Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 804 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 30789Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24091 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 10:23 AM
Member
 
tornesmock@comca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfranc View Post
I also use a Harmony remote. But my receiver is a Yamaha RX-A2070. I just added the ATV4K last week, and it was messing via CEC. So I just disable it at the ATV4K and since its been ok. One of the annoying things it was doing, was turning of the receiver whenever it went to sleep.
You might also benefit from the Lindy Adapter

Last edited by [email protected]; 08-06-2019 at 10:27 AM.
[email protected] is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24092 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
ppasteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
You might also benefit from the Lindy Adapter
I guess you did not read my previous posts on this subject. I am using the Lindy Adapter.
Finding that device is the only reason that the ATV4K is still in my system.
If I hadn't found out about it, the ATV4K would either be sitting in a closet somewhere or would have been sold by now.
ppasteur is offline  
post #24093 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 10:46 AM
Member
 
tornesmock@comca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppasteur View Post
I guess you did not read my previous posts on this subject. I am using the Lindy Adapter.
Finding that device is the only reason that the ATV4K is still in my system.
If I hadn't found out about it, the ATV4K would either be sitting in a closet somewhere or would have been sold by now.


Very sorry about that, I realized my mistake and deleted that post...alas not before you you were notified

[email protected] is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24094 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
x-evil-x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppasteur View Post
I guess you did not read my previous posts on this subject. I am using the Lindy Adapter.
Finding that device is the only reason that the ATV4K is still in my system.
If I hadn't found out about it, the ATV4K would either be sitting in a closet somewhere or would have been sold by now.
Does it still pass 4k with it?
x-evil-x is offline  
post #24095 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
ppasteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by x-evil-x View Post
Does it still pass 4k with it?
Yes it does. All the adapter does is to disconnect the CEC control lines. Nothing else is impacted, at least not the I have noticed.
4K HDR with Atmos and DV all are fine. Bandwidth does not appear to be impacted either.
ppasteur is offline  
post #24096 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppasteur View Post
Yes it does. All the adapter does is to disconnect the CEC control lines. Nothing else is impacted, at least not the I have noticed.
4K HDR with Atmos and DV all are fine. Bandwidth does not appear to be impacted either.
Control line. Singular. Pin 13 to be exact.
galonzo and Musician like this.

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #24097 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 03:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 160 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 1919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave3000 View Post
I used the TV app then switched to the iTunes TV Shows app to watch other episodes. Yes, it happens in the iTunes TV Shows and iTunes Movies apps as well. I not sure if the issue is now happening on the Netflix app also with the wireless connection as I have not been using Netflix lately. My Apple TV video settings are: 1080p SDR, YCrCb, and Match Content Off. I also tried RGB Low when connected to my monitor via HDMI switch and it still has the same issue. I also have Quick Start turned on. The connection path to my TV is: Apple TV 4k > Yamaha RX-V685 receiver > Sony KDL40W600B. I can also rule out my receiver since it also happens when my Apple TV 4k is connected to my monitor via an HDMI switch and back when I used a wired connection and did not have a receiver in between it still happened. I also have Quick Start turned on and want to keep it turned on for a few reasons even though it was somewhat of a workaround to this issue (setting has no affect on 3rd party apps, ie Netflix app) back when I used a wired connection. Do you have Quick Start turned on? As I said that the only thing I did not rule out is my modem and my internet connection, but why does this happen only within the last 60-90 seconds of a stream. If it would be an internet connection issue wouldn't it happen randomly through a stream and not just within the last 60-90 seconds of a stream?
I do have Quick Start enabled as well. You're right, it doesn't make sense that this happens at the same moment every time for you; have you tried calling Apple?

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield | PS4 Pro | Roku P+ (4630)
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Heat (1995) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #24098 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 03:41 PM
Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Leave 'on' the ATV?

Is there any reason not to leave "on" the ATV -- other than wasting electricity?
Brian Hampton likes this.
mhmercer is offline  
post #24099 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Dave3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
I do have Quick Start enabled as well. You're right, it doesn't make sense that this happens at the same moment every time for you; have you tried calling Apple?
I have contacted Apple about this 1.5 years ago and I was told that the unit was defective and they wanted me to send it in. However, I did return it to the store instead since I was within the return period and exchanged it and I'm still getting the issue when using this one. I have a 32GB version. Also about 6 months ago I did try out 2 64GB versions and I still got the issue when using those ones as well. Since I experience the same issue with 4 Apple TV 4k's, I'm certain that I don't have a defective unit unless I'm unlucky enough to be buying from a bad batch, especially from a different store and way different time periods. Setting Quick Start off seems to be a workaround to this issue I'm getting, however, Quick Start setting is only for iTunes video content and there are a few drawbacks if this feature is set to off such as no 4k and no Atmos audio for iTunes content but I don't have a 4k TV and don't really care about Atmos even though I have a receiver that does Atmos. I get this same issue in the Netflix app as well and since Quick Start does not work with 3rd party video apps on the Apple TV 4k, I'm still stuck with this issue showing up while streaming through the Netflix app. I also tried a static IP address and setting a Google DNS address and that does not solve the issue either. I'm beginning to think that it's either my internet connection or modem since Quick Start off uses a different mechanism for streaming iTunes content than with Quick Start on. I went back to an ethernet connection since the Wi-Fi workaround does not work any more since a few days ago and now I getting this issue when using a Wi-Fi and ethernet connection.

Last edited by Dave3000; 08-06-2019 at 06:50 PM.
Dave3000 is offline  
post #24100 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,356
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1548 Post(s)
Liked: 971
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhmercer View Post
Is there any reason not to leave "on" the ATV -- other than wasting electricity?
I leave mine on always.

(Edit- There may not be any reason to leave it "on" ... at least not for most people. I leave it on because it just simplifies the use of the remote and I like to use it for music without turning on my projector.)
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #24101 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,959
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2317 Post(s)
Liked: 1837
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
But you are correct, because the TV support 4K hdr it does pick a different asset, just will stream it at what they claim is 1080p (or less) as the network bandwidth dictates.
So for Atmos it's bit more complicated than that. My initial tests were setting the ATV output to 2K. This does select a 2K asset rather than just scaling the 4K asset but that asset has Atmos so I thought Atmos was resolution independent for all providers. However if I set my display EDID to 2K I get a 2K asset without Atmos. At least that's how it was when I last checked but it's Amazon so who knows. Jack Ryan is still sending an Atmos soundtrack so one could check.
rsonnens likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #24102 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 06:43 PM
Member
 
tre74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Anybody able to watch Trailers app? Crashes every single time now. It was my go to place for upcoming movies. I’ve been out of the loop for weeks.
tre74 is offline  
post #24103 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 06:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,959
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2317 Post(s)
Liked: 1837
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhmercer View Post
Is there any reason not to leave "on" the ATV -- other than wasting electricity?
Perhaps. Putting the ATV in stand-by (you can't turn an ATV off) turns off the LED and the HDMI port. Notably WiFi, ethernet and Bluetooth are always on. If the LED is distracting it solves that problem. I understand that the ATV4K puts 5v on the HDMI port and there's a suggestion this can cause issues in some systems (auto-switching to the active HDMI input fails) so stand-by might be useful in that case.

Unless you make the effort to power-off all your consumer electronics the savings from just the ATV is almost certainly negligible.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #24104 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 09:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,738
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by tre74 View Post
Anybody able to watch Trailers app? Crashes every single time now. It was my go to place for upcoming movies. I’ve been out of the loop for weeks.


Works for me. Just used it last night with no issues.
Ph8te likes this.
rsonnens is offline  
post #24105 of 27738 Old 08-06-2019, 09:22 PM
Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
I leave mine on always.

(Edit- There may not be any reason to leave it "on" ... at least not for most people. I leave it on because it just simplifies the use of the remote and I like to use it for music without turning on my projector.)
Thanks. That was my motivation as well.

LG 55C9 OLED TV, Denon X3400H, ATV 4K, Sony UBP-X700 Blu-Ray Player, Hsu 5.1 speakers, ELAC Atmos speakers.
mhmercer is offline  
post #24106 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 04:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,356
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1548 Post(s)
Liked: 971
Quote:
Originally Posted by tre74 View Post
Anybody able to watch Trailers app? Crashes every single time now. It was my go to place for upcoming movies. I’ve been out of the loop for weeks.
I've been using the beta TVOS and a few versions would not let the trailers app open. The latest version works with the trailers app again. So if you are on Beta do an update. If you are not on beta... wait for an update.

I re-installed the trailers app when I had the problem but that didn't solve it. Only a later beta solved it.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #24107 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 05:38 AM
Senior Member
 
vahighland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
]
I leave mine on always.

(Edit- There may not be any reason to leave it "on" ... at least not for most people. I leave it on because it just simplifies the use of the remote and I like to use it for music without turning on my projector.)
I think the only reason you would leave it ON is for HomeKit which uses ATV as a hub for controlling smart home devices.
galonzo likes this.
vahighland is offline  
post #24108 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,959
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2317 Post(s)
Liked: 1837
Quote:
Originally Posted by vahighland View Post
I think the only reason you would leave it ON is for HomeKit ...
As noted networking continues when the unit is in stand-by. I suspect the OP meant stand-by OFF not remove power OFF. BTW, HomeKit only needs a hub (gateway) for "off the local network" access.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #24109 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
anothermib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMichael View Post
Has anybody had issues with their Dolby Atmos and Dolby Vision with their ATV4K? I’ve noticed that every once in a while that the object based channel with go to a different channel. For example, when watching Our Planet, the voice will move from the center to the rear right. I’ve never experienced this before and I’ve not changed any settings. Thanks guys


For what it is worth - I watched Our Planet in Atmos the other day and had the very same issue. Not sure what is causing this. I reinstalled the Netflix app just as a precaution.
anothermib is offline  
post #24110 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
....
Possible solution: Lindy Adapter being discussed in several recent posts

The Lindy Adapter would be attached to your ATV before the Belkin HDMI
Thank you.

May I ask how will I benefit from the Lindy Adapter, as in will it fix the:
1. Flashing issue in SDR dark scenes?
2. Frame jerking in iTunes SDR Movies?
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #24111 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,714
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
Thank you.

May I ask how will I benefit from the Lindy Adapter, as in will it fix the:
1. Flashing issue in SDR dark scenes?
2. Frame jerking in iTunes SDR Movies?
The Lindy Adaptor relates to CEC issues only. It would not affect your other issues.
galonzo likes this.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is offline  
post #24112 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,508
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3668 Post(s)
Liked: 2643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
I more or less given up on Apple TV4K and only now use it for:
1. Watching my iTunes purchased Movies = 291 Movies.
2. Airplay from iPad/iPhone = photos/videos/safri/music.


Everything else I switched to watching on my Android TV:
1. Netflix [better picture and sound. No flashing issues].
2. YouTube [better picture 4K/HDR].
3. Amazon Prime [better picture and sound. Still does HDR. can see the £1.99 rental deals].
4. BBC IPLAYER [better picture and sound. Supports HLG HDR which is becoming more frequently available.]


[UNACCEPTABLE ISSUE - REPORTED TO APPLE] I think the flashing issues will never be fixed on this AppleTV4K. Perhaps a new hardware update will address it. It is bad on both my LG OLED and AF9 OLED - both connected to Apple TV4K’s via Belkin HDMI.
[UNACCEPTABLE ISSUE - REPORTED TO APPLE] Also problems with frame skipping on 24frame rate movies in iTunes. Unacceptable.

I WAS SUCH A BIG FAN OF APPLE TV4K AND LOVE THE REMOTE. JUST TOO FRUSTRATED WITH WATCHING CONTENT ON IT.
Interesting. I have none of those issues with my ATV4k and much prefer to use it over the C8's internal apps, at least for what we normally watch (NF, AP, HBO Go, iTunes, etc). I've used BJC's Premium High Speed HDMI cables and Ruipro4k cables with both cables performing the same.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #24113 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 01:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 778 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Interesting. I have none of those issues with my ATV4k and much prefer to use it over the C8's internal apps, at least for what we normally watch (NF, AP, HBO Go, iTunes, etc). I've used BJC's Premium High Speed HDMI cables and Ruipro4k cables with both cables performing the same.
Yes some have stated that. I cannot work it out as it happens on both my AppleTV4K devices with 1 connected to LG OLEDC7 and ither to Sony AF9. The flashing is not as bad on the LG, but still there.
Soundizer17 is online now  
post #24114 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 02:09 PM
Member
 
tornesmock@comca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
Thank you.

May I ask how will I benefit from the Lindy Adapter, as in will it fix the:
1. Flashing issue in SDR dark scenes?
2. Frame jerking in iTunes SDR Movies?
I can’t, of course, answer/guarantee it will fix your issues or not...we all have very different setups. Notice that my original post to you was a “possible solution”. For other users I might post a more positive recommendation as there is enough information to base my opinion.

@Bobby 9428 is theoretically correct in his statement re: the Lindy (prohibits operation of CEC only). However, I and several others in this thread have also experienced (on ATV 4K) other positive effects of using the adapter. CEC does allow inter device connectivity/operability.

Mostly, my prior problems related to mysterious throughput/input changes within total setup...which did cause negative screen effect issues (ATV 4K) and operation of total TV/soundbar/third party clients (ATV, Roku, etc.) setup.

Originally, I resisted buying due to $$ (after all it’s only a cheap HDMI connector...without pin13). Glad I finally gave up and bought it. I have had a good experience with returning several items to Amazon due to “won’t work on my setup”.

YMMV
Soundizer17 likes this.
[email protected] is offline  
post #24115 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 02:21 PM
Member
 
tornesmock@comca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
Yes some have stated that. I cannot work it out as it happens on both my AppleTV4K devices with 1 connected to LG OLEDC7 and ither to Sony AF9. The flashing is not as bad on the LG, but still there.

Do you have both ATV/TV combo’s directly connected to same switch/router?
Soundizer17 likes this.
[email protected] is offline  
post #24116 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 02:29 PM
Member
 
tre74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
I've been using the beta TVOS and a few versions would not let the trailers app open. The latest version works with the trailers app again. So if you are on Beta do an update. If you are not on beta... wait for an update.

I re-installed the trailers app when I had the problem but that didn't solve it. Only a later beta solved it.
I am on Beta and went on to try an update. I tried the Trailers app first and its working again. Go figure.
tre74 is offline  
post #24117 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,508
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3668 Post(s)
Liked: 2643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
Yes some have stated that. I cannot work it out as it happens on both my AppleTV4K devices with 1 connected to LG OLEDC7 and ither to Sony AF9. The flashing is not as bad on the LG, but still there.
Hmmm. How long is your cable run and are there any sharp bends in the cable or stress on the HDMI inputs?

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #24118 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 05:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
ppasteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Control line. Singular. Pin 13 to be exact.
I do love precision. Thanks for the clarification.
ppasteur is offline  
post #24119 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Perhaps. Putting the ATV in stand-by (you can't turn an ATV off) turns off the LED and the HDMI port. Notably WiFi, ethernet and Bluetooth are always on. If the LED is distracting it solves that problem. I understand that the ATV4K puts 5v on the HDMI port and there's a suggestion this can cause issues in some systems (auto-switching to the active HDMI input fails) so stand-by might be useful in that case.

Unless you make the effort to power-off all your consumer electronics the savings from just the ATV is almost certainly negligible.
I'm normally conscientious about turning things off or in this case letting them go to sleep (and my wife hates lights in the bedroom where we have one ATV). I typically measure my amps and processors for their idle or standby draw (Kill O Watt meter), but had never measured an ATV, it was easy to get to the ATV4G in the bedroom. They seem pretty efficient, when in use (watching an episode of Orville with FoxNow App), it bounced around from 1.8 to maybe 3 Watts. When in standby (power light out, wired ethernet so maybe no WiFi), it measured between 0.4 and about 2 watts (it probably dozes then checks things periodically). I imagine the ATV4K will be a little higher with the 4K upscaling, I'll measure it when I get a chance.
galonzo likes this.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #24120 of 27738 Old 08-07-2019, 07:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,738
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
It's called the Lindy CECless adapter and it's not an HDMI cable, but an adapter that sits between the HDMI input and the HDMI cable.

Well you could use a lindy adapter or just cut the correct pin on the cable. A modified a cable does work as I suggested.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mjwagner likes this.
rsonnens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , apple tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off