Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 992 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33109Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #29731 of 30315 Old 05-24-2020, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
The ATV is capable of both Atmos and DV. What app are you using? The rest of your config looks compatible.
the app he is using doesn't support Atmos on any device.
eaayoung likes this.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29732 of 30315 Old 05-24-2020, 08:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
The ATV is capable of both Atmos and DV. What app are you using? The rest of your config looks compatible.
I only tried to get Atmos with ST Discovery and Picard via CBS All Access. It probably works for movies.
eaayoung is offline  
post #29733 of 30315 Old 05-24-2020, 08:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2479 Post(s)
Liked: 3607
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post
I only tried to get Atmos with ST Discovery and Picard via CBS All Access. It probably works for movies.
As others mentioned, try a different app. Netflix/Vudu/Itunes
eaayoung likes this.
PlanetAVS is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29734 of 30315 Old 05-25-2020, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,854
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3038 Post(s)
Liked: 2129
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldSenileGuy View Post
Can someone confirm for me that I've got my black levels set up correctly between my AppleTV 4K and my LG C8? I understand how a mismatch will result in the image being either lifted or crushed, but I also know that every manufacturer has a different name how they define full range vs limited range, and often times those names are counter-intuitive.

Anyway, I have my AppleTV set to RGB High and on my LG C8 the Black Level is set to Low. This seems correct to me, though when I was watching Star Wars last night it felt a bit crushed.

Fake EDIT: Unless I need to set the black level per-input for Dolby Vision and HDR?

Real EDIT: Ok so in Dolby Vision the Black Level on the TV is locked to Low. And in plain-HDR it can be changed, but I've left it set to Low. So that tells me the TV has to be set to Low. And if I change the Apple TV to RGB Low instead of high, everything gets crushed, so RGB High must be the correct AppleTV setting.

Did I work that out right?
RGB "high" on the ATV gives you the correct video levels. But using YUV is typically better than RGB unless you have a particular problem you are trying to solve.
KC-Technerd and galonzo like this.


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is offline  
post #29735 of 30315 Old 05-25-2020, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
with Picard & Discovery via CBSAA (the standalone app) on ATV4K, you get 1080p DV/DD+ 5.1 only. I also have roku and it only gives 1080p/DD+ 5.1 at least that is my experience. that's been my experience.
I'll say one thing, the upscaling on my 940E really makes Picard's 1080p POP!
eaayoung and solarrdadd like this.

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR797
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is online now  
post #29736 of 30315 Old 05-25-2020, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,204
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2498 Post(s)
Liked: 1977
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldSenileGuy View Post
Did I work that out right?
Not quite. On the ATV RGB-235/CE/Video is called High. Unless you're using your display as a computer monitor it should be set to RGB-235/CE/Video which is often called RGB Low*. However nearly everyone should be using YCC (or Auto) to watch video content and however you set the default video format the ATV will send video using it's preferred format, which varies according to content range and resolution.


*There's a small bit of ambiguity here which is easily avoided by using the official names for quantization ranges.
galonzo likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X4700H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #29737 of 30315 Old 05-25-2020, 11:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 215
With a new tvOS and apparently a Netflix app update, I had hope the flying center channel might be fixed ... but no. 🙁 We’d heard good recommendations for “Extraction” and started it tonight, the center kept switching to my left surround, it bothered my wife so much she didn’t want to watch (the blood didn’t help). Hard to believe this is so hard to fix.

Spoiler!
bmcleod is offline  
post #29738 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 04:05 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 4,207
Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3358 Post(s)
Liked: 2606
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
With a new tvOS and apparently a Netflix app update, I had hope the flying center channel might be fixed ... but no. 🙁 We’d heard good recommendations for “Extraction” and started it tonight, the center kept switching to my left surround, it bothered my wife so much she didn’t want to watch (the blood didn’t help). Hard to believe this is so hard to fix.
Does it do it consistently in the same places in the movie?
galonzo likes this.
bobof is offline  
post #29739 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
Does it do it consistently in the same places in the movie?
To be honest I’ve heard about it so much since last summer that I figured I didn’t need to troubleshoot as it was widespread. I only started experiencing it in the last month when I upgraded my Netflix account to 4K and started getting 4K/Atmos mixes.

The conditions to produce are: Netflix, 4K/Atmos stream, Apple TV4K, my 7.2.2 system
The symptom is: Center channel info randomly jumps to the left surround speaker and back to center

I’ve heard with other systems that it jumps to different locations, like a height Speaker, there may be some height involved in mine, but I hear it from the left surround. I’ve also heard people say the ‘dialog’ jumps, which of course makes sense as center is mostly dialog, but I hear other center information (ambience, sound effects) jump as well. I’ve also heard speculation that certain configurations are more susceptible, or maybe that it doesn’t occur with some configurations. So maybe it happens with my 7.2.2 setup, but not with someone else’s 7.2.4 (I don’t remember the specific configs). I should also say I haven’t read about it as much lately, but it’s been reported here and elsewhere often, so some may be rolling their eyes.

I’ll just continue to report it to Netflix as that seems to be the source, but obviously the TV is involved (to be clear I don’t have this issue under any other condition). If I get a chance today I’ll watch the opening of Extraction and see if it always happens in the same place.

Edit: I know there are references to this issue earlier in this thread, but here are a couple external sources. The second link speculates that it happens when the bitrate drops too low. The main reason I held off getting Netflix 4K was the limited bandwidth of my ISP, but I’ve been using a hotspot to stream lately and getting over 25mbps which I hoped would be enough. If this turns out to be the cause, then I guess I’m wasting my money on NF4K.

https://www.avforums.com/threads/net...blems.2253575/

https://www.reddit.com/r/appletv/com...tflix_atv_app/
shoman94 and avtoronto like this.

Spoiler!

Last edited by bmcleod; 05-26-2020 at 09:39 AM.
bmcleod is offline  
post #29740 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,522
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
With a new tvOS and apparently a Netflix app update, I had hope the flying center channel might be fixed ... but no. 🙁 We’d heard good recommendations for “Extraction” and started it tonight, the center kept switching to my left surround, it bothered my wife so much she didn’t want to watch (the blood didn’t help). Hard to believe this is so hard to fix.
I've never noticed this. Are you able to give a couple of time codes so I can check? Cheers

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2019) | Fire TV Stick 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #29741 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 15,186
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5038 Post(s)
Liked: 3051
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
With a new tvOS and apparently a Netflix app update, I had hope the flying center channel might be fixed ... but no. 🙁 We’d heard good recommendations for “Extraction” and started it tonight, the center kept switching to my left surround, it bothered my wife so much she didn’t want to watch (the blood didn’t help). Hard to believe this is so hard to fix.

This really seems to be a compatibility interaction with certain Dolby Atmos decoders and the Dolby MAT (PCM 2.0) repack the AppleTV performs on the Dolby Digital Plus stream from the streaming company's headend. If the audio stream's metadata is not translated correctly or has been corrupted then audio objects and channels will get thrown out of wack. This is especially fraught with the way Dolby Digital Plus lossy encoding is done to Dolby Atmos tracks, where the metadata is king. Dolby TrueHD lossless packed Atmos tracks on disc are encoded differently and are less "fragile."


If a fix is not at hand, I would sadly suggest using a different streaming device for Netflix; one that sends raw and untouched audio bitstreams via HDMI.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!

Last edited by Dan Hitchman; 05-26-2020 at 04:41 PM.
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #29742 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
jeep05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: N.C.
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 260
I really wish either CBS or Apple would fix the audio cut-out issue with the CBS app on my ATV4K. Audio cuts out every couple seconds for a couple seconds. This is the only app that the problem occurs on. I do have All Access.
jeep05 is offline  
post #29743 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeep05 View Post
I really wish either CBS or Apple would fix the audio cut-out issue with the CBS app on my ATV4K. Audio cuts out every couple seconds for a couple seconds. This is the only app that the problem occurs on. I do have All Access.
Is this something that has just started happening? I have this on my ATV4K and I’ve never had that issue. I haven’t used the app in about a month or so which is why I asked if this is a new issue. Did the audio issue happen on particular shows? What show(s) were you watching?

I’ll check it out in the next couple of days when I turn my ATV4K on again and I’ll report back.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #29744 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
This really seems to be a compatibility interaction with certain Dolby Atmos decoders and the Dolby MAT (PCM 2.0) repack the AppleTV performs on the Dolby Digital Plus stream from the streaming company's headend. If the audio stream's metadata is not translated correctly or has been corrupted then audio objects and channels will get thrown out of wack. This is especially fraught with the way Dolby Digital Plus lossy encoding is done to Dolby Atmos tracks, where the metadata is king. Dolby TrueHD lossless packed Atmos tracks on disc are encoded differently and are less "fragile."


If a fix is not at hand, I would sadly suggest using a different streaming device for Netflix; one that sends raw and untouched audio bitstreams via HDMI.
I don’t like the idea of another streaming device (but would certainly welcome a bitstream option), I’ll have to evaluate my need for Netflix or Netflix 4K too. I’m also interested in the speculation linked in my second post, that bandwidth/bitrate may play a role, it would be interesting if others who’ve experienced this problem also have limited bandwidth. I would love if my local Redbox rented UHD as those are still the king of the best picture and sound.

Spoiler!
bmcleod is offline  
post #29745 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,779
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5206 Post(s)
Liked: 3219
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
Is this something that has just started happening? I have this on my ATV4K and I’ve never had that issue. I haven’t used the app in about a month or so which is why I asked if this is a new issue. Did the audio issue happen on particular shows? What show(s) were you watching?

I’ll check it out in the next couple of days when I turn my ATV4K on again and I’ll report back.
This started several months ago. I haven’t used the ATV4K device for Netflix in a long time, especially if the title has Atmos audio.

lujan
695 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #29746 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 08:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
This started several months ago. I haven’t used the ATV4K device for Netflix in a long time, especially if the title has Atmos audio.
What do you currently use for Netflix Atmos programming. Would an nVidia Shield proved Netflix DV and Atmos?
naustin is offline  
post #29747 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 10:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeep05 View Post
I really wish either CBS or Apple would fix the audio cut-out issue with the CBS app on my ATV4K. Audio cuts out every couple seconds for a couple seconds. This is the only app that the problem occurs on. I do have All Access.
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
Is this something that has just started happening? I have this on my ATV4K and I’ve never had that issue. I haven’t used the app in about a month or so which is why I asked if this is a new issue. Did the audio issue happen on particular shows? What show(s) were you watching?

I’ll check it out in the next couple of days when I turn my ATV4K on again and I’ll report back.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
This started several months ago. I haven’t used the ATV4K device for Netflix in a long time, especially if the title has Atmos audio.
Except the original comment was about CBSAA, not Netflix.

Spoiler!
bmcleod is offline  
post #29748 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 10:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
This started several months ago. I haven’t used the ATV4K device for Netflix in a long time, especially if the title has Atmos audio.
So it sounds like you had the Netflix Atmos / TV4K moving center problem? What kind of bandwidth do you have?

Spoiler!
bmcleod is offline  
post #29749 of 30315 Old 05-26-2020, 11:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 15,186
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5038 Post(s)
Liked: 3051
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
So it sounds like you had the Netflix Atmos / TV4K moving center problem? What kind of bandwidth do you have?

If it was bandwidth related then all your apps would have a problem with Atmos content and quite possibly your video stream would drop to a lower resolution and/or pixelate or you might even end up with buffering. I just don't think that is the cause.
lujan and galonzo like this.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #29750 of 30315 Old 05-27-2020, 02:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,779
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5206 Post(s)
Liked: 3219
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
What do you currently use for Netflix Atmos programming. Would an nVidia Shield proved Netflix DV and Atmos?
I hear the 2019 Shield has DV and Atmos on Netflix but my two Shields are 2017 models. I use the internal Netflix app on my LG C9 for DV and Atmos.
naustin likes this.

lujan
695 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #29751 of 30315 Old 05-27-2020, 02:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,779
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5206 Post(s)
Liked: 3219
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
Except the original comment was about CBSAA, not Netflix.
I didn't realize it was also happening with CBS AA as well as Netflix? I don't have CBS AA so I haven't experienced it there, only Netflix.

lujan
695 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #29752 of 30315 Old 05-27-2020, 02:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 1,619
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
This really seems to be a compatibility interaction with certain Dolby Atmos decoders and the Dolby MAT (PCM 2.0) repack the AppleTV performs on the Dolby Digital Plus stream from the streaming company's headend. If the audio stream's metadata is not translated correctly or has been corrupted then audio objects and channels will get thrown out of wack. This is especially fraught with the way Dolby Digital Plus lossy encoding is done to Dolby Atmos tracks, where the metadata is king. Dolby TrueHD lossless packed Atmos tracks on disc are encoded differently and are less "fragile."


If a fix is not at hand, I would sadly suggest using a different streaming device for Netflix; one that sends raw and untouched audio bitstreams via HDMI.
I purchased a FireCube just for Netflix Atmos. Didn't really want a second streamer, but the problem doesn't seem to be getting any attention. I put in a ticket a several months ago with Netflix (after a couple of calls) and haven't heard from them since. Never bothered to address with Apple.
AFAIK it does not happen to everyone.

Man cave-Marantz 8012, Oppo 203, 4K ATV, FireCube 2, Sony XBR-75X940E, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, 2 Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's,
4 SVS Prime elevations. B&W P5. Living room- Yamaha 2010, Bluesound Node 2, Paradigm SE-1's, Zone 2-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM. B&W PX for travel
Bedroom- Samsung UN60ES7100F, Oppo 103D, Pulse Mini, JBL Bar Studio, ATV3 and Harmony 650
pappaduke is online now  
post #29753 of 30315 Old 05-27-2020, 02:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,779
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5206 Post(s)
Liked: 3219
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
I purchased a FireCube just for Netflix Atmos. Didn't really want a second streamer, but the problem doesn't seem to be getting any attention. I put in a ticket a several months ago with Netflix (after a couple of calls) and haven't heard from them since. Never bothered to address with Apple.
AFAIK it does not happen to everyone.
No, if you call Netflix or Apple about it, they will just think there is something wrong with your system so I don't bother. I think it will eventually happen to everyone, they just haven't noticed it yet. You may also need to have a certain Atmos speaker setup for it to occur?

lujan
695 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD

Last edited by lujan; 05-27-2020 at 02:47 AM.
lujan is offline  
post #29754 of 30315 Old 05-27-2020, 03:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I didn't realize it was also happening with CBS AA as well as Netflix? I don't have CBS AA so I haven't experienced it there, only Netflix.
It sounds like a different problem, I’ve not experienced it, my CBS has been pretty good, especially lately.

Spoiler!
bmcleod is offline  
post #29755 of 30315 Old 05-27-2020, 03:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
If it was bandwidth related then all your apps would have a problem with Atmos content and quite possibly your video stream would drop to a lower resolution and/or pixelate or you might even end up with buffering. I just don't think that is the cause.
I do get pixelation and buffering with Netflix, more so it seems than other platforms, but it’s not necessarily at the same time I have the center jump.

Spoiler!

Last edited by bmcleod; 05-27-2020 at 06:17 AM.
bmcleod is offline  
post #29756 of 30315 Old 05-27-2020, 05:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 83
No 4K or HDR yet for HBO Max, but at least it sounds like it's providing improved streaming quality compared to it's HBO Go and Now apps. Not sure how it compares with the Apple Channels version of HBO.
musicman0725 likes this.
met_fan is offline  
post #29757 of 30315 Old 05-27-2020, 05:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston'ish
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeep05 View Post
I really wish either CBS or Apple would fix the audio cut-out issue with the CBS app on my ATV4K. Audio cuts out every couple seconds for a couple seconds. This is the only app that the problem occurs on. I do have All Access.
I'm now in month 2 of my free CBSAA trial and have been heavily binging, starting with Picard and now on Discovery and I have never experienced the issue you're describing, so there's that data point.
ATV4K > Marantz SR7011> LG E6.
DougDingle and galonzo like this.
dianebrat is offline  
post #29758 of 30315 Old 05-27-2020, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
ggrossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: london
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 182
I sometimes have the centre channel move to the left speaker when watching ATV+ Trying. Happens for a few seconds and then all ok. For me this seems to be once per episode. But that is it never noticed on Netflix. Only watching Trying as set in Camden Town where I used to live for a long time - george
galonzo likes this.

LG C9 | Lyngdorf MP50 (eARC)| NAD M25 | Nord One NC500DM MKII 3 Channel Monitor Audio | Platinum PL100 II | Monitor Audio Platinum PLC150 II | 6 Monitor Gold GXFX | JL Audio F212v2 | Virgin v6 | Pioneer LX 500 4k Blu-Ray | Apple TV 4k | Linn Sondek LP12
ggrossen is offline  
post #29759 of 30315 Old 05-27-2020, 06:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
No 4K or HDR yet for HBO Max, but at least it sounds like it's providing improved streaming quality compared to it's HBO Go and Now apps. Not sure how it compares with the Apple Channels version of HBO.
Supposedley on the roamap...that could be next year for al we know!

LG OLED 65C7P • Apple TV 4K • Roku Ultra 2018 • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray • LG UP970 UHD BD
Denon X3400H AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 CT Speaker System • SVS SB-1000
gossamer88 is offline  
post #29760 of 30315 Old 05-27-2020, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by gossamer88 View Post
Supposedley on the roamap...that could be next year for al we know!
So content that is already in HDR, such as Doom Patrol, you will have to pay for DC Universe to get it in HDR.
Frank Monroe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , apple tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off