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
@cbsdallas , if you're getting 4K/HDR with Star Wars from Netflix on the ATV, this means you have your Video output setting in the ATV incorrectly set to 4K/HDR; you'll want to change it to 4K/SDR with match dynamic range enabled (which will give you HDR when appropriate, I would also enable match for framereate). Native resolution is not supported by the ATV4k.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Brightburn and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #23709 of 24281 Old 07-16-2019, 07:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 37
What’s the most channels of audio the ATV4k will send out with an atmos system? I have a 5.1.2, but will be upgrading to a 7.2.4 within the next 6 months. The atv will handle that fine, correct? Does it go beyond that? 9.2.6 or something like that.. what’s the limit?
EyeWasAbducted is offline  
post #23710 of 24281 Old 07-16-2019, 09:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,245
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2210 Post(s)
Liked: 2495
Quote:
Originally Posted by EyeWasAbducted View Post
What’s the most channels of audio the ATV4k will send out with an atmos system? I have a 5.1.2, but will be upgrading to a 7.2.4 within the next 6 months. The atv will handle that fine, correct? Does it go beyond that? 9.2.6 or something like that.. what’s the limit?
Someone correct me if I am wrong but the Apple TV 4K supports 7.1 since launch and that acts as the base layer and Dolby MAT 2.0 should easily scale to 4 height channels as it is all object based.
galonzo and EyeWasAbducted like this.
mutelight is offline  
post #23711 of 24281 Old 07-17-2019, 04:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Ezra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 47
My projector supports HDR in 4K/24 only. If I set my ATV to 4K/SDR with matching and dynamic on will I ever get anything in HDR? What would be the implications of setting it to 4K/SDR?
Ezra is offline  
post #23712 of 24281 Old 07-17-2019, 04:53 AM
Senior Member
 
freshmanjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ezra View Post
My projector supports HDR in 4K/24 only. If I set my ATV to 4K/SDR with matching and dynamic on will I ever get anything in HDR? What would be the implications of setting it to 4K/SDR?
Why would you not get HDR? If you set it that way and the source is 4k HDR 24Hz, then it will output at 4k HDR (because of dynamic range matching) and 24Hz (because of frame rate matching).
galonzo likes this.
freshmanjs is offline  
post #23713 of 24281 Old 07-17-2019, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Ezra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmanjs View Post
Why would you not get HDR? If you set it that way and the source is 4k HDR 24Hz, then it will output at 4k HDR (because of dynamic range matching) and 24Hz (because of frame rate matching).
I'm not saying I wouldn't, I am asking to get an understanding of how it works.

Is there much 4K/24 content from the apps?
Ezra is offline  
post #23714 of 24281 Old 07-17-2019, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
freshmanjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ezra View Post
I'm not saying I wouldn't, I am asking to get an understanding of how it works.

Is there much 4K/24 content from the apps?
Most 4k HDR video content is 24Hz...there is very little (but some) video content in HDR in 50 or 60Hz. Games are a different story -- 60Hz HDR is the norm.
galonzo and Musician like this.
freshmanjs is offline  
post #23715 of 24281 Old 07-17-2019, 07:20 AM
Member
 
cbsdallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmanjs View Post
AppleTV does not change resolutions based on source. If you have it set to 4k, it outputs everything in 4k.

As for HDR, do you have match dynamic range setting on or off?
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
@cbsdallas , if you're getting 4K/HDR with Star Wars from Netflix on the ATV, this means you have your Video output setting in the ATV incorrectly set to 4K/HDR; you'll want to change it to 4K/SDR with match dynamic range enabled (which will give you HDR when appropriate, I would also enable match for framereate). Native resolution is not supported by the ATV4k.
Thanks for the info. I saw last night that it was set to 4k HDR so I set it to 4k SDR and then the apple tv asked to move it back to HDR. I will try and set it to SDR tonight and see if I can exit and leave it set at SDR and dynamic range and framerate set to match.

Someone needs to write a book on how to set up all of this 4k HDR stuff or teach a class at a community college...intro to 4K.
Laserfan, galonzo and ballyerhead like this.
cbsdallas is offline  
post #23716 of 24281 Old 07-17-2019, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbsdallas View Post
Thanks for the info. I saw last night that it was set to 4k HDR so I set it to 4k SDR and then the apple tv asked to move it back to HDR. I will try and set it to SDR tonight and see if I can exit and leave it set at SDR and dynamic range and framerate set to match.



Someone needs to write a book on how to set up all of this 4k HDR stuff or teach a class at a community college...intro to 4K.


If you check out the very first post in this thread you’ll see it’s all there. Well worth the long read IMHO.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
gomo657, Ph8te, blenky and 2 others like this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 32GB 5th Gen | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is online now  
post #23717 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 09:28 AM
Member
 
cbsdallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Ok finally got all the settings right and the picture looks great on both HDR 4k and SDR 4k sources. I realized that it wasset to 4k HDR 60hx so reset to 4k SDR 60hz. Noticed that the chroma had somehow defaulted to 4.4.4 and switched to 4.2.0. All working great switches to HDR when triggered and the non HDR 4k still looks great. No more sparkles on CBS all access as well (probably related to it being set on 4.4.4.)

Thanks for all the suggestions and help.
galonzo likes this.
cbsdallas is offline  
post #23718 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,330
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1926 Post(s)
Liked: 1476
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbsdallas View Post
... Noticed that the chroma had somehow defaulted to 4.4.4 and switched to 4.2.0. ... No more sparkles on CBS all access as well (probably related to it being set on 4.4.4.)
That's not how chroma sub-sampling control works on the ATV4K. Please review the first post in this thread.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #23719 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,245
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2210 Post(s)
Liked: 2495
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbsdallas View Post
Ok finally got all the settings right and the picture looks great on both HDR 4k and SDR 4k sources. I realized that it wasset to 4k HDR 60hx so reset to 4k SDR 60hz. Noticed that the chroma had somehow defaulted to 4.4.4 and switched to 4.2.0. All working great switches to HDR when triggered and the non HDR 4k still looks great. No more sparkles on CBS all access as well (probably related to it being set on 4.4.4.)

Thanks for all the suggestions and help.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
That's not how chroma sub-sampling control works on the ATV4K. Please review the first post in this thread.
Having the video set to 4:4:4 with SDR content was putting too much strain on the HDMI cable that can't reliable carry the higher bandwidth signal, causing the sparkling artifacts.

4:2:0 is a fine setting though since all video content is in that format.
galonzo likes this.
mutelight is offline  
post #23720 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 11:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
Having the video set to 4:4:4 with SDR content was putting too much strain on the HDMI cable that can't reliable carry the higher bandwidth signal, causing the sparkling artifacts.

4:2:0 is a fine setting though since all video content is in that format.
SDR Content in ATV is always outputted in 4:4:4. 4:2:0 is only for UI.

LG OLED 55 B7v | LG SK10Y Soundbar | Samsung 55KS8000 | LG Plasma 50PZ550 | i1D3 OEM | Calman Enthusiast
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #23721 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
terminaldawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Question

TLDR: How can I get Apple TV to auto swap between Dolby 5.1 and Atmos On Automatically or get my AVR to upmix Multichannel PCM content to Dolby Atmos all the time similar to my Shield TV?

Just bought a Apple TV 4K mainly for the Dolby Vision and Atmos capability for Netflix and other apps. I also own a Shield TV which is an amazing streamer but notably lacks Dolby vision (all apps) and Dolby Atmos (for some apps). Hence the purchase of the Apple TV.

Also of note: I have a Denon avr x3300w with a 3.1.2 config.

I read through the first post and also read through this link and I want to make sure I am not missing anything.
https://developer.dolby.com/blog/dol...t-on-apple-tv/


When I play cbs all access (Star Trek discovery) and amazon prime content with my shield i get Dolby digital plus. All my speakers are active and my avr is correctly up mixing to 3.1.2. When I do the same thing on my Apple TV 4K I am getting multichannel PCM and my Dolby Atmos height speakers are not active and I am getting noticeably less impressive sound. My apple tv is set to Auto and Atmos On.

If I switch to force Dolby Digital 5.1 this resolves my above issue however this disables my ability to play native Atmos content.

How can I have my cake and eat it too here? I do not want to have to toggle the audio menu every-time i want to play Atmos content.... At that point i would just stick with my XBOX ONE X to play Dolby Vision / Atmos content and use my shield for everything else. Am i missing anything? If not I am really lacking understanding any hype at all over the AppleTV, why even bother with this over the ShieldTV?

TLDR: How can I get Apple TV to auto swap between Dolby 5.1 and Atmos On Automatically or get my AVR to upmix Multichannel PCM content to Dolby Atmos all the time similar to my Shield TV?


Thanks in advance for anyone with ideas!!!!

Last edited by terminaldawn; 07-19-2019 at 11:42 AM.
terminaldawn is offline  
post #23722 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,245
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2210 Post(s)
Liked: 2495
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRobotoPlus View Post
SDR Content in ATV is always outputted in 4:4:4. 4:2:0 is only for UI.
That is incorrect. If the Apple TV is set to 4:4:4, for SDR content it will always output that signal format, then the opposite applies to when the Apple TV is set to 4:2:0.

If what you said was the case, the TV would blank whenever you start content as it renegotiates the video signal.

Also it wouldn't make much sense to run the UI (which could potentially benefit from 4:4:4) in 4:2:0 over video content which is all 4:2:0.
mutelight is offline  
post #23723 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
That is incorrect. If the Apple TV is set to 4:4:4, for SDR content it will always output that signal format, then the opposite applies to when the Apple TV is set to 4:2:0.

If what you said was the case, the TV would blank whenever you start content as it renegotiates the video signal.

Also it wouldn't make much sense to run the UI (which could potentially benefit from 4:4:4) in 4:2:0 over video content which is all 4:2:0.
My HDFury Integral 2 says what I said. If you have match frame rate off you force the frame rate that's why you don't see blank screen everytime.

LG OLED 55 B7v | LG SK10Y Soundbar | Samsung 55KS8000 | LG Plasma 50PZ550 | i1D3 OEM | Calman Enthusiast

Last edited by MrRobotoPlus; 07-19-2019 at 11:52 AM.
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #23724 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 11:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,131
Mentioned: 154 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1337 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
@terminaldawn , you simply cycle the "movie" button on your AVR remote until you have "MultiIN + Dolby Surround", which is the non-Atmos up-mixer (this setting will stick for this input), then you'll get Atmos when appropriate and Multi-channel PCM will be up-mixed

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Brightburn and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #23725 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 01:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,245
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2210 Post(s)
Liked: 2495
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRobotoPlus View Post
My HDFury Integral 2 says what I said. If you have match frame rate off you force the frame rate that's why you don't see blank screen everytime.
My AVRs and Pre-pro say otherwise on my 3 different setups with 3 different ATV 4Ks.

I have dynamic range and frame rate matching enabled on all 3.
mutelight is offline  
post #23726 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,330
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1926 Post(s)
Liked: 1476
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
That is incorrect. If the Apple TV is set to 4:4:4, for SDR content it will always output that signal format, then the opposite applies to when the Apple TV is set to 4:2:0.
And yet (at least at my house) that's exactly how it works. Both my Vertex and Denon agree that the (8b) signal changes from 4:2:0 to 4:4:4 (and the FR changes from 60 to 24). This has always been the case (at my house). I do know that display capability can effect output, my display does everything so the ATV4K switches when SDR content begins.

Whether or not the screen blanks for a handshake depends on the Match settings.

UI Settings:
4K SDR 60Hz
YCbCr
4:2:0
Chuck666 and MrRobotoPlus like this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #23727 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,330
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1926 Post(s)
Liked: 1476
Quote:
Originally Posted by terminaldawn View Post
TLDR: How can I get Apple TV to auto swap between Dolby 5.1 and Atmos On Automatically
You didn't read the first post carefully enough. Notably there is no pass-through AC-3/E-AC-3, it's decoded to PCM in the ATV4K. Depending on your AVR you will see variations on MPCM as the input and possibly Atmos (ATMOS).
Chuck666 likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #23728 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
My AVRs and Pre-pro say otherwise on my 3 different setups with 3 different ATV 4Ks.

I have dynamic range and frame rate matching enabled on all 3.
I'm very confident about HDFury hardware.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3353.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	1.30 MB
ID:	2592620   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7528.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	715.5 KB
ID:	2592622  

LG OLED 55 B7v | LG SK10Y Soundbar | Samsung 55KS8000 | LG Plasma 50PZ550 | i1D3 OEM | Calman Enthusiast
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #23729 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 04:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,885
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2270 Post(s)
Liked: 2100
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRobotoPlus View Post
I'm very confident about HDFury hardware.
For 4K24, 4:2:0 is not a valid output format for HDMI 2.0. The ATV must output either 4:4:4 or 4:2:2. It cannot output 4:2:0 even though that is how the content was encoded.

For 4K60, 4:2:0 is a valid output format.
galonzo likes this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is online now  
post #23730 of 24281 Old 07-19-2019, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,245
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2210 Post(s)
Liked: 2495
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRobotoPlus View Post
I'm very confident about HDFury hardware.
I'm not sure what you're proving here as you are showing 4:4:4, which I assume is during media playback but your ATV UI should have the same.

What I said was that the home screen and overall UI should always have a 4:4:4 signal. (which it will unless something else is at play)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
And yet (at least at my house) that's exactly how it works. Both my Vertex and Denon agree that the (8b) signal changes from 4:2:0 to 4:4:4 (and the FR changes from 60 to 24). This has always been the case (at my house). I do know that display capability can effect output, my display does everything so the ATV4K switches when SDR content begins.

Whether or not the screen blanks for a handshake depends on the Match settings.

UI Settings:
4K SDR 60Hz
YCbCr
4:2:0
No, any time the chroma changes, it will renegotiate with the display, unless you have a unicorn display.

With both match settings enables going through no intermediary device to capable displays, if I have it set to 4:4:4, with SDR content it stays there. If I force 4:2:0 on the ATV4K with native content, it stays there.

*EDIT* OK, let me correct myself, after further testing. Apple content wants to force 4:4:4 even in SDR even if you have the system set to 4:2:0 but some 3rd party apps adhere to the 4:2:0 chroma subsampling.

Last edited by mutelight; 07-19-2019 at 04:53 PM.
mutelight is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , mgy52ll , mqd22ll , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off