Apple TV owners' thread. FAQ in first post - Page 995 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33091Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #29821 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by davcole View Post
Fandango Now app has come to Apple TV!
Severely disappointed. Their new tvOS version is lacking. Granted, it's version 1.0, but you'd think... No 4K, no search, no IMAX Enhanced. It's a BASIC app to get their foot, finally, in the door. It's so new, even their tech support folks (nice guy though) don't have that much info about it or when 4K support will happen.
lujan and galonzo like this.

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR797
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29822 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 11:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by R8ders2K View Post
Severely disappointed. Their new tvOS version is lacking. Granted, it's version 1.0, but you'd think... No 4K, no search, no IMAX Enhanced. It's a BASIC app to get their foot, finally, in the door. It's so new, even their tech support folks (nice guy though) don't have that much info about it or when 4K support will happen.

No “IMAX Enhanced” seems like a slight reach considering how niche it is lol.


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
HD-Master is offline  
post #29823 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
I guess I don’t understand why anyone would use it...? What the appeal of it over other options?
One thing that FandangoNOW has is support for IMAX Enhanced mode.

So, for example, if you have a newer Sony 4K HDR TV, that's a feature that Sony supports and via FandangoNOW, you'll be able to stream it on your TV. Here's a link from flatpanelshd about FandangoNOW and IMAX Enhanced.

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR797
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29824 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by R8ders2K View Post
One thing that FandangoNOW has is support for IMAX Enhanced mode.

So, for example, if you have a newer Sony 4K HDR TV, that's a feature that Sony supports and via FandangoNOW, you'll be able to stream it on your TV. Here's a link from flatpanelshd about FandangoNOW and IMAX Enhanced.

I know what it is.


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
HD-Master is offline  
post #29825 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Copy that, mea culpa....

Oh, and with respects to being "niche", it is, but FandangoNOW's Android TV app has it, so why not on tvOS?

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR797
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
post #29826 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 3,706
Mentioned: 141 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2933 Post(s)
Liked: 2821
Quote:
Originally Posted by R8ders2K View Post
One thing that FandangoNOW has is support for IMAX Enhanced mode.

So, for example, if you have a newer Sony 4K HDR TV, that's a feature that Sony supports and via FandangoNOW, you'll be able to stream it on your TV. Here's a link from flatpanelshd about FandangoNOW and IMAX Enhanced.
For video, IMAX Enhanced means nothing more than a label on the TV. It won't look any different on a IMAX Enhanced certified Sony TV than it will on any other quality HDR TV.
galonzo likes this.

CJ
JVC RS500 | LG B7A OLED | Denon X6400H (7.2.4) | X4200W | Panasonic UB820 | Two Oppo 203 | Samsung K8500 | Apple TV 4K | Amazon Fire TV Stick 4K | HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral | MadVR with EVGA RTX-2080 Ti
claw is offline  
post #29827 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,230
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4029 Post(s)
Liked: 2892
ATV4k and NASA TV

We're watching the live NASA feed for the SpaceX launch but the ATV4k keeps switching to the screen saver exactly at 5 minute intervals. I haven't tried to watch anything else today on the ATV4k so I don't know if it's just the feed or the ATV4k. Thoughts anyone?

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #29828 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snpanago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
We're watching the live NASA feed for the SpaceX launch but the ATV4k keeps switching to the screen saver exactly at 5 minute intervals. I haven't tried to watch anything else today on the ATV4k so I don't know if it's just the feed or the ATV4k. Thoughts anyone?
Used to happen to me when tuned in to the initial display which had more than 1 video window showing. The screensaver issue disappeared when I would maximize the window that I was interested in watching.
snpanago is offline  
post #29829 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,230
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4029 Post(s)
Liked: 2892
Quote:
Originally Posted by snpanago View Post
Used to happen to me when tuned in to the initial display which had more than 1 video window showing. The screensaver issue disappeared when I would maximize the window that I was interested in watching.

Good to know. I don't watch the NASA channel a lot so was unaware of that trick. I checked another station app and it was fine. Thanks.
snpanago likes this.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #29830 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,775
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5205 Post(s)
Liked: 3214
Quote:
Originally Posted by R8ders2K View Post
Severely disappointed. Their new tvOS version is lacking. Granted, it's version 1.0, but you'd think... No 4K, no search, no IMAX Enhanced. It's a BASIC app to get their foot, finally, in the door. It's so new, even their tech support folks (nice guy though) don't have that much info about it or when 4K support will happen.
Can you actually tell us which titles are IMAX Enhanced? I've noticed no differences in any titles but one which is the latest Spider-man movie.

lujan
693 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #29831 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
powertoburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA, USA
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 242
I have the 32GB Apple TV 4K. According to "TV Storage" app I only have 4 GB remaining. Is there a way to clear the cache so I get more storage space free? After the last tvOS update I had 9 GB free so I assume when it installed it cleaned the cache. I have Apple Arcade and only installed one game that is taking 1 GB. My other new apps are HBO Max and Fandango Now. I deleted the HBO GO app. Or is the only remedy to restore the Apple TV and set up from fresh to reclaim the space? I also have Netflix, Prime, Hulu, Showtime, Epix, Starz, CBS apps installed among various other cable provider apps. I am anxiously awaiting a new Apple TV so I can purchase a larger capacity one.
powertoburn is offline  
post #29832 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3036 Post(s)
Liked: 2129
Quote:
Originally Posted by powertoburn View Post
I have the 32GB Apple TV 4K. According to "TV Storage" app I only have 4 GB remaining. Is there a way to clear the cache so I get more storage space free? After the last tvOS update I had 9 GB free so I assume when it installed it cleaned the cache. I have Apple Arcade and only installed one game that is taking 1 GB. My other new apps are HBO Max and Fandango Now. I deleted the HBO GO app. Or is the only remedy to restore the Apple TV and set up from fresh to reclaim the space? I also have Netflix, Prime, Hulu, Showtime, Epix, Starz, CBS apps installed among various other cable provider apps. I am anxiously awaiting a new Apple TV so I can purchase a larger capacity one.
Have you actually run out of storage? Unless you have a lot of games, that space is likely from the Screen Savers and they will delete themselves when the space is needed for other content.


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is offline  
post #29833 of 30280 Old 05-30-2020, 09:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by powertoburn View Post
I have the 32GB Apple TV 4K. According to "TV Storage" app I only have 4 GB remaining. Is there a way to clear the cache so I get more storage space free? After the last tvOS update I had 9 GB free so I assume when it installed it cleaned the cache. I have Apple Arcade and only installed one game that is taking 1 GB. My other new apps are HBO Max and Fandango Now. I deleted the HBO GO app. Or is the only remedy to restore the Apple TV and set up from fresh to reclaim the space? I also have Netflix, Prime, Hulu, Showtime, Epix, Starz, CBS apps installed among various other cable provider apps. I am anxiously awaiting a new Apple TV so I can purchase a larger capacity one.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Have you actually run out of storage? Unless you have a lot of games, that space is likely from the Screen Savers and they will delete themselves when the space is needed for other content.
wow, I have a 32gb ATV4K with no games downloaded only a handful of apps and I've never checked how much space is available. guess I better check mine.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #29834 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 03:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3036 Post(s)
Liked: 2129
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
wow, I have a 32gb ATV4K with no games downloaded only a handful of apps and I've never checked how much space is available. guess I better check mine.
My point is you don’t need to check. The ATV will manage it fine.


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is offline  
post #29835 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 04:29 AM
Senior Member
 
KTM250's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Apple TV with a Sony TV

I just purchased a new sony tv and am having problems with picture quality when hooked to my apple tv. My old LG did not show these problems. The seller gave me this quote yesterday, "their are known issues when connecting any Sony tv to an Apple tv". He did not go into detail on this. So I was wondering if anyone here knows what he is talking about? Our has experienced any issues hooking a sony tv to an apple tv as far as picture quality goes.
Thanks
KTM250 is offline  
post #29836 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 04:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,490
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2286 Post(s)
Liked: 1560
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTM250 View Post
I just purchased a new sony tv and am having problems with picture quality when hooked to my apple tv. My old LG did not show these problems. The seller gave me this quote yesterday, "their are known issues when connecting any Sony tv to an Apple tv". He did not go into detail on this. So I was wondering if anyone here knows what he is talking about? Our has experienced any issues hooking a sony tv to an apple tv as far as picture quality goes.
Thanks

Long time Sony 930E owner, no complaints here. Some people complain about a darker picture with Dolby Vision content but that can be fixed with upping the Gamma setting a notch or two. Which model do you have and what specific problems are you having?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
leonmckee and bmcleod like this.

Mike
Sony XBR-65X930E | ATV4K-64GB & 2-32GB 5th Gens | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2017 | Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 | Logitech Harmony Elite
m_snow is offline  
post #29837 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,202
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2497 Post(s)
Liked: 1974
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTM250 View Post
He did not go into detail on this. So I was wondering if anyone here knows what he is talking about?
Either the seller doesn't know any better or they don't want to deal with the cost of supporting an endless series of questions since every video chain and any source can have issues.
galonzo likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X4700H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #29838 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 10,202
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2497 Post(s)
Liked: 1974
Quote:
Originally Posted by powertoburn View Post
Is there a way to clear the cache so I get more storage space free?
You can reset but there's no point. As you note free memory is used for caching and is managed by tvOS. I imagine if you total the usage for your apps you'll find it's inconsequential compared to the available memory (31G) e.g. I have 1.5G in 28 apps and 2G of free space. Say ~28G of cache in use at the moment.
naustin likes this.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X4700H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #29839 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
My point is you don’t need to check. The ATV will manage it fine.
thanks and I'm sure things are probably fine, but, since this is my ATV4K, I'm choosing to check it anyway.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #29840 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Can you actually tell us which titles are IMAX Enhanced? I've noticed no differences in any titles but one which is the latest Spider-man movie.
Good question, I don't know. I see that FandangoNOW has 36 movies listed on the Android TV app.

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR797
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
post #29841 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTM250 View Post
I just purchased a new sony tv and am having problems with picture quality when hooked to my apple tv. My old LG did not show these problems. The seller gave me this quote yesterday, "their are known issues when connecting any Sony tv to an Apple tv". He did not go into detail on this. So I was wondering if anyone here knows what he is talking about? Our has experienced any issues hooking a sony tv to an apple tv as far as picture quality goes.
Thanks
I have a Sony 85x900F and am very pleased with the quality of picture with all my devices, of which the ATV4K is used the most. Since you’ve given no actual information about what your problems are, it’s hard to comment further.
galonzo likes this.

Spoiler!
bmcleod is online now  
post #29842 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
R8ders2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTM250 View Post
I just purchased a new sony tv and am having problems with picture quality when hooked to my apple tv. My old LG did not show these problems. The seller gave me this quote yesterday, "their are known issues when connecting any Sony tv to an Apple tv". He did not go into detail on this. So I was wondering if anyone here knows what he is talking about? Our has experienced any issues hooking a sony tv to an apple tv as far as picture quality goes.
Thanks
Make sure that you're using Premium Certified HDMI cables between all of your devices.

I love my Sony X940E and TV 4K (64 GB).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GHDC2001-HDMI-Certification.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	2735116  
galonzo likes this.

Sony XBR-75X940E
Onkyo TX-NR797
DIRECTV HS17 + C61K
Oppo UDP-203
TV 4K
R8ders2K is offline  
post #29843 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Disto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Turned my ATV 4K today to a rapid flashing front light and no video. Called Apple and they said it needs a factory reset and I have to send it in. Anyone know of a trick to get it working again without sending it in?

-Tony
Disto is offline  
post #29844 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
You said you “need” to check it. I’m just saying there is no functional or operational need to check it, not that you can’t check it if you want to. Of course you can. But there is no need. I’d hate to see people worry about their space and hassle with wiping it clean when there is no need.
emojis aside, there was never any true "worry" or consideration for "wiping" the ATV4K on my part. the other user mentioned about his and I realized, I have never checked to see what was used/available and had no idea how much space apps take up, so, I figured, i'd check mine to see what's available. nothing beyond curiosity.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #29845 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disto View Post
Turned my ATV 4K today to a rapid flashing front light and no video. Called Apple and they said it needs a factory reset and I have to send it in. Anyone know of a trick to get it working again without sending it in?
Try disconnecting power and the HDMI cable, then letting the ATV cool down for a while -- 10 minutes. I have found that my ATV4K goes bonkers when it has become hot to the touch.
galonzo likes this.

LG OLED55C9, Firmware v04.80.03 | Denon AVR-X3400H, Firmware v7600-8281-6432-2065 | ATV 4K | Sony UBP-X700 | Hsu HC-1 MK2 (C) & HB-1 MK2 (LRSur), Sub VTF-15H MK2, ELAC Atmos | X-Rite i1D3 OEM | 2019 CalMAN Home for LG
mhmercer is offline  
post #29846 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhmercer View Post
Try disconnecting power and the HDMI cable, then letting the ATV cool down for a while -- 10 minutes. I have found that my ATV4K goes bonkers when it has become hot to the touch.
approximately how long is it in use (and doing what) when it gets "hot to the touch?" also, where is it located?

mine sits on a rack shelf, open on all sides for cooling. it sits on it's side and I don't think that I've ever touched it and it was "hot". I do know "hot" can mean different things to different people. yes, I've touched it and it was noticeably warm to very warm but, it had been on for several hours watching movies in 4K DV/ATMOS.

I imagine it could get "hot" if gaming on it for a long time, but, as I don't game with it, i'm not sure. so far I've not had any such issues as the user you responded to with the unit.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #29847 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Disto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 25
It's been running well for 3 months now. Well ventilated and not warn to the touch. I tried disconnecting all wires for 2 hours and same thing. I get the white light rapid flashes with only the power wire connected and nothing else. Apple said there are some stores that can do a factory reset, but all Apple stores are closed around Montreal. Looks like I'll have to mail it in.
solarrdadd likes this.

-Tony
Disto is offline  
post #29848 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,900
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 914 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disto View Post
It's been running well for 3 months now. Well ventilated and not warn to the touch. I tried disconnecting all wires for 2 hours and same thing. I get the white light rapid flashes with only the power wire connected and nothing else. Apple said there are some stores that can do a factory reset, but all Apple stores are closed around Montreal. Looks like I'll have to mail it in.

Yes, sadly because Apple removed the USB connector from the newer AppleTVs you can no longer preform a reset from a Mac.

I’m not even sure Apple “resets” the device. They probably will give you a refurbished device.
scottiemon and solarrdadd like this.
rsonnens is offline  
post #29849 of 30280 Old 05-31-2020, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
mhmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
approximately how long is it in use (and doing what) when it gets "hot to the touch?" also, where is it located?

mine sits on a rack shelf, open on all sides for cooling. it sits on it's side and I don't think that I've ever touched it and it was "hot". I do know "hot" can mean different things to different people. yes, I've touched it and it was noticeably warm to very warm but, it had been on for several hours watching movies in 4K DV/ATMOS.

I imagine it could get "hot" if gaming on it for a long time, but, as I don't game with it, i'm not sure. so far I've not had any such issues as the user you responded to with the unit.
Mine sits on an open shelf, flat side down, raised on three felt pads. Air is free to circulate. The heat issue began about one month ago. Mostly SD viewing. Some days the ATV is slightly warm to the touch. Others, it is quite warm (hot?). The warmer it becomes, the more sluggish is the response to the LG remote, until there is no response. No idea what is the cause of the heating. Cooling the ATV for a minute or two takes things back to normal. Perhaps a fan is in order -- or placing the ATV on its side, which I will try.

LG OLED55C9, Firmware v04.80.03 | Denon AVR-X3400H, Firmware v7600-8281-6432-2065 | ATV 4K | Sony UBP-X700 | Hsu HC-1 MK2 (C) & HB-1 MK2 (LRSur), Sub VTF-15H MK2, ELAC Atmos | X-Rite i1D3 OEM | 2019 CalMAN Home for LG
mhmercer is offline  
post #29850 of 30280 Old 06-01-2020, 05:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 12,937
Mentioned: 223 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6597 Post(s)
Liked: 3498
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhmercer View Post
Mine sits on an open shelf, flat side down, raised on three felt pads. Air is free to circulate. The heat issue began about one month ago. Mostly SD viewing. Some days the ATV is slightly warm to the touch. Others, it is quite warm (hot?). The warmer it becomes, the more sluggish is the response to the LG remote, until there is no response. No idea what is the cause of the heating. Cooling the ATV for a minute or two takes things back to normal. Perhaps a fan is in order -- or placing the ATV on its side, which I will try.
Internal fan dead?
galonzo likes this.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
apple 4k tv , apple tv , Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A , grainy , hdr , issue , Samsung

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off