Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 872 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 29893Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #26131 of 26668 Old 11-13-2019, 06:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
If we assume that Apple actually plans to use AV1 a logical device would be the ATV 6th generation. Unless AV1 goes up in flames.
Interestingly, Infuse on the Apple TV 4K already supports AV1 (haven't tested myself).
lockdown571 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26132 of 26668 Old 11-13-2019, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,876
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1888 Post(s)
Liked: 1194
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
If we assume that Apple actually plans to use AV1 a logical device would be the ATV 6th generation. Unless AV1 goes up in flames.

As someone else mentioned Infuse plays AV1 and has for a while. What are the benefits of this codec?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #26133 of 26668 Old 11-13-2019, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,800
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1563 Post(s)
Liked: 1214
New ATV4K owner. Love it and ATV+.

Outstanding quality so far. Impressive.

Curious if there are any calibration files buried somewhere in ATV+ or maybe part of a ATV4K secret menu?

Ps... using a hdfury vertex to spoof ATV4K to enable DV LLDV (Device Led Dolby Vision) to my projector. More info at the link in my in my sig.
Brian Hampton likes this.

JVC DLA-X990 - 128" 2.35 1.3 Gain Screen - X800M2 - UB820 - ATV4K64 - ROKU Ultra - PS4 - XBone
7.1.4 Atmos - Denon X4300H + Denon 3806(LCR) - JBL Control 5 - BIC Sub - Dayton
Bytehoven is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26134 of 26668 Old 11-13-2019, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,319
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3570 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post
New ATV4K owner. Love it and ATV+.

Outstanding quality so far. Impressive.

Curious if there are any calibration files buried somewhere in ATV+ or maybe part of a ATV4K secret menu?

Ps... using a hdfury vertex to spoof ATV4K to enable DV LLDV (Device Led Dolby Vision) to my projector. More info at the link in my in my sig.
ATV4K secret menu?

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #26135 of 26668 Old 11-13-2019, 07:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,800
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1563 Post(s)
Liked: 1214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
ATV4K secret menu?
Just asking.

JVC DLA-X990 - 128" 2.35 1.3 Gain Screen - X800M2 - UB820 - ATV4K64 - ROKU Ultra - PS4 - XBone
7.1.4 Atmos - Denon X4300H + Denon 3806(LCR) - JBL Control 5 - BIC Sub - Dayton
Bytehoven is offline  
post #26136 of 26668 Old 11-13-2019, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,876
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1888 Post(s)
Liked: 1194
It’s a secret, shush


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Bytehoven likes this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #26137 of 26668 Old 11-13-2019, 07:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,319
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3570 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
It’s a secret, shush


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #26138 of 26668 Old 11-13-2019, 07:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,237
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 861 Post(s)
Liked: 280
I just noticed if I AirPlay from my ipads TV app my ATV4k doesn’t frame rate match, but if I play directly from it it does. Not a big deal but it would be nice if it did.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #26139 of 26668 Old 11-13-2019, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2220 Post(s)
Liked: 1744
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_snow View Post
As someone else mentioned Infuse plays AV1 and has for a while. What are the benefits of this codec?
It's the next best thing, particularly for entities that don't want to pay H.265/HEVC license fees. I see that Firecore shows AV1 support in the 2019-09-16 release. That doesn't seem all that long. In any case although you can decompress in real-time without hardware assist I would expect Apple to wait for acceleration before adding it as a supported codec to HLS.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #26140 of 26668 Old 11-13-2019, 07:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,876
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1888 Post(s)
Liked: 1194
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
It's the next best thing, particularly for entities that don't want to pay H.265/HEVC license fees. I see that Firecore shows AV1 support in the 2019-09-16 release. That doesn't seem all that long. In any case although you can decompress in real-time without hardware assist I would expect Apple to wait for acceleration before adding it as a supported codec to HLS.

Yeah, they have a beta every week so to me it seems like a while ago. I’ll go read about it. I’m interested to see if it has the benefits of HEVC such as 10-bit depth and smaller file sizes.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #26141 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 12:40 AM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Has anyone gotten free Disney+ by virtue of a Verizon Unlimited plan? I’m wondering if they somehow restrict it to your Verizon devices (iPhone, iPad), or whether you can Use ATV as well, I’d rather not use AirPlay or mirroring.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #26142 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 02:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 16,943
Mentioned: 128 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1971 Post(s)
Liked: 3808
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
Has anyone gotten free Disney+ by virtue of a Verizon Unlimited plan? I’m wondering if they somehow restrict it to your Verizon devices (iPhone, iPad), or whether you can Use ATV as well, I’d rather not use AirPlay or mirroring.
It is not restricted to phones and tablets. Works just fine via my ATV and Fire Sticks.
bmcleod likes this.
D-Nice is offline  
post #26143 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 03:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1539 Post(s)
Liked: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post
New ATV4K owner. Love it and ATV+.

Outstanding quality so far. Impressive.

Curious if there are any calibration files buried somewhere in ATV+ or maybe part of a ATV4K secret menu?

Ps... using a hdfury vertex to spoof ATV4K to enable DV LLDV (Device Led Dolby Vision) to my projector. More info at the link in my in my sig.
There are indeed calibration patterns. They moved them so I don't remember off hand the directions. They used to be in the Video settings but I think they went up a level so that when you see the Audio Video settings tabs you scroll down to see Calibration.

Also the TV Tune Up app for $0.99 is the best calibration app so far that I have found for the ATV4K. It's very basic and not really more advanced than the built in patterns. I use it regularly because I zoom in for 2.40:1 movies and zoom back out for everything else. (Projector thrills.... no black bars ever.) If you want more than that, you typically have to put test patterns on a local server and view them with Plex or infuse.... That's also an easy enough thing to do. For $0.99 I like having a test pattern app on the home screen and if I take my ATV4K with me to a hotel and manage to hook it up I can set brightness that way.


-Brian
Bytehoven, Mike_WI and m_snow like this.

Last edited by Brian Hampton; 11-14-2019 at 04:19 AM.
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #26144 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 05:04 AM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
It is not restricted to phones and tablets. Works just fine via my ATV and Fire Sticks.
Great, I mean it’s a free year so I’ll probably sign up, but thought I’d check if it’s a special Verizon version. Thanks.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #26145 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 05:43 AM
Member
 
ozzzie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Disney + HDR

Been searching, looking for help.

I get a blank screen on HDR videos. 1080 videos work fine.
If I remove the match frame rate I get the 4k movies in 1080.
Apple movies, Netflix and Amazon always work.

Disney Plus works fine on Roku.

Missing something in the settings?

Thanks
ozzzie3 is offline  
post #26146 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzzie3 View Post
Been searching, looking for help.

I get a blank screen on HDR videos. 1080 videos work fine.
If I remove the match frame rate I get the 4k movies in 1080.
Apple movies, Netflix and Amazon always work.

Disney Plus works fine on Roku.

Missing something in the settings?

Thanks
Run the HDMI cable test.. Do you you have certified 18G cables? If so how long are they?
Gerry

Sony XBR 75X940E - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - ATV 4K - 2019 Shield TV Pro
ggw2000 is online now  
post #26147 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2220 Post(s)
Liked: 1744
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzzie3 View Post
Missing something in the settings?
You haven't given any information that can help people understand your problem. Please describe your ATV video settings, your video chain, what you do and what happens in detail

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #26148 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 07:10 AM
Member
 
ozzzie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Cable tested good.
Cables are certified 18g 6 foot.

Run Apple TV thru Yamaha 681 receiver to Samsung Q8.

Match Content, Dynamic and Frame Rate turned on.
4K SDR 60 checked.
4k HDR 60 never worded.

Disney 4k/HDR. I get a blank screen with sound. Turn off match content and I get 1080 video with sound.

All other 4k sources work.

Thanks
ozzzie3 is offline  
post #26149 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzzie3 View Post
Cable tested good.
Cables are certified 18g 6 foot.

Run Apple TV thru Yamaha 681 receiver to Samsung Q8.

Match Content, Dynamic and Frame Rate turned on.
4K SDR 60 checked.
4k HDR 60 never worded.

Disney 4k/HDR. I get a blank screen with sound. Turn off match content and I get 1080 video with sound.

All other 4k sources work.

Thanks
Two things to try - does your Yamaha or samsung tv have an enhanced setting for HDMI? If so turn it on.

Try hooking the ATV4k directly to the tv.

In my setup with good cables(tested) I leave it in 4ksdr match frame and range, and it switches DV, HDR etc properly at 4k (60/25/24fps)
Musician likes this.
Mike__P is offline  
post #26150 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 12:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
I have wizard of oz in 4k and that was made in 1936 or so?. With film it doesn't matter as they can transfer easily. Breaking Bad was shot in 35mm. It can hold high resolution. For those shot digitally, they can just upconvert. Doesn't matter what a move was shot in.


Of course. Those were shot on film. Film has more resolution than even 4K. 1080p video does not.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jay Stone is offline  
post #26151 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 01:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2220 Post(s)
Liked: 1744
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzzie3 View Post
Apple movies, Netflix and Amazon always work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzzie3 View Post
Disney 4k/HDR. I get a blank screen with sound. Turn off match content and I get 1080 video with sound.

All other 4k sources work.
To clarify: In your current configuration you can send 4K/HDR-10 to your display using (e.g.) the Prime Video, Netflix and the TV apps but not the Disney+ app?

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #26152 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 03:28 PM
Member
 
A.r.k.i.v.e.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any word on local content (ie. files via a NAS played locally via an app like Infuse) and having the Atmos encoded audio actually be passed to the AVR instead of being forcibly downgraded to 7.1? Does the latest tvOS beta include support for this?

Just my 1.4 cents (after taxes)
A.r.k.i.v.e.r is offline  
post #26153 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2220 Post(s)
Liked: 1744
Disney+ video format changes.

I checked a couple of trailers (promos) in Disney+ (D+) and they were in the same video format as the movie but the D+ UI uses the system UI video format. I imagine if you looked at lots of trailers the format switching could become annoying.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #26154 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 04:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.r.k.i.v.e.r View Post
Any word on local content (ie. files via a NAS played locally via an app like Infuse) and having the Atmos encoded audio actually be passed to the AVR instead of being forcibly downgraded to 7.1? Does the latest tvOS beta include support for this?


Never gonna happen.
blenky likes this.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield, 2x Roku 3's, 1st/2nd gen chromecast, ATV4k, Apple TV 4, xbox 360/one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
archer75 is online now  
post #26155 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 04:25 PM
Member
 
A.r.k.i.v.e.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.r.k.i.v.e.r
Any word on local content (ie. files via a NAS played locally via an app like Infuse) and having the Atmos encoded audio actually be passed to the AVR instead of being forcibly downgraded to 7.1? Does the latest tvOS beta include support for this?
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
Never gonna happen.
I'm beginning to suspect that's the case, but has anyone spoken as to why? Is there a proprietary or licensing reason for this? Why isn't nVidia following suit with Shield?

Just my 1.4 cents (after taxes)
A.r.k.i.v.e.r is offline  
post #26156 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ERuiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.r.k.i.v.e.r View Post
I'm beginning to suspect that's the case, but has anyone spoken as to why? Is there a proprietary or licensing reason for this? Why isn't nVidia following suit with Shield?


I believe it has to do with Siri.


Sent from my iPhone X

JVC DLA-NX7 / 125" 2.40:1 Stewart StudioTek 100 / Denon AVR-X4300H / Klipsch RP-280F (L/R) / Klipsch RP-450C / Klipsch RP-150M (x4) / Klipsch RP-140SA (Atmos) / HSU VTF-3 MK5 DualDrive / Apple TV 4K / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Logitech Harmony Elite
ERuiz is online now  
post #26157 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2220 Post(s)
Liked: 1744
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.r.k.i.v.e.r View Post
I'm beginning to suspect that's the case, but has anyone spoken as to why? ... Why isn't nVidia following suit with Shield?
I think it's fairly clear Apple has made remote streaming (services) a priority (to wit cross-platform TV app and Apple TV+) while Nvidia provides significant support for local content. There's no particular reason for either company to pivot.
Ph8te and blenky like this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #26158 of 26668 Old 11-14-2019, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.r.k.i.v.e.r View Post
I'm beginning to suspect that's the case, but has anyone spoken as to why? Is there a proprietary or licensing reason for this? Why isn't nVidia following suit with Shield?


No reason to. It’s an internet streamer. And the best out there for that purpose.
People who have large local libraries like us who have the equipment to take advantage of lossless object based audio are very few so there’s no real market there.
If they really wanted to they could. There’s really no technical limitation if they decided it was worth the resources.
I have a shield as well. But I use the atv 99% of the time as it’s just better for my main usage.
Ph8te likes this.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield, 2x Roku 3's, 1st/2nd gen chromecast, ATV4k, Apple TV 4, xbox 360/one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
archer75 is online now  
post #26159 of 26668 Old 11-15-2019, 04:05 AM
Member
 
ozzzie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike__P View Post
Two things to try - does your Yamaha or samsung tv have an enhanced setting for HDMI? If so turn it on.

Try hooking the ATV4k directly to the tv.

In my setup with good cables(tested) I leave it in 4ksdr match frame and range, and it switches DV, HDR etc properly at 4k (60/25/24fps)
Thanks for the ideas.
Yamaha HDMI ports are HDCP 2.2 but only for ports 1-3.
Flipped the HDMI ports and Disney Works.
Thanks again.
Mike__P, beerhunt and Rey L like this.
ozzzie3 is offline  
post #26160 of 26668 Old 11-15-2019, 05:02 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,093
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post

Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
No reason to. It’s an internet streamer. And the best out there for that purpose.
People who have large local libraries like us who have the equipment to take advantage of lossless object based audio are very few so there’s no real market there.
If they really wanted to they could. There’s really no technical limitation if they decided it was worth the resources.
I have a shield as well. But I use the atv 99% of the time as it’s just better for my main usage.


I haven’t upgraded to Atmos speakers yet but, plan on doing so in the near future. I guess I’ll be getting a second box of some sort that will reliably perform that one task when needed. I have over 800 ripped movies and of course most don’t have an atmos track, so not sure a 19 Shield would be worth the spend or space. Maybe a Pie box, idk. It would be great if next gen ATV allowed Infuze to do it somehow. Then I could have a separate Plex library just for movies with Atmos. Keeping in mind simplicity for kids and WAF.

Edit: And I have three HTs in which I try to keep the same look and feel across, so that would mean three new extra boxes.

Last edited by Stevetd; 11-15-2019 at 05:07 AM.
Stevetd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off